Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photos of the LoveUlster Riots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Carrigman

Well done. And brave too to risk your camera in front of that rabble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

I was shopping in O'Connell Street yesterday around 12:30 when suddenly all the shutters closed and we were asked to leave the shop. I had no idea what was going on, but soon saw it myself. It was one of those days that I didn't bring my camera! Later on I saw the fights between the gardai and rioters on O'Connell Bridge... one of those days you'll never forget. A massive amount of bottles, rocks and cans were thrown at one stage, and after the wave the gardai chased them down the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Nicely documented

It was strange to see 20 riot-gardai marching up Henry Street like pied pipers, with a group of the curious following all eager to see some action. I've never seen so many cameras out on the streets. And so many American tourists posing for holiday snaps in front of the shell of the burned-out cars on Nassau St!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

This has all been said over in the threads in after hours. This is photography.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

thoseare some good photos of premarch that we hadn't seen much of, lots of people there,more then i've seen from other pictures today, how did they ever think they'd get the orange parade down oconnell street with those numbers opposing?? theres still lots of the timeline i don't understand, how the rioters get from oconnell street to nassau?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

thoseare some good photos of premarch that we hadn't seen much of, lots of people there,more then i've seen from other pictures today, how did they ever think they'd get the orange parade down oconnell street with those numbers opposing?? theres still lots of the timeline i don't understand, how the rioters get from oconnell street to nassau?

The march was to kick off at 12.30 at 12.15 it was mainly photographers and gardai at the parade then a few min later big crowds of protesters arrived and started getting violent. Don't kow where the crowds appeared from. Well orchestrated IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

great images...
    Brave too.. with the scumbags attacking journalists and camerapeople as well

Don't know about brave. Stupid more than likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

fair play for getting those great shots, and glad you didnt get hurt :) nice work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭randombassist

jaqian wrote:

Journalism is about reporting the things that other people shouldn't and don't have to go near. They're the people who put themselves in danger, so that the public (me/ you etc) can be informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

It was stupid in my case. Went in to take pics of marching bands and bemused curiosity among the watching Dubs and even as I walked up O'Connell St and heard the bangs and fireworks starting I thought it was part of the parade spectacle! I ended up past the Savoy between the mob and the Garda line in a doorway at the side of the footpath and getting pushed back down the street by the guards - who were in my opinion did their job extremely well. Got what I hoped were some great shots of the baddies and the Garda riot police line. As things stopped at the GPO, I hung around for a while and, a bit bored, I went home walking down Westmoreland St, Nassau St and Merrion St before I could get a bus. For some reason, the anti-fur protest at Barnardos amused me. Twenty minutes later the mob continued to this area but I was on the way home.

Second stupid - made a complete boo-boo at the match yesterday, exposing my film from Saturday so I think I've lost most of my pics from the riots. I'm just going to have to assume they were as good as the best flickr can offer in the style of http://lostcamera.blogspot.com/.

Pity about your photos, you must be sick.

Anyone else here have photos of the riot?

Here's someone else's: O6scura : http://www.flickr.com/photos/o6scura/sets/72057594070042882/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭jamescrombie

i have some excellant pictures but allas i use a Film SLR and dont own a scanner and never though of putting them on CD when devolping ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Even though I had no intention of going to see the march, I found myself in town for other reasons, so I took the camera and went to O'Connell St to play at being a war photographer. Had to supress the urge to duck and roll behind cover etc. but then decided to vacate the area before the 1st batton charge when a firework went off right overhead. I was standing with all the other amateur photographers on the Clearys side of the street 20ft away from the line of riot police, looking over at the GPO side where all the action was.

One well-placed grenade into that crowd could have solved a lot of inner-city problems for a long time, if you ask me.

Just like James there, I also have a film SLR so it'll be 3 weeks before I even see the pics and then it'll be old news, sigh.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

jaqian wrote:
    Great shots! Well done.

beans wrote:
    Nicely documented

Thanks beans. Thats what I was aiming to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

Turns out I didn't waste the entire roll - either it jammed as it rewound or more likely I opened the back before it finished rewinding. Anyway only the first 10 or so shots are lost - mostly of protesters throwing things at the Garda line as they moved down O'Connell St. I've put what I was left with up at my shiny new Flickr account.

Scans were by the Fuji machine in the photo shop and really don't look half as good as the prints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I've got a few photos, might upload them later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

sorry ... got these from a friend could not resist ...:D

riot.jpg

riot2.jpg

street.jpg

protesters20zx.jpg

@leinsterman the last one is great. Saw the others already in emails.