Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealing with the boredom

• 27-03-2006 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭

Hey,

I know i'll probably get lambasted for not watching the play at a table but especially at a multi table tournament when the blinds go up so quickly, the players change at your table at a very fast rate, so i dont see the point in watching them to see if i can pick something up from there play.

Even in STT i only really concentrate when it gets down to the last 5 or so.

Anyways, I usually watch t.v. to pass the time. Is this a common thing and if so, what do you do to while away the hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

You should be watching the other players, making notes on what they raise with and what they didnt raise with, who is tight, aggressive, a muppet. In every STT I aim to make a note on at least 3 players. It can take time (it might be ages before you meet a player again) but eventually note-taking will pay off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

In my opinion if you are becoming bored at the table then its possible that you are playing too much, or at a level that has no real significance to you.

Im only a relative beginner however I understand that realising betting patterns is a crucial aspect of the game. If you are bored to such an extent that you are watching Tv and are oblivious to the goings on at your table then you are not playing to 100% of your capabilites imo.

Maybe music or multitabling could help!Despite the action being much slower I always find it much easier to concentrate in a live game as there i so much to concentrate on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭iBoT

Interesting, i know players who sit in cash games with a few grand in front of them and watch tv at the same time it doesnt seem to effect there concretion, i dont do it tho mainly because i dont have a tv in the hall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

I am a little bit in between. I always watch tv when playing but try to make notes on players too. Having some slight problems making good notes though. If anyone has any ideas of a template to use for taking notes, it would be appreciated as it is one aspect of my game that definitely could improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭barrera

jbravado wrote:
    Despite the action being much slower I always find it much easier to concentrate in a live game as there i so much to concentrate on.

I find the opposite - I find it easier to pick up betting habits, and styles online, because all I am seeing is their bets and their cards. There's no cute blonde, no eejit wearing ridiculous shades, no cheers from an adjoining table, no entertaining chat to distract. It's just cards, chips and bets.

Now I do enjoy all the aspects of live play, but just find online easier to get reads on players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Iceman78 wrote:
    I am a little bit in between. I always watch tv when playing but try to make notes on players too. Having some slight problems making good notes though. If anyone has any ideas of a template to use for taking notes, it would be appreciated as it is one aspect of my game that definitely could improve.

This thread might be a good starting point, in particular NTLBills post.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054891355&highlight=player+notes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

barrera wrote:
    I find the opposite - I find it easier to pick up betting habits, and styles online, because all I am seeing is their bets and their cards. There's no cute blonde, no eejit wearing ridiculous shades, no cheers from an adjoining table, no entertaining chat to distract. It's just cards, chips and bets.

Now I do enjoy all the aspects of live play, but just find online easier to get reads on players.

Easier online? Fair play, your the first person I've ever heard say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Do what a lot of players do and get an Ipod or something similar.