Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Airport Bars

• 08-03-2006 5:32pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone know what time the bars open at Dublin airport?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

About the same time as the checkin opens for your flight.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Moon

Alllriiiight

bfg0023.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

7/8am i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

In arrivals it's normal opening hours,but AFAIK in departures area you can get an early gargle well we did before ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭BadAcidStudios

Yeah, in departures its pretty fecking early. they are always in full swing when i arrive just after 8am. Nothing better than a cold pint for breakfast then getting on the plane for some brekkie and more beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It's 6am... sad to admit but I've queued a few times for it to open!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭The OP

Wow, you're such a 'drinker'! You and your mates are mad! There better be extra beer at the party if you're gonna be there, yeah? ....and all the other drinking clichés people spout when they talk about how much they drink...well done - you drink loads - you're mad, etc.

jester77 wrote:
    It's 6am... sad to admit but I've queued a few times for it to open!

I admire you :-)

What sort of a knob would want to drink at 6am?

I always see groups of lads (rugby heads, general jocks, or spas with luminous ben sherman 'shurts') in the airport at 7am drinking a pint - and NONE of them look like they're really enjoying it - it just looks like peer pressure, as they look tired from the few previous nights on the batter, and they're forcing a smile & pretending they're 'lovin' it large' while they drink it to impress their mates. Sad, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The OP wrote:
    Sad, imo.
    Not everybody works 9-5 you know??

rubadub wrote:
    Not everybody works 9-5 you know??
    What has that got to do with drinking in the airport at 6am?

I used to live in Galway and the only way to get to the airport for an early flight was to take the 2:15 am CityLink bus which gets to the airport around 5am. If the flight was not till 8 then we would just go in to the bar and have a few drinks. Don't see too much wrong with that!

jester77 wrote:
    I used to live in Galway and the only way to get to the airport for an early flight was to take the 2:15 am CityLink bus

Aaah, the sweet perks of country life. lol.
    which gets to the airport around 5am. If the flight was not till 8 then we would just go in to the bar and have a few drinks. Don't see too much wrong with that!

Nothing wrong with it, except when people look like they're only doing it to be a "lad" - I see it all the time. The expression on their face with every sip is a forced grin to their mates, followed by a sad "I'd love a cup of tea" look in their tired eyes.

The OP wrote:
    What has that got to do with drinking in the airport at 6am?
    you are deeming people that would drink at 6am "knobs", what time do you think is acceptable? 6pm when you have finished work?
    My point is people may work hours 12hours offset from the norm, they may be having a pint after a long days work in the UK after they have just got off the plane, like many would at 6pm in the airport.

It is the blinkered 9-5 waking hours that keeps the ridiculous licencing hour laws in effect in this country, which lead to so much crap on our streets at night.

rubadub wrote:
    you are deeming people that would drink at 6am "knobs", what time do you think is acceptable? 6pm when you have finished work?
    My point is people may work hours 12hours offset from the norm, they may be having a pint after a long days work in the UK after they have just got off the plane, like many would at 6pm in the airport.

It is the blinkered 9-5 waking hours that keeps the ridiculous licencing hour laws in effect in this country, which lead to so much crap on our streets at night.
    If you read my examples, you'd have noticed that I wasn't talking about people coming home from work, etc; I was talking about bunches of "boyaz" in the airport who are going away, or have been away, and are forcing themselevs to drink @ 7am due to peer pressure, and you can clearly see on their face that they're not enjoying it - they all look knackered, and hungover but persist due to peer pressure. THAT'S sad, imo, and I see groups of them all the time, when I make UK trips a couple of times each month.

And I don't work 9-5. I'm at home now. Might to into work in a while....

The OP wrote:

I always see groups of lads (rugby heads, general jocks, or spas with luminous ben sherman 'shurts') in the airport at 7am drinking a pint - and NONE of them look like they're really enjoying it - it just looks like peer pressure, as they look tired from the few previous nights on the batter, and they're forcing a smile & pretending they're 'lovin' it large' while they drink it to impress their mates. Sad, imo.

Jesus Mate. Im off to Hamburg most weeks and i always go to the bar around 8am. Most people there are just relaxing enjoying a nice pint. Some people get stressed out with flying so i totally understand them trying a few pints.
    I on the other hand just love the quiet atmosphere and the beer is always great unlike most bars in dublin. Friendly service. The most enjoyable part of travelling for me

The OP wrote:
    Nothing wrong with it, except when people look like they're only doing it to be a "lad" - I see it all the time. The expression on their face with every sip is a forced grin to their mates, followed by a sad "I'd love a cup of tea" look in their tired eyes.

Well that is sad and I see plenty of that! Don't see the point in having a pint if you're not going to enjoy it.
    A pint is nice though after a good fry up, or even a bad one as they tend to be in the airport!

Jesus Mate. Im off to Hamburg most weeks and i always go to the bar around 8am. Most people there are just relaxing enjoying a nice pint. Some people get stressed out with flying so i totally understand them trying a few pints.
    I on the other hand just love the quiet atmosphere and the beer is always great unlike most bars in dublin. Friendly service. The most enjoyable part of travelling for me

For the 3rd time - READ MY POST.
    ME wrote:
    I was talking about bunches of "boyaz" in the airport who are going away, or have been away, and are forcing themselevs to drink @ 7am due to peer pressure, and you can clearly see on their face that they're not enjoying it - they all look knackered, and hungover but persist due to peer pressure. THAT'S sad, imo

Understand? That's the only example gave - I never slagged off people on a business trip, etc, enjoying a relaxing pint before a flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

sometimes you need peer pressure. most people wont want to drink at 7am but if you all force yourselves to do so before you go off on hols - it can be great fun. its nothing to do with 'the boyoz'. dont knock it til you've tried it buddy.

ferdi wrote:
    sometimes you need peer pressure. most people wont want to drink at 7am but if you all force yourselves to do so before you go off on hols - it can be great fun. its nothing to do with 'the boyoz'. dont knock it til you've tried it buddy.
    Aaaw - did I hit home with that one?

eh no....

you acting the arsehole to be honest, go for a rest - you'll feel better after.

ferdi wrote:
    eh no....

you acting the arsehole to be honest

haha - yeah, you admit you force yourself to do something due to peer pressure. You're such an individual...

is this the "Look at me, i'm a ****ing individual" thread?

no.

sometimes you need encouragment from your friends at 7am. if you had friends, you'd know this.

ferdi wrote:
    is this the "Look at me, i'm a ****ing individual" thread?

no.

sometimes you need encouragment from your friends at 7am. if you had friends, you'd know this.
    Aaaaw. You said I have no friends....boo hooo!

Never said it was a ""Look at me, i'm a ****ing individual" thread" - show me where I said that.
    I just said it's sad that you have to force yourself to give into peer pressure - and if you don't think that's sad, then I pity you. It's a pathetic existent if you constantly do stuff you don't want to, just to fit in - but you seem to be standing up for the concept, so I guess you're free to do what other people tell you. Good luck with that - let me know how it all works out for you.
    sometimes you need encouragment from your friends at 7am.
    "GO ON madzer, drink it, ya mad yoke, be one of the lads, GO ON! Waaahahaha"
    Ferdi: eh, okay guys! Whatever you say! Baaaaaaaaaaaa! I'm totally one of the lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

don't rise to this idiot, just another fool looking to push people's buttons........it's none of his business who goes for a drink in the Airport at whatever time they like......

so OP where's the results of your survey on people enjoying a drink in the morning before flying somewhere ?????

The OP wrote:
    Aaaaw. You said I have no friends....boo hooo!

Never said it was a ""Look at me, i'm a ****ing individual" thread" - show me where I said that.
    I just said it's sad that you have to force yourself to give into peer pressure - and if you don't think that's sad, then I pity you. It's a pathetic existent if you constantly do stuff you don't want to, just to fit in - but you seem to be standing up for the concept, so I guess you're free to do what other people tell you. Good luck with that - let me know how it all works out for you.

"GO ON madzer, drink it, ya mad yoke, be one of the lads, GO ON! Waaahahaha"
    Ferdi: eh, okay guys! Whatever you say! Baaaaaaaaaaaa! I'm totally one of the lads!

id say your a right laugh to go away with. Its not simply peer pressure. YOu know that feeling, your in the airport going away, you want a drink, you know it will be fun but your sleep head isnt letting you just yet. This is where your mates and their chants come ie :-) It what you want deep down. You want them to chant, you need them to chant :-) and after the first sip of ice cold beer you realise that life is beautiful again
    slightly dramatised :-)

NIBBS wrote:
    don't rise to this idiot, just another fool looking to push people's buttons........it's none of his business who goes for a drink in the Airport at whatever time they like......

so OP where's the results of your survey on people enjoying a drink in the morning before flying somewhere ?????
    Never said "it was my business" - it was an observation I've made numerous time, which I'm entitled to comment on. Isn't this a discussion forum? Not my fault if it hits a nerve with some people.

man seriously. You see people wrecked in airports eating food. They look wrecked but they want food. Same with beer, they look wrecked and are hungover to **** but they still want their beer. I dont think they are buckling under peer pressure. Hair off the dogs back and all that

The OP wrote:
    That was your first question and the one I had a decent answer to.
    The OP wrote:

I agree with you on that point.

I just do not like the automatic assumption that some people, esp. the policiticans, who think 24hr drinking would lead to crazy rioting, while just neglecting the fact that not everybody works the same pitiful few hours they do in the dail, and so can make it to the pubs when they want.

ruprect wrote:
    I just do not like the automatic assumption that some people, esp. the policiticans, who think 24hr drinking would lead to crazy rioting, while just neglecting the fact that not everybody works the same pitiful few hours they do in the dail, and so can make it to the pubs when they want.

I agree. I never suggested we shouldn't have 24-hr drinking hours. In fact, I'd be up for it, becasue it's personal choice.

I was just slagging off the sheep who....meh - just read my original post....sick of repeating it. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

let's see.
    two threads on this page already locked with "The OP" being the last person to post in said threads.
    if it lives under a bridge, is really big and ugly and enjoys annoying people...

"if it lives under a bridge, is really big and ugly and enjoys annoying people"

ah feck, not Mary Harney again

julep wrote:
    let's see.
    two threads on this page already locked with "The OP" being the last person to post in said threads.
    if it lives under a bridge, is really big and ugly and enjoys annoying people...
    bingo.
    i feel silly letting this idiot troll get a rise out of me.:o :rolleyes:

*clicks ignore button

ah, thats better :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭aido_2006

bout 7am but you can go up to the coffee bars upstairs in departures and they sell bottled beer all through the night...

feel silly letting this idiot troll get a rise out of me.

*clicks ignore button

ah, thats better

Clicking the 'ignore' button automatically inserts text into your post? Hmmm. Interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

The OP wrote:
    Clicking the 'ignore' button automatically inserts text into your post? Hmmm. Interesting.

I've just had a quick read over all your previous posts under this name "The OP" why ... becuase i'm bored at work :P

What iv'e found out .... Nothing that can't been seen from the posts in this thread.

your right , everyone is wrong , you go one about having a opinion and then tell everyone else thier wrong.

yes i know your a big Smelly troll , and i'm falling for the troll bait .. but as i said .. i'm bored at work :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

I used to work 12 hrs night shifts and at the end of the week(which would be either a Thursday or Tuesday morning at 7am) we would head into town and into the early houses for a couple of pints with the rest of the team, at that stage Gateway was open so you would have aload of them as well justs finsihed the night shift.

I remember after a few pints we would head home and people would be looking at us like we where pure alco's becasue we where in the early house. But they prob drank more the weekend before when they out for a few social drinks with friends which is exactly what we done

Back to original topic, only ever drank in the hotel bar when going on a Sun hoilday with the lads and we would always have a few pints in airport to get us into the mood and have a chat with each other. Didnt matter what time it was so I think the earliest was 7 one morning! :D

Megatron wrote:
    I've just had a quick read over all your previous posts under this name "The OP" why ... becuase i'm bored at work :P

What iv'e found out .... Nothing that can't been seen from the posts in this thread.

your right , everyone is wrong , you go one about having a opinion and then tell everyone else thier wrong.

yes i know your a big Smelly troll , and i'm falling for the troll bait .. but as i said .. i'm bored at work :D
    FFS, when did I ever say someone was wrong? I went out of my may to state "IMO" in all my posts where applicable, except the ones that I was stating FACT (i.e. the location of Finland, which isn't exactly a matter of opinion, and the laptop thread in which I stated THE LAW).

Please review my posts again and look at how many times I said "IMO". I never said anyone was wrong just because my OPINION differs form theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

The OP wrote:
    FFS, when did I ever say someone was wrong? I went out of my may to state "IMO" in all my posts where applicable, except the ones that I was stating FACT (i.e. the location of Finland, which isn't exactly a matter of opinion, and the laptop thread in which I stated THE LAW).

Please review my posts again and look at how many times I said "IMO". I never said anyone was wrong just because my OPINION differs form theirs.

Whatever :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Phil.x

What's the earliest you can get a pint in terminal 1.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭conor_ie

Phil.x wrote: »
    What's the earliest you can get a pint in terminal 1.

4am I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The OP wrote: »

People like me who hate flying. I always have either a Valium or a pint before a flight (never both).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,998 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Slaney bar is gone to ****e now. Expensive muck. Might go to one of the fancy ones near the Avoca.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

mmmmmmmmmmm, zombie beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,721 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

450934.jpeg

Dedicated to Omackeral