Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

barry geraghty and the grand national?

• 04-04-2006 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭

Hi folks.

Anyone have any thoughts on who Geraghty might ride in the National on Saturday?

This story says he is still mulling over a couple of options, but from the card on the racingpost website, it appears that there is very little for Barry to choose from!

Anyone have any info?

k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

There's a reason why he hasn't got many options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

He will be riding Puntal.

I may as well be riding puntal and I had a big lunch today.

I'm sorry...I know I'm being facitious about this and a little silly also but I heard another story about Barry the other day (from a well known Waterford jockey) that really put me off him further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

keano442 wrote:
    Hi folks.

Anyone have any thoughts on who Geraghty might ride in the National on Saturday?

This story says he is still mulling over a couple of options, but from the card on the racingpost website, it appears that there is very little for Barry to choose from!

Anyone have any info?

k.

There is a separate grand national thread which you already used. Should this not be merged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭keano442

finnpark wrote:
    There is a separate grand national thread which you already used. Should this not be merged?

jesus finnpark, what's the problem?

I was asking A SPECIFIC QUESTION about barry geraghty's procrastination over deciding which horse to ride, and the seeming paucity of possible mounts in the race.

It's no wonder that there is a distinct lack of new threads on this board if all people get is grief when they start one...

fade2black wrote:
    There's a reason why he hasn't got many options.

Can you tell us any more fade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

fade2black wrote:

I'm sorry...I know I'm being facitious about this and a little silly also but I heard another story about Barry the other day (from a well known Waterford jockey) that really put me off him further.

I'm not saying he has any chance, in fact he does'nt, even despite it being the National.

I think the choice of ride reflects what might be going on in Pipe's head, and doesn't say much about Barry's *recent* form. Draw your own conclusions tbh.

Oh, and back on the salads for you!!

I wasn't aware that the consensus seems to be turning against Barry? I've had him down as one of our top jockeys for a few years now but maybe I'm missing something?

For what it's worth I have an ante-post bet on Paul Nolan's Colnel Rayburn for the race and I was kind of hoping that Geraghty might be riding him.

Nolan suggested it himself last week but John Cullen - who was jocked off before the National last year, when Paul Carberry was given the ride - seems to be in line to get back on.

k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 pauliegannon

Have to say I have not much time for him.But I cant say much as he went to school with me and who now is bringing home the big wad?Not me.

It's really only opinions Keano. And we're all entitled to them of course. My main concern with Barry, and I think other posters (Morgans is one I think) share this opinion that he has gone from improving jockey to cocky jockey a bit too quickly and he's not knuckling down to the business of riding and learning like many others in the weighing room. Have a look at his recent form.

I often got the impression from him that he was cocky alright but I wouldn't mind having him on my side in the big one on saturday.

in six rides in the National he's won, finished fourth (both on Monty's Pass) and sixth (Call It A Day in 2000) - I'm sure A.P. would love a National record like that!

k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

fade2black wrote:

I don't think it's possible for me to be put off of him any further than I already am. I'll have to think long and hard about ever backing a horse he's on again.

why sjones?

a problem with his riding style? or just his attitude?

I'd be very interested to hear your reasoning into why he may be a jockey to avoid.

it would also be interesting to hear people's thoughts on jockeys who they would really like to have on their side, and those who they'd avoid at all costs (like sjones seems to be with BJ G).

I know it's hardly original but i've been hugely impressed by Nina Carberry this season. Always seems to put her mount in a position to win the race if it's good enough. Her rides at Cheltenham on Wolf Creek, Harbour Pilot and one other (in the amateur race on Tuesday) were exceptional I thought.

k.

keano442 wrote:
    why sjones?

a problem with his riding style?

His style. I've said it on here in another thread where a few of his rides were questioned. He had a few bad rides together, most of his recent rides infact. If you watch those rides again you can see him strangling the horse after each jump. Especially in the closing parts of the race, because of his style he loses about 2 strides after each jump. His positioning on the horse when it lands suggests that he really is scared of falling. He looks really nervous and like he's holding on for dear life, and that's when he restricts the horse.
    I know it's hardly original but i've been hugely impressed by Nina Carberry this season. Always seems to put her mount in a position to win the race if it's good enough. Her rides at Cheltenham on Wolf Creek, Harbour Pilot and one other (in the amateur race on Tuesday) were exceptional I thought.

k.

Anyone that knows me knows I've a huge weak spot for Nina. She's a class act. I'm not too fond of Paul Carberry either, which I've also discussed to great lenght on here before. If I can find that thread I'll link you to it. It was discussion with Morgans a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fr wishy washy

sjones wrote:
    His style. I've said it on here in another thread where a few of his rides were questioned. He had a few bad rides together, most of his recent rides infact. If you watch those rides again you can see him strangling the horse after each jump. Especially in the closing parts of the race, because of his style he loses about 2 strides after each jump. His positioning on the horse when it lands suggests that he really is scared of falling. He looks really nervous and like he's holding on for dear life, and that's when he restricts the horse.

Hadn't really noticed the above tbh,its not been his best season alright but the fact that the Harrington stable were out of it for so long and then M F hanging up his shoes.........

I'm somewhat disappointed today because I'd love to put money on Star De Mohaison but the man is on board. He has a good record on the horse, 2/2, but with the way he is these days I'm not gona go near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

sjones wrote:
    I'm somewhat disappointed today because I'd love to put money on Star De Mohaison but the man is on board. He has a good record on the horse, 2/2, but with the way he is these days I'm not gona go near it.

pity....cos he did everything right on him today !!

i think ye're being hard on ol' barry lads.

i haven't noticed the type of fretting that others on this thread seem to have and glad to see him back in the winners' enclosure today...

k.

scargill wrote:
    pity....cos he did everything right on him today !!

Talk about shooting myself in the foot :o

He was on a good animal today, doesnt change my opinion of him one bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Anyone who doubts the pecking order of current jockeys need only to look at Natural Storm's jumping in his last two races via attheraces video archive. Geraghty rode the horse the first day, Ruby Walsh today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Absolutely shocking ride by Geraghty on 'Gotno Destination' in the last in tramore yesterday. Riding for JP, went off as the 2/1 fav and even with horses falling over themsleves he still couldn't make any impressions.

Shocking.