Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newtown V Portumna

• 10-03-2006 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

Well lads and lassies, whats your opinion on this one? Newtown will be without Gerdi Mahony, and there's a doubt over Donal Mul- broke his wrist in the Ballygalget game. However, some people feel that Portumna played "their " All-Ireland against James Stephens, peaked too soon. What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I am not sure what to think! I am thinking thay maybe the games on the St Patricks day would be a good reason to ignore my hangover and go to Croke Park, because I cannot pick a winner from either game! Are you going to the games River Allow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Of course! Well, going to the hurling, train is leaving for Charleville again at 4.45! I so hope we do it.. Some craic in Newtown Friday night if we do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Well lads and lassies, whats your opinion on this one? Newtown will be without Gerdi Mahony, and there's a doubt over Donal Mul- broke his wrist in the Ballygalget game. However, some people feel that Portumna played "their " All-Ireland against James Stephens, peaked too soon. What do ye think?

I think its set up for Newtown. Think about it, a bad semi against a team they should have beaten (on paper) by approx. 10 points whereas Portumna 'done the dirty work' for them by destroying James Stephens.

As a Galway man I'd love to see Port winning but I can't see it. It will probably come down to how well the 2 teams' danger men (i.e. Joe Canning and Damien Hayes for Portumna and the 2 O'Connors for Newtown) are marked.

A Newtown win, by about 4 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

I cant see past Newtown tbh. They have the experience of the big day before and in ben and Jerry O'Connor, they will have the two best players on the pitch. I think Portumna will really put it up to them and it will be interestin to see how Newtown handle young Joe Canning and Damien Hayes. If these two really fire then Ports have a decent chance but i reckon Newtown have it by 2 or 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭slinky

I think Portumna by 2 points but should be a close match - really looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭chubba1984

I think both club championship trophies are going to be brought across the Shannon this year. Portumna are a very strong side, and this business of peaking too early is nonsense to me. Two very different styles of play from both teams should make for a very interesting final tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I hope Portumna but we'll see on the day...