Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is free speech allowed on boards?

• 26-03-2006 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

because a thread i posted about people getting fed up with foreigners was taken down,why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

shyjoe wrote:
    because a thread i posted about people getting fed up with foreigners was taken down,why?
    Depends on the context, if its insulting, racial, or demeaning no.

from the charter First the rules:

When you registered for Boards.ie and got your user account you agreed to Boards.ie's general rules. By agreeing to those rules you warranted that you will not post any messages that are obscene, vulgar, sexually-orientated, hateful, threatening, or otherwise violative of any laws.

I suggest you read the rest your self....http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=129703

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

there's free speech and there's racism. it depends on how you wrote your post in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

ahh sure just head back over to stormfront from whence you came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

why won't people realise that there is no such thing as total free speech...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

With freedom comes responsibility. I did not see your thread, but often such threads do create problems. That may not be your intention, but it may happen subsequently. Free speech is all very well, but limits have to be drawn and unfortunately some people cross that limit. I think that is probably why your thread was deleted, before someone did cross that limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Racism isn't allowed then? Even if expressed politely?
    I certainly don't support racism, but I would have thought people would be allowed to hold and express it as their opinion :confused:
    I believe racism is wrong, but surely if "free speech" is supposedly allowed, then so is the expression of nazi or racist views etc, so long as no actual insults or slurs etc are used?

Well, it is, of course, just a message board, so maybe the right to free speech needn't apply to users, but let's not go around pretending it does, in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

look at the charter for the board your using then follow that.

Racism isn't allowed then? Even if expressed politely?

Racism expressed politely, a sample of this I have to see :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭The OP

In short - free speech is absolutely not allowed on Boards. If your opinion differs from any of the mods, your post/topic will likely be deleted and you will be banned.
    Quick example: I got banned from the pro-wrestling board because I didn't agree with the new "Zero Tolerance power-tripper" rules the mod implemented - so he banned me. I didn't even BREAK the rules! I just didn't agree with his enforcement of them. Petty.

Topic HERE. My post is 3rd down.

dbnavan wrote:
    Racism expressed politely, a sample of this I have to see :rolleyes:
    Well I agree that your average racist is usually a vulgar, offensive idiot, but that's not to say a racist couldn't come along and simply say "I believe all people of X ethnicity are fundamentally inferior to Y ethnicity". There's nothing impolite about that, as I see it. It is, of course, in my view, horribly wrong, misguided and immoral - but that's just my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

shyjoe wrote:
    No, not really.

Why do you think that it is allowed?

The OP wrote:
    In short - free speech is absolutely not allowed on Boards. If your opinion differs from any of the mods, your post/topic will likely be deleted and you will be banned.
    Quick example: I got banned from the pro-wrestling board because I didn't agree with the new "Zero Tolerance power-tripper" rules the mod implemented - so he banned me. I didn't even BREAK the rules! I just didn't agree with his enforcement of them. Petty.

If you dont agree with the rules and terms of membership dont join simple.....you said in that post you
    The OP wrote:
    I'll just steer clear of this forum altogether in that case.
    So why u bothered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

The OP wrote:
    If your opinion differs from any of the mods, your post/topic will likely be deleted and you will be banned.
    Thats bull
    The OP wrote:

You got banned because you said you never want to go back to that forum, if you had left that out I doubt he would of banned you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

No. Shut up.

the O P wrote:

lol what an A-hole but you did call him bug eyed lol

Well I agree that your average racist is usually a vulgar, offensive idiot, but that's not to say a racist couldn't come along and simply say "I believe all people of X ethnicity are fundamentally inferior to Y ethnicity". There's nothing impolite about that, as I see it. It is, of course, in my view, horribly wrong, misguided and immoral - but that's just my view.

That (your example)is a racial viewpoint as well as being horribly wrong, misguided and immoral.

The belief that race accounts for differences in human character or ability and that a particular race is superior to others. from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/racist

Ciaran500 wrote:
    Thats bull

You got banned because you said you never want to go back to that forum, if you had left that out I doubt he would of banned you.
    That's not the point though - it should have been MY choice not to return!!! He took away my options, which isn't his call IMO. Freedom of speech, my arse.

blu_sonic wrote:
    lol what an A-hole but you did call him bug eyed lol
    But I was expressing my opinion based on a photo HE posted in the "Know your Nerds" topic. Why post a photo of yourself if you don't want comments made on it?
    Another instance where I was banned for expressing my personal OPINION!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

The OP wrote:
    Freedom of speech, my arse.
    Now go spread the word.

dbnavan wrote:
    That (your example)is a racial viewpoint as well as being horribly wrong, misguided and immoral.

The belief that race accounts for differences in human character or ability and that a particular race is superior to others. from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/racist
    Well...yeah. Isn't that what I just said?
    Are you disagreeing with me? :confused:

The OP wrote:
    But I was expressing my opinion based on a photo HE posted in the "Know your Nerds" topic. Why post a photo of yourself if you don't want comments made on it?
    Another instance where I was banned for expressing my personal OPINION!

I think you should be banned altogether at this stage just for being annoying, having no cop on and not being able to understand a charter. IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

There's free speech, but each board has it's own set of rules here, and racism is forbidden by a large number of them. It's the same way that the games forum has rules against people looking for pirated games.

i wasn't calling you the A-hole yer man was on a power trip, its not the rules he put in place its his wrding of them

Nobody said there was free speach on boards its a privatly run website which you can join, if you don't like the rules don't post.

Look bottom line lads if A mod on a board says all members most follow Liverpool that is there right to do that they are the mod's they write the charters,
    Extreme example I know. You read the charter when you join you agree to it.

Nobody has a right to membership to boards or any website for that matter. They make the rules and laws, they decided who stays and who goes, so just learn to live with it.

blu_sonic wrote:
    i wasn't calling you the A-hole yer man was on a power trip, its not the rules he put in place its his wrding of them

Nobody said there was free speach on boards its a privatly run website which you can join, if you don't like the rules don't post.

I know that - thanks.

And I never said there SHOULD be free speech, I merely stated that there absolutely ISN'T. Just an observation - not a request.
    I think you should be banned altogether at this stage just for being annoying, having no cop on and not being able to understand a charter. IMO

In that case, you should be banned for flaming and/or flame baiting.

Yeah, seems fair enough. DeVore and Cloud can forbid whatever they want; it's their site.
    So, no; no free speech for any boardsies.

doesn't make boards a bad place though, lets be honest it rock

had to look up flame baiting new one to me definition is

Being horrible and insulting to someone on a message board is called flaming.

Everything I said was fact IMO. if mods see otherwise fair enough I can take it, doubt they will though.

dbnavan wrote:
    fact IMO.

lol. Do you know what a paradox is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

The OP wrote:
    Isnt it what you get when you crossbreed a parrot and an ox?

hahaha class post!!

Isnt it what you get when you crossbreed a parrot and an ox?
    Sadly, no. Try the humour forum though, because you'd be the top dog over there with gems like that. Good luck with the comedy career. Let me know how it works out for you!

The OP wrote:
    LOL Ok i will give you that one, bad use of english, take out IMO.....can u argue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I wont hear of free speech being allowed on boards! Down with free speech!:mad:

*close this stormfront thread tbh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

post count ++

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Close it for the irony.

OP, if there was free speech on boards, "Moderator" would be a bit of a mooted user title.

*Racism's for gombats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Caryatnid

No, I don't think so.

Just a thought....if there was no free speech on boards do you not think the mods would have closed it as fast as it opened, mods have even contributed to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

freespeech does exist on boards but unfortunetly only for the Mod's!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Obviously this thread hasn't been assessed for what it is yet. The fact of the matter is that you are not free to say whatever you like on boards.ie. What the company publishes, it does so at it's discretion. Remember, this website is governed by the same laws as newspapers and television and all of the rest of the mass media for that matter.

As a result, there is an onus on moderators (whether or not they realise it) to ensure that nothing that might give rise to liability is not published, or in this case, that it is removed as quickly as possible. There are also some pseudo in-house policies that govern what goes on in here, but it's generally up to each and every moderator to decide what they allow to be published, on behalf of boards.ie Ltd.

Edit: Moderators are not immune either. In fact, moderators get banned a lot too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

best way to get free speech on this site is start brown nosing the "moderators" - that's what most users do :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

shyjoe wrote:

I binned it
    why?
    work it out :/

free speech is allowed on boards at the discretion of the people who help run it

best way to get free speech on this site is start brown nosing the "moderators" - that's what most users do

that will get you no where with me savman