Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

City west show.

• 26-03-2006 3:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭

Saw a sign today for the city west show/auction on April 9th, i think it was,( I must pay attention in future) May finally get to see a few classics this year. I must admit though, I'm not 100% about this, it could have been a sign from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

dubtom wrote:
    Saw a sign today for the city west show/auction on April 9th, i think it was,( I must pay attention in future) May finally get to see a few classics this year. I must admit though, I'm not 100% about this, it could have been a sign from last year.

Yeah it's on again, it was in the Motors of the Irish Times last Wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭dublind

qz wrote:
    Yeah it's on again, it was in the Motors of the Irish Times last Wednesday.

Guys where would i get details of this auction... Is there a number or website..
    Any help would be great.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

Last year details we're:

"Buy or sell your classic cars @ The Classic Car Sale,

City West Hotel, Sun-3rd-April 12pm.

See Buy & Sell Classic Section or call Dermot 01-6600622 for details"

Might try the city west hotel too: 01-401 0500

Cheers mustang68.
    Heres some details..u have to ring Dermot on above number for an entry form.....and the cost of entry of a car is €50 ..Its open for the public at 12 on the 9th... I didnt ask but im sure its free in for spectators...... or people interested in buying .....If you are selling ur car u can get there 1st thing in the morn..He reckons there will be about 200 cars there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭alfarocks

So its a sale then and not a show... Might go as a spectator but certainly won't be paying 50 to show a car I've no intention of selling :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i saw that sign but there is a proper show on in Durrow (laois?) same day.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭coolcon

Durrow show is brilliant. its the much better choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

oh, thats good news..never been before....get back from a jaunt to the Uk the day before, nice to hear it will be worth the effort......(off for the hell of it in one of the fleet to visit the mammy...sure it would be cheaper to fly/drive.....not as much fun though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

If I recall correctly last year it was a fiver in to view with kids free. Their was also an overflow carpark for any classics that may have shown up. Any details on the durrow show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

The show (City West) is good for spectators although I would say the number of cars actually sold could be counted on one hand. :mad:

(Too many wives / girlfriends there too you see):rolleyes:

Thats interesting guys.... As i was told there was close to 50 sales last year... But then it was the organiser who told me that!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 mustang 69

dublind wrote:
    Thats interesting guys.... As i was told there was close to 50 sales last year... But then it was the organiser who told me that!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe he sold a large boat with 50 sail's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

With regard to Durrow, I've gone for the last 3 years and its drawing larger crowds every year, last year they ran out of space by 2.00pm. Get there early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭cormee

dublind wrote:
    ... I didnt ask but im sure its free in for spectators...... or people interested in buying .....If you are selling ur car u can get there 1st thing in the morn..He reckons there will be about 200 cars there.

Last year it was a fiver in per person (I think it was a fiver - money definitely changed hands) and I reckon there was about 50-70 cars.

Took a spin up in the Mustang, couldn't stay long as I have to go to work. 7 quid in, up 2 from last year, although their did seem to be a mighty crowd gathering as I was leaving. They wanted 50 to park the classic in the compound even if you were not selling, which I thought was stupid, they could have filled the place with classics if they had allowed them, only adding to the value for money for the lookers. I would guess that most of the cars their were 80's, a lot of mercs, at a guess about 20% at most were of classic age. A really nice 49 chevy truck came in and that was really a crowd puller, not sure if it was for sale but it was a stunner. A couple of Mustangs, one, and this is just a guess, is the same one that was for sale last year, for most of the year, a blue 68 coupe with a six pot, remeber it, well it's now red, a very nice paint job, looks really well, but it still has the straight 6 and was priced at i think 19K.ouch.Their was a minter RS 2000 custom going for 12K also, not sure what the value of those are today but seem expensive. Herself and I would have loved to go to Durrow, passed the lads coming from the red cow and was tempted to pass city west, probably should have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Was that you in the red Mustang that traded thumbs-up with me, Tom ?

I went to the Citywest "show" - wasn't worth the money in ! Nice cars, but not a lot, and what was there all seemed to be 3 or 4K overpriced.

Interesting stuff in the carpark outside - I forgot to bring my camera into the fenced-off area, so only got pics from the public carpark.

http://mx5ireland.com/members/frank/CityWestApril2006

When I was driving in in the Stag on my way to the public car park, some guy pointed at me all full of attitude and said:

Him: "are you sellin' da' ?"
    Me: "No - just here as a spectator"
    Him: "i don't want to see a for-sale sign on da', reet ?"
    Me: "yeah... what-ev-er"

FFS. That set the tone of the event for me. I think he was one of the organisers rather than the carpark staff that were there.

The only good thing about the day was that this, for me, was the first one of the season and it was good meet up with some old faces. Apart from that, I'll be skipping this thing in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Yeah we got the same speel as we all parked up together. I just looked at him and laughed.

IMG_1969.jpg

th_Mini1.jpg th_Mini2.jpg th_Mini3.jpg th_Mini4.jpg th_Mini51.jpg
    th_Mini5.jpg th_Mini6.jpg th_Mini7.jpg th_Mini8.jpg th_Mini9.jpg
    th_Mini11.jpg th_mk11.jpg th_mk13.jpg th_mk12.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭BopperSnr

The same thing happened to me. This guy (reckon he was an organiser) came up to me in the public carpark and asked was I selling my car, I said I was (thought he might have been interested in buying,. Sure isnt everything for sale at the right price), and he freaked out and told me to leave and that if I didnt leave he'd tow me away. He was shouting and freakin out. I asked for his name but he refused to give it to me and kept going on that I was to leave or he tow my car.
    I was disgusted with the attitude, told him to calm down but that didnt help. I ended up leaving the show.... these bullyboy tactics have no business in this country.

show.jpg

th_TR6.jpg th_Tickford1.jpg th_Tickford2.jpg th_Tickford3.jpg th_Rover.jpg
    th_Porsche.jpg th_OldJag.jpg th_Oldcortina.jpg th_merc1.jpg th_GTI.jpg
    th_DS.jpg th_corollaGTI.jpg th_chevy.jpg th_american1.jpg

th_6351.jpg th_6352.jpg th_6353.jpg th_738.jpg th_205gti.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

There were a couple of lovely old 6 series alright. Anybody spot the red Carrera 4 in the car park? With two child seats in the back?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Great pics - thanks.:D

Pity there seemed to be very few Alfa's and Italian cars there.:rolleyes:

I actually didnt get to take many pics as my camera died, and then I found my spare batteries as I was leaving :rolleyes:

Nice pics, herself took a few,I'll see if they upload later. I don't think I'll bother with that show myself in the future, Obviously I'ts set up to sell cars, but i very much doubt if the majority of people there today had the slightest notion of buying so to my mind it just shows the level of interest that joe/joesy public have in classic cars. If the organisers had an interest in anything other than making money it could be a great event.
    BTW, did anyone notice the two P5B's parked opposit each other, one at 5 1/2 grand and the other over 10. The 5 grand one looked cleaner that the other, apart from some rusty bubbles, but not 5 grands worth of rusty bubbles.

Just took a look at some of Franks pics, ffs, their was some nicer cars in the public car park than at the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭camarobill

money grabin barsteds:mad:i know the chap who runs this is on the boards,so some answers about the siht ass attitude wouldent go un welcomed:confused:,dont highjake classic car fans for money makeing motives,,,classic car shows are for everbody,if its not a show,dont advertise it as one,,rant over:eek:

I boycotted it after the first time I went we'll have to do a free Phoenix park meet for the next city west show and verbally pass it around at the shows.:p
    I'm just fuming to here the treatment of the classics and the owners.:mad:
    If it were me the only thing I would of told him that was being towed was him by my bumper if he even looked at my car with intent.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 John McGinley

I was at City west maning the stand for the Mercedes Benz club. We had cars from the 50's through to the 00's just to show people who might be considering a classic purchase that membership of a marque club can help them with ownership.

I thought there were a lot of extra cars for sale this year. Nobody who visited our stand and talked to me was complaining of the entry fee or the number of cars for sale. Actually there were many positive comments.

I'm sure the orginizer needs to cover his costs so why would he not challange people who park outside with For Sale signs on their cars. We all know people who would do that! As for the rough handed security maybe you should at least tell the orginiser so he can deal with it. I have a low opinion of some security staff and their attitude but they do work for someone who is ultimatly responsible for them, hopefully he has a bit of common sense. There are bound to be more shows and its in his interest that bad feelings are not associated with his event. Give him a chance and i'm sure the whole classic car fraternity will benifit.

Hey dubtom, I gave you a big cheesy wave in Ballyfermot on sunday, you had a passenger and I was in my dirty mazda 626 with no hubcaps (why would someone have stolen my hubcaps?????:mad: ) and you didn't wave back :( I then felt stooopid.

Didn't go to city west, you know my feelings on paying into shows ! :D

John McGuinley, was that your 190SL that was there - if so, it was gorgeous, I lusted after it for a good while.

I would say, for the everyday man, €50 is a hell of alot of money to show your car if you have no intention of selling - I think if they'd had a for sale section and a classics to view section, it would have been far better

Was that you 68, I did wave, actually I nearly gave herself a smack in the face, i didn't recognise you, serves you right for not wearing your Mustang:D

I would say, for the everyday man, €50 is a hell of alot of money to show your car if you have no intention of selling - I think if they'd had a for sale section and a classics to view section, it would have been far better
    Spot on, If the organsiser had any interest in Classics ( apart from money) that's exactly what he would have done.we're down to one show a year now in Dublin now that Celbridge was cancelled, which is a shame judging by the amount of people who showed up yesterday, i rekon their would be room for plenty more, just cut out the money grabbing schemes.

Its always a let down when your not out in your classic and you spot another one :rolleyes: Hope I recognise you when I'm in the Mustang and you're not!

No way I would pay €50 into a profit show, I can understand if you're selling, however... its fairly difficult for the runners of the show to discriminate the sellers from the showers, however I think that all of us are "selling" at any show for the right price. Its too close to call for the organisers.

I'd rather spend 15euro(petrol) on a rip around and a meet up chat.
    But if someone wants to spend 50euro on a one day sale let them tare away, but if it was me I'd use a large free or 5euro show.
    You can also get verbally abused for free.(beep at a Taxi for one):)

I was at City west maning the stand for the Mercedes Benz club.

I'm sure the orginizer needs to cover his costs so why would he not challenge people who park outside with For Sale signs on their cars. We all know people who would do that!
    what costs,jim mansfield owns city west and is only happy for the trade,i dont care what costs he has,A change off attitude is in order:mad: 50 euro a car and 7 euro from every person,is more than costs he would have to cover,if u brought ur car to the[[ show]] and not the [[sale]]] you are more than free to park where u want,his addvertising,and he should stand by it:mad: dont label these people as free loaders,as fare as im concerned he can shuve it,3 years is more than enough time to sort his shows or sales out.....spanner:D

We really must get our act together on this forum and get a meet up organised. Not sure how many we are but we would certainly hold up the traffic if we went out together, or at least make an effort to meet at the next show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

dubtom wrote:
    We really must get our act together on this forum and get a meet up organised. Not sure how many we are but we would certainly hold up the traffic if we went out together, or at least make an effort to meet at the next show.

Kilbeggan on May 28th?

fantastic, only a month or so away, we could have a convoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭alfarocks

Sounds good to me. Now where is Kilbeggan ??

why not meet up with us heading to kilbeggan,there should be about 20,30 cars aaai and others,it should be in the spa hotel and its a great run down;) open road:eek:

alfarocks wrote:
    Sounds good to me. Now where is Kilbeggan ??

From Navan while your looking at the sun setting its a few miles to the left:D

camarobill wrote:
    why not meet up with us heading to kilbeggan,there should be about 20,30 cars aaai and others,it should be in the spa hotel and its a great run down;) open road:eek:
    That sounds like a plan, actually I've been meaning to join the aaai, got the form off Brendan Brady, now where did i put it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 DJDonaL

THE CLASSIC CAR SALE/ SHOW, Citywest

(Donal is my name, and I am posting on behalf of the Organiser and Manager of The Classic Car Sale/ Show, Mr Dermot Flynn)

The Classic car sale / shows were started in Celbridge in Sept. 04 and were an instant success.
    The idea behind the event is that all cars on show are for sale, which is why it is called a sale/ show.
    I have run six successful events to date:
    Three in Citywest, two in Armagh City and the first one in Celbridge.

My next event will take place in Donegal Town on Sunday 23rd of April ( entry forms now available ).

I do not encourage cars for display only, as the venues do not have enough space.
    Classics may park in the public car park but may not display a for sale sign on private property, to do so is free-loading, as I have very large costs to run the event.

Myself and my staff at Citywest received much negative comment about the Classics in the public car park with for sale signs on them (ie “cheapskates, freeloaders, miserable so and so’s ).
    These comments came mainly from genuine classic car people that paid to enter their car in the sale.

For people that do not like to pay in to classic car shows, Citywest is not the place to go, as it would be an expensive place just to display your car, but a cheap and effective way to sell it.

My staff and myself on the day all wore yellow jackets and at no stage were rude or threatening to anyone.
    We did not work in the public car park.
    Traffic control in the public car park was handled by a private security firm and I will investigate further the few complaints I have (trough Boards.ie).
    If anyone was treated badly by security in the public car park I fully accept responsibility and do sincerely apologise.
    I will compensate them by offering free spaces in my next Citywest sale if they contact me.

If I find the security staff were heavy handed I will insist that they are not employed at future events. On the day nobody complained to the staff, which I find strange if there was a problem.

Each event takes 3 months to set up and the costs are very high (advertising campaign in all national News papers, Buy and Sell, Auto Trader, Radio, Staff, Security, Road signs etc..)

Thankfully, most genuine classic car people appreciate the event and its success is built on repeat business and regular customers.
    Many people have had cars at all my Dublin shows, some travelled from Northern Ireland as a result of the successful sales there.

The Citywest show is supported by many Classic Car clubs.

Entry costs for cars vary. Some are free, to a max of €50 depending on the number of cars you enter.

Compare the above prices to any Classic car auction - I am at least 50% cheaper.
    Bring your classic to Merlin car auctions car park, put a for sale sign on it and see how you get on.

To advertise a classic car in any news paper or magazine will cost more than €50 but how many people will come and see it.
    I can guarantee that hundreds of people will see your car.

If it’s the right car at the right price it will sell at my show.

The owners of the following cars contacted mr since Sunday to tell me they sold their cars:
    A blue MGA, Volvo 940, white BMW 635, white MR2, gold MGB, blue BMW 735, fiat estate, yellow Volvo, white merc 200, 1973 celica, Bentley T2, merc cosworth , grey mini, alfa 1300, merc 280s,
    and I am sure there were many more sales.

I am only writing this letter as I received a number of calls from concerned people today about the negative comments on boards.ie
    I am not registered with boards and cannot get involved in any on going discussion about the sale/ show in Citywest.

If you have any comments to make to me, you can email me at provent@eircom.net and I will respond.

Thank You for your continued support,

Dermot Flynn