Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the worst job you ever did?

• 25-03-2006 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

My worst job had to be in Oz where i had to get up about 4:30 in the morning to stand out side a hostel in the middle of nowhere to be greeted by a neanderthal like australia farmer with a beard down to his ankles who would drive me to his banana farm. Upon arrival i would be then confronted with his horny leg raping bulldog and shown the field where i would have to lug bananas onto a trailor for 10 hours for about 10 dollars per hour. the stack of bananas i would have to drag to the trailor would be the home to rats, snakes, spiders and 101 types of animal faetal matter. Fantastic! i think i'll apply for Alan Sugars apprentice job when it comes around again....
    anyone else have any horror stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

I remember watching a programme on T.V. a few years ago and it boiled down to an undertaker and a maggot farmer and each one thought the other one had the worst job, it was very funny.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

junkyard wrote:
    I remember watching a programme on T.V. a few years ago and it boiled down to an undertaker and a maggot farmer and each one thought the other one had the worst job, it was very funny.:)

My mams cousin is an undertaker, and he is so anti-undertaker-ish it's unreal. Myself and my two brothers hadn't seen my grandmother for three years before she died so weren't exactly affected by it, so before and after her funeral he was over laughing and talking with us. None of this was in sight of any mourners, we're not that insensitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The topic line brings to mind a sketch from Derek and Clive(aka Peter Cook/Dudley Moore)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Reminds me of the mother-in-law joke where the son-in-law is informed by the police that his mother-in-laws body has been found in the tide with six lobsters attached to her and what will we do? so after thinking he replies, you keep three I'll keep three and we'll put her out again at the next full tide.:)
    Funnily enough I always wanted to be an undertaker, I had a strange calling to be one and wouldn't have minded it as a job, I even own a real hearse.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

When I was 13 I delivered milk every friday, saturday, sunday and bank holiday from 2:00am till 5:30am in Neilstown and parts Clondalkin.

The van driver was held at syringe point and robbed twice. So he started bringing a sword in the van, then the next time some1 tried to open the van door he held it to the glass and told them to get away from the van and they ran off, then later that night the same fella walked up tap on the window with a shotgun in his hand ordered the driver out and took off in the van.

We rang the gaurds and they showed up after 40 mins, this was in January so we were left freezing our asses off, and the gaurds found the van burnt out in a different estate came back and told us they had another call so we'd have to get a taxi home. If you've ever tried to get a taxi to come to the part of neilstown we were in at that time of morning you'll know its nearly impossible.

Either that or those 3 weeks I worked at MacDonalds one summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

cleaning airplanes in dublin airport, great laugh working there, but some of the things that you had to do werent pretty, ie clean up ****, puke, piss, havint the majority of air hostesses looking down on you! which i thought was quite funny, cause i would consider being an air hostess a terrible job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

slipss wrote:
    When I was 13 I delivered milk every friday, saturday, sunday and bank holiday from 2:00am till 5:30am in Neilstown and parts Clondalkin.

The van driver was held at syringe point and robbed twice. So he started bringing a sword in the van, then the next time some1 tried to open the van door he held it to the glass and told them to get away from the van and they ran off, then later that night the same fella walked up tap on the window with a shotgun in his hand ordered the driver out and took off in the van.

We rang the gaurds and they showed up after 40 mins, this was in January so we were left freezing our asses off, and the gaurds found the van burnt out in a different estate came back and told us they had another call so we'd have to get a taxi home. If you've ever tried to get a taxi to come to the part of neilstown we were in at that time of morning you'll know its nearly impossible.

Either that or those 3 weeks I worked at MacDonalds one summer.
    Says alot for McDonald's :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Worked in Dublin Zoo, in the African plains resteraunt when it first opened, i was about 16 at the time...amongst other things, (the usual flipping burgers aside) I had to clean up baby shi*t and puke, mop filthy floors, eat that crap for my lunch, all while customers treat you like sh*t.

Which is why in any McDonalds or delivery guys or any job I reckon people would be arseholes to you, I always say please and thank you and throw the odd smile...I know from experience it actually makes a difference. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

I worked in Compustore for about 2.5 hours. It sucked. I'm not supprised they went out of business. I also worked in Black Tie for approximately 3.5 hours.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

In NY back in the summer of 2001 I was handed a jackhammer and had to knock a whole from one floor through solid cement and reinforced steel down to the next floor. Nightmare. That was a J1!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

BossArky wrote:
    In NY back in the summer of 2001 I was handed a jackhammer and had to knock a whole from one floor through solid cement and reinforced steel down to the next floor. Nightmare. That was a J1!

That sounds like fun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Spar.

Never will I forget cleaning that Returns Room. A carton of cream had fell off the "shelf" in the room and spilt onto the floor. It had been left there, possibly for months. It was stuck to the floor, so much so that I needed to pry most of it up with a spatula and then scrub the rest of it off with pure elbow grease.

If you think that cream had been left there so long that it stuck into the ground, you can imagine how bad the gone-off meat smelled.

I nearly got sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

maplin electronics. the manager was insane. have a search for my previous rants on the guy. one thing i forgot to mention was he once locked me in a small room at the back of the shop because he thoght it was funny. then a few weeks later he locked me out the back of the shop when i went to put rubbish out so i'd have to walk all the way round the back of the shops to get back. also he banned two polish employees from speaking polish to each other in the building, even on their break. he rang in on his day off to remind the assistant manager to tell them not to speak polish. nice guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Hahaha is the manager still Tom the wannabe-English guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I was cleaning out drains for 2 weeks one summer. The bad human sh1t filled drains. A lad was stuck for help and said he would pay anything. I am glad that I got €80 a house that summer. We would do about 6-8 houses a day.
    Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Worked in game on grafton street for awhile, (i can say that cuz its gone now) and it was crap the people were nice and most of the managment staff too, but the "company" were a-holes i had to work a back month effectly 7weeks without wages and then just 3 weeks wages when it came through. there were other things one of the managers was a real up them selves fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I spent about two months building mosaics when I was 21 or 22. You spent the entire day shaking little tiles into a grid. I used to feel that my arms were falling off. Also your snot would be the same colour as the tiles you were working with the previous day.

Mind you I was pretty buff after two months of the work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭The OP

Labouring on a building site. Horrible, horrible work. Outdoors in the pissing rain. Did it for 1 week, then left.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

data entry in sandyford. the manager was a total cow and her stoned cousin used to tell her everything that went on when she wasn't around. easily the worst job i ever had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Emptying the bottle bins in a pub...dreadful job, god knows what you'd catch. Never again will i work in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Hahaha is the manager still Tom the wannabe-English guy?

yup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

hotel conference and banqueting porter...in other words a dogs body. That particular hotel was full of such false plastic people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Worked for Allied Foods in Cookstown, working in the cold stores filling up trucks with Ice Cream.

Absolutely horrible job! You had to wear what was essentially a jump suit, i'm a big guy so they didn't have one to fit me, so what i was wearing was essentially a ****ing cat suit! They had no boots in my size so i was wearing my normal runners, plus loading those trucks was absolutely back breaking, and it's not made any easier when you can barely move because of what you're wearing. Oh yeah, and it was a 5pm-2am shift, so when you're going to work, everyone else is going home.

Needless to say, i left in the middle of my second shift, walked into the jax, struggled to get that ****ing jump suit off, left it in the jax and walked home, i remember being so so happy on my way home:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Worked in the county hall in cork.
    My job was to stand in the corridor photocopying cv's for the entire day. Lasted one day, said i slipped a disc in my back playin football after work. What rotten luck eh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Beer is Life

I was a "slapper" in a factory that made sunchairs when I was about 18-19. I got the cushion part and had to even out the filler (slap and shaking) that had just been shoved inside. I got bad friction burns on my fingers. The table I did it on wasnt high enough so I had to bend over most of the day. Looking back now I cant believe I did it for 2 months

I also worked in an AOL callcentre for 4 months. That was ****ing awful, answering calls from irate bastards all day, many of them throwing racist comments about me being Irish etc. I actually dont like being on the phone now, and i find myself getting a bit flustered even when talking to people I know hahah.

i had a job in centra too and i "barred" some kids a few weeks later 15 blokes ages from 15-18 (i was 18) i had to call the police and get a lift home. needless to say i quit soon after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

I was a kitchen assistant in a small restaraunt near where I live.
    Got called into work on about 30 mins notice about 2-3 times a week. A "We need you, come in or you're fired" kind of situation.
    Spent most of every shift on my knees scrubbing krud off of floors, table-legs, walls, underneath of sinks.
    Awful, awful pay. 4 pounds an hour, back in the day.
    Had to scrub old rotten pieces of meat off a fridge floor. One time when the health inspector was coming, we had to move the sinks out from the wall and scrub what was underneath. I swear to God there were actual maggots. Sickening. Then you'd have to lug out a full to the brim, leaky, horrible smelly bin-bag and throw it in the big skip.
    We had to scrub all the big pots (which needed superhuman feats of elbow-grease, I might add), but for a short while the regular dishwasher machine broke. It was horrible. Frantic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Yazamalainia

worked in the k club last summer, was only gona be for 5 days while the european open was on, had to quit after the first day...
    managers were assholes! had to have a one day induction about how to be polite and treat the owners and the fat cats like they were 'royalty' when the only thing they did was hve more money than the rest of us, was actually told to be more polite according to how much expensive jewellery and clothes they seemd to be wearing,...

i got over that but the actual day of work sucked, had some polish woman screaming at me (in polish) waving a tea pot, then she slammed me into a dishwasher and threw a tantrum, and we were 11 ppl understaffed so i was sued as...lounge girl, bar staff, kitchen help, cleaner, stock taker, chef..the list goes on...

didnt bother showing up for the second day..:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Yazamalainia

i was used by the way not sued...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

First job i ever had. On a farm, spent a full week pulling sticks, tree branches and logs out of ditches full of bryers, nettles and thistles in the blazin hot sun.

end of week, guy hands me a check for 35 pound.

I was not a happy camper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Worked in a Dog/Cat Food factory in Walkinstown when I was 17. First half of the day would spent stacking up pallets with crates of tins that were coming of an assembly line, It was pure back breaking trying to keep up with the crates coming of the line and only one 15 minute break in 4 hours of non stop physical labor. Second half of the day was horrendous. Freshly cooked Dogfood was being tinned by a machine and then coming off an assembly line to be packed by us into boxes. Around 1 in every ten tins wasn't sealed properly and they would sometime explode hot dogfood all over you.

Most of it was tolerable but the real killer with this job was the smell. To this I cant forget the smell of that place :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Emptying the bottle bins in a pub...dreadful job, god knows what you'd catch. Never again will i work in a pub.

Did this. Don't forget about the wasps in the summer if you're doing this outside.

Worked as an assistant in a slaughterhouse for two months. Picking up loose meat scraps and throwing offal into skips. Also mopping up blood.
    Even helped out in the killing part. Its known as the kill zone.
    One day two Polish lads locked me in huge deep-freeze room for a hour once for a laugh. Walked out that day.

Some people laugh at me when I'm now a vegetarian.
    Would you go vegetarian after this job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

My worse job was working in Gloria Jeans.. there was alot of Non nationals working there this American girl i remember the most and they were screwing her big time with wages, i told her and she told them where to go. The main reason i hated the job is because the Manager was a "itch i hated her she had no respect for anything or anyone... It like slavery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Plucked a few turkeys for a while at Christmas time, im sure a good few have done that too. Slippery skinned baxtards :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

kitchen porter in an indian restaurant. i only lasted 1 night...
    the clincher came at the end of the night. the owner handed me a pair of marigolds and a potscrub and said "now, we scrub the toilets" with a big **** eating grin plastered across his face.
    theres no way in hell i'm ever going to clean someone elses toilet, let alone one that's used by the public! so i just said "nah, this is where i quit" and walked out (stealing a bottle of beer on my way iirc:p )

the bastard never did pay me for that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My first job, working in Super Valu in Firhouse when I was 15. That was absolute exploitation. Money was sh*te and the managers treated us like crap all the time. Girls weren't even allowed to wear trousers to work in that branch until about a year after I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Worst job was in Tom Stanley's Newsagents. Manager was an absolute wagon. Some scummer accused me of short-changing him €50, I was adamant that I didn't, she pretty much called me a liar, tills were down €50 at the end of the day and she gave everyone a bollocking. Wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

I was a door-to-door salesman, selling subscriptions or some crap... We had to go to Ennis on a bus with which we had to pay with our pockets. I was also in on a training trial period, meaning I would get a tiny lumpsum after the week, and then i'd be on commission after that. Anyways, I quit after three days as I couldn't handle going to ennis at 11am and coming back at 10pm every day, dunno how I even lasted three days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

LundiMardi wrote:
    Worked for Allied Foods in Cookstown, working in the cold stores filling up trucks with Ice Cream.

Absolutely horrible job! You had to wear what was essentially a jump suit, i'm a big guy so they didn't have one to fit me, so what i was wearing was essentially a ****ing cat suit! They had no boots in my size so i was wearing my normal runners, plus loading those trucks was absolutely back breaking, and it's not made any easier when you can barely move because of what you're wearing. Oh yeah, and it was a 5pm-2am shift, so when you're going to work, everyone else is going home.

Needless to say, i left in the middle of my second shift, walked into the jax, struggled to get that ****ing jump suit off, left it in the jax and walked home, i remember being so so happy on my way home:)

Yeah did that,
    i did the Friday, Sunday, Bank Holiday shifts 8 till 5.30, lol really hated it too, for so many reasons, they misplaced my clock cards one week and refused to pay me so I robbed everything that wasn't nailed down for the following 6 months, frozen turkeys, about 100 different type of ice creams, crates of bud light, peas, mixed veg, donegal catch, the lot, they started to have meetings about all the stock that was going missing in the sixth month, but by then I had another job so I walked out (with a turkey under each arm, it was coming up to christmass). How I was never caught considering the brazeness of it all still baffles me, i mean I reckon I could have drove out of there on one of the fork lifts and got away with it. They refused to pay me 112 quid, and I robbed about 10 grands worth of product over six months.

Do you think that makes us even? Or was it overkill?

i hope they don't try to find your ip and try track you down ya big criminal mastermind. lol

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I Used to Work for a Taxi company, Used to do the 10pm till 6am shift. Apart from the time, one of the women i worked with couldnt talk, She thought that the radio hand-piece was her mega-phone.... Annoying enough, without dickheads threating you for not getting them a taxi in 30 seconds, ( i'm a marked man aparently)

I worked there a year and a half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

slipss wrote:
    Yeah did that,
    i did the Friday, Sunday, Bank Holiday shifts 8 till 5.30, lol really hated it too, for so many reasons, they misplaced my clock cards one week and refused to pay me so I robbed everything that wasn't nailed down for the following 6 months, frozen turkeys, about 100 different type of ice creams, crates of bud light, peas, mixed veg, donegal catch, the lot, they started to have meetings about all the stock that was going missing in the sixth month, but by then I had another job so I walked out (with a turkey under each arm, it was coming up to christmass). How I was never caught considering the brazeness of it all still baffles me, i mean I reckon I could have drove out of there on one of the fork lifts and got away with it. They refused to pay me 112 quid, and I robbed about 10 grands worth of product over six months.

Do you think that makes us even? Or was it overkill?
    Stealing frozen turkeys ftw! :p

Nice work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭~Leanne~

@slipss - hahahaha good man!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

worked in a precast concrete factory on a shift from 7am until 6pm for 3 weeks during a summer while at college. Developed a 40 a day habit because it was the only way to make things bearable. The place was run like a stalin-esque labour camp, even mentioning a union was an execution offence, and fellow detainees regularly talked about having suicial thoughts at the end of each and every weekend. it was the type of place where doing things right took you too long in the eyes of the foremen and if it was easier to do a particular job sitting on something for a minute because it was down at that level you were bawled out of it for doing so because sitting down meant you weren't working hard enough. the money was good but only because it included a large dignity payoff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Spent a day in the basement of a hotel in Galway scrubbing pots and pans. Not that bad except for the fact that the kitchen was flooded so I was standing in about five inches of water for the day wearing a pair of converse runners.

Surprised I didn't get trenchfoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

worked in a butchers/shop. was 17 and did everything so they didnt have to pay a manager. had to work the night of my leaving cert and all. My job was serving retail counter, deli & butchers (all at same time!), ordering everything, stock control, papers and my favourite...because I was small I always got the job of getting the boxes of bread rolls out of the back of the over stuffed freezer id be in there climbing shelves (v safe!) for ages my hands were blue!

worked in another butchers- great craic and nice people but at xmas my job was turkey and hams. 5'2 tall, 7 stone girl lugging turkeys up and down all day, weighing them etc some of them were bigger than me. Had to tie up the hams using a special v tight knots with string but after a day of this the string cuts into your hands so you get big cuts on your hand and then the salt from the ham gets into it - soooooo sore its unreal!!!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I was going to do nursing when I left school and went to work in a nursing home for a few years. It was the best and worst job ever. Loved looking after the old people but hated the mess (if you know what I mean) that you had to clean up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Worst job ever: slinging rashers and slopping baked beans in the British Telecom Canteen in England for two weeks when I was 17.

Second-worst job: managing 40 global freelancers producing conference call transcripts for US listed companies. The content of the work was fine, the hours were sometimes upwards of 90 hours a week. It's not funny when you sleep in the office when you're busy. ...and don't get paid overtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Installing very itchy Fibre-Glass Insulation in roof spaces of Houses in Melbourne, during the summer ( many years ago now), Got up to 50+ degrees in the roof.
    Was an absolute nightmare, itchy as fcuk,sweaty as fcuk.

Horrible Horrible job.