Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open Betting

• 31-03-2006 4:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21

If anybody from Paddy Power reads this would there be any chance you could put up some match and/or group last longer bets for the Irish open. I think there would probally more gambling done on match bets than on the outright market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

we will be adding a whole host of markets in the next week including match bets.

we are always open to suggestions so if you have any you would like to have a punt on schtick them down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

can any one post a link to the odds offered on current players.
    there was one about a month ago but i cant find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Nationality of the winner: ireland has to be favourite but i'd stick a few quid on sweden. bleeding scandinavians are taking over poker!

Final Table to feature any of the hendon mob: are they even playing does anyone know?

Gholimoli to win: 2/1 , well worth €5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭califano

karlh wrote:

we are always open to suggestions so if you have any you would like to have a punt on schtick them down here.

My made up markets.

Outright winning nationality market.

Last longest nationality match betting market(Irl10/11vEng10/11)

Winning age group market(18-23, 24-29, 30-35, 36 years old or more).

Will an Irish player win it market? e.g 7/4 Yes 2/5 No.

Will a ppp qualifier reach the final table market.

Andy Black Finishing position market(1st-15th, 16th-30th, 31st-45th, 46th place or worse).

Winning hand market. (1 pair, 3 of a kind, Ace high etc).

Match betting
    Martin Deknijff v Julian Thew
    Paul Jackson v Andy Black
    Dave O'Callaghan v Gary Jones
    Alan Betson v John Falconer
    Willie Tann v Donnacha O'Dea
    Peter Roche v Simon Trumper
    Len Collin v Steve Vladar
    Eshan Hosseini v Christie Smith
    All bets 10/11 each of two

Outright winning nationality market.

Last longest nationality match betting market(Irl10/11vEng10/11)

Winning age group market(18-23, 24-29, 30-35, 36 years old or more).

Will an Irish player win it market? e.g 7/4 Yes 2/5 No.

Will a ppp qualifier reach the final table market.

Andy Black Finishing position market(1st-15th, 15th-30th, 31st-45th, 46th place or worse).

Winning hand market. (1 pair, 3 of a kind, Ace high etc).

Match betting
    Martin Deknijff v Julian Thew
    Paul Jackson v Andy Black
    Dave O'Callaghan v Gary Jones
    Alan Betson v John Falconer
    Willie Tann v Donnacha O'Dea
    Peter Roche v Simon Trumper
    Len Collin v Steve Vladar
    Eshan Hosseini v Christie Smith
    All bets 10/11 each of two
    Aidan,
    what are the match bettings?
    what do they mean?
    is it who last longer between the two ppl matched?

Gholimoli wrote:
    Aidan,
    what are the match bettings?
    what do they mean?
    is it who last longer between the two ppl matched?

Thats right Eshan just one against one whoever goes out first between the two listed players then the other guy wins.
    I see ppp have you at 250/1 to win which i'll have a few euro on each way(to win or be placed 1st-4th)

Paddy powers current prices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

Betfair for value imo.

250/1 so thoes are my chances hey.
    im gonna show them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=show_type_by_main_market&selectvcgrp=33964&category=SPORTS&selected_bir_index=

These are the last internet qualifiers left prices. Boardsies are represented :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

3 favourites are all off boards! That's pretty impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I'll match or better all of PP's prices. Prices for match bets and funny bets on request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Whats the odds on Roy Brindley being knocked out first??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭sunzz

eshan when did you qualify for this.

gratz hopefully ill get in on sunday.

was at the live game in sligo, where my AJ, was dominated by A4, all in preflop :(

rag2gar wrote:
    Whats the odds on Roy Brindley being knocked out first??

100-1.

Okay can i have 10 grand on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

rag2gar wrote:

Ill take that bet. The easiest 6,700euro Ill ever make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

RoundTower wrote:
    I'll match or better all of PP's prices. Prices for match bets and funny bets on request.

Can you better pp's 80-1 on daitho ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Daithio wrote:
    3 favourites are all off boards! That's pretty impressive.

which ones are boardsters? (name against nick)

sunzz wrote:
    eshan when did you qualify for this.

gratz hopefully ill get in on sunday.

was at the live game in sligo, where my AJ, was dominated by A4, all in preflop :(
    nah i got my ticket online on the PPP on sunday about 4 weeks ago man.

ntlbell wrote:
    Can you better pp's 80-1 on daitho ?

Yes I'll give you 100-1 on Dave.

rag2gar wrote:
    No.

peeko wrote:
    which ones are boardsters? (name against nick)

In the paddylast bet I'm David O'Callaghan, Len Collin is 'Fatboydim', and Mark McMahon is 'Pokertroll'.

RoundTower wrote:
    Yes I'll give you 100-1 on Dave.

Go to BF, you'll get much better odds:p .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

RoundTower wrote:
    No.

:eek: Why in the world not, spend 3.3k on getting knocked out first hand yourself and pocket the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Daithio wrote:
    Go to BF, you'll get much better odds:p .

200-1 is slightly better all right :)

bohsman wrote:
    :eek: Why in the world not, spend 3.3k on getting knocked out first hand yourself and pocket the rest.

My expectation against those fish is better than 6.7k:D

bohsman wrote:

That was what i was planning!!

I remember hearing about a $100 tourney where the first 5 players (of 50 or so) to get knocked out would get $200 each. I always wanted to find a tourney with this structure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

RoundTower wrote:
    I remember hearing about a $100 tourney where the first 5 players (of 50 or so) to get knocked out would get $200 each. I always wanted to find a tourney with this structure.

might have to introduce something like that into DIT games! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

karlh wrote:
    we will be adding a whole host of markets in the next week including match bets.

Golf has a load of oddball markets. Poker betting should be a lot like golf betting ...... a big field, most players with little chance.

Examples

Player v Player ..... might not work in poker (possible collusion)
    Player Groups ....... Young Guns; Old Fogeys ("Mature" might be more pc); Ladies; Dubs; Culchies; Foreign; ..... you could have groups of ten and offer ~ 8/1 each player.
    Finishing Positions ...... name two players to finish in top 50; name three players to finish in top 50;

Or you could pay odds of say 40 minus the finishing position e.g. if a player finished 10th you would pay odds of (40-10) ..... 30/1. You could vary this. Andy Black could be 20, so he would pay (20-10) or 10/1. You would have to do some homework to fix the number for each and possibly limit the stake.

The problem is you need good info on who will play, and you need good info on finishing positions.

I've just had a look at the Paddy Power odds. They look sensible unlike the 8/1 Boylesports offered on the favourite in Citywest in January.

kincsem wrote:

Finishing Positions ...... name two players to finish in top 50; name three players to finish in top 50;

I really like this idea.

I think the player vs player bets could be very dangerous, and it would definitely lead to collusion IMO.

Daithio wrote:
    I really like this idea.

I think the player vs player bets could be very dangerous, and it would definitely lead to collusion IMO.

Max bet €250 then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

Daithio wrote:
    In the paddylast bet I'm David O'Callaghan, Len Collin is 'Fatboydim', and Mark McMahon is 'Pokertroll'.

cheers, best of luck ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

last longer boards bet anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

bohsman wrote:

You could get a bad beat and win the pot.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Is there a reason why donnacha o'dea isn't listed on betfair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 The_Flyer

a little off the topic but does anyone know off hand how many places are left in the Irish Poker Open and how many runners there will be?

karlh wrote:

Karlh,
    I know its not your specific area but pp have still only the one special market(last longest)?.
    Could you point them in the direction of some of the suggested markets listed earlier in this thread?.