Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Craig Bellamy Arrested

• 07-03-2006 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

I think this is not the first time he has been arrested, I could be wrong!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/wales/south_east/4783606.stm
    Soccer star Craig Bellamy has been arrested in connection with an alleged assault on a young woman in a Cardiff city centre nightclub.

The Wales and Blackburn Rovers striker, 26, was released on bail after being questioned about an incident at the Number 10 club in February.

He is due to report back to police after further inquiries.

Bellamy was born in Rumney, Cardiff, and returns regularly to visit his parents and other family members.

A South Wales police spokesman said: "We are investigating the alleged assault of a 19-year-old woman.

"A 26-year-old man was arrested on suspicion of assault and has been released on police bail pending further inquiries."

The alleged victim complained of suffering bruising to her arm and neck.

Blackburn Rovers declined to comment, saying it was not a club issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

think this report has been circulating a while now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Well it was on the front page of the bbc sport website and the article is dated Tuesday, 7 March 2006, 16:43 GMT

okie doke :) though i read it somewhere last week...might have been something else related to it, like the girl alleged, but no charges or anything were made :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

jermaine pennant was in trouble last week. i dont like bellamy, the no neck feck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

How come it always seems to be the same players getting into trouble, e.g. Pennant, Bellamy, Bowyer. Is it because people target these players because they know they may get a reaction or is it simply the stupidity of the players themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

mchurl wrote:
    How come it always seems to be the same players getting into trouble, e.g. Pennant, Bellamy, Bowyer. Is it because people target these players because they know they may get a reaction or is it simply the stupidity of the players themselves?

I think they are just stupid to be honest! I mean in Bowyers case fighting starting a fight with one of your own players on the pitch, and being involved in more than one racist incident :rolleyes: As for Pennant he doesn't even drink and manages to get into all sorts of trouble!

You forgot to add Jodi Morris to that list, turning up to training drunk :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Dont forget Dioufy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

jermaine pennant was in trouble last week. i dont like bellamy, the no neck feck.

Ifyou like them or not,please dont use childish insults in regards to players or anyone in this forum.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Well he has been in trouble before and he will be in trouble again, he just seems to have no notion of the concept that he is in the public eye and that everything that he does will be scrutinised, particularly when looked at in conjuction with his record in teams that he has joined with disciplinary offences stacking high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

How many footballers already this year have had stories like this published about them just for it to turn out to be a load of bull?

Graham Stack, Cristiano Ronaldo and quite a few more I'd imagine. This will turn out to be the same. Its quite a lucrative industry now for young women looking for a few pound. Its a chance to get their names in the papers too.

It certainly doesn't seem to be affecting Bellamy's football anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Lemlin wrote:
    How many footballers already this year have had stories like this published about them just for it to turn out to be a load of bull?

Graham Stack, Cristiano Ronaldo and quite a few more I'd imagine. This will turn out to be the same. Its quite a lucrative industry now for young women looking for a few pound. Its a chance to get their names in the papers too.
    I'd agree but when the same sort of stories follow the same players consistently you have to begin to wonder. Particularly when you see Bellamy on the pitch, its not hard to see him being aggressive off it.
    Lemlin wrote:
    It certainly doesn't seem to be affecting Bellamy's football anyway.
    It's difficult for anything to effect ones football when you spend so much time on the treatment table.

Originally posted by Jivin Turkey
    I'd agree but when the same sort of stories follow the same players consistently you have to begin to wonder. Particularly when you see Bellamy on the pitch, its not hard to see him being aggressive off it.

Nothing wrong with being aggressive on the pitch. Roy Keane was another person who had trouble follow him around. Did it adversely affect his career? I don't think so.

Originally posted by Jivin Turkey
    It's difficult for anything to effect ones football when you spend so much time on the treatment table.

It's great to see him playing so well and scoring now though. As with Steven Reid, its just taken Hughes a while to undo the handywork of your old friend Souness' training regime.

Many Newcastle players are starting to find the same results. Funny how the injuries list there is starting to dry up.

I also hope you wouldn't be as quick to dismiss Robbie Fowler after he's spent the last four years on a treatment table. I don't think Bellamy has quite the same record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Yes, as mentioned above, there have been boatloads of accusations latlely, and most were dropped without charge.

Gas how the presumtion of innocence is denied if you dont like the player eh?

They are walking targets, because they have a high media profile, and a few bob.

As to his referred to criminal record, he was once cautioned for common assault in newcastle, and was found guilty of using threatening, abusive or insulting language in wales!

Maybe we should call him moriarty?

X

Lemlin wrote:
    Nothing wrong with being aggressive on the pitch. Roy Keane was another person who had trouble follow him around. Did it adversely affect his career? I don't think so.
    I never said there was. What I said was given his aggressive nature on the pitch, and he is extremely aggressive in his mannerisms, words, and actions, it is not difficult to imagine him potentially being hot-headed off the pitch.
    Lemlin wrote:
    It's great to see him playing so well and scoring now though. As with Steven Reid, its just taken Hughes a while to undo the handywork of your old friend Souness' training regime.

Many Newcastle players are starting to find the same results. Funny how the injuries list there is starting to dry up.
    Given the fact that Bellamy has not played under Souness for 14 months, yet has still niggling injury problems, gives credence to it being more to do with Bellamy's physical condition rather than Souness's training regime.

As regards the rest of Newcastles injuries, ever hear of the phrase "time is a great healer"? The injury list is still hefty enough anyway. A few players have returned yes, but it is hardly as a result of Souness's departure, he is not working in the physio room now is he? They have also had additional injuries Shearer being one. I suppose this is Souness's fault as well. Or is it just an indication that injuries happen in football?

I don't know why you feel the need to bring this up anyway. And I suppose now you are going to point the finger at me at bringing this OT.
    Lemlin wrote:
    I also hope you wouldn't be as quick to dismiss Robbie Fowler after he's spent the last four years on a treatment table. I don't think Bellamy has quite the same record.
    Oh no Lemlin, I can't take anymore of this Liverpool digging, I'm going to call my mother. Why have you even bothered to bring this into the discussion? And you are one of the ones that moan that there is too much Liverpool on the forum?

But again, I'm sure you will mount your high horse and accuse me of going off on one.

I never said there was. What I said was given his aggressive nature on the pitch, and he is extremely aggressive in his mannerisms, words, and actions, it is not difficult to imagine him potentially being hot-headed off the pitch.

Plenty of players are aggressive on the pitch. Have you looked at Steven Gerrard at times?

Given the fact that Bellamy has not played under Souness for 14 months, yet has still niggling injury problems, gives credence to it being more to do with Bellamy's physical condition rather than Souness's training regime.

As regards the rest of Newcastles injuries, ever hear of the phrase "time is a great healer"? The injury list is still hefty enough anyway. A few players have returned yes, but it is hardly as a result of Souness's departure, he is not working in the physio room now is he? They have also had additional injuries Shearer being one. I suppose this is Souness's fault as well. Or is it just an indication that injuries happen in football?

I don't know why you feel the need to bring this up anyway. And I suppose now you are going to point the finger at me at bringing this OT.

Bellamy has had the problems since he left Souness' Newcastle. It can take quite a while to iron out the effects of bad training. Any physio will tell you that.

I've also heard of a profound new belief that not having Graeme Souness conducting your training regime is an even better healer than time.

Oh no Lemlin, I can't take anymore of this Liverpool digging, I'm going to call my mother. Why have you even bothered to bring this into the discussion? And you are one of the ones that moan that there is too much Liverpool on the forum?

But again, I'm sure you will mount your high horse and accuse me of going off on one.

Because you were referring to Bellamy's injury record. I was pointing out that its not nearly as bad as your own team's supposed saviour.

By the way, I don't own a horse.

Lemlin wrote:

By the way, I don't own a horse.

Seeing as you're a Blackburn Supporter, he will probably reckon you stole one :p:p :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Lemlin wrote:
    Plenty of players are aggressive on the pitch. Have you looked at Steven Gerrard at times?
    As I said, if you read what I did say, there is nothing wrong with being aggressive on the pitch. BUT it is easier to imagine a player who is incredibly aggressive on the pitch, both physically and verbally which Bellamy is, translating that off the pitch.

For example, I would find it hard to visualise someone like Luis Garcia going into a nightclub and smashing it up, not saying it couldn't happen, its just more difficult to imagine it than it is to see someone like Wayne Rooney doing it.
    Lemlin wrote:
    Because you were referring to Bellamy's injury record. I was pointing out that its not nearly as bad as your own team's supposed saviour.
    Robbie Fowler has a worse injury record than Bellamy. But I still fail to see any relevance this has to this discussion bar through your school yard brain.

As I said, if you read what I did say, there is nothing wrong with being aggressive on the pitch. BUT it is easier to imagine a player who is incredibly aggressive on the pitch, both physically and verbally which Bellamy is, translating that off the pitch.

For example, I would find it hard to visualise someone like Luis Garcia going into a nightclub and smashing it up, not saying it couldn't happen, its just more difficult to imagine it than it is to see someone like Wayne Rooney doing it.

Robbie Fowler has a worse injury record than Bellamy. But I still fail to see any relevance this has to this discussion bar through your school yard brain.

I was just pointing out that if Bellamy's injury record is a problem for you, Liverpool have just signed a striker with one which is far worse. Bellamy's injury problems will be sorted out by Hughes and his staff at Blackburn, I'm sure of it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

This thread has taken a turn for the ridiculous. Well done guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

This thread has taken a turn for the ridiculous. Well done guys!

I think a certain Turkey man has a bee in his bonnet over another thread and is looking for cheap shots. From his second post on this thread, he's been making personal remarks about Lemlin like "But again, I'm sure you will mount your high horse and accuse me of going off on one".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

What I said was given his aggressive nature on the pitch, and he is extremely aggressive in his mannerisms, words, and actions, it is not difficult to imagine him potentially being hot-headed off the pitch.

I wouldn't say Bellamy is overly aggressive on the pitch. Its a physical game and to play at premiership standards he would need a certain level of aggressiveness as do all players, that does not mean they are thugs off the pitch.

I suggest that you are allowing a personal agenda influence your stated view on Bellamy.

Lemlin wrote:
    I was just pointing out that if Bellamy's injury record is a problem for you, Liverpool have just signed a striker with one which is far worse. Bellamy's injury problems will be sorted out by Hughes and his staff at Blackburn, I'm sure of it.
    Why would Bellamy's injury record be a problem for me? Again, who cares about Liverpool?

I was just stating that allegations like this will effect his football to a lesser extent as he has bigger problems to address first, like getting fully fit.
    Triton wrote:
    I think a certain Turkey man has a bee in his bonnet over another thread and is looking for cheap shots. From his second post on this thread, he's been making personal remarks about Lemlin like "But again, I'm sure you will mount your high horse and accuse me of going off on one".
    For Gods sake, all I did was say that perhaps there is some substance to the allegations. Perhaps.

I didn't bring up any past history or petty remarks until Lemlin started droning on about Graeme Souness and then gave it the "well if he is injured so much Fowler is even worse" tripe.

I take each post on its merits, and I think that given Bellamys history I dont think it would be outlandish that there may be some truth to the allegation. I never once said he was definitely guilty.
    The Muppet wrote:
    I wouldn't say Bellamy is overly aggressive on the pitch. Its a physical game and to play at premiership standards he would need a certain level of aggressiveness as do all players, that does not mean they are thugs off the pitch.
    Neither would or did I. I said he was extremely aggressive, as aggressive as you will probably see on a pitch. It works for him so fair play.

I also never said he was a thug off the pitch. I just said it would be easier to imagine him having a tough side off it, more so than a quieter player like for instance Luis Garcia.

Where is the problem?
    The Muppet wrote:
    I suggest that you are allowing a personal agenda influence your stated view on Bellamy.
    I suggest you are 100% incorrect. Bellamy is aggressive on the pitch and has in the past been accused (even convicted?) of being physical off it. Hence I think we should consider that a little before dismissing this out of hand as another bird trying to make a bit of cash.

Bellamy may well be innocent. And if he is he should sue her. I'm not saying he is guilty, or should be treated so.

Is this unreasonable?

Oh yeah and Liverpool are way better than Blackburn :rolleyes: 5 European Cups la la la :rolleyes: My team is way better than your team :rolleyes:

Another goal this evening. That's 9 in the League this season. Bellamy definitely isn't playing like a man with an allegation that he's guilty of hanging over his head, that's for sure.

Like the allegation, the injury problems will go away, mark my words. For now this topic is more or less over I presume. It was a bit of a non-strater anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Never seen a player with speed overcome injury problems, running really fast into big hard players always hurts.

Less of abuse to players please.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Lemlin wrote:
    Another goal this evening. That's 9 in the League this season. Bellamy definitely isn't playing like a man with an allegation that he's guilty of hanging over his head, that's for sure.

Like the allegation, the injury problems will go away, mark my words. For now this topic is more or less over I presume. It was a bit of a non-strater anyway.

So because hes playing well hes not guilty? interesting logic.

Well United fans would tell you that Cristiano Ronaldo's form dipped earlier this season because he had false allegations hanging over him. Bellamy isn't playing like a man who has any allegations hanging over himself. Would you not concur?

Lemlin wrote:
    Well United fans would tell you that Cristiano Ronaldo's form dipped earlier this season because he had false allegations hanging over him. Bellamy isn't playing like a man who has any allegations hanging over himself. Would you not concur?

Lee Bowyer and Jonathan Woodgate. different strolks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭Serbian

Lee Bowyer and Jonathan Woodgate. different strolks..

I would tend to agree that form has nothing to do with his guilt or innocence of any allegation against him. Some people are able to remain focused in the work place under personal pressure or strife, some aren't. It's something we all have to contend with at some point or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

samepeople, same pointless arguements.

and yes, im talking about lemlin.

apparently people cant have a discussion about anything blackburn related least it get turned intot the great 'scres you and your club' discussion.

anyway, the fact that bellemy is currently out on bail may give indiation to whats going on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

apparently people cant have a discussion about anything blackburn related least it get turned intot the great 'scres you and your club' discussion.

anyway, the fact that bellemy is currently out on bail may give indiation to whats going on...

Funny, I wouldn't blame Lemlin. Jivin Turkey was the one who dragged it into personal innuendo and dragged the subject topic of the charges and onto Bellamy's fitness.

I'm all for people having discussions about Blackburn Whitewashman. What I don't like is people having cheap shots at Craig Bellamy or Blackburn. And an individual or two contributed to this thread just for that reason.

Say what they want about the player, Bellamy is a striker who has scored four goals and created three more in his last four Premiership starts. He may be obnoxious and arrogant but I couldn't care how he is off the pitch if he's playing like he is at the moment.

And as long as these allegations don't affect Blackburn Rovers FC, I've no interest in what goes on, or doesn't, in Craig Bellamy's personal life.

conversation was about craig bellemys personal life.

didnt seem to stop you going off about robbie fowler etc. maybe im just fed up of that enormous chip you appear to have on your shoulder.
    although, i have known a few blackburn fans, and they all seem to have it.
    must be that underdog thing or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,957 ✭✭✭✭Villain

God I could have sworn this was the soccer forum??

irish1 wrote:
    God I could have sworn this was the soccer forum??

So did I. Which is why I'm wondering why so many people are interested in Craig Bellamy's personal life? Because he's a talented individual who has had problems in the past and is an easy target? Nah, it couldn't be that ;)
    Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    conversation was about craig bellemys personal life.

didnt seem to stop you going off about robbie fowler etc. maybe im just fed up of that enormous chip you appear to have on your shoulder.
    although, i have known a few blackburn fans, and they all seem to have it.
    must be that underdog thing or something?

Yes, and my point is that we shouldn't be interested in anything but Craig Bellamy the footballer.

I mentioned Fowler because a Liverpool supporter made a cheap shot about Bellamy's fitness problems. I was making an observation about that person's own club signing a player in far worse shape than Bellamy. Surely that's allowed.

I suggest you leave your comments about Blackburn Rovers supporters and any such generalisations where they belong: at the door.

Triton wrote:
    Funny, I wouldn't blame Lemlin. Jivin Turkey was the one who dragged it into personal innuendo and dragged the subject topic of the charges and onto Bellamy's fitness.
    I didn't drag the subject on the subject of Bellamys fitness. I made a valid point that Bellamy has bigger influences effecting how he is playing. What's your problem with me. I've seen you name me in your two previous posts.
    Lemlin wrote:
    I'm all for people having discussions about Blackburn Whitewashman. What I don't like is people having cheap shots at Craig Bellamy or Blackburn. And an individual or two contributed to this thread just for that reason.

Say what they want about the player, Bellamy is a striker who has scored four goals and created three more in his last four Premiership starts. He may be obnoxious and arrogant but I couldn't care how he is off the pitch if he's playing like he is at the moment.

And as long as these allegations don't affect Blackburn Rovers FC, I've no interest in what goes on, or doesn't, in Craig Bellamy's personal life.
    When did I make a cheap shot at Craig Bellamy? If I were going to make a cheap shot I could and would have gone much lower. As I said above, the allegations may not be affecting his football because he more focused on getting fit than anything. Reasonable, no?
    Lemlin wrote:
    So did I. Which is why I'm wondering why so many people are interested in Craig Bellamy's personal life? Because he's a talented individual who has had problems in the past and is an easy target? Nah, it couldn't be that ;)
    No I wouldn't say that. In fact I wouldn't say many people are interested in Craig Bellamy's personal life. It's not like we see thread after thread about him is it? This story is being discussed like it would have been for any other player.

When did I make a cheap shot at Craig Bellamy? If I were going to make a cheap shot I could and would have gone much lower. As I said above, the allegations may not be affecting his football because he more focused on getting fit than anything. Reasonable, no?

Your point would of made sense if the player wasn't fit at the moment. Bellamy has been fit now for four or five weeks. Like I said, 4 goals and 3 assists in 4 starts is not the work of a striker who isn't fit.

No I wouldn't say that. In fact I wouldn't say many people are interested in Craig Bellamy's personal life. It's not like we see thread after thread about him is it? This story is being discussed like it would have been for any other player.

Yes, and we've had a vast amount of these stories on here now and none of them have turned out to be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭chiller

though this was about bellemy gettin arrested not about being injured or anything else 4 that matter

Lemlin wrote:
    yes, and we've had a vast amount of these stories on here now and none of them have turned out to be true.

They havent been proven, doesnt mean they havent been true.

Depends whether you believe in the justice system then Chucky but that's a whole different ball game to soccer and probably one for the legal forum, if there is one that is.

so youre saying we are not allowed to discuss craig bellamy here?

are you vetoing our discussion becuase hes a blackburn player?

Lemlin wrote:
    Depends whether you believe in the justice system then Chucky but that's a whole different ball game to soccer and probably one for the legal forum, if there is one that is.

Your right. Everyone who is in prision really did commit the crime, and everyone who was found not guilty or wasnt charged really didnt commit the crime.

Yay for the justice system!

THats enough out for me for this thread anyway.

so youre saying we are not allowed to discuss craig bellamy here?

are you vetoing our discussion becuase hes a blackburn player?

Who you want to discuss isn't up to me. I can't veto anyone's discussion. That's the job of the good moderators of the world, like your good self ;)