Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TonyG givin' it socks on Challange+1 now

• 07-03-2006 12:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭

If you havn't seen this before put it on, its brill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

he's such a mouth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

aww He's a gob like the grand canyon but his bluff when Sunar has top pair, 9's Q kicker, and Tony has 8 4 is one of the best ever. It was a bad play by Sunar calling it down and then the fold when Tony goes all in on the river with 4's. This is for a million quid. Class. But the way he shows his cards and rubs it in is cruel. "I've got the heart and I've got the commitment for this game. You have nothing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

great speech play by tony g. he lost it in the end though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I thought he was a twat. I don't mind a bit of speech [lay but that was way over board and he should have been warned about his conduct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭fuzzbox

Every time I see Tony G I want to punch him. I think he is right @rsehole. You dont need to be such a w@nker to play poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

There was a thread on this when it was first aired last year but i believe Tony has changed his ways since. He was drinking a lot during tournaments back then and he certainly had alcohol on him there but he says he drinks very little now and does'nt drink when playing anymore. I heard the last big tournament he won he went to the bar had a cup of tea then headed home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

Sure dont forget the abuse he apparantely gave Ram Vaswani at this years Monte Carlo Millions. That was only a few months ago, and he was kicked out of blondepoker as a result because he brought so much shame on them.

BTW Rounders i think this was the 1st time it was aired, he was also at last years Paris Final table and was just as abusive. Him and Peter Roche had a right ding-dong last night!!Hes an idiot imo, i dont mind a bit of talk and i love Matusow/Hellmuth but this guy is a clown

willis wrote:
    BTW Rounders i think this was the 1st time it was aired, he was also at last years Paris Final table and was just as abusive. Him and Peter Roche had a right ding-dong last night!!Hes an idiot imo, i dont mind a bit of talk and i love Matusow/Hellmuth but this guy is a clown

Definitely not the first time its been aired. I agree he should have been warned after the hand (soon after Roach went bust) where Sunar doubled him up with a bluff when TonyG had trip 3's. He turned to Sunar and said "I'm going to rip you apart" in a very nasty tone. If this was a smaller tourney against some novice I reckon he would have got the head boxed off him. Fair play to Sunar for keeping his cool:cool: Making physical threats is a bit more than speech play.

Some one else above said he lost in the end. Don't think so. 10 8 V. JQ wasn't it. "I've been waiting for this hand all my life. I dream about it" when he hit the ten on the turn.

By the way.....where is he from? I've seen South Africa and Australia but I thought it was Latvia or one of those East European places?

Love him or loath him its great entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

ss did win it on last nights showing anyway :)

willis wrote:

Never heard about the Vaswani incident?.
    I was convinced i seen this TonyG/Surrinder heads up before. I was the opening poster on this i think. Same seat positions and all. I remember being angry at his behaviour being allowed continue back then thats why i posted. Totally out of order he was. I think something takes him over at the table as i believe you couldnt meet a nicer fellah off the table.
    It seemed like every move Peter Roche made was the wrong one. TonyG calling his all-in bet in a flash with 55 on a 789 board was unbeliveable. How could anyone call that!.

I apolagise SS did win:confused: . Full report here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

It seemed like every move Peter Roche made was the wrong one. TonyG calling his all-in bet in a flash with 55 on a 789 board was unbeliveable. How could anyone call that!.

I think the call was a mixture of tilt and ego and the fact he was shorstacked. Tony G was so shocked that he was in front,imo he didnt expect to be in front when he called but as i said i think he was on tilt as the hand previously Roche reraised him allin with 109!

Maybe it has been aired before, i presumed it was a new episode. You never know what fekin series your watching on challenge!

BTW PlayerTV on channel 123 shows WSOP action from 2005 every night at 9 for those who missed it previously

willis wrote:
    I think the call was a mixture of tilt and ego

lol true. Yeah i suppose these were factors in his quick call.

Yes hopefully this new player channel will be good and will have some other fresh stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

I quite like TonyG, I don't mind people who like to speechplay and talk if they have game to back it up and TonyG is a world class poker player.

His major problem is he doesn't have the humour of say Matusow who is far more funnier with his abuse, such as the classic "Do you know how many times lightning has to strike for you to still be sitting here" or "Kiddie Poker is down the street". And both men come behind Hellmuth who is a comedic genius, though most likely unintentionally.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

I have to say that the abuse speech-play types annoy me intensely. I think that you shouldn't say something at a poker table that you wouldn't say away from the table.

The antics of Mattusow, Hellmuth and TonyG just show a lack of class as people, regardless of their abilities as poker players.

I often wonder if Hellmuth's antics are the same when the TV cameras are not switched on, because a lot of it seems to me to ge designed to generate publicity for himself. He definitely plays to the gallery.

Mattusow's comments to Greg Raymer the year Raymer won the WSOP ("I've got bigger balls of steel and you have nothing...") were disgraceful - there was no humour, it was just naked abuse. Again, publicity for him, and good TV.

TonyG deserved a smack in the mouth in Paris, and while I don't condone violence anywhere, I'm not sure I'd have condemned someone for slugging him. It was also the height of hypocrisy for him to say "you know I didn't mean anything" when he'd knocked someone out having spent the last hour constantly abusing them. The thing that impressed me most about that show was the class & calm of Peter Roche, Surinder Sunar and the others as they shook TonyG's hand and walked away quietly, rather than telling him to f*ck off, as he deserved.

There's a difference between table banter and table abuse. In my opinion, these 3 cross the line, and should be called on it at every opportunity.

They are without doubt better poker players than I am, and I don't dispute this. Does this entitle them to behave as they do? No.