Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Ball!!

• 06-03-2006 2:07pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭

CELTIC BALL 2006

BUY YOUR TICKETS FOR THE CELTIC BALL ALL OF THIS WEEK IN THE HUB. TICKETS €39 FOR MEMBERS OF AN CUMANN GAELACH, €42 FOR NON-MEMBERS. FEATURING CATCH 22, THE ENEMIES, DJ, AND POSH DINNER, THIS NIGHT IS NOT TO BE MISSED. GET YOURSELVES SCRUBBED UP, IT'S YOUR LAST CHANCE THIS YEAR, DRESSES AND TUXES ALL THE WAY! BíGí LINN!! LOOK OUT FOR THE POSTERS.

The lads on the cmte have really really worked hard at this years Celtic Ball and it really does promise to be as good as any other black tie event, if not better. They have GRRrreeat bands, big meal, and they're holding it in town, buses in from DCU and whatnot. Tickets are a resonable price. It's on on Tuesday the 28th, Week 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

is there buses?

i'm thinking of it, but my varsities are on the next day! in limerick!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

There are buses to the venue. And there'll be nightlinks/taxis home. You're only in town. You could still get a good nights kip like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Buyin my ticket today, should be fun. Just gotta get myself into a tux and il be flying!:cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Ya bringing a date? You should bring all of CA tbh! TBH!!

Lads,
    Celtic Ball Tickets go on sale in the Hub tomorrow and on Thursday. They're
    only e39 per ticket ( Thanks to good old Foras Na Gaeilge! ) That gets you
    your 5 course meal in your 5 star hotel, your 2 bands, your DJ, your bus
    to the hotel, and your discount for either Burton / L'Avenue.
    This ball is actually going to be the event of the century so you all better
    be there with bells on!!

Being the supertechnocrats that we are we have registered our society with
    Bebo, so why not join and answer the question that's on everyone's mind...
    How
    many scoops is Ian actually going to consume? ;)
    http://www.bebo.com/Group.jsp?GroupId=222577

Your ever loving Cathaoirleach,
    Cormac

Nah jes dont have a date :( but i dont mind too much at the moment. girls are evil and scarier than me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Wilburt wrote:
    Buyin my ticket today, should be fun. Just gotta get myself into a tux and il be flying!:cool:
    lol, all I remember about you "flying" at the Socs Ball was this...clicky. :p

yeah i drank way too much that night...way too much. im only gonna have one or two beers at this celtic ball though. dont want a repeat of the clubs and socs ball

Hah, you were good craic though. Before we left was hilarious..

Wilburt to Jesjes: *whisper* Whos that hot girl there?
    Jesjes to Wilburt: *whisper* Thats Simons date...
    Wilburt to Jesjes: *whisper* Oh...right...

I should also point out I was standing beside both of you...:p

As for the Celtic Ball, meh I'd go but theres two problems a) complete lack of funds and b) complete lack of project being done :o

Yeah i was quite drunk, shoutin at people, and trying to give a cuff link away to the crowd, i ended up throwing it at some girl
    EDIT: damn it simon! :) you should tell me these things

Wilburt wrote:
    ...and trying to give a cuff link away to the crowd, i ended up throwing it at some girl...
    As you do...:p

Yeah cos no one would take it...ungrateful something or others. Semingly though theres loadsa ladies going to this, so i may have a slight chance! :o
    Also the gaeilge comes in handy at these sorta shindigs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Wilburt wrote:
    Yeah cos no one would take it...ungrateful something or others. Semingly though theres loadsa ladies going to this, so i may have a slight chance! :o
    Also the gaeilge comes in handy at these sorta shindigs!

Loadsa gays going to it...

No, that's not a slag, I'm deadly serious. Check out the DCU LGBT forum...apparently the gay socs from TCD et al are going. Good luck man... I'm sure you'll be going home with someone ;)!

Haha, should I post a link to "that" picture Will? I'm sure Dara won't mind either? :D

Yeah go for it i dont mind, we sorted it out! we are just friends now ;)
    but DONT! :)
    ah gay people i wouldnt worry about to be honest, theyre good people. Anyway yous are goin off topic or something...got me ticket yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Wilburt wrote:
    Yeah go for it i dont mind, we sorted it out! we are just friends now ;)
    but DONT! :)
    ah gay people i wouldnt worry about to be honest, theyre good people. Anyway yous are goin off topic or something...got me ticket yesterday

Hehe, sorry, I was just having fun. Enjoy the night :) looks good.

yeah it better be god damn....im not dressing up for nothing! sleep tmie now i think :D

This is lookin' better and better. Hope loads of ppl go. Last formal of the year like!

Jesjes wrote:
    This is lookin' better and better. Hope loads of ppl go. Last formal of the year like!
    except for C&S awards.....

Ah, yeah... those.

Meh.

Feel the love...:D

Well I am getting a free ticket to attend, just amn't too happy with other things related to that and them!

Anyway, go to Celtic Ball, bring your mates. Cumann Gaelach are making a huge effort for this event and it'd be a shame to see it all go to waste!

Jesjes wrote:
    Well I am getting a free ticket to attend, just amn't too happy with other things related to that and them!

me too, see you there!

*win*

Lookin' forward to wearing my dress cuz I might not actually make it to the celtic ball. Stupid funds!

Howd you get free tickets you cheeky monkeys!? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭*Shelly*

Free tickets to the c&s awards and if so how???

Every society gets at least one. I asked could I have that one. I was told yes. But somehow we'll get more than one...

nominated people also get tickets, which is how i got mine

there mightn't be that many extra floating around - a *lot* of nominees..

cannot wait - free wine + free dinner = happy rugbug

Tis wierd that you jus got the ticket no questions asked or oposition on RB. makes sense for rugbug to get one as a nominee

Not weird. I just asked Michelle[Dru], most of the CMTE dont care. Though, stop bringing it to their attention incase they do start caring!! [I think its just a case of "Baggsy-ing it"]. Didn't know there was free wine though...

OMG JES I WANT ONE NOW!!!1111 :D

Nah, I'd go but I'll be gone on INTRA at that stage unfortunately. :(

Thought there would have been a drawing of names from a hat or such for the ticket for those who wanted to go instead of jus baggsy-ing a ticket! Seems like a fairer way but it ain't my committee so it doesn't bother me

i dont think names out of a hat is fair, i think the ticket should go to the person who is most active on the committee and who isn't being nominated.

what committee you on shelly?

She's on Games Soc now, boo ya! First female committee member ever! :D

Evar? SHELLY YOU LEGEND!!

Also, Celtic Ball totally only have a few tickets left, and its utterly garunteed to be fantastic. Get your tickets on the monday you're back and go on the tuesday folks! Dont miss it!

I'm on drama committee for another 2 weeks so for a society like that its very hard to see who is more active than the next cuz everyone has to pull together so in that case names out of a hat would be fair

Jesjes wrote:
    Evar? SHELLY YOU LEGEND!!
    Indeedy, Games Soc are now an equal opportunity employer...:D

Hahahaha or so you like to think jizzymodo :)

Christ now they've gotten you saying it...:p

Ah yeh but you can't get mad at me cuz you love me ;)

LOL @ JIZZYMODO!!

hahahahaha.

[on topic] CELTIC BALL [/on topic]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I have an idea for an event

The jizzymodo ball!!

Yes, bow down to me mofos...:D