Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

paintball

• 06-03-2006 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

i'm looking to do some paintballing with a couple of mates.

any recomendations, dublin/wiclow area.

ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Isn't there one out near the airport where 'Kart City' is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

yeah check out shirmish.they have a great place in wicklow

http://www.skirmish.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

I organised a trip to Skirmish with about 35 people and it was a good day. Be warned... The food they give you is crap, and since it's a high energy day be sure to have a breakfast roll or something before you go. There's some decent pubs close by that'll do you a sandwich afterwards.

If you don't have enough people for an exclusive game (even with 35 we shared games with another group) give them a ring and try to get in with another group of similar people. The lads who work there are sound enough, i'm sure they'd try to accomodate you in that regard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭astro

I have been to crossfire and Skirmish and i recommend skirmish, the staff in crossfire dont give a **** and let everybody cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Skirmish is yer only man. Eat well before hand, and don't expect to be able to wear your shoes after it. You'll be lucky if you do, so wear as old a pair as you can find.

And before you ask, yeah they bruise and hurt for the first couple of hits but you get used to them. And no, it's not dangerous :).

If you can, bring money. You will probably have to buy more pellets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

What a coincidence! I'm off to Skirmish tomorrow with the college's adventure society, €10 :cool:

Was there before in 4th year - great craic. Watch this space tomorrow evening and I'll let you know how we get on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭StJimmy

Yeah Skirmish is great. It's about a 10 minute drive from Kilmacanogue, kinda near Bray.
    Don't worry if you haven't enough in a group, as you'll easily be mixed in with one or more other groups. And it makes no difference anyway, because once you get all your helmets, camoflague, etc on it makes no difference really who you're with, cause you can hardly tell one person from the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭leef23

buy pellets of ebay before you go and strap them to you in some sort of container..........you'll save a fortune

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

leef23 wrote:
    buy pellets of ebay before you go and strap them to you in some sort of container..........you'll save a fortune
    Is there a standard size? I can see the marshalls laying the smack down if they saw you popping shoddy pellets into their guns. Seems like a good idea.

One important thing to remember is that you don't have to be shooting off a load of rounds for it to be a good game. I've always managed to do paintballing without spending a fortune by being conservative with the ammo. Shooting five times when one will do will leave you eating a sandwich from Statoil on the way home instead of a Steak of Victory in the local boozer.

i'm nearly sure they just come in the one size.

to avoid the "marshalls laying the smack down" as you say

1. don't let them se you using the bullets. you have a big forest with loads of hiding places to do it without been seen.

2. just one or two of ya's bring them don't tell the whole group of ya's that are going to do the same. if no one is buying pellets they'll be on to ya's in no time.

anytime i've went i never spent much either........i always took the long way around and snuck up behind the other teams base and took pop-shots at them while there firing at all the fools who ran straight at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I have to say I can't recommend either of the two parks in Dublin. Make a weekend of it and head down to Predator Paintball in Tralee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

And before you ask, yeah they bruise and hurt for the first couple of hits but you get used to them. And no, it's not dangerous :).

I wouldn't go paintballing again for - literally - a million pounds.

I had the single worst paintballing experience ever. I think it's the poxiest pastime ever invented and would rather be horsewhipped with sh1t-strings in a public square than play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I wouldn't go paintballing again for - literally - a million pounds.

I had the single worst paintballing experience ever. I think it's the poxiest pastime ever invented and would rather be horsewhipped with sh1t-strings in a public square than play it.

why so? most people seem to enjoy it.

leef23 wrote:

very good, would there not be an issue with the colour of the paint balls?

or do they always use the same colour, and if so, what?

raheny red wrote:
    What a coincidence! I'm off to Skirmish tomorrow with the college's adventure society, €10 :cool:

Was there before in 4th year - great craic. Watch this space tomorrow evening and I'll let you know how we get on....

looking forward to the intel.

astro wrote:
    I have been to crossfire and Skirmish and i recommend skirmish, the staff in crossfire dont give a **** and let everybody cheat.

thanks for that, was just checking out crossfire online there, skirmish it is so!

stp wrote:
    very good, would there not be an issue with the colour of the paint balls?

or do they always use the same colour, and if so, what?

they shoot out of the gun at 200km an hour they'll be doing good to see the colour at that speed.

just get a colour that doesn't stand out a mile.

the colour of the pellets the last time i was up there was green and black

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Chopperdog

leef23 wrote:
    they shoot out of the gun at 200km an hour they'll be doing good to see the colour at that speed.

Yeah, but you need to know the colour of the paint in them. What if they are using green paint and yours are red?? It wouldn't take long for the marshall to see the difference and smell a rat.
    It actually sounds alot easier they people are making it out to be, regardless spend the few euro and dont be such a tightarse, feck it , isn't it worth a few quid for an afternoon of this kind of sport?

This kind of mindset brings to mind people who bring a packed lunch to the cinema :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭StJimmy

In Skirmish both teams use the same colour paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

I was in skirnish a few years ago and from my own experiences I'd recommend them, the facility was very good and the staff friendly and accommodating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

stp wrote:
    why so? most people seem to enjoy it.

Imagine a bruise the size of the palm of your hand. Let's assume you have large hands.

Now cover yourself in so many of them you lose count.

Oh - and make them technicolour purple.

There you have my paintballing experience.

We played a stupid "invulnerable" game which was a terrible idea, and I literally took the beating of my life. 1.5 years on I still have muscle damage to the outside of my left thigh, which was bruised to the bone on the day.

The moral of this story is that paintball guns that have overfilled gas tanks, used at a range of 4 - 5 feet, with the trigger permanently depressed to give them a machine-gun setting do not equal a fun day out.

Oh - and the paintballing place (SE England) didn't even have a f*cking ice pack, which I found incredible. :eek: Of course, your car is shut in by all the other players cars... I had to walk 45 minutes to the nearest pub, where I asked for a bar towel, the ice bucket and a stiff drink. I had people asking me if I'd been attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

Was at Skirmish yesterday. We were the only ones there (24 in our group) so we had the place to ourselves. They told us during this month that they only get one group a day or even 2 every 3 days! So try go this month! Would get a free 300 pellets! Make sure you have girls in the group it is feckin' class, they just go crazy and run around like headless chickens firing off everywhere!

raheny red wrote:
    Was at Skirmish yesterday. We were the only ones there (24 in our group) so we had the place to ourselves. They told us during this month that they only get one group a day or even 2 every 3 days! So try go this month! Would get a free 300 pellets! Make sure you have girls in the group it is feckin' class, they just go crazy and run around like headless chickens firing off everywhere!

girls in group, good idea, would up the ha ha factor!

The moral of this story is that paintball guns that have overfilled gas tanks, used at a range of 4 - 5 feet, with the trigger permanently depressed to give them a machine-gun setting do not equal a fun day out.
    That was a disgustingly badly run paintball park. Anyone shooting another player from less than 10 feet should be kicked off the field.

This was the same reason I couldn't recommend the Dublin parks. In competitive paintball, it's an established rule that a player surrenders when faced by an opponent that gets the jump on them at close quarters. However, in some of the scenario games in Skirmish you're in a position to be shot from 1 - 2 feet away due to the very aim of the scenario (running underneath a defended fort to grab ammo packs). I took a round in the palm of my hand from a range of 10 to 12 inches protecting myself from a head-shot at 1 - 2 ft.

I'm sorry you had such a bad experience of paintball MAJD, in a properly run paintball park you might have actually enjoyed it (though you'd still have had a few bruises).

raheny red wrote:
    Don't be so sure of that. One of the best paintball players I've ever come up against was a girl. That girl had an *evil* shot.