Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The SE €25 game last night

• 21-03-2006 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭

Really good tournamnt I thought. Dont get to play in there much but I'll be making more of an effort next time. Small fields and playing 9 places is really good imho for a lad whos only starting off, saying that I got nothing!

Are the fields anlways this small or is it like this for every tourney??

Anyone else playing (what dyou think?) and who won as amatter of interest

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

How small was the field...?The €50 double chance game last week had 80 + runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I never played the monday game there but the thursday E50 game gets 80+ runners now. Wednesday game 30+ runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I never played the monday game there but the thursday E50 game gets 80+ runners now. Wednesday game 30+ runners.

Thursday was the 1st time it's ever had 80+ runners. Usually around the 50-60 mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

True but i said that because i'd say 80+ will be the average from now on. Especially with evenings getting longer weather becoming milder word of muppets. Word of mouth i mean!.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Whatever about the SE, but numbers for Fitz tournaments generally decline for the summer, not increase.

Longer evenings mean more opportunity for the non-dedicated (or non-sad maybe) to do things other than play poker of an evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

apparently there where only 6 registered last Monday/Tuesday (can't remember which) and only 14 starters in the merrion game the same night...online fish are too tasty to turn down :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

ianmc38 wrote:
    Thursday was the 1st time it's ever had 80+ runners. Usually around the 50-60 mark.
    Are you sure? I played three weeks ago (I think) and they actually ran out of chairs that Thursday night, and had 9 tables going IIRC.

That said, I am getting on in years and may be going senile! I'll be playing the €75 DC tomorrow and will report on numbers from that.

Yep, chatting to a few of the dealers who said it was the highest numbers they'd had. Myself and the infamous Fuzzbox may be gracing the SE tomorrow night as well for the €75 DC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

LAst Three Thur nie events have had 84, 65 and 78 afaik in the last three events. It seems to be a very popular tournament indeed. The tournament last night had 3 tables of 9 i think, which is a decent turn out for a quiet monday night. Nick O Hara (Vegas Nights) won it (guy in the white hoody), it was his last tournie in the SE before he heads off on a trip so he informs us, so congratulations to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Make sure you both wear buttons with your board names on them :) I know I played with Fuzzie in the SE before but damned if I can remember what he looked like. Maybe he wore a mask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

ianmc38 wrote:

according to Bernard, the previous 2 weeks were also 79-84.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭Mr. Flibble

I played in that game last night (got the free tenner they give you for joining up to 30 on roulette as my entry). There were less than 30 players.

Top poker players say that you have to go into a game believing that you are the best player if you have any chance of winning. I find this hard to do, but after a few rounds I was there!
    Some of the players were grand, but there were some 'gamblers' there.
    I got lucky early on to give me a bit of a stack where my 3 way all in with KJ beak KQ and AQ.
    Next hand I played was KK on the button. I raised 400 (1000 starting chips) and got 2 callers, this costing them over 1/3rd of their stack each. The flop was 6 high, and both callers went allin before, I of course called. They held something like 34s and 46 (remember they called 1/3 of their stack with this). Both had 1 pair on flop and a straight draw. Turn gave 1 guy 2 pair and the other a straight. Do'h. River put a straight on the board. Phew.

I went out just before the break. I was in the SB with 35, pretty much a family pot. Flop is 236, and it is checked to the button who bets it. I put him on a steal, as he's trying to take the blinds all day and there was quite alot in the pot with so many limpers, so checkI raise all-in, presuming no one can call with anything less than top 2, set or straight. He says he thinks I'm weak, and calls with ....A2. Great read I guess, I'm still happy with the call! Untill an A on the turn puts me out just before the break.

Tourny was good fun overall, but like all rebuy low-buyin events, I felt shortstacked very soon, and it was going to be a crapshoot untill you got lucky enough to build a stack.

(I was in seat 9 (or 10 maybe) table 1, just right of the dealer if anyone was at my table)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Yeah heard about that lads trip around the world. Fair play to him. Me ****ing going all in aginst him and he flopped a straight. D'oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

what time does this start on a monday? might try and get down there next monday, like the buy in price ;) is it f/o or re-buy?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

rag2gar please check the charter. These threads belong in the tournaments sub forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭VEGAS NIGHTS

I played in that game last night (got the free tenner they give you for joining up to 30 on roulette as my entry). There were less than 30 players.

Top poker players say that you have to go into a game believing that you are the best player if you have any chance of winning. I find this hard to do, but after a few rounds I was there!
    Some of the players were grand, but there were some 'gamblers' there.
    I got lucky early on to give me a bit of a stack where my 3 way all in with KJ beak KQ and AQ.
    Next hand I played was KK on the button. I raised 400 (1000 starting chips) and got 2 callers, this costing them over 1/3rd of their stack each. The flop was 6 high, and both callers went allin before, I of course called. They held something like 34s and 46 (remember they called 1/3 of their stack with this). Both had 1 pair on flop and a straight draw. Turn gave 1 guy 2 pair and the other a straight. Do'h. River put a straight on the board. Phew.

I went out just before the break. I was in the SB with 35, pretty much a family pot. Flop is 236, and it is checked to the button who bets it. I put him on a steal, as he's trying to take the blinds all day and there was quite alot in the pot with so many limpers, so checkI raise all-in, presuming no one can call with anything less than top 2, set or straight. He says he thinks I'm weak, and calls with ....A2. Great read I guess, I'm still happy with the call! Untill an A on the turn puts me out just before the break.

Tourny was good fun overall, but like all rebuy low-buyin events, I felt shortstacked very soon, and it was going to be a crapshoot untill you got lucky enough to build a stack.

(I was in seat 9 (or 10 maybe) table 1, just right of the dealer if anyone was at my table)

It seems to be a very popular tournament indeed. The tournament last night had 3 tables of 9 i think, which is a decent turn out for a quiet monday night. Nick O Hara (Vegas Nights) won it (guy in the white hoody), it was his last tournie in the SE before he heads off on a trip so he informs us, so congratulations to him!

Yep- this tourny starts off very loose. It's a relativly cheap entry and rebuy tourny thus a lack of respect for "play".

I didn't rebuy but did top up. This gave me 6,000 returning from break. I didn't get involved in many pots- tried to avoid trouble rather than anything else. Maintaned a resonable stack (15/20 BB's). The feild narrowed and then it was FT where I had the lowest stack.

Only played 2/3 hands during first 2 levels of FT, then we were down to 6. I then became agressive- steeling pre-flop pots with semi-large raises. I wasn't raising with nothing- sort of hands you can raise with but may not call a raise with. On FT I very rarely flat "call" pre-flop. If I am not prepared to call a "raise" after I call BB then I don't call BB. If I am prepared to call a raise after I call BB then I get it in there first with a "raise".

Within next two levels I almost tripled my stack without seeing a river. Then the inevitable happened- Down to four players. I had KQs, made yet another semi-large pre-flop reise, one caller. Flop is Q high (what'r gonna do??), I push all in. I'm called by AQ and drop from 38,000 to 7,000 with blinds 1/2K. From now on my options are fold or all in. I had five pre-flop steels during next 20 mins this bringing me up to 20K. Then came "the moment"- my SB everyone has folded before me. I have my "favourit low hand" (can't tell you what that is, lol) and try another steel with an all in. BB calls (this is not good) He has AKs- (miles ahead) then I hit one of my cards on the flop. He had no help on the turn or river. Nick doubles up- now very comfertably back in the game with 40K and four players fairly evenly matched.

A few hands later there's a clash- player out and another guy doubles up. Chips went round the table for about anothe 20 mins. Then it was my turn 66 in the hole on my BB with no raise. Flop J 8 6. He pushes it in and I call. My set of 6's beats his KJ and it's heads up.

I can't remember the guys name but he said he deals in the Fits- nice guy. He has about 70K and I have about 40K. We battled it out for about 20 mins during wich we became even and then back to 70/40K to him. Then, the nice guy that he is- he offered to split the money in halves (a generous offer from his part). I told him I apreciated the offer but I'd rather play it out-"if I lose, I loose and so be it"). I think he went card-dead for the next 10 mins or so because he didn't call alot of his SB's and when he was BB I raised alot and he didn't call. I chiped my way into the lead without seeng a flop. I decided to break the patern and slowplay my next big hand.

I had A4s on SB and flat called. Flop A A rag. I check and he pushes all in. (I consider where I stand here- if he hit that rag or has any poket pair he can hit a house on the turn or river. It's also possible that he has an A with a higher kicker than mine. Either way I have a very strong heads-up hand and can't put it down so I call. He's holding QQ and has no help on the turn or river.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I can't remember the guys name but he said he deals in the Fits- nice guy.

If this is true then just as well you can't remember his name......

Nick why do you keep using "inverted commas" when saying things like "raise" and "play". I'm beginning to think you're glued to a seat in that place you're at so many final tables