Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lazy? - I am your liberator.

• 19-03-2006 1:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭

The Lazy of boards.ie, no longer shall you suffer.

For years you have been made to read entire laborious pretentiously waffle-full posts just like this, before any form of content could be read,

That time is over.

I introduce to you; FTL tags.

Through the use of my special tags, on any of my posts, you can just skip to the bottom to the contents of my FTL or For The Lazy tags and read that, for a one line hand summary of my post, just look for the brackets.

I shall let you free to express your delight in any form you wish,

here are some examples;

(FTL; "I introduce new members to the concept, link some examples")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭raheny red

Go on, go on, your nearly there that just a little bit away from the 100th post mark, that's it you are a hero!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Have you a thread starting quota to meet or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

wouldn't be easier to just write the tag sentence and skip writing the waffle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Fuck That Loike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭KrankStricher

That's the beauty of boards my friend.

(FTL; "Yeah Whatever", aimed@jimmycrackcorm)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Silverfish wrote:
    Have you a thread starting quota to meet or something?

I was just thinking that myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

have to say this is the first time i've come accross one of your posts. tbh it was a crap post. you shouldn't be making posts about your posts if they suck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Don't listen to them KrankStricher I think this is the greatest thread ever started
    thier all just jealous, fukkk the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

If you aren't going to read a thread, you should not reply to it.

Giblet wrote:
    If you aren't going to read a thread, you should not reply to it.

Nice.
    (FTL: "true")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭dr zoidberg

Nice.
    (FTL: "true")
    Was that really necessary for a one-word post? :D

Good idea by the way, I am indeed a very lazy person.

I owe it to my lazy followers, to always provide concise content for them regardless of the content of my full post, I shall never desert them.

(FTL; I'll never take ye for granted guys)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

The Lazy of boards.ie, no longer shall you suffer.

For years you have been made to read entire laborious pretentiously waffle-full posts just like this, before any form of content could be read,

That time is over.

I introduce to you; FTL tags.

Through the use of my special tags, on any of my posts, you can just skip to the bottom to the contents of my FTL tags and read that, for a one line hand summary of my post, just look for the brackets.

I shall let you free to express your delight in any form you wish,

here are some examples;

(FTL; "I introduce new members to the concept, link some examples")

Omg this is amazing. My life is complete now, I don't know how I ever managed before. Can I have your children now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

It'd be interesting to see other members adopt this. I envision massive ranting, debating posts in Humanites having "FTL: You suck!" at the bottom.

I as of yet have no children, nor have plans for copulation with a specie sample of your pedigree.

(FTL; "Be weary of Repli, he will try to trick you into sexual favours")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

*slowly raises an eyebrow*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,347 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Sounds like somewhat of a good idea. But pointless for short posts.

(FTW; "Sausages!")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Uh oh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

pointless and annoying.

(FTOP: pannoying)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

FTP = Fried Turd Pasta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

what the hell is happening with my plain of existence?

(FTL:WTF?)

(FTB: WE LOVE KATAMARI!)

(FTPCCME: HOORAY!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Deist da fiend lads, you did an FTL in another post and it brought me here, pretty funny idea alright and may come in handy for them threads that look interesting but when you open them there is about 100,000 words to read:eek:

(FTL: cool;))

Quote:
    Originally Posted by jimmycrackcorm

That's the beauty of boards my friend.

(FTL; "Yeah Whatever", aimed@jimmycrackcorm)

I've just had a stunning idea - why not add the ability to post an FTL line seperately from the post!

Wait... What do you mean 'Title' .....

Titles are bent ok.

(FTL; ignore^^^)

cant do titles when you posting a quick post. therefore rquiring more work and destroying the original purpose.

(FTL: the flaw in jimmy's theory)

I would suggest though that the FTL thing as one good potential. You know how you haven't been on boards for a few days and then come across an interesting thread but it is 8 pages long and you have to read each post to get the full gist before replying.

Instead you'd just have to read the FTL - though I'd think they'd be better at the top.

(FTL: testing jimmy's suggestion)

does it look better at the top? or could it get confused mixed in with the rest of the thread? i dunno. Thought it was fine at the bottom, esp if its a thread you made a comment on p9 and its on p26 now. I usually end up scanning the thread till i see someone quoting me and then follow their posts. Sadly i rarely get quoted cause i am rarely wrong :D (except when it comes to oranges)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    cant do titles when you posting a quick post. therefore rquiring more work and destroying the original purpose.

(FTL: the flaw in jimmy's theory)
    Well the idea isn't so that the poster can be lazy, it's for the people reading the post who are lazy. It will require more work on the posters part, but it will make the readers part a lot easier.

(FTL:It's flawless)

well if letting readers get to be lazy but i gotta put more work in it they can f*ck off i aint spending an extre minute or two writing my posts for them beyond a little FTL in the corner...

(FTL: BOLLOX TO THEM!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

You're just lazy. This scheme is perfect for you.

(FTL:Ah G'wan!)

There...hmmm it requires me to click 3 times more then i usually would in replying to a post...that is my hand being used 3 times when it could be put to better use.

like masturbation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

For a second I thought
    BlitzKrieg wrote:
    like masturbation.

Was your FTL

Ps it will not work as ftl is already assigned to "for the lose"

well in all honesty masturbation can be considered FTL...think of all the work that goes into getting laid, while masturbation only requires a fondness of your right (or left) hand and some quality inspiration...

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    There...hmmm it requires me to click 3 times more then i usually would in replying to a post...that is my hand being used 3 times when it could be put to better use.

like masturbation.

That's a joke you can't use FTL tags in titles, it's just wrong.

(FTL;"Don't fall foul to luring titles")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

(FTL: Tags @ top)

I agree should be at the top of posts to save having to read sh1te. I also think the spell chezs will hate them because it will encoulage txt tlk in the tags...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

'FTL tags' are annoying. Not to the point that it would make me angry, but still. Annoying.

I don't want to bring the other thread any more off topic, but they really really are. You say they are 'for the lazy'. If a person didn't want to read a post, they wouldn't open it in the first place! Add to this, if a person was too lazy to read a post, why would they read a tag?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

If you are interesting in a thread, you should read the whole post, not just the FTL tags

I mean c'mon, posts shouldn't be that long anyway, and people tend to to leave a line blank when starting a new paragraph.

Like this

{FTL: ^^^READ ABOVE^^^}

cop out.
    (FTL; sure?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Brilliant! NO MORE do I have to read through posts full of absolute crap like this one...no more tired eyes from over use, and much more time to spend typing, ramming my opinion down the throats of all readers...where it belongs.

This is a landmark in teh internet...and let's face it, books, writing, publishing and pretty much all litrature.

Romeo And Juliet (FTL: Families don't get on, their kids hook up at a session in her gaf, probably locked, there's war between the families, romeo goes into hiding, she fakes her death, he never gets word, being an old romantic kills himself, not before his love wakes up from a drug induced coma and sees him die, then plunges his "sword" ;) into her heart. (not like in the movie.)

Sh!t, imagine hom much time I could have saved studying for my leaving cert if Shakespeare had written a FTL version!

(FTL: I fully endorse this product and/or service)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

DubGuy wrote:
    Brilliant! NO MORE do I have to read through posts full of absolute crap like this one...no more tired eyes from over use, and much more time to spend typing, ramming my opinion down the throats of all readers...where it belongs.

This is a landmark in teh internet...and let's face it, books, writing, publishing and pretty much all litrature.

Romeo And Juliet (FTL: Families don't get on, their kids hook up at a session in her gaf, probably locked, there's war between the families, romeo goes into hiding, she fakes her death, he never gets word, being an old romantic kills himself, not before his love wakes up from a drug induced coma and sees him die, then plunges his "sword" ;) into her heart. (not like in the movie.)

Sh!t, imagine hom much time I could have saved studying for my leaving cert if Shakespeare had written a FTL version!

(FTL: I fully endorse this product and/or service)
    What happened, our Messiah has been banned. :(

(FTL: Why won't someody please think of the children?)