Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fundraising Ideas

• 29-03-2006 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

Hey all, a friend of mine is going to calcutta and was looking for a few ideas for fundraising. Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

If you can get a few friends and do the packing thing in a supermarket I hear you can make a lot. Pub quiz, that horse racing thing people do forget the name, raffle, mini marathon sponsorship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭R-KEANE

i know someone who held a five aside soccer tournament. those things are very popular. charge 20 quid a head and you'll be able to get enough teams to make up a good size tournament. also, you might need to do some collecting outside your church or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Um, whats he actually fundraising for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Um, whats he actually fundraising for?

my thoughts exactly, he may just be going on holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

as far as i know it's one of those volunteer trip things where they go over helping out and need to pay for it themselfs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Raffles
    Bag Packing - makes about a grand a day if you can get about 5 - 10 of you doing it
    Socials - contact a venue, sort a dj, get making the posters, get them up around the college, do a bit of promoting, 6euro in on the door, 5 with a ticket, you'll make a couple of grand.
    Sponsored anything - shaving head, waxing legs, walk, bungee etc

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

How about a coffee morning type thing in a local parish hall where he can have all the details about the trip and the group he's going with up on noticeboards?

He could charge a certain amount in and then leave a box out for bigger donations once people see what it's for. Provide people with cheapy biscuits, or homebaked ones and pots of tea and coffee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭**elaine**

Yep a coffee morning sounds good. A neighbour of mine is also going to calcutta this summer to do volunteer work, she had a coffee morning last week and it was a great success! She left a bucket just inside the door for donations.
    Another friend of mine went to south africa for a year on volunteer work, she wrote to local politicians and they sponsored her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sell a kidney on the black market.

don't think he is that desperate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'm in a (pretty good) 5 piece covers band - we do rock music and will offer our services for free. If you want more info please PM me.

keep the ideas rolling lads the more the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

normally the charity involved has recommendations on fundraising ideas

e.g.

http://www.concernchallenge.org/fundraising.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

Race nights can raise a lot of money alrightif its done properly (with getting local businesses to sponsor). It might be to much for just a couple of people to do so it would prob be best to run it with a few people trying to raise money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭CoolGuy2006

So your friend is volounteering BUT wants other people to pay for HIS/HER expenses. Your saying the money wouldn't even be going to the People/place itself.

I think your friend has the wrong idea to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Isn't that unetical to want the money to go? should he be giving the money to the charity? Its just lining his pockets IMO

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

If you and/or your friend are male... Wax your chest/legs/whatever in your workplace.. always a popualar one (specially with the ladies) ;) nothing sexier than a man who will make an ejit of himself for a worthy cause IMO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

The club im in held a sports competition recently and we raised 10,000 for GOAL so I would suggest trying that? Or maybe the waxing as was suggested or a table quiz? A girl in our area was doing the same recently (raising money to volunteers) and she did well through a table quiz. Also what ever you decide to do make sure you have a raffle - people will always give you a few euro for tickets - at most events i have organised we get more from the raffle than anything else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

My gf cousin is heading off on a charity trip to Africa next week, she's using a raffle to fundraise. Basically went to a load of shops and got them to sponser prizes for the raffle. Have to say now, she got some fairly cool prizes off the shops (from shopping spree vouchers down to easter choc/alcohol hampers). She's made close to 2 grand in just over a week selling tickets, and she hasn't even held the raffle yet.

So your friend is volounteering BUT wants other people to pay for HIS/HER expenses. Your saying the money wouldn't even be going to the People/place itself.

I think your friend has the wrong idea to be honest.

Think ye have wrong idea of this volunteering business. Fundraising for flight over and accommation and food etc. They don't just need money they need people to go over and help and teach etc. What you get out of it is the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭chubba1984

He should sell his Corsa, the exhaust is dodgy enough on it anyway!! I'll buy it off him for €500!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

sponsored Bungee Jump :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Ive to do this too, have to somehow raise €4500. I think table quiz in a pub is always good. People will do it on a weeknight (like a Thursday) and pay €10 a head. At the end when everyone is a little locked you can ask them for more, tell them how much you have made and how much more you need and what its for etc.

The other thing I was thinking of doing was setting up a stall in a shopping centre and asking people for sponsership there.

If your brave try going out on the street where there are some "chuggers" and pitch to everyone that they are pitching to. Steal all there business, your the one actually doing something after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

Clip board, bright bib, stand on the steet are repeot the mantra:
    "Can I have a moment of your time"
    He may not get much but there will be loads of threads on boards about him. After any publicity is good publicity. :D

Don't bother explaining why he has to raise the cash, those who ask are confused by "donate" as aposed to "volunteer" poor souls, or just looking for a fight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Get a white shirt and a load of lollipops and fake aftershave,hang round in the jacks of a pub handing out toilet roll and talking very loudly on your mobile.I saw a bloke make 9 euro in about two seconds for doing basicly nothing.It helps if you have your feet up on the sink so people cant avoid you if they want to wash thier hands.