Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

girls are Evil

• 27-02-2006 12:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

(report on the 100K on PPP)i got up to a very good start.i was playing the Irish open at the same time and when i bubbled out of that ,i decided to put my full attention on this.
    after the rebuy i had about 15K which was comfortable.
    my stable was very tight and was a dream come through for me esp with a big stack that i had.(i was chip lead on my table).
    Made a couple of moves with 54s which walked in to AA and 22 which walked in to the same players AK and i was down to 9K.
    decided to play tight for a while until i saw 98s and thought here is my chance.
    there was a EP raise before me to 1K (blinds 200/400) .i decided to min raise from the button to figure out what the player had.i made it 2k and every one folded to the raise who after thinking for a good while folded. flop came A high with couple of rags and he made a 1K bet.i didnt think he had the A judging by the type of player he was and the bet he made look to me like he was done with the hand and made a last try. so i reraised him another 2K and he folded. that put me back up around 15K.
    i made a few steals and got up to 20K.
    then i moved to another table and chilled out a few orbits to see what they are like.very tight players again so a couple of button steals and post flop steals and i was up to 25K.
    then i had KK on the button .CO raises to 2400 and i flat call.
    flop comes rag and i win the pot after he checks and i bet.
    i was up to 27K and then i had AA on SB.
    short stack with 9K goes all in and i call and my hand holds up against his A8 and im up to 37K with less than 200 to go.
    then disaster strikes.
    my GF calls me on the phone and starts giving out about me playing to much poker.she goes on to say that im prob playing poker right now and i say "no,ofcourse not" .
    while im playing i get dealt AKs on the BB and this dude with 18K raises.
    i have no intention of making a move here at all as i know i can do alot better on this table with out taking any risks.
    but then the conversation with the GF gets heated up and i was really tierd and had a head bad head ache and got to stage where i really didnt give a feck.so i went all in and he calls showing JJ.
    he gets a J on the flop and im back to 20K.
    while im still on the phone to GF and trying not to show my frustration i get dealt another AKo and while she is saying "Ehsan ,poker is really bad and ...." i go ah feck this ,and i go all in UTG.i get called by KK and no improvement for me and im out.
    i know for a fact that i could have done alot better as i was in comfortable position and had no intention to push with the first AKs which crippled me.
    lesson to be learnt is "girls are evil and that’s especially true if you are a poker player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Bp!

Gholimoli wrote:
    i got up to a very good start.i was playing the Irish open at the same time and when i bubbled out of that ,i decided to put my full attention on this.
    after the rebuy i had about 15K which was comfortable.
    my stable was very tight and was a dream come through for me esp with a big stack that i had.(i was chip lead on my table).
    Made a couple of moves with 54s which walked in to AA and 22 which walked in to the same players AK and i was down to 9K.
    decided to play tight for a while until i saw 98s and thought here is my chance.
    there was a EP raise before me to 1K (blinds 200/400) .i decided to min raise from the button to figure out what the player had.i made it 2k and every one folded to the raise who after thinking for a good while folded. flop came A high with couple of rags and he made a 1K bet.i didnt think he had the A judging by the type of player he was and the bet he made look to me like he was done with the hand and made a last try. so i reraised him another 2K and he folded. that put me back up around 15K.
    i made a few steals and got up to 20K.
    then i moved to another table and chilled out a few orbits to see what they are like.very tight players again so a couple of button steals and post flop steals and i was up to 25K.
    then i had KK on the button .CO raises to 2400 and i flat call.
    flop comes rag and i win the pot after he checks and i bet.
    i was up to 27K and then i had AA on SB.
    short stack with 9K goes all in and i call and my hand holds up against his A8 and im up to 37K with less than 200 to go.
    then disaster strikes.
    my GF calls me on the phone and starts giving out about me playing to much poker.she goes on to say that im prob playing poker right now and i say "no,ofcourse not" .
    while im playing i get dealt AKs on the BB and this dude with 18K raises.
    i have no intention of making a move here at all as i know i can do alot better on this table with out taking any risks.
    but then the conversation with the GF gets heated up and i was really tierd and had a head bad head ache and got to stage where i really didnt give a feck.so i went all in and he calls showing JJ.
    he gets a J on the flop and im back to 20K.
    while im still on the phone to GF and trying not to show my frustration i get dealt another AKo and while she is saying "Ehsan ,poker is really bad and ...." i go ah feck this ,and i go all in UTG.i get called by KK and no improvement for me and im out.
    i know for a fact that i could have done alot better as i was in comfortable position and had no intention to push with the first AKs which crippled me.
    lesson to be learnt is "girls are evil and that’s especially true if you are a poker player

Thats very unlucky Gh,
    I know exactly what you mean, its very hard to talk to a girlfriend and play poker, sooner or later, they know the break in the conversation usually means your *are* playin poker and your just thinkin of how to play..
    "Eh...sorry what were you sayin.." is usally followed by "You ARE playin arent you....jesus, and here i was thinkin....." :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Happens to me everytime im on the phone. She always says oh there's a really bad delay on the line, taking d p*ss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

:D i've only just started playing for small stakes and my gf is like " it's gambling, it's just luck, you'll lose money etc etc"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

Bp! wrote:
    Thats very unlucky Gh,
    I know exactly what you mean, its very hard to talk to a girlfriend and play poker, sooner or later, they know the break in the conversation usually means your *are* playin poker and your just thinkin of how to play..
    "Eh...sorry what were you sayin.." is usally followed by "You ARE playin arent you....jesus, and here i was thinkin....." :D
    yeah the break in the conversation seems to be the giveaway.
    on one hand i had the chance of 30K running through my head and on the other i had a head ache and ear full of wing and also AKs.the rest is history as they say.
    however i will win this event in 2006.im confident that will happen.
    to make things interesting im willing to take bets on it if any one is interested. nothing big at all and im only saying this publicly to give my self more motivation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

What were you thinking........

I never have my phone turned on during a live game. If there is anything really serious they can leave a message and ill get back to them at the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

What were you thinking........

I never have my phone turned on during a live game. If there is anything really serious they can leave a message and ill get back to them at the break.

Can you imagine what ones girlfriend would do if you had your phone turned off during the middle of the day or even in the evening.... I perish at the thought.

Actually in a recent charity pub game,
    We were just finished our heads up battle (in which I came second) we decided to join in a five euro sng, five minutes into the game a very angry young women storms in and starts barrating one of the players (the guy who won) for having his phone turned off. Everybody was a bit on at this stage and the guy to the right of me started pissing himself laughing.... thank god as this gave me open licence to do the same. Anyway the girl leaves after five minutes quickly followed by the boyfriend....

moral of the story girls are scary....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Gholimoli wrote:
    on one hand i had the chance of 30K running through my head and on the other i had a head ache and ear full of wing and also AKs.the rest is history as they say.
    to make things interesting im willing to take bets on it if any one is interested. nothing big at all and im only saying this publicly to give my self more motivation.

what odds?

I'll take a ton easy mate, on 2/1.lol

Ollieboy wrote:
    what odds?

I'll take a ton easy mate, on 2/1.lol
    how about 50 3:1 ???
    as i said the bets are only to give me more motivation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

How about next time you win the 6k give her the winnings and tell her to shut the **** up :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Gholimoli wrote:

This just proves the point that men can't do more than one thing at a time. You just have to practice harder at lying while clicking on the fold button.

smurph wrote:
    This just proves the point that men can't do more than one thing at a time. You just have to practice harder at lying while clicking on the fold button.
    im pis sing my self laughing at this in the office.
    :D:D:D:D
    n1

Gholimoli wrote:
    how about 50 3:1 ???
    as i said the bets are only to give me more motivation.

Your on, motivation it his, but what about the 20k, is that not enough?lol

and get rid of the girlfriend, if it bothers your poker play, poker comes first, girls about 3 on the lists after beer.

Ollieboy wrote:
    Your on, motivation it his, but what about the 20k, is that not enough?lol

and get rid of the girlfriend, if it bothers your poker play, poker comes first, girls about 3 on the lists after beer.
    Sounds good to me 50 on 3:1 that i will win or come second (this was an addition that i just thought of) in the 100K tourney in 2006.
    i get another 10 go at it providing i can play ever one of them .
    Sounds like a good challenge.

P.S. it’s never enough (you should know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Imagine how your girlfriend would react to discovering that when you play badly and lose money, you publicly blame her...

Gholimoli wrote:
    Sounds good to me 50 on 3:1 that i will win or come second (this was an addition that i just thought of) in the 100K tourney in 2006.
    i get another 10 go at it providing i can play ever one of them .
    Sounds like a good challenge.

P.S. it’s never enough (you should know)

lol, your right.

Deal or bet or whatever. Now go and win the WSOP ticket and we can have a ball in Vegas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Marq wrote:
    Imagine how your girlfriend would react to discovering that when you play badly and lose money, you publicly blame her...

Easier just to get her to move to Russia for a year......;)

BigDragon wrote:
    Easier just to get her to move to Russia for a year......;)
    yeah i should talk to Marq and ask for his secrets.
    WP last night Dave.

wp last Dave and to Paul, it was a great evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

tribulus wrote:
    :D i've only just started playing for small stakes and my gf is like " it's gambling, it's just luck, you'll lose money etc etc"

Mine was the very same. But when you start coming back from the Europa on a Thursday night with them little white envelopes she soon changes her tune.:D

Now she plays online whenever I'm out. She's even been hinting at coming to a live game:eek: That'll be the day.....

Scotty # wrote:
    Mine was the very same. But when you start coming back from the Europa on a Thursday night with them little white envelopes she soon changes her tune.:D

Now she plays online whenever I'm out. She's even been hinting at coming to a live game:eek: That'll be the day.....
    .ive tried trip to Paris, Florence , nights out, dinners etc etc .
    nothing works.
    i have also tried explaining poker, odds ,what kind of gabling poker is etc.
    i have tried explaining that i don’t have to put in 2K to win 2K or more .
    Even her room mate has asked me to teach her how to play cuz she has hear me go on about it so much, but not the GF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

there was a discussion about this topic a few months ago
    You can find it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Gholimoli wrote:
    .ive tried trip to Paris, Florence , nights out, dinners etc etc .
    nothing works.
    i have also tried explaining poker, odds ,what kind of gabling poker is etc.
    i have tried explaining that i don’t have to put in 2K to win 2K or more .
    Even her room mate has asked me to teach her how to play cuz she has hear me go on about it so much, but not the GF.

Room mate sounds good to me ! :v:

Culchie wrote:
    Room mate sounds good to me ! :v:
    :D:D trust me Mike i have thought about it my self.but they are best mates.
    girls hey.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Gholimoli wrote:
    lesson to be learnt is "girls are evil and

lol, you're only learning this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

oh dear, I always take my phone off the hook myself :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Gholimoli wrote:
    :D:D trust me Mike i have thought about it my self.but they are best mates.
    girls hey.:confused:

Reminds me of the Seinfeld episode called "The Switch". If I remember rightly the way to do it was to ask your girlfriend for a ménage à trois with the roommate. Could be worth a try...

funny episode :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

what i find ridiculous as ive seen your photo that u believe u have a gf too much screen messin with your head give me aslap on the back for my 20th post please

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

sickpuppy wrote:
    what i find ridiculous as ive seen your photo that u believe u have a gf too much screen messin with your head give me aslap on the back for my 20th post please

Maybe, if you promise to use punctuation from your 21st post onwards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Bp!

Reminds me of the Seinfeld episode called "The Switch". If I remember rightly the way to do it was to ask your girlfriend for a ménage à trois with the roommate. Could be worth a try...

funny episode :D

Yeh but wasnt George doing this so his GF would dump him? :v:

Gotta love Seinfeld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Bp! wrote:
    Yeh but wasnt George doing this so his GF would dump him? :v:

Gotta love Seinfeld

Sorry, I thought that the idea was get rid of the current poker hating g/f and move onto her hot poker loving mate.

sickpuppy wrote:
    can you say this in english please?