Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More cheltenham Preview

• 08-03-2006 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭

The Cheltenham Festival
    Preview Evenings Reports 2006

CORK - MARCH 6th

Incredibly we had a seven-man panel and an M.C. so we've shortened things to ensure everything can fit onto one email highlighting the more interesting comments. The panel consisted of Ruby Walsh (RW), who certainly spoke his mind, Barry Geraghty (BG), Henrietta Knight (HK) and Terry Biddlecombe (TB), top Irish trainer Paul Nolan (PN), Pat Keane (PK) of the Irish Examiner and Paul Cashman (PC) who gave betting details.

SUPREME NOVICES' HURDLE

RW: I can't have Sweet Wake on my mind. The German form book says he finds nothing off the bridle so I'll be taking it two out and kicking on aboard Noland to get him off the bridle.
    BG: Sweet wake ran very free but still bolted up last time but it was a bad race. I don't think Quatre Heures is good enough and Noland wants it soft. No strong opinion on likely winner.
    HK: I've been impressed with Noland but know little about the Irish.
    TB: Sweet Wake may well have a weak side to him and, if he does, Noland will find up the hill having already won impressively at the track before.
    PN: I know Noel Meade thinks Sweet Wake is the best horse he has had and he's the class act. Quatre Heures' 4yo allowance makes him interesting.
    PK: The British challenge is poor. It's got to be Sweet Wake - Meade says he wasn't a bridle horse in Germany.
    PC: I want Quatre Heures on my side as a bookmaker with his 4yo allowance.

ARKLE TROPHY

RW: Missed That won last year's Bumper despite the fact I gave him a balls of a ride and I wouldn't swap him. Foreman and Voy Por Ustedes have very similar form through Le Volfoni and I respect them. Don't Be Shy wants it heavy and Accordion Etoile's winning form is not good enough. Monet's Garden is the best value.
    BG: I schooled Acordion Etoile yesterday and will ride if John Cullen has not recovered from his dislocated shoulder in time. I'm wishing him a speedy recovery!!!
    HK: Racing Demon has a tendency to jink to the right but he doesn't hang. Voy Por Ustedes deserves a lot of respect and I'm also a big fan of Accordion Etoile.
    TB: Racing Demon's preparation has gone well and he stays yet also has a turn of foot. Yes, he pops a bit to the right but we let him do his thing. I hope there is cut in the ground for him.
    PN: Accordion Etoile was very big before he finished third to Central House at Punchestown so we were delighted with that run where he blew up approaching the final fence. He's never been better and did a lovely piece of work at Gowran the other day.
    PK: Accordion Etoile will love the typical Cheltenham ground. I'm worried that Missed That may lose the race in the early stages with slow jumps and racing Demon jumps to his right.
    PC: Missed That and Accordion Etoile are Cashmans' two big ante-post losers.

CHAMPION HURDLE

RW: If she runs, Asian Maze (ew) is a bet and I'll be riding her. I'm sure she would beat Macs Joy. If she doesn't run I'll be on Sunspot. Hardy Eustace is the only danger to Brave Inca.
    BG: Macs Joy has it to do to beat Brave Inca but the favourite may not get the run of the race like he has been getting in Ireland this season. I think I'm on the next best.
    HK: I'm a big Brave Inca fan especially as he is closely related to Racing Demon.
    TB: Brave Inca for me. He's a had a nice break since his last race unlike some of the other Irish horses. Arcalis is very good but Howard Johnson's horses are badly out of form. Royal Shakespeare at 100/1 would be my idea of a good e-w bet.
    PN: Brave Inca did a final piece of work this morning and did it nicely. It's very hard to break him. Conor O'Dwyer was delighted with Hardy Eustace's workout and he is the only danger.
    PK: Brave Inca is my Festival banker and Hardy Eustace is his only possible danger. If the winning post was at the final flight then Macs Joy would win.
    PC: According to Tom Mullins, Asian Maze is 70% likely to go for the World Hurdle which is why we are 33/1 all in.

ROYAL & SUNALLIANCE NOVICES' HURDLE

RW: Denman was very good in the Challow Hurdle but they were not Grade 1 horses behind. Paul Nicholls left him short before Bangor which is why he wasn't as impressive as many wanted. He's a bit lairy and runs around a bit both left and right.
    BG: I ride Zaiyad for Arnaud Chaille-Chaille. I've not seen him yet but am getting a video this week. They think he's very good. Refinement handles the track but needs to jump better.
    HK: Denman and Mr Nosie are both winning pointers so will relish this stiff test.
    TB: I think Denman will get beat. Mr Nosie stays and stays and stays whilst I've heard lots of good things about Zaiyad.
    PN: Denman is short at 7/4 but feel he is the one. The Sky's The Limit worked well at Leopardstown at could be interesting at a big price.
    PK: Whatever beats Denman. Nicanor doesn't have enough respect for his hurdles.
    PC: It's a one-horse book - Denman is a big loser for us.

ROYAL & SUNALLIANCE CHASE

RW: I think Darkness was lucky to win the Feltham as I rode a terrible race on the second, Zabenz. I wouldn't get off Our Ben.
    BG: I don't think there will be a Gold Cup winner coming out of this race. I can't believe Our Ben is favourite - he ran like needing 4m at Leopardstown! Star De Mohaison has more pace and gets a weight allowance so he would be my e-w pick.
    HK: No strong view - Commercial Flyer at a push.
    TB: Darkness is tough, Our Ben stays and gallops, so one of them. I'd be against The Listener who has a terrible fall last time and it may take him a race or two to get that out of his system.
    PN: Church Island at 20/1 is good value as he's a track winner that should handle the ground. Our Ben runs in snatches and leaves himself too much to do. Bewleys Berry of Commercial Flyer for me.
    PK: Our Ben jumped right at Leopardstown and did the same in one fence in a school on Sunday.
    PC: Our biggest losers are Our Ben and Commercial Flyer. I can't have The Listener on my mind after he demolished that fence at Lingfield where he looked like he didn't even see it.

CHAMPION CHASE

RW: Barry is always positive about Moscow Flyer so it's worrying for his chances he wasn't pleased with him in schooling on Sunday. That said, I still wish he wasn't in the race as far as me riding Kauto Star is concerned. Kauto should beat Ashley Brook again. Dempsey should have won the Victor Chandler off top weight at 25/1 (ew) is the bet. What the hell is Kario de Sormain?
    BG: Moscow Flyer did not impress me in work yesterday. There is nothing wrong, he just did not show the same gears. He should improve a good bit for his last run when the horses were wrong but he didn't show me any sparkle yesterday.
    HK: It would great to see Moscow Flyer win and I hope he doesn't trail behind as that would be sad. There are lots of ifs about plenty so this looks a one-horse race - Kauto Star.
    TB: I think Moscow Flyer can do it again. He loves the track and is not overaced for a 12-y.o. Watson Lake has a bit of a shout.
    PK: If Barry was not impressed with Moscow Flyer, what can you say? We've got to move onto another era. Kauto Star lacks experience but is the one to beat. I won't be looking beyond him.
    PC: I've only laid Newmill but to some lumpy bets at 50/1. Moscow Flyer has been friendless all season.

BUMPER

RW: We don't know for certain which is the best of Willie's (Mullins) five runners and I won't be picking which one I ride. Equus Maximus gave me a good feel when I worked him last week and Ballytrim did the same yesterday.
    BG: I ride Lord Over for Pat Flynn. 25/1 is very generous. He needed the run at Naas and I rode him work the other day and he feels like a very decent horse. When push comes to shove, he will know what to do. Equus Maximus looks the best of the Mullins horses - Leopardstown form generally works out better than Thurles (Ballytrim).
    HK: No strong view. I saw Ballytrim finish second to Mr Nosie in a point-to-point and liked him then. The owners couldn't believe he got beat that day but now they know why given the winner won a Grade 1 last month.
    TB: No view.
    PN: Nina Carberry said Lord Lumey was Meade's best bumper horse (and he's had more bumper winners than anyone this year) and they couldn't believe it when he got beat by Equus Maximus. That looks the best bumper form around. You have to question what Ballytrim beat.
    PK: The last time Mullins ran five, the best any finished was sixth. I like Equus Maximus.
    PC: I lose on this race every year! My big bogey is Dancing Hero who I laid heavily at 28/1. Jamie Spencer was going to ride but he's suspended now so it looks like Davy Russell will ride.

WORLD HURDLE

RW: I'd love to ride Asian Maze in either this race or the Champion Hurdle. There are terrible rumours about Baracouda who hasn't run since Hennessy Day. Mighty Man may be favourite but he strikes me as a high-class handicapper.
    BG: I ride Ambobo who won last week in France. He missed the SunAlliance when favourite last year with injury. It's a tricky race but he has his chance as does Golden Cross on his Irish Champion run.
    HK: I don't think Mighty Man is good enough. Asian Maze must have a very strong chance.
    TB: Mighty Man has been unlucky the last twice and I respect his chance. Doumen's horses are flying right now and I don't see why Baracouda can't win again.
    PN: I fancy Asian Maze big time. She reportedly worked great yesterday and gets a mares' allowance. Ambobo is the each-way horse.
    PK: I can't see Golden Cross winning, Mighty Man is always unlucky and I have minor doubts about Asian Maze staying. I'd give Baracouda another chance.
    PC: I've been biggest about Baracouda for a long time but no one wants him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭decies

Only allowed 10000 words heres the last of it.

TRIUMPH HURDLE

RW: The ground doesn't worry me at all for Mister Hight. He's a hell of a good horse.
    BG: Mister Hight is a justifiable favourite and is the one to beat.
    HK: I've fallen in love with Detroit City, he was most impressive at Sandown.
    TB: Afsoun and Detroit City are our best 4yos and they are very good and I take one of them to beat Mister Hight.
    PN: Mister Hight is the one to beat given how he quickened to win at Leopardstown. Detroit City hits the ground very hard but I'm sure they will have watered by Friday if needs be. Willie Mullins is so bullish about Mister Hight, he rates him his best chance of the week from over a dozen runners.
    PK: If it came up quick that would be a worry for Mister Hight but I'd be hopeful it will be ok for him and his form is strong.
    PC: It used to be the case to take on the favourites in the Triumph but not any more. Kassbah Bliss was backed as if defeat was unthinkable before winning last week despite the fact Doumen said he was not fully fit!

GOLD CUP

RW: With a likely big field, they will go very fast so there is no chance Monkerhostin will stay. Hedgehunter and Cornish Rebel have to improve, L'Ami is bad value on a line through Cornish Rebel who is a better horse on the book, Kingscliff should go back to the Foxhunters', Take The Stand's second last year was a fluke and the trip is a worry for Forget The Past. If he's right and everything goes well I take Beef or Salmon to beat War Of Attrition.
    BG: I ride Forget The Past who is crying out for Good ground. He's only 2lbs below war Of Attrition so has a big chance. McCoy rode a stop-start gallop on Impek in the King George so it was a muddling race so it was easy enough for Monkerhostin to stay that day so I can't have him at all. War Of Attrition or Forget the Past for me.
    HK: I've always been a big War Of Attrition fan but don't dismiss Iris's Gift if he gets into an early rhythm.
    TB: Beef Or Salmon for me. It has taken him 3 years to recover from ricking his back in the Gold Cup when he fell as a novice but he's right now. Our Vic will go close if he runs (hope he does as Impek has a big chance in the Ryanair) and I gather the Pipe team really fancy him.
    PN: War Of Attrition impressed in a school at Gowran the other day and Mouse Morris is getting really nervous which is a good sign. Beef Or Salmon is the danger as Monkerhostin will not stay and end to end gallop over 3m2f.
    PK: The ground has to be soft for Beef Or Salmon. War Of Attrition has been given a great preparation by Morris and has top class Festival form having almost beaten Brave Inca in the Supreme Novices' Hurdle.
    PC: I laid Beef Or Salmon at 25/1 after last year's Gold Cup. Kingscliff is my other loser but I'm not worried about that. I think Celestial Gold will start favourite despite it being his seasonal debut.

Do you want more :D

The Cheltenham Festival
    Preview Evenings Reports 2006

CARLISLE RACECOURSE - MARCH 7TH

TONY DOBBIN

I ride Faasel in the Champion Hurdle but he's a b*st*rd of a horse, so who knows with him.

I can tell you that Turpin Green will run in the Jewson and not the SunAlliance as originally planned. He would easily have won the Grade 1 Scilly Isles last time but for almost refusing at the last fence and I promise you he will not do that again. He's rated 144 so will probably carry top weight and we hope he will he a lot better than 144 next season. If he was going to win the Scilly Isles I would expect him to win a novices' handicap even off a big weight and 14/1 is a very big price.

Premier Dane will run in the Fred Winter Juvenile Handicap rather than the Triumph. It could have been too soon after a hard race for him last time when he was beaten at 1/5 at Musselburgh.

Rasharrow will go for the Supreme Novices' and I give him a real good each-way shout so 33/1 is a big price. He wasn't at his best early in the season but he's coming right now. I was happy with his 5th in the Agfa at Sandown last time as he wasn't wound up so it was no surprise he went from travelling to coming under pressure in a few strides. He is high class on his day as he showed when beaten half a length in the Champion Bumper last year.

Brooklyn Breeze is quoted for the Racing Post Plate but he's had a setback and is unlikely to run.

I don't know who will win the Ryanair Chase but I wouldn't back Our Vic as the vibes are he will go for the Gold Cup.

The Irish won't hear of defeat for Mister Hight in the Triumph when I was over there at a preview but they can be blinkered in their views. I like Detroit City who has the attributes I look for in a Triumph horse. He's tough, stays well and has more than a touch of class.

DENMAN is my banker - boring but can't see past him.

I rode Kingscliff in the King George and can't have him for the Gold Cup because even before he belted that fence after a circuit he felt as slow as a point-to-pointer. Beef or Salmon would be my pick even though I ride Take The Stand who is a very hairy ride, I can tell you!

As for the County Hurdle, the owner of Don't Be Bitin keeps calling me to say he will win!

MARTIN TODHUNTER (had hardly anything of interest to say)

We have Ostfanni in a couple of races but the Pertemps Final is the plan.

(And that's it from him!!)

GORDON BROWN (Journalist/Broadcaster)

People will say I'm mad but I'm an Iris's Gift fan for an average Gold Cup. If he gets into an early rhythm he'll be hard to beat with McCoy confirmed to ride. Expect his price to shorten.

Town Crier would be my pick for the Grand Annual. I know he's 11 but he's bee in great form this season.

For the World Hurdle, by two against the field are No Refuge and Patriarch Express. Graham Lee told me not to worry Inglis Drever can't run as No Refuge is a more than able sub. Patriarch Express ran very well in the Cleeve until a lack of race-fitness kicked in on his seasonal debut and 20/1 is a big price.

For the Pertemps Final I can see Carly's Quest getting in the frame at huge odds. The way the race is run will suit him as he has to come off a fast pace and don't forget he won the Grade 1 Stayers' Hurdle at Punchestown last year.

Our Armageddon is my fancy for the Racing Post Plate. He was back to his best last time and Cheltenham suits him well.

JOHN BUDDEN (Journalist/Broadcaster)

For the Jewson Novices' Handicap Chase, I like Billyvoddan (e-w). Henry Daly is in great form and this has been the plan for a while. He is owned by Trevor Hemmings who also has the likely top weight in Turpin Green which will ensure a nice weight for Billyvoddan. However, for win purposes, I can't see past Turpin Green and he is my Festival banker.

I too like Our Armageddon for the Racing Post Plate. He won the Cathcart two years ago and his attacking style can win him the race.

Kassbah Bliss would be my fancy for the Triumph. Doumen has trained him specifically to peak in March so ignore his early season form and he was most impressive at Sandown last time.

My Gold Cup bet is Cornish Rebel (e-w). He has the class and ran a good third in the Hennessy which is working out well. He was also a good third in the Welsh National on ground he hated and first time headgear can bring around the extra improvement required. I can't have Beef Or Salmon at Cheltenham where he has failed so often in the past.

Green Tango has a great chance in the Grand Annual but I also respect Tiger Cry. Green Tango has a similar profile to Palarshan who won for Daly 3 years ago whilst Tiger Cry is trained by Arthur Moore, a great handler of two mile chasers.

I like Climate Control for the Foxhunters. He was travelling awfully well at Leopardstown last time out before falling in the race that Harbour Pilot was second, and the winner (General Montcalm) is injured and out of the Festival. The Brits don't look good enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Very interesting (although you could have just put it in the other thread, we don't want a new one for every preview). Like Ruby's wondering about Kario de Sormain...that thing could be anything

fade2black wrote:
    Very interesting (although you could have just put it in the other thread, we don't want a new one for every preview). Like Ruby's wondering about Kario de Sormain...that thing could be anything
    Yes boss,i only did that to annoy you;)
    Ruby does seem to have a lot of opions ,i wonder where he get it from:)

Fair play to him for being so frank though...I hope himself and the father are on the DVD again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭allin-king

what DVD is that Fade?

BTW any find their selections keep swaying when you hear something about a horse?

I remember about a year ago i had pencilled Iris's Gift for a big run in the Gold Cup then went competely off him after a poor season's jumping but now since hearing a few snippets of positive news i'm having a good look at him

allin-king wrote:
    what DVD is that Fade?

BTW any find their selections keep swaying when you hear something about a horse?

I remember about a year ago i had pencilled Iris's Gift for a big run in the Gold Cup then went competely off him after a poor season's jumping but now since hearing a few snippets of positive news i'm having a good look at him

The free Star Cheltenham one they release each year. Have the last two, they make some great viewing.