Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bar Work

• 05-04-2006 6:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭

I'm trying to get a job as a bartender,however,I don't have any experience and so I'm finding it a bit hard.

I did lounge work a few years ago but no pub will give me bar work without experience and,therefore,I can't get any experience!

I live in Dublin and I was just wondering if anyone knew of a place that might hire me..... I don't mind if it's a crappy old man's pub and the money is sh!t,I just want to learn the trade.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've was in your situation 4 years ago. It was hard then and it's probably harder now as you have to compete against other students as well as lots of non-nationals who are willing to work full-time.

I did a course with CERT and that gave me a start.
    See the post below. It was done months ago but it matches your situation.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054862523

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I used to work in Buskers/Boomerangs...I went in saying I had two years barman experience and they hired me on the spot...I literally couldn't pull a pint and said it to a few of the people there on the QT ;) They helped me out a lot and you can pick it up in a few nights work (at least to a level where you'll get away with looking like you know what you're doing.

lol, I was sent down to work in the night club on a Friday and Saturday night...I was in WAYYY over my head, but I got away with it..just don't get stressed and don't really give a fu*k if people give you sh*t.

It's good craic working in a bar and it's a skill that ensures you can get work anywhere in the world. Good luck :) It's great craic.

(P.S. My advice is just lie)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

DudGuy I like your style,fair play to you for pulling it off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I worked in the bar in lepardstown race course a few years ago, i knew someone there and when i heard the management had changed...suddenly a few months experience waiting became 3 years bar tending...gave the bars number for reference, whole new staff so i wouldnt get caught...also recently closed bars are super for cv forging lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I did the same to get bar experience tbh. I'd worked as floor staff in the student bar in UCG for about a year so I told the manager of another bar that I'd worked behind the bar there. Got hired, explained to one of the other lads on the bar that I hadn't a clue what I was doing and he showed me what to do. There's very little to it unless you're going to be working in a flair-bartending environment (which lets face it no-one does in Ireland).

If you don't have the neck for that, ask around your mates that work in the industry. You might find one that can take you on for a night and show you the ropes. Even if you had to work for free for the night, you'd pick up enough about pouring pints to blag being experienced in another bar...