Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland team announced against sweden

• 28-02-2006 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭

Republic of Ireland team: Shay Given, Joey O'Brien, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Ian Harte, Stephen Elliot, Steven Reid, John O'Shea, Damien Duff, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle

some interesting selections, none less than o shea and reid in the middle. Nice to see doyle and o brien handed caps as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Is Finnan injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

Liverpool full-back Finnan was not considered because of a "little" neck injury according to the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

O'Shea in the middle is a disaster. IMO he is the worst player we have and also the laziest. He has never had a half decent game for Ireland let alone a good one. Happy to see Doyle and O'Brien get a start and I hope they make the most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'm surprised to see Elliott start. He's only just back from injury. Nice to see Steven Reid get a start though. About time.

It's good that Stan is trying out new blood in Doyle and O'Brien. Maybe Stephen Ireland will get on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

Are skysports only showing the match. I know TV3 are showing it at 10 that night:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

galwaydude wrote:
    Are skysports only showing the match. I know TV3 are showing it at 10 that night:mad:

Yep. Delayed coverage on TV3 at 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

galwaydude wrote:

Yeah i think so cos they have the rights to friendlies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

Good to see Doyle start he deserves it, especially over Morrison,although i know Morrison is injured but i think Doyle would have started anyway!
    Staunton said Finnan wouldnt have played even if he had of been fit, makes sense, he is already proven and this will give new players a chance

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Glad to see both Doyle and O'Brien getting a start. I must admit that I am quite worried about the selection of O' Shea in the centre because I hope its not a sign of things to come. I would have preferred Stephen Ireland to start or even Joey O' Brien to start in midfield with Kelly starting right back.

Other than that I think its the right team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

He's pretty useless in midfield alright but not worse than he is at CB or LB.

At least Kavanagh isn't there which is one plus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

So what will the formation be then 4-4-2 or 4-3-3. I would be totally opposed to a 4-3-3 although he has named 3 strikers so Im not sure what hes at?

finnpark wrote:
    So what will the formation be then 4-4-2 or 4-3-3. I would be totally opposed to a 4-3-3 although he has named 3 strikers so Im not sure what hes at?

just from the way it's listed there it would appear 4-4-2 with Elliot at RW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

galwaydude wrote:
    Shay Given
    Joey O'Brien, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Ian Harte
    Stephen Elliot, Steven Reid, John O'Shea, Damien Duff
    Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle

Good to see Doyle getting a run out. As he admits himself, he has developed enormously as a player in the last 12 months (LOI fans, thats not a bait for a debate!) and deserves a good run out.

I dont know Joey O'Brien.

Have we not got anyone else to play at Left Back? Ian has done his bit for us over the years, didnt he semi-retire from this level once. Surely we need someone else back there on a permanent basis? O'Shea, although we all know he at times is not the most reliable of defenders, can play there.

Isnt Elliot a forward? Whats he being played right midfield for, or is Staunton going for a 4-3-3 formation? Something like:

Shay Given
    Joey O'Brien, Andy O'Brien, Richard Dunne, Ian Harte
    Steven Reid, John O'Shea, Damien Duff
    Stephen Elliot, Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle

It will be interesting to see how things are shaped in terms of formation, and as Bobby Robson says, this is an important game for Ireland and the approach used should set the pattern. The way we play is more important than the result: eg: if we create loads of chances and they nick a goal on the break, I wouldnt be dissapointed.

I'm looking forward to what should be a no-pressure game. These games are the ones we usually do best in, especially at Lansdowne (and Croker I hope too in the future).

redspider

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Staunton said Finnan wouldnt have played even if he had of been fit, makes sense, he is already proven and this will give new players a chance
    Proven? Any time I've seen Finnan play for Ireland he has been shíte, and I see most games. Almost as bad as O'Shea.

O'Brien definately deserves his start. It's good to see a few changes in there. Keane and Doyle up front looks like a neat little pairing, hopefully they will work well together. Not sure about Elliott on the right wing though... Is Lawrence still in the squad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Proven? Any time I've seen Finnan play for Ireland he has been shíte, and I see most games. Almost as bad as O'Shea.
    I can't remember Finnan's last bad game for Ireland. It looks like Elliott will start on the right, that's a strange one. Good to see O'Shea in the centre, anyone but Kavanagh.

eirebhoy wrote:
    Good to see O'Shea in the centre, anyone but Kavanagh.

See if Kav could play as 1/2 as well as you dish out sarcasm then I'd have him in the XI every time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

I think O'Shea is worth a try in midfield. We really need to build partnerships in the three key area's CB, CM and up front. O'Shea and Reid certainly have potential, both are experienced and should be given a go.

Dunne and O'Brien will more than likely be our CB's throughout the campaign and are more than capable. Keane and Doyle I cannot wait to see to play together. Add to that Elliot and Morrison and we really do have options up front at last.

Other than Elliot on the wing, if thats where he starts Im actually happy with that team. Stan is showing he wants to try the new players and hopefully we can uncover some gems.

Pigman II wrote:
    See if Kav could play as 1/2 as well as you dish out sarcasm then I'd have him in the XI every time :)
    Nah, Kavanagh's a cert for Ireland in my view. :) He had his worst performance of the season on Sunday but he's still twice the player of O'Shea atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Could be an uber-attacking 4-2-4 formation :)

Nice to see Reid playing centre, finally. Shame O'Brien or Ireland aren't playing beside him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Having seen the first eleven, Pighead can say without a shadow of a doubt that Paddy Powers 7/4 price for Sweden is gonna be snapped up by yours truly. I'm not giving out about Stauntons tactics as I reckon its fair game if he wants to try some new formations out before the qualifiers but playing such an attacking team against the Swedes shall almost certainly end in defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

It's a good move naming the team early IMO. It means that a good atmosphere will build for the game as a lot of the crowd (myself included) will be exited to see some of the new players in action.

As for Finnan never proving himself? He has been one of the most consistent performers in the league for almost two years! He can't show how good he is for Ireland because he has always been forced to play out of position to accomodate the woeful Carr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    O'Brien definately deserves his start.

he does deserve a start, but i would prefer to see him in central midfield alongside Steven Reid with O Shea in left back. I'm surprised he is at right back because he isn't going to challange for that postion against Finnan/Carr/Kelly. I would have started Kelly in the current circumstance. I'm a bit surprised at Elliots inclusion too. A worrying thing maybe that he is playing two players in JOS and Elliott in positions that they aren't really familar with at international level altough i know Stan has to try things out i would prefer he played the players to their own strengths in their own positons first while Stan himself gets to grip with coaching the team.

Seems like a very attacking team whatever the formation, 4-4-2 or 4-3-3 with two wingers in Elliott and Duff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

redspider wrote:
    Good to see Doyle getting a run out. As he admits himself, he has developed enormously as a player in the last 12 months (LOI fans, thats not a bait for a debate!) and deserves a good run out.

Personally I haven't seen or heard that, but I have seen quotes from himself stating if he's good enough now he was good enough at Cork. Seems to be two conflicting views. Ah well, happy to see him get a run out. (Also, he hasn't been at Reading 12 months, must be a dodgy quote so! ;)). :)

I'd like to see us try a 4-3-3, as the lineup looks like it may be. Its only a friendly, if it fails it fails. It'd be good to try something different, could be what really sets Staunton apart from t'others (be it in a good or bad way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I would like to have seen Stephen Ireland get his chance, but no doubt we'll see him at some stage. Definately looking forward to seeing the debutants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

eirebhoy wrote:
    Good to see O'Shea in the centre, anyone but Kavanagh.

would much rather see Kilbane in there...sure hes not the most skilled player, but at least he plays with a bit of heart and runs every square inch of the pitch. havent seen o'shea break into anything above a jog in a year.

of course its only a friendly, would be nice to actually get off to a winning start though, lol :)

As for Finnan never proving himself? He has been one of the most consistent performers in the league for almost two years! He can't show how good he is for Ireland because he has always been forced to play out of position to accomodate the woeful Carr.
    There is no doubt that Finnan has been playing well in the league in the last two years, but unfortunately for him he has been shíte for Ireland regardless of where he is playing. Therefore he is not a proven player.

I would put O'Shea in the same boat. O'Shea was absolute quality in the league for Man Utd for almost two years, but he still was playing shíte for Ireland and to this day has been playing shíte. And keep in mind that O'Shea has been played all over the back 4 and in midfield. O'Shea is also unproven for Ireland.

Unless these two can up their performances I will still be of the opinion that they are unproven for Ireland. Or should I say, they have proven to be shíte for Ireland.

As for Carr, he may well have been muck this last few years but he has proven to alot more than the other two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I'll be at the game tomorrow, hoping the new lads do well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Pighead wrote:
    Having seen the first eleven, Pighead can say without a shadow of a doubt that Paddy Powers 7/4 price for Sweden is gonna be snapped up by yours truly.

[one of footballs golden rules] never bet on friendlies [one of footballs golden rules/]

eirebhoy wrote:
    Nah, Kavanagh's a cert for Ireland in my view. :) He had his worst performance of the season on Sunday but he's still twice the player of O'Shea atm.

Darn! Was it really? Well I guess it must just be my bad luck and bad timing that every time I see him he's muck.

(Coincidentally I still 100% believe Clark Kent and Superman aren't the same person either even tho I've never seen them in the same place at the same time.)

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Unless these two can up their performances I will still be of the opinion that they are unproven for Ireland. Or should I say, they have proven to be shíte for Ireland.

As for Carr, he may well have been muck this last few years but he has proven to alot more than the other two.
    Finnan was played out of position for Ireland for the whole of Kerr's reign. He was unspectacular yes, but he was far from ****e.

He should be given a chance to make the RB slot his own, because he is one of our few top class players in his rightful position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Big Ears wrote:
    [one of footballs golden rules] never bet on friendlies [one of footballs golden rules/]
    [one of gamblings golden rules] always have the balls to follow your instincts [one of gamblings golden rules]

As regards gambling on friendlies, it is always very likely that games between two big teams end up in 1-1 draws. Manys a buck to be made on that, mark my words.

Finnan was played out of position for Ireland for the whole of Kerr's reign.
    In fairness, if you use that excuse for Finnan, you might as well use it for Doherty, O'Shea and Kilbane as they were all played out of position for alot of Kerr's reign. Finnan has never stood out to me as a good player for Ireland even when he is playing right full back. He just can't seem to play as well for Ireland as he does with Liverpool and even Fulham before that.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    In fairness, if you use that excuse for Finnan, you might as well use it for Doherty, O'Shea and Kilbane as they were all played out of position for alot of Kerr's reign. Finnan has never stood out to me as a good player for Ireland even when he is playing right full back. He just can't seem to play as well for Ireland as he does with Liverpool and even Fulham before that.
    Finnan forced his way into the Irish XI at the back end of the qualfying campaign for WC2002. He went on to play every minute of that campaign following coming on against Cameroon at HT and was one of our top performers.

Kerr played him in a position that doesn't suit him, just people think it does because he gets forward the odd time from full back, or he didn't play him at all. He has been playing some of the best football of his career over the last 18 months and you can't say he doesn't deserve to get his chance. He has shown before he can do it at the top level for club and country.

Kelly is not a good prospect IMO, and O'Brien is still too young. Finnan is head and shoulders above what we have, and has been for years.

He has been playing some of the best football of his career over the last 18 months and you can't say he doesn't deserve to get his chance. He has shown before he can do it at the top level for club and country.
    I totally agree with all of the above except for the bit in bold, but we'll agree to disagree on that one. I never said that he didn't deserve to get his chance in the Ireland team. My point is that I think that he still has alot to prove in an Ireland shirt.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I totally agree with all of the above except for the bit in bold, but we'll agree to disagree on that one. I never said that he didn't deserve to get his chance in the Ireland team. My point is that I think that he still has alot to prove in an Ireland shirt.
    And his performances leading up and in the WC, the pinnacle of international football, in his only extended run in the Irish team competitively and in his proper position, indicate that he is up to the task.

I guess we will have to agree to disagree though ;)

Pigman II wrote:
    Darn! Was it really? Well I guess it must just be my bad luck and bad timing that every time I see him he's muck.

(Coincidentally I still 100% believe Clark Kent and Superman aren't the same person either even tho I've never seen them in the same place at the same time.)
    You don't watch much of Wigan.

eirebhoy wrote:
    You don't watch much of Wigan.

Nope I certainly don't. So like I say I'm sure he's stellar on all those occasions.

You make it out like I have reason to be biased towards Kavanagh. Sunday's performance was the worst I've seen of him for Wigan and probably his worst performance of the season.

PORNAPSTER - I think you're just using Finnan to back up O'Shea. I'd love someone to point out Finnan's last bad performance. He makes defending look easy while a lot of the time O'Shea makes it look like you have to earn that £50k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Glad to see some fresh faces being used instead of the usual 11 for friendlys.. and with Reid playing a more central role.. (a year too late).. good choice by Staunton.

On the topic of the ireland team in general.... IMO - the most noticeable thing is the comments coming from Damien Duff -> he is "more relaxed under Staunton" and the hope of "the team spirit and togetherness we once had". what does that say about Brian Kerr's management?

Hopefully duff can now find the same form he had under the McCarthy years...

Yeah, of all the players we're going to see tomorrow, I'm still looking forward to seeing Duff most of all. :) I forget what a talent he is until I see him destroy teams in Lansdowne. Also looking forward to seeing Keane in his new role. Can't say I'm too excited about seeing O'Brien make his debut, a solid performance is the best we can hope for from right back. Would have preferred to see him in the centre.

eirebhoy wrote:
    PORNAPSTER - I think you're just using Finnan to back up O'Shea. I'd love someone to point out Finnan's last bad performance. He makes defending look easy while a lot of the time O'Shea makes it look like you have to earn that £50k.
    Absolutely not. I'm just giving my opinion on Finnan's performances for Ireland. I seriously cannot remember Finnan's last good performance and I have been to and seen alot of the games that he has played in. I honestly don't know what games that you have been watching eirebhoy... My opinion is echoed by alot of people I know, and before you say it... alot of them aren't Man United supporters.

I used O'Shea as an example of how bad Finnan has actually been for Ireland. I honestly cannot remember one good game from him in an Ireland shirt. He gives the ball away far too easily, gives away silly free kicks and is in general, just shíte for Ireland. That is why I have always liked to see Harte in the team ahead of him. Harte may be poor enough defensively, but at least he gives you something attack wise. O'Shea for Ireland, and United for the past two years hasn't given us anything but poor performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

My 2 cents:

Overall, a good selection from Staunton, not perfect, but as a statement of intent its good as it looks like he plans on playing good attacking football at home at least.

Keeper and centre halves pick themselves, as does Finnan, who never puts a foot wrong at right full for Ireland or Liverpool. Left full has been a problem for a long time - John O'Shea now has two left fulls better than him at United (and Evra aint even much use) so he's not going to be playing there so Stan is planning for JOS not being an option at that position. Harte, unfortunately is the best left full specialist we have right now. I'd like to Stephen Kelly given a run in that spot in the second half - hes played there plenty of times for Spurs.

In the last campaign we suffered from only having one decent striker, and even Robbie was way below par, so going with 3 up front isnt really a long term option for us. If we can find a decent striker to play alongside Robbie thats a big step forward. Doyle or Elliot should hopefully be that man, with the other offering good back-up on the bench. Clinton needs to show a lot of improvement at this level to be a serious option - decent build up play isn't enough - we need someone who will score against top defences.

So 4-4-2 will be it for us long-term. Hopefully the captaincy gives Robbie the push he needs to remove the glitches from his game that are stopping him from being world-class.

Stephen Reid in the centre is good for long-term - he's a fine player and always puts it in for Ireland. JOS has the potential to do a job beside him, but that's the problem with JOS: lots of potential but little urgency to deliver on it - we rarely see him sprinting 50 yards to get involved, he goes missing too often. Stephen Ireland is a very good prospect to fill the second slot. Good to see Kilbane being dropped - about time: time and again he has shown that desire and stamina are not much use without any skill or good decision making to back it up. What a change a year makes - Andy Reid is now simply not a serious candidate for the first 11. O'brien is also a serious option.

Right wing is a problem - I doubt Elliot will be at home there and he'd be better used up front. Stephen Reid could do a job out there but is more at home in the middle, hopefully someone like McGeady or Flood can come through and adapt to this side....or if not then it should be Duffer's spot cos he plays there regularly for Chelsea and cuts in well.

Duffer's form over the next 2 years could well be the key to our success: he is the victim of Jose's tactics at Chelsea - he is clearly under instruction to take less risk and keep the ball, while Robben is allowed take risks. It makes Duffer more effective in many ways, particularly defensively, but has curbed his natural instincts to take on the man. Hopefully he comes to view Ireland as his creative outlet and we get to see him back to his best in the coming campaign.

So here's how I'd like it to look, assuming all these players are getting regular games:

Given
    Finnan Dunne O'Brien Kelly

Duff S Reid S Ireland McGeady

Keane Doyle/Elliot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

I think Elliot might do OK on the right wing. He used to play there for sunderland last season I think. Then Mick Mac moved him up front and he started scoring more. I'm in the East Terrace this eve', it's a cold one, cover up well.