Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week was.....

• 11-03-2006 2:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭

Extremely disappointing if you ask me.

Anybody else feel a bit let down by the lack of events going that didnt involve hanging around the mangy Stables and getting pissed?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Frankly if you stood around the stables getting pissed you deserve to be disapointed.

I had a great rag week, and I didnt touch the stables (Sports bar, groody and Trinity Rooms)

I mean the stables isn't the best at the best of times, never mind rag week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

Frankly if you stood around the stables getting pissed you deserve to be disapointed.

I had a great rag week, and I didnt touch the stables (Sports bar, groody and Trinity Rooms)

I mean the stables isn't the best at the best of times, never mind rag week.

I gotta agree with Petee on this one. Although Petee it had better have been good after all the effort i put into dragging you to the Trinity Rooms. Never doubt my judgement again!!

Had a great week, never mind the Stables, Groody now has pool tables and i feel it will quickly become my new local.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 4,082 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nukem

Rag week actually sucked. Didnt go near the stables as im kinda sick of it - its the same cattle mart night after night IMO. Groody is nicer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Yeah queueing around the Stables for Ragg week wouldn't be my idea of fun. had a pretty good week even though I was broke. Sports Bar, Groody and drinking at home great fun. I managed to get happily drunk most nights as Peteee and Mossin will tell you :)

Cheers
    Rory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Shyster

Crap ONLY because of the weather... its up to yourself what you make of it after that!

Mossin wrote:
    I gotta agree with Petee on this one. Although Petee it had better have been good after all the effort i put into dragging you to the Trinity Rooms. Never doubt my judgement again!!

Had a great week, never mind the Stables, Groody now has pool tables and i feel it will quickly become my new local.

I shall never doubt your powers again, oh noble one! :v:

edit: Wait, wtf happened to the pacman meister!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Peteee wrote:

edit: Wait, wtf happened to the pacman meister!!!!!

:eek: u only noticed that the pacman is gone now?!?..where have you been till now!?
    Ah so what gossip has there to be had from trinity rooms Peteee and Mossin..care to share??:D

Slightly off topic here(sorry Nuk!)but i met a certain fellow off here thursday evening in O'Mahonys bookstore, I was in getting stuff for TP and passed him franticly looking through the books in the sex/sexuality section..was rather embaressed so he was when i went up to him and said hi!!:D

Fast_Mover wrote:
    Slightly off topic here(sorry Nuk!)but i met a certain fellow off here thursday evening in O'Mahonys bookstore, I was in getting stuff for TP and passed him franticly looking through the books in the sex/sexuality section..was rather embaressed so he was when i went up to him and said hi!!:D

Woah, Woah, Woah, Woah, Woah, Woah, Woah, Woah..... theres a sex/sexuality section in O'Mahony's bookstore

Why wasn't I informed!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Oh bollocks, don't say there's a sex/sexuality section next to the (probably called) mind/body/spirit section (where, let it be said, I was there looking for something that should have been filed elsewhere (and under the psychology section rather than sex/sexuality before the wags wake up hours later with a slow retort))

Believe me, had I been searching for anything in the sex/sexuality section I'd have been doing so with all the brimy confidence of a chap who strides proudly up to a nightclub condom machine under the gaze of less confident chaps (presumably before lobbing in a euro to get a box of jelly babies) with that eager grin of someone who's going to get some (or whatever phrase you kids use these days).

Not that I believed you were getting stuff for TP mind you, there was no crepe paper in that bag of yours. No story of "getting stuff for the children, you know" can ever be believed unless there's crepe paper about somewhere.

Oh, on topic, rag week, sort of missed it. Pints Monday in the sports bar with some rag-tag bunch of pseudo tech fugitives, which doesn't count as a rag week event, extensive sleep later in the week to recover from my hectic social life, which I'm currently faking, but looks like I didn't miss an awful lot by all accounts. It was different in the old days of rag week, where you might have found me drinking yards of ale in the Stables, boat racing in the evening and playing Twister in the courtyard, albeit all on different days. And no, there were no dinosaurs around then. Or bouncy castles.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

I had a great RAG week stayed well away from the stables most of my time thought I did go to see The republic of loose(they were better than I thought) and American Idiots(not as good as the real thing but still good!)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

thought rag week was poor, not nowhere near what it was a few years ago, the events in town were pretty useless. i dont know how some of ye could even think about the sports bar for rag week, come on lads like! back in the good old days, rag week consisted of 4 solid days of drinking in the courtyard, watching alot of foolish people make idiots of themselves, from the gunge tank, to boat racing to mud wrestling, and lots more, then off to lodge/town, expensive, but was well worth it. this seems to be a dying trend now. the ents crew wouldnt organise a p**s up in a brewery as the saying goes, and paying €7 into the stables wasnt on either, im sure they could have got decent bands/dj in there without having to charge.

i dont know how some of ye could even think about the sports bar for rag week, come on lads like!

The very reason we went to the sports bar was because it was €7 into the stables!
    back in the good old days, rag week consisted of 4 solid days of drinking in the courtyard, watching alot of foolish people make idiots of themselves, from the gunge tank, to boat racing to mud wrestling, and lots more,

Even when I was in first year (2 years ago) it was more like that then it is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

rag week was...painful :(

killer pack pain for the start of the week.

tho we did in baby mickey finns!!! :D

pld on the 'porno in o'Mahoney's' seamus :v: fool. snared by the balls :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

tho we did in baby mickey finns!!!

Get the facts right, Petee, myself, and others won Mickey Finns, but because we went to the Trinity Rooms, certain people took it upon themselves to take them for us and drink 95% of them, leaving us with Butterscotch flavoured ones.

Sports Bar was good craic on Monday night [thanks to my friend Stella Artois :D]
    Ah so what gossip has there to be had from trinity rooms Peteee and Mossin..care to share??

Nah not really, just let it be said that Petee can never doubt me again, which he has duly noted:

Mossin wrote:
    Get the yak yak yak

Valuable lesson learned young padewan.

Don't buy a ticket and leave before the draw takes place, specially with friends like us :v:

Chalk that one down to experience.

A little photo montage of rag week :v:

Rag week was

Tiring:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kaimera/111363944/

Sexual
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kaimera/111363879/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kaimera/111363895/

Exciting
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kaimera/111363905/

Educational
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/kaimera/111363832/

google images fatima adult doll for more imo if that's yer thing :)NSFW

EDIT: img tags removed...flickr site too slow in hositng images atm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

amazing how they all involve "Ingrid"...ye guys need to get out more..:D

ps: i guessing sceptre was tired from reading all those sex/sexuality books he purchased on thursday..lol..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

...tiring. Out sunday, monday, tuesday, hosted a house party wednesday... And i still managed to make all 5 of my 9 starts! For one of them only 3 (me and 2 housemates) out of 12 of us showed up, and the lecturer took our names, so we got brownie points there. Spent the whole weekend sleeping to recover from it

I enjoyed it, but it is wayyy too early in the year. By the wednesday, it didnt feel like rag week at all, eve though i was tired and hungover almost every morning. I walked through the stables, and didnt go back, cos it was full of first years, so I just bought from the offie and stayed indoors and at friends houses all the time.