Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

knife produced

• 28-03-2006 10:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭

I was walking down through temple bar the other night about 9.30pm on my way down to the taxi rank. Outside the music centre were 3 males. One sitting down (45+), one late twenties and another about 20 or so. They didnt seem drunk or anything bordering intention to cause harm.

I had walked around the corner and there they were. One fella asked me for a light and i said none on me.. and he stood in front of my path. His mate behind him pulled out a hunting knife and sheat and had it out in an act.

I surprised myself really as i just reacted pretty calmly in fairness. Walking backwards to get a bit of distance in case he lunged while talking calmly to the youth in front of me who was coming across like he was stoned or something. He was keeping in the way between myself and the fk with the knife. Got about enough of a distance then turned and legged it.

Didnt stop to check if i was followed but was fairly shaky getting into a taxi later on going home. Now i suppose my point being is this just me or was it a case of being steeped of was it something to do with those km classes which were debated at length is the 'are self defence classes rubbish? thread. I'll never know what your mans exact intentions were or what kept me head somewhat and not just freeze up but its one for the books.

PcWares (an unperforated pcwares....alive to get down to a few more gun classes i think)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

pcwares wrote:
    Got about enough of a distance then turned and legged it.

so sprint training proves its worth again in a 'street knife fight':D lol seriously though sounds v scary, well done keeping your head and getting out of there!

pcwares,

well done mate. you got the best possible outcome from the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

As JK already said, the best defence to any "street" situation is to keep a calm head and think logically, which while being very difficult to do, you seem to have done very well.

And the sprinters win another one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Good stuff. The adrenalin gives you great speed. I remember sprinting about 10 years back when I was totally unfit. The guy after me had won championships in some martial art (I found out later). I out run him on sheer adrenalin.
    I doubt they were going to stab you, especially with all those cctv cameras in temple bar, any stabbing can easily end up a murder. Why would they risk that for a wallet when holding up a bank would get less time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

I had a blade pulled on me before Christmas on D'Olier Street. Waiting at the nightlink and some lad asked for my phone, 4 mates with him. I casually strolled to the bus stop, then he pulled a knife. So I just smiled calmly and hailed a taxi, jumped in and cheesed it to Pearse Street cop shop. When it comes to a blade your pride is going to take a beating but who gives a sh1t. As long as you walk/run away its a good encounter for you.

Roper wrote:
    When it comes to a blade your pride is going to take a beating but who gives a sh1t.

Hey, better your pride than your body dude! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Especially if you rely on your looks as much as I do....:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 847 ✭✭✭pcwares

chalk it down lads ...sprinting wasnt the word. Pride someone mentioned there. Pride intact as im no hero and dont have that mentality.

rubadub - maybe not, maybe your right but would you have stopped to admire his hunting knife and waited to see. I know this country is fairly safe in fairness and i wouldnt worry about walking through there again. But of course the obvious 'there are nutters out there'.

Thanks,

PcWares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

I was'nt so quick when I 18 on O'Connell Street and got slashed with a stanley knife, although could'nt run as I was surrounded but the old Key into someones eye did the job, well enough for me to legit to the taxi office where the called an ambulance...

Altogether well done chip could have been bloody but did the right thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

columok wrote:
    pcwares,

well done mate. you got the best possible outcome from the situation.

Agree with columok and JK on that one too. Did you ring the guards?

nope - didnt ring the gardai.

pcwares wrote:
    nope - didnt ring the gardai.

It's normally best to ring the guards as pretty mucht the worse that will happen is they take a drive or a stroll through the area and ensure that evertything is alright which can be enough to send the boys home for the night if they have not already gone.

didnt even think of it dragan tbh about it. Now that you mention it i prob should have given them a call..