Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet hates with dealers

• 07-04-2006 1:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭

i have just noticed when playing how much abuse dealers can get from certain players and i understand its not a regular occrance but what gets on people nerves with dealers...apart of course from ebing dealt bad cards...:) mine is whne they take things too anally, for want of a better phrase, where i seen a guy play in the freeroll and the blinds were like 100-200 and he had 150 chips and he goes all in blind from the button. he gets one caller (after a reraise) the first player turns over his cards and he say no sure ill do it at the end. so the dealer say " actually, poker rules dictate..." :rolleyes: hmmm grr, any of yo guys have any hates from dealers. or haev they ever said anything out of order during a hand....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

in a freeroll u should just be grateful to have a dealer. having said that there is one fitz regular that shall remain nameless who always puts me on tilt after he's kindly nominated himself to deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

When i clearly said 400 and the put the chips out in a string bet manner. He called me on a string bet, i've no problem with anyone making a mistake but he said it like he learned what a string bet was 5 mins ago and was dyeing to catch someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

theres one liitle bo***x of a dealer in the fitz that really pisses me off! hes always dying to jump on ppl when they make any small error even when theyre very new to playing live.

one night it was down to about 12 ppl in the monday game........ i was all in with kings against 33....... 3 on the turn left me crippled........ when i said "ahh for fcuk sake" not even loudly, he had a go at me for cursing. there wasnt even any woman there. i nearly pulled him over the table i was raging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

eoghan104 wrote:
    theres one liitle bo***x of a dealer in the fitz that really pisses me off! hes always dying to jump on ppl when they make any small error even when theyre very new to playing live.

one night it was down to about 12 ppl in the monday game........ i was all in with kings against 33....... 3 on the turn left me crippled........ when i said "ahh for fcuk sake" not even loudly, he had a go at me for cursing. there wasnt even any woman there. i nearly pulled him over the table i was raging!

I think thats hilarious, you didn't get the point he was making, its irrelevant if there was a woman there or not, he was having a go at you for not taking the bad beat well.

well he said " no cursing at the table" very abruptley and rudley. i said it under my breath and he heard because i was in seat one. he just did it to make himself feel like the big man coz he was the dealer. he had only just started dealing in the fitz. 3 people at the table said afterwards that he was wrong. if i told you his name smurph or maybe if you hadve been there to see the circumstances you may think differently??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

i have just noticed when playing how much abuse dealers can get from certain players and i understand its not a regular occrance but what gets on people nerves with dealers...apart of course from ebing dealt bad cards...:) mine is whne they take things too anally, for want of a better phrase, where i seen a guy play in the freeroll and the blinds were like 100-200 and he had 150 chips and he goes all in blind from the button. he gets one caller (after a reraise) the first player turns over his cards and he say no sure ill do it at the end. so the dealer say " actually, poker rules dictate..." :rolleyes: hmmm grr, any of yo guys have any hates from dealers. or haev they ever said anything out of order during a hand....?

Just a quick comment on this. I really don't care about "play" in a freeroll so I'd normally let things go personally. However people should turn over their cards when its two all-ins as a lot of people will muck if they lose a hand and not show.

One of the consequences of being all-in in a tournament is people get to see the kind of cards you go all-in on and you don't have any option not to show them what you go all-in on, if called. But part of me would also be thinking about that player who wouldn't turn over his cards "Does he really think anyone gives a **** what he goes all-in on in a freeroll?" If the answer to this question is yes then it tells me an awful lot about the level/experience of this playa!! :rolleyes:

i think the reason he didnt want to show was because he was all in on the blind and he just wanted to make it a bit more craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I think the dealers in the Fitz are great tbh.
    I wish Amp would deal me a picture card every now and again, but Kinaldo normally makes up for it:)

I'm sure they could write an encyclopedia on pet hates with players.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I have some pet peeves, but won't mention any of them as lots of the people that deal to me read here!!!

One generic pet peeve is when dealers don't know the rules, or overlook something, and me being a nosy twat can't stop myself pointing it out. It peeves me that I can't stay out of it when I am not even in the hand, as much as anything.

Culchie wrote:
    I think the dealers in the Fitz are great tbh.
    I wish Amp would deal me a picture card every now and again, but Kinaldo normally makes up for it:)

I'm sure they could write an encyclopedia on pet hates with players.

Adam does ok for me cardwise, as does Richie, Grace and Tom.

Dealers who never seem to deal me a decent hand are Kinaldo and also Stephen, especially in cash games :mad:

The rest of the fitz bunch are a mixed bag as regards 'lucky' dealers. *Almost* universally sound people though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Here's mine, but it's not aimed at dealers. I hate when players start working out the sidepots for dealers as he/she is working it out. Just puts the dealer off, and takes more time. Leave it to the dealer, ffs!

Dont like this thread. The dealers in the Fitz are the best in the country.

Here's mine, but it's not aimed at dealers. I hate when players start working out the sidepots for dealers as he/she is working it out. Just puts the dealer off, and takes more time. Leave it to the dealer, ffs!

Dont like this thread. The dealers in the Fitz are the best in the country.

They amount of times assistance is needed makes it necessary to at least watch them do it, and potentially correct it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭cacio

5starpool wrote:
    They amount of times assistance is needed makes it necessary to at least watch them do it, and potentially correct it then.

thats so ignorant of player. its a dealers job to do all this to keep the game moving quickly and then some idiot player thinks he's knows best cuz he plays the game. there's nothing worse than being at a table with a player like you. there a so many things dealers can say about people like you but i'll leve it to your imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

kinaldo wrote:
    in a freeroll u should just be grateful to have a dealer. having said that there is one fitz regular that shall remain nameless who always puts me on tilt after he's kindly nominated himself to deal

whoops

why are you being like that cacio?? dom wasnt being rude basically hes just saying that its best to leave the dealers unless they are wrong and then correct them?

i see no problem with this......... ive seen dealers make mistakes loads of times and then someone will correct them. as long as its done in a mannerly way and not in a condescending manner then whats the problem?

do you think if a dealer miscounts a side pot that players should just le it go?

90% of the dealers are sound and will not mind bein corrected.

I think you are overreacting.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭spectre

pure genius cardshark202

LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

cacio wrote:
    thats so ignorant of player. its a dealers job to do all this to keep the game moving quickly and then some idiot player thinks he's knows best cuz he plays the game. there's nothing worse than being at a table with a player like you. there a so many things dealers can say about people like you but i'll leve it to your imagination.

You should re-read 5starpool's post...... he said he "watches" in case a mistake is made. he didn't say "im better than dealers so i just jump in and sort the side pot myself".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭cacio

eoghan104 wrote:
    why are you being like that cacio?? dom wasnt being rude basically hes just saying that its best to leave the dealers unless they are wrong and then correct them?

i see no problem with this......... ive seen dealers make mistakes loads of times and then someone will correct them. as long as its done in a mannerly way and not in a condescending manner then whats the problem?

do you think if a dealer miscounts a side pot that players should just le it go?

90% of the dealers are sound and will not mind bein corrected.

I think you are overreacting.........

he said the amount of times its needed makes it neccessary. i dont know where he's on about but it just sounds like he says it happens a lot. didnt mean to sound rude but his message sounded rude to me. but thats the problem with text. you cant hear the tone so its easy to take out of context.

It does happen quite a bit. Most of the time it is fine, but especially with new dealers, and there are regualrly relatively inexperienced dealers in the Fitz tournies (no new ones for a while though).

More than 90% of the time it is done fine, but if you don't watch (and most players don't) then the other few % will be wrong all the time. Is this acceptable to you? It isn't to me. A lot of dealers that I know chew sidepots for breakfast I don't even watch, trust is implicit.

I would never try to contradict snowy on anything for example, I would usually be wrong.

Pot limit raise amounts are another thing that need to be listened to and occasionally corrected too. Dealers are like everyone else, if they are not long doing something there is a good chance it might not be done right. If it means they have to be corrected occasionally then so be it, most don't mind if it helps them learn how to do it.

And I don't really care if you think I am rude/arrogant or whatever cacio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Anyways....have to agree dealers do a great job especially when you consider the muppetry that they have to put u with from players.How they keep their discipline is beyond me....
    I get annoyed is when someone volunteers to deal for the table BUT THEN feels the need to commentate and berate the standard of play-infuriating grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

Due to the fact that I play 90% online,my pet peeve is the time it takes to shuffle and deal each hand.

Just my lack of paitience really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

They are all top class, sometimes the odd smile wouldn't go astray, that's my only complaint :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

I have to say that I think they are great, and the standard in the Fitz is really good. I feel very sorry for them on Friday and Saturday nights, when the place fills up with muppets who have been on the razz and have a cunning plan to come in and make their fortune playing cards.

Now im certainly not saying im a saint on the matter and have come into the club have cut thinking I can win money.

I have lucky dealers aswell, Marq, snowy and Denise. If there is a gut buster card needed on the river to help me along, they duly supply. They certainly need alot of patience, and concentration. The hours are very very long and unsocial aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

its interesting how many people are reluctant to criticise dealers as they know that most of them could be reading them, i think this in itself shows the respect the majority of people have for dealers and appreciate what they are doing.
    what i was just interested in was finding out the little mundane thing which annoy people, as a few of my friends had just started dealing and werent sure whether they could open their mouths at the table for fear they could upset some people. what things have been said to annoy you for example?:confused:

Main things dealers say that annoy me is when they say I don't win the pot :(

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I don't know of a dealer who would object or feel annoyed if a player watched their side pots and then said "I think that should be 260 on the side actually". Personally I always ALWAYS do out the pots the long way as when I started playing the only thing that freaked me out was I had a lump of chips put in front of me by the dealer saying "you can win only this!". I had NO idea why or how that pile had been arrived at!

I have two pet peeves with dealers when I'm a player. Its the sort of thing you might pick up only if you've dealt before yourself.

1. At the start of a game, when the cards are displayed, some dealers collect them back up into a deck, turn them face down and do a "wash" that barely slides the top card around in a circle. The wash is critical when its a new deck and on occasion I've asked the dealer to repeat it. Too often I've seen the weirdest hands come out after a a poor wash and shuffle.

2. The shuffle. A riffle shuffle is not a good shuffle. Its predictable, modelable and ultimately if its done perfectly an even number of times, not a shuffle at all as the deck will be the same as it started with. Couple this with a poor wash and I sit out the first hand!! There is a thing called a Slazenger Cut which should always be done at the end, and in between each riffle the deck should be cut a few times to rearrange chunks of it. My pet peeve is when a dealer sits there doing riffle after riffle after riffle but with no cut or chop inbetween riffles and then deals. Jesus it drives me mad! :)

The dealers in the fitz are superb. I have travelled far and wide as you can imagine and seen poker in most major european countries and not found a club with better dealers in it. The Aviation club in paris and the Vic in London simply don't come close. The closest would have to be the Gutshot.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

thanks for that dev exactly the kind of thing im looking for... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

when at any stage they knock on the table and then slowly flip a card over, that wrecks my head for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭MickL

eoghan104 wrote:

The Dealer was Spot on i would of done the same ya should show manners at all times at tables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

MickL wrote:
    The Dealer was Spot on i would of done the same ya should show manners at all times at tables

Coming from the filthiest of mouths. Ya filthy welcher wheres my money?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I really rate the dealers in the Fitz, and Irish dealers in general. I like it when they take the time to explain a rule to a player. Most are good players. I think that is important. They know the game.

I haven't played abroad much but saw the following
    (1) dealer saying a player checked when he hadn't
    (2) dealer insisting a player all-in for 25 was in the main pot for 100 because that was the big blind
    (2) dealer totally mixing the main pot and side pots and continuing without knowing if the pots were correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

MickL wrote:

thats cause it was you who said it, i was at the table at the time and i said you that it was a bit hypocritical of you, considering your language. anyway you said in a smartass way at the time, shane

De Deraco wrote:
    thats cause it was you who said it, i was at the table at the time and i said you that it was a bit hypocritical of you, considering your language. anyway you said in a smartass way at the time, shane

If you notice Shane i will always Pull any one for bad manners at a table!

And Reggie Ill see you soon My language here aint in question and if i sware illl certantily apoligise

Yeh it was you mick........ and ive also seen you curse at the table while playing...... do you not think these things can just be said at the heat of the moment after a bad beat and you should just let it go? is it even your right to tell people what they can and cant say at the table???

MickL wrote:
    If you notice Shane i will always Pull any one for bad manners at a table!

And Reggie Ill see you soon My language here aint in question and if i sware illl certantily apoligise

Feckin hypocrite.

Two hundrah Four hundrah.

That last statement was irrelevant by the way, just couldn't resist it. The first one wasn't irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

thing was eoghan you said to yourself almost, mick and i only heard it cause u were seat 9 i was 8. i didnt care but i was suprised by micks comment as its not like you shouted it out.

that was my whole point....... if someone was to stand up and start giving it loads like phil hellmuth or something then id understand but a little quiet comment isnt the end of the world.

To be honest Mick i just thought u were on a bit of a power trip because you hadnt been there that long and you thought you were a bit special.

Im not trying to antagonise you but thats just the way i saw it.

First time I saw Mick playing he went all in UTG for 1800 on the 10-25 level of the Tuesday DC and showed AK. Legend :D

Just abuse him back, that's what I do. Mick's ok.

eoghan104 wrote:
    Yeh it was you mick........ and ive also seen you curse at the table while playing...... do you not think these things can just be said at the heat of the moment after a bad beat and you should just let it go? is it even your right to tell people what they can and cant say at the table???

I dont curse when i take a beat i congratulate the player and the way i seen it was if i heard it everyone else could.. ill admit i sware alot but it will be with banter with players at the table never in annoyince off a beat

And dom your just a NAZI LOL :D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

I hate it when i ask for an ounce and i get an 1/8th!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

In general dealers in Ireland do a great job. Apart fom Oscar dealing me AQo in last thursday's game I have no serious pet hates.... If this thread was switched around to point out pet hates with players we could be here for a while.

Actually, one thing I noticed before which does annoy me...When a dealer is not sure how to work out the sidepot they should admit defeat and seek help... or at least give it a minute or two and work it out properly. I've seen a few dealers dive right in with no idea, and on their first attempt mix up all the chips and create 26 side pots with no hope of ever rectifying the situation.