Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SKILL or LUCK

• 06-04-2006 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

Please comment on these stats.
    Player name: Christy "the Morbid". Regular pokerevents player. Played on the Connacht team last year, also played the ladbrokes cruise, however no other experience of note. Mainly cash game player, playing tournament poker for just over a year.
    Never won a tournament untill 3 weeks ago.
    Recent results.
    Week 1 winner of €100 galway freezeout
    Week 2 winner of €100 galway freezeout
    week 3 2nd last table of €100 freezeout
    week 4 winner of €100 galway freezeout

All tournaments were between 50 and 85 runners with a slow structure.
    His earnings are over 8k in three weeks. Is this a series run or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

no... I thing he rang Hector for some advice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

skill and luck, he is in a bit of a streak but its alot harder for a bad player to go on a streak than good player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

bit of a streak!
    The nearest I've seen to this is Andy Black in the May featival last year in the fitz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

ive seen many streaks in my time and i've only i've been on one, it was top 3 in 3 tourny's in one week netted about 5k, but theres bigger streaks out there daithio been on nice streak for the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

The sample size is too small to tell. Come back to me when he's played at least 1000 €100 freezeouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

I played with him in his original victory in that event. I was on his table from the very start to when I was eliminated in seventh.

I was quite impressed, solid and aggressive. Definitely not luck, but he is obviously running very well as well as playing very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Put a bounty on him. End of streak. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Socos

He was the bounty the third week. €500 ticket for knocking him out. So there was a fair incentive. I don't know about the other weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 The Morbid

This is the man himself, it's all luck hahahaha!!!
    I'm going up next week to make it 4 out of 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Christy your a legend, but when did you learn how to turn on a computer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

Please comment on these stats.
    Player name: Christy
    He used to play dealer's choice in Cullahans pub (very high stakes), so he's definitely not new. He improved his Texas hold'em during the Laddies cruise, he said he learned a lot. He is a good solid player who knows when you're weak. So I don't see him play on-line so easily (he got onto the cruise through a friend, I believe). He is a sound guy and the kind of person that would gamble which raindrop on the window reaches the bottom first. ;)

jacQues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 The Morbid

easy money lads,keep donating all contribution,s greatlt recieved,i'll find somrthing to do with all ur money out in thailand during the summer.

P.S DON'T TELL THE SOCIAL WELFARE
    PPS I'M BARRED FROM CULLINANE'S TOOK ALL THEIR MONEY,IT'S NEARLY AS EASY AS TAKEN THE MONEY OUT OF THE WESTWOOD

IT'S THE EASIEST MONEY I EVER GOT WITHOUT A BANACLAVA