Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

old jap cars

• 06-03-2006 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭

is there any club or furum for people with old jap cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Hi Ratchet,

I'm not aware of any such club (yet!) in the Republic.
    However, I believe that there is a Toyota Enthusiasts Club (TEC) based in Northern Ireland. I have seen Starlets (mostly N.I registered) on display at various shows over the years with TEC signs and flags on display.

Do a google check - I recall coming across their forum/notice board a few months ago.
    Let us know if you find anything of interest as I'm also very interested in old jap cars.

Regards,
    Silvera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Jason_G_KE30

Yes, Silvera is right, the Toyota Enthusiasts Club exists.They are based in the UK but have quite a few IRL members. They've set up a new website http://www.toyotaenthusiasts.com, where you can browse the website plus join up to the forum if you want. They seem like a great bunch and take part in up to ten shows in Ireland during the year. Their membership year starts in March with reduced rates for during the year(£24 for full year). They also produce a quarterly magazine (TEC topics). I'm sending away my form this evening!!:D Start praying for the good weather:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 johnnycortina

Know a guy that has recently found a very early toyota carina, 1973 I think. Did not think carina's were about here that far back. It did not look too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 nirvanahead01

hey guys does anyone know where i can get a 1976-1978 toyota corolla ke30 in ireland. im trying to get one as my first car could any of u guys help me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

I presume u mean 'as your first classic car'?!

KE30's would be rare enough nowadays...most have rusted away or been scrapped years ago. Having said that there are a few nice examples appearing at cars shows in recent times.

I've also seen a few clean examples for sale on UK websites which might be your best way of getting one. Try the enthusiasts website listed above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 nirvanahead01

Hey thanks man for the advice,yeah ive alwas wanted a classic car and where better to start with a Toyota. Most of the old 70's Toyotas are getting quite rare and its cool to keep them going and keeping them alive their a piece of history.
    I have and old Mitsubishi Chariot import for a while now thinking of scrapping it and getting getting a ke30.
    My dad had two when i was a kid but he scrapped them both in the late 80's dont know what year it was but ive always loved them coz of the shape. Im just wondering can i use ke30 as an everyday car under classic car insurance or is there still a desegnated amount of mileage that i have to keep under

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rusty30

Hi everyone,
    I'm currently looking for parts for a 1977 corolla ke 30 4 door saloon Mk1
    I have quite a few new parts such as doors and boot lid with back panel. I need a few more though, Bonnet, Bumpers, Rear quarter panels if possible and front left door. Can anyone help me please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭cronndiesel

anyone know if theres any 1.6 diesel rwd corollas estate vans they went up to 88 afaik would nt mind 1.6d subaru L series 87-92 (i think)ive seen 2 about but no go on selling they failed nct and they just wanted to scrap them instead (even tho mate offered money!:(:confused:confused::confused:) this is happenin alot people are thick as thick! or what is wrong with them???
    parts would be hard got too i suppose but blue print(point??)might be good for parts
    any daihatsu clubs out there got a diesel charade and their great little feckin yokes to the world and would def be up for another if it was the right metal at the right price

ps im not a moder i want these yokes unmolested please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Funny how anything toyota RWD is generating interest these days,even the old diahatsu charmant,which wouldnt even get a second look a few years back is getting a bit of a following now.
    Is the subaru L series the 4x4 estate car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Subaru L-series is the Leone: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_Leone
    Not sure which exactly were sold here, but the saloon, estate and pickup were sold in the UK up until the Impreza was launched I think.

Subaru L-series is the Leone: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subaru_Leone
    Not sure which exactly were sold here, but the saloon, estate and pickup were sold in the UK up until the Impreza was launched I think.
    I like this,never saw one before..
    250px-Subaru_Coupe_in_dunes_1979.JPG
    A friend of mine was supposed to get one of these estates from a neighbour of his a few years back,but it never materialised..
    250px-Subaru_1983_4X4_My_First_Car.jpg

salon and estate were sold as far as i could tell from all the people that had them
    petrol:1.3/1.6
    diesel:1.6
    they were up well off the ground and many yokes would balk at a deep flood but this yoke could ford (slowly) a lake! rust was a prob on some but i notice the ones from 87-92 used to last and last

i didnt know the charmont was sold here all i ever saw was the applause and of course the great charade but i saw one there at a filling station last year they seemed a tidy car

anyone got a japanese car in two tone:cool::D:) there were some great combos years ago once seen a two tone hillman hunter i know its not japanese tho) used to be some sight!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

salon and estate were sold as far as i could tell from all the people that had them
    petrol:1.3/1.6
    diesel:1.6
    they were up well off the ground and many yokes would balk at a deep flood but this yoke could ford (slowly) a lake! rust was a prob on some but i notice the ones from 87-92 used to last and last

i didnt know the charmont was sold here all i ever saw was the applause and of course the great charade but i saw one there at a filling station last year they seemed a tidy car

anyone got a japanese car in two tone:cool::D:) there were some great combos years ago once seen a two tone hillman hunter i know its not japanese tho) used to be some sight!!!:eek:

.................I remember in the early 80's the Nissan Laurel was available as a 2.4 SGL and it came in two tone. Mostly they were gold over chocolate brown metallic or silver over navy blue. They looked well and were well equipped, had a smooth 6 cylinder engine, but I prefered the faux American styling of the earlier squarer model.

Here one,
    0927270001163950510.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ignore

MercMad wrote: »
    0927270001163950510.jpg
    A nighbour of mine had one,i have the alloys off it somewhere...Gorgeous car.

HAHAHAHAHA!!! ya thats what im taking about and i remember these and the toyota tercel
    any left now are all lowered and fuced up by moders :mad: saw a great rwd starlett 1L good condition went on the smell of petrol was out bid by a snot and the front was cut to put in an 86 1.6 RWD carolla engine (fekkin car porn mags from across the water) crashed and crushed in a year SIGH sorry for the moan lads but it just gets on my wick

HAHAHAHAHA!!! ya thats what im taking about and i remember these and the toyota tercel
    any left now are all lowered and fuced up by moders :mad: saw a great rwd starlett 1L good condition went on the smell of petrol was out bid by a snot and the front was cut to put in an 86 1.6 RWD carolla engine (fekkin car porn mags from across the water) crashed and crushed in a year SIGH sorry for the moan lads but it just gets on my wick
    You like them original so?

absolutly if it aint broke.... each to their own and all that but its gone into a plague at this stage and theres nearly no yokes for the likes of us the moment theres a whiff of asian RWD their on it and buy it up and well the rest like the car soon after, is history and they work all the hours etc for to do this just what a waste and they dont care after their though that its fec all good after their finished

sorry if this offends and ill (try) stop now as i dont want this to sound like a moanathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 awamal

absolutly if it aint broke.... each to their own and all that but its gone into a plague at this stage and theres nearly no yokes for the likes of us the moment theres a whiff of asian RWD their on it and buy it up and well the rest like the car soon after, is history and they work all the hours etc for to do this just what a waste and they dont care after their though that its fec all good after their finished

sorry if this offends and ill (try) stop now as i dont want this to sound like a moanathon

just to keep the above 2 happy.........i'm posting pics my car.........I hear that it was quite popular in Ireland.

quite original........only the side mirrors and an alarm system have been added.

intentions are to keep the car original :)

Yes,they were a very popular car indeed,rust got most of them though..
    Yours looks in great shape!!:)Whats its history?
    68891.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 awamal

Thanks for the comments, I'm the 3rd owner, has only done 56,000 miles. It was garaged for most of its life. I purchased it from ebay some months back.

Everything seems to be genuine, apart from the paint job. Some rust is starting to show around the rear wheel arches, which i'm getting treated straight away, beginning of next year.

Its a practical car......use it daily, I only do 4 or 5 miles a day, hence not much stain on the car.

now that is a proper japanese car its a credit to ya fair play for pickin it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Hi All,

Had the MR2 out for its last spin for a few months. Tax was up at end of December so not going to renew until April/May. Anyway, need to do a few jobs to it before next season. Its a dream to drive, I could stay driving all round all day. Here's some pics before I put it away.

T.
    DSCN0309.jpg
    DSCN0310.jpg

DSCN0312.jpg

^^ Nice car.

You better turn on Discovery Turbo if you have it, they're doing that car on Wheeler dealers.

Nice car tim looks very clean,today was a good day for a spin to ballyb alright,i didnt get a chance to take any of mine out though.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Nice Mr2............i likey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

I've a copy of the Wheeler Dealer's bit on the MR2 somewhere. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kqcregg

Thanks for the memories MercMad (Back in december post!). Learned to drive in my dads Laurel back in 1992 . Its reg was 7 YZO. It had originally come with a 2.0 petrol 6 cylinder which was promptly changed by my dad to 2.0 diesel just before I got my hands on it. lol :D

kqcregg wrote: »
    Learned to drive in my dads Laurel back in 1992 . Its reg was 7 YZO.
    Hmm..82..she would have looked like this so..
    photo008.jpg
    Does anyone have one nowadays?I thought they were great looking cars.

Not that cool! It was a gold/beige single tone colour with the worst case of orange peel respray to the front n/s wing I've ever seen. My dad picked it up in Dublin cheap as a result. He was delighted as the car before was a 70's early A40 carina slowly rotting before our eyes.

The memories are just flooding back.

The A40 was this type but had been resprayed a dark brown.

1978 Carina.jpg

First car I ever drove albeit in a field!

Apologies for going a bit off tread.

kqcregg wrote: »
    The A40 was this type but had been resprayed a dark brown.

1978 Carina.jpg

First car I ever drove albeit in a field!

69872.jpg
    Apologies for going a bit off tread.
    I always like the look of those carinas,there has been some discussion on them before here.
    And you are'nt going off thread really,the title is old jap cars:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

An uncle of mine had one of those Carinas and ran up about 300,000 miles on it. The body was in an awful state by then though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭artic

I always like the look of those carinas,there has been some discussion on them before here.
    And you are'nt going off thread really,the title is old jap cars:)

Is that pic in graveyard ?:eek:

artic wrote: »
    Is that pic in graveyard ?:eek:
    Looks like it alright!:confused:Strange.
    Its an australian car,what part of OZ is WA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Looks like it alright!:confused:Strange.
    Its an australian car,what part of OZ is WA?

The state of Western Australia

Thanks max,just had an argument with a few of the lads about that here! While on the subject,the one old toyota i would love is the MK1 cressida. There used to be a few knocking about years back,long time since iv seen one though.
    0160070802g400210302000uu3.jpg
    446yqt5.jpg

Nice car alright, the only thing i wouldn't be a fan of are the mirrors. Just a bit too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I always loved the mid-80's Cressida's:

800px-Toyota-Cressida.JPG

There's still loads of them in California.