Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Herald AM/Metro

• 08-03-2006 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else love getting these every morning! Has most of the days news and last nights sport, sudoku, crosswords, horoscopes, etc! How can they afford to give them free? And pay the ppl who give them out, or should I say the ppl who throw them at you :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Advertising.... plain and simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

yup, its the ads that pay for it. i get the herald am one myself for the sudoku. great way of passing a slow morning, the papers crap though they had laughable coverage of the irish ferries dispute for some strange reason:D

cute young one who i get it off of as well, always has a smile. no mean feat in this city (though actually saying thankyou may have something to do with it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Being the radiant bundle of joy that I am, I always just blank the person who tries to hand me one. I can't stand people trying to push things on me in the street. If free money was being handed out I daresay I'd blank the eejit trying to hand me it.

The crossword in the free herald is terrible. It's written so badly that it's actually difficult. But hey, you get what you pay for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Apparently the freesheets have absolutey destroyed the sales of the tabloids. I couldn't be happier.

They can afford to sell them for free from advertising, in fact they probably make more than they would do if it cost 50c or whatever due to increased circulation

Haha the horoscopes in them are always ridiculous, too. (Like pretty much all horoscopes). "Try to think clearly and make the right desicions today" :eek: :rolleyes:

I wonder what the people distributing them on the street get paid. Yet another one of those soul-destroying jobs, I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

I like the papers something to fnd out the headlines so you can then go home and read a really good paper!:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Haha the horoscopes in them are always ridiculous, too. (Like pretty much all horoscopes). "Try to think clearly and make the right desicions today" :eek: :rolleyes:

I wonder what the people distributing them on the street get paid. Yet another one of those soul-destroying jobs, I reckon.
    That'd be a great job! One of the blokes who gives them out in Terenure (near my bus stop) is practically SKIPPING along, when he's giving them out, lol! It's great, he's all smiles, everyone tips their hat to him, good day sir, great morning isn't it? working hard? not at all! there you are ma'am, thank you, see you tomorrow ;) etc

Happy fella :) I don't see what'd be wrong with the job tbh, you're just giving out free stuff, getting paid regardless, and most people are happy to receive one cos it's somethin to read on the bus or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Actually they get paid a really decent hourly rate, but their day is really short. I think all in all they take home about €250 a week, but they only work 4 hours a day for the papers.

DaveMcG wrote:
    That'd be a great job! One of the blokes who gives them out in Terenure (near my bus stop) is practically SKIPPING along, when he's giving them out, lol! It's great, he's all smiles, everyone tips their hat to him, good day sir, great morning isn't it? working hard? not at all! there you are ma'am, thank you, see you tomorrow ;) etc

Happy fella :) I don't see what'd be wrong with the job tbh, you're just giving out free stuff, getting paid regardless, and most people are happy to receive one cos it's somethin to read on the bus or whatever.

Yeah, maybe. I guess I'm just basing it on the fact that I don't like them trying to hand me one so I'm pretty cold with them. But if every punter was like me, it'd be a horrible job :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭patzer117

I like getting them, just so I can mull over the general news on the luas. tis great craic. I think there should be a poll on this thread though - the metro or the herald am... I'm definitely for the metro - it has more actual news stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

They're both pretty good for reading in college. They've a lot more credibility than the Sun or the like (Isn't saying much). The coverage is slightly better imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Funkstard wrote:
    Apparently the freesheets have absolutey destroyed the sales of the tabloids. I couldn't be happier.

Yeah, I noticed that tabloid sales figures had dropped quite a bit according to the latest stats. That explains it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Do the guys who hand them out get paid by the number they give - coz I always seem to get 2 rolled up inside each other :-)

Also if you are coming from kilmainham towards heuston, there is a guy there who always gives everyone a wave! Nice to see first thing in the morning! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Sometimes stacks of them are just left on the bus for people to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

They're rather poor quality but do keep me entertained on my bus journey to work.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I refuse to get them cause half of them end up on the streets because people dont pay for them then just bin them where ever and when ever they want.