Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hoodies in da Hood

• 30-03-2006 8:07am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine was told to take down her hoodie in the Dundrum Shopping Centre by this huge security guard on the way in. She doesn't look like a knacker band she was there with her fella who doesn't look like knacker either. It was cold enough outside and the minute the two of them went in the door yer man comes over and more or less orders her to remove it.

I didn't know there was a rule like this - anyone else had this experience in Dundrum or any of the others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

did he ask her to take down the hood or remove the hoodie?

not from dublin, so never had an experience of it, but ray darcy was on about it one day, the government wanted to ban all hoodies in SC. even mentioned ray darcy who gave out free hoodies on air.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i think he asked her to take the hood down, i guess any more would have been sexual harassment! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

Well whether or not shes a knacker, walking arouns shopping centres with your hood up is the internationally recognised sign of the knacker. Like a masons handshake, knackers can easily recognise each other by the wearing up of the hood indoors, and say 'ahoy fellow scallywag, fancy causing a bit of a hubub?' without actually saying anything. If shes not a cream cracker, she shouldve known better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Matches

Well alot of cities\towns in England have banned them from the city centre and you won't be allowed in to most pubs with one one either, hood up or down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

Well whether or not shes a knacker, walking arouns shopping centres with your hood up is the internationally recognised sign of the knacker. Like a masons handshake, knackers can easily recognise each other by the wearing up of the hood indoors, and say 'ahoy fellow scallywag, fancy causing a bit of a hubub?' without actually saying anything. If shes not a cream cracker, she shouldve known better.

The voice of reason :D

I can understand why they would ask you to take the hoodie down; its the same reason most nightclubs wont allow you to wear baseball caps- they cover your face and most CCTV cameras would be looking down at you. Making you take it off is another thing altogether; there are alot of hoodies which look no way near knackerish.. it's just stereotyping really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Do any of the shops there sell hoodies?
    Just wondering...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 jdwals

Another sign of a knacker - and this one I really would like someone to explain to me - is these 13 - 17 year old scumbags with whisppy bits of hair or some shoe polish over their upper lips going around with their hands tucked down the front of their trousers?
    Is it that they need to constantly remind themselves, that yes - I am a man and not some spineless sniviling scumbag twirp wanna be gangsta hard core motha ... anyway you get the idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

In May 2005, Bluewater shopping centre famously banned youths from wearing their hoods up indoors. This was helpful for a Labour govt pondering how best to use its historic third term. Suddenly, everything was clear: Stop young people wearing leisurewear tops with hoods attached to the necks. A truly noble endeavour, I think we can all agree.

BT2, House of Fraser, Pennys, AWear, Bests, M&S, H&M all sell hoodies. Suppose I went around with my head down so as to avoid CCTV would that be outlawed too?

Red Alert wrote:
    BT2, House of Fraser, Pennys, AWear, Bests, M&S, H&M all sell hoodies. Suppose I went around with my head down so as to avoid CCTV would that be outlawed too?

I think thats outlawed already..

Ah FFS whats the big deal -take your hood down, take your hat off or whatever....those eejits who start moaning about infringement of their rights should indeed walk around with their heads down, hung in shame. It may be a nuisance, and indeed may be stereotyping all hoody-wearers - right down to the morally uprighteous pillar of society hood-up hoody wearer that is being lumped in with the bad ones. Jeez :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A lot of black lads like to wear baseball hoodies with the hood up, i hope no-one is suggesting that this makes them (loike, TOtal ) knackers or that their dress sense means it okay to discriminate against them.

This is modern Ireland after all and such small minded attitude's shouldnt be tolerated ;)

having said that i was asked to take my hoodie down once in forbidden planet, however i drew the line at removing my balaclava

Bambi wrote:
    A lot of black lads like to wear baseball hoodies with the hood up, i hope no-one is suggesting that this makes them (loike, TOtal ) knackers or that their dress sense means it okay to discriminate against them.

This is modern Ireland after all and such small minded attitude's shouldnt be tolerated ;)

having said that i was asked to take my hoodie down once in forbidden planet, however i drew the line at removing my balaclava

And you would say what? You can't ask them to take their hoods down because they're black and that would be discriminating against them???

There really is no hope for this country....

So will they bar people wearing the hijab from the centre too? I don't want knackers in it as much as anybody else but c'mon the dundrum security guys are just becomeing power-tripping fúckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Well, personally I'd consider it 'good manners' to take your hoodie down when you're indoors, and certainly understandable from a security point of view to insist customers take their hoods down entering stores.
    Bambi wrote:

lol!

Red Alert wrote:
    So will they bar people wearing the hijab from the centre too? I don't want knackers in it as much as anybody else but c'mon the dundrum security guys are just becomeing power-tripping fúckers.

Thats just being pedantic. Hoodies(esp with hoods up) are perceived as being common attire for trouble-makers - even if they are just as common with folk in general. If a trend of hijab-wearing knackers, who start robbing shops and causing grief, emerges, no doubt you will see the security guard demanding that no hijabs are allowed. I just can't see it though....the lads legging it across the park and upstairs to the back of the bus in hijabs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

err... what's wrong with that? The security cameras won't be able to get a decent look at your face if you have your hood up, so it only makes sense to have you take it down. They probably do (or should do) the same with baseball caps, motorcycle helmets, and so on.

I was politely asked to take off my hat when I went into the Square a while ago -- "no problem mate", *off*, no fuss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If a trend of hijab-wearing knackers, who start robbing shops and causing grief,

I think we already have them..they're also professional beggars..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

Its a new "hats off hoods down" policy recently started here in Scotland

see the bbc site for details
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/4541534.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Its a disgrace really. Just shows how we are developing into a society based on fear. The only reason they dont want people wearing hoods is because they feel it would intimidate other shoppers and thus have a negative effect on visitors/revenue.

Cianos wrote:
    Its a disgrace really. Just shows how we are developing into a society based on fear. The only reason they dont want people wearing hoods is because they feel it would intimidate other shoppers and thus have a negative effect on visitors/revenue.

Were punks ever asked to take off their chains and flatten their mohicans before entering a shopping centre? Were hippies ever asked to cut their hair and shave their beards? Are muslims asked to remove their hijabs? No. A guy with a safety pin through his nose, chains, leathers, hobnails, spiked hair etc is more intimidating than someone in a baseball cap or hoody-with hood up - appearance wise. The reason hoody wearers are asked to take their hoods down is that security and cops cannot see shoplifters faces when hoods are up...its that simple. Why would they bother otherwise? To p*** off customers for the laugh?

hepcat wrote:
    Were punks ever asked to take off their chains and flatten their mohicans before entering a shopping centre? Were hippies ever asked to cut their hair and shave their beards? Are muslims asked to remove their hijabs? No. A guy with a safety pin through his nose, chains, leathers, hobnails, spiked hair etc is more intimidating than someone in a baseball cap or hoody-with hood up - appearance wise. The reason hoody wearers are asked to take their hoods down is that security and cops cannot see shoplifters faces when hoods are up...its that simple. Why would they bother otherwise? To p*** off customers for the laugh?

No we werent asked to take off anything..we were just refused entry,often quite violently.When i was a punk back in the eighties you had nor rights of any sort as to wher you weretgrown out of or refused entry to.When the stephens green centre opened(around 88 or 87) they had a no-punks or skinheads rule that you only found out about if you tried to get in.Myself and several of my friends were often ingaged in fisticuffs with security who considered it thier bounden duty to behave like agressive louts if they didnt like the look of you.This wasnt just confined to the stephens green centre..burger king and mcdonalds wouldnt let you in either in those days if they didnt like the look of you and the security werent very polite to put it mildly.The fact that scumbags are allowed into shops at all is a symptom of the namby pamby attitude to anti social behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

No, the reason you're asked to take down your hood or remove your cap is because you're not identifiable from the CCTV camera tapes. It's not because you intimidate other people.

If a punk with a foot-long green mohican shoplifted sex pistols tapes from Golden Discs, the security guards don't have much of a problem identifiying him when he leaves the store. If a person of unidentifiable sex wearing baggy clothing with a nondescript hoodie hiding their face shoplifts, it's difficult to identify them. QED, take down your hood.

I don't understand this attitude of "I don't look like a scumbag!" Would you rather the security guards just tailed you from place to place?

You've entered a shopping centre dressed, presumably, like every other teenager and you have a hoodie on and your hood up.

If it looks like a duck and it walks like a duck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The phenomenon of gangs of hooded youths engaging in serious anti-social, intimidating, dangerous and unlawful behaviour is a serious aspect of urban life today and requires urgent attention by way of appropriate legislation and other measures.

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/DDebate.aspx?F=DAL20051103.xml&Page=1&Ex=1236#N1236

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

In other news from lala land;Publicity starved backbench TD's and tabloids have agreed that if the govt can just get on top of this hoodie issue, we'll have crime licked for sure.

We'd probably be better off trying to figure out why we have a burgeoning population of teenage dirtbags instead of focusing on the clothes they wear. Anyway, I personally prefer the jaunty kerchief over my face when engaged in nefarious activities. Would that i could wear a tricorn hat also :(

in the dundrum centre they have enough of them to actually tail you from place to place. Stephen's green looks like somewhere that would probably get more aggro than dundrum but they don't care what you look like there - and i've never seen any major messing around going on there either. the guards in dundrum are practically running a militia of sorts. suppose i put on a hairband or the like going in and somehow changed the colour of my face - would that be illegal so they can't identify me?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

If it looks like a duck and it walks like a duck...

then ducks will be banned in public places by a piece of emergency legislation rushed through the dáil to prevent ducks from continuing to be a menace to society by quacking loudly on street corners at night, and ****ting on police cars. This will of course address the real social issues that plague us.........

Regardless of the reasons for gangs of hooded youths hanging around in an antisocial manner and indulging in all aspects of illegality,the point is that they ARE doing so and they're becoming and increasingly visible presence.If you go back far enough i'm sure all this country's ills can be layed at the feet of the rack-rent landlords or the corn laws or some other paddywhackery but hoody and tracksuit wearing gangs of "youths" are generally bad news whatever the reason for thier existance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

I can if i try look like a right scum bag and i get trailed by security guards in shopping centres, i see the funny side and lead them on a merry trail, as i won't leave for at least half an hour if i'm being trailed. truth is I'm far from a scum bag, college education, upstanding member of society etc. but i don't even need a hoodie, just need to shave my head.

I can see from a shoplifting point of view (prevention is better than cure) of tell telling folks to drop their hood, but I can se hope people feel a little bit agreived when it happens to them, another off shoot of society hijacked by scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Rockdolphin

Recently a hospital banned flowers from wards, schools have banned children in schoolyards from running and holding hands, tinted windows have been banned along with other car modifications, skateboarding, hoodies, children from pubs and on and on, all banned for one dubious reason or other.

Aren't we turning into an intollerent lot altogether. Hardly a day goes by that someone isn't calling for something they find annoying to be banned. From Christmas carols, nightclubs, boom boom boom music, hamburgers, mobile phones, ipods etc the list is endless. In many cases it's the same people with the same mindset as those fanatics who proposed the smoking bans. They hated the smell of smoke and found smokers irksome so ban it and be dammed ! These people tend to be intolerent of lots of things and have a long wish list of things to be banned.

Our parents and grandparents refered to these people as 'little hitlers' and 'busybodies' . So much for fighting Hitler and the Nazis on the beaches all those years ago. It's about time we started to fight them in our bars, clubs restaurants, cars, buses, butcher shops and homes !! The Nanny State is upon us and I certainly have no desire to have meddlers as my master !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Next time just say that it's part of your religion that you must cover your head at all time with a hood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Liberal do-gooders, and money-grabbing solicitor types whose incessant defence of scummers, or their vehement prosecution of those who abuse scummer rights, they'll be the first against the wall when the revolution comes. Unless the revolution is led by scummers. Or should that be "Even if the revolution is led by former clients". ;)