Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy People at Gas Stations

• 26-02-2006 2:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

i was reading the 'Crazy people on buses' thread and it reminded me of a few stories that happened at some gas stations.

I was in palmerstown at a mates house one friday/saturday night and we were running short on smokes, so myself and 2 of the lads decided to head out and pick some up at the statoil next to the silver granet pub. There was a que of about 7/8 people and we were placed 4th. So the usual orders were being made 'EH A MARS BAR, EH A LITER OF MILK EH......... AND EH..... 10 BLEW PLS'. By the time there was 2 people ahead of us a car came speeding into the garage. Now, if you know palmerstown statoil, you would know you DONT speed into that station else you will get launched 5 foot in the air. So the car screeches to a halt, and out from the car bursts possibly the most dodgy charactor i have ever seen. The chap really needed a wash.

He looks at the que, goes to head to the end of the que, then stops... then starts too look at the top of the que, then starts fidgiting and goes to the top, then says 'no' then goes to the back, then runs up to the glass, looks in at the chap getting what ever hes getting at the back, tuts to himself then turns to us(the que of 10 or so) then goes 'heaw, de ye my-yind if i go furst its a amurgency'. This chap was sketch, so we let him go first, everyone was all ears to what he needed so badly. So the chap behind the glass goes 'can i help you?' and the chaps says 'eh, have you got any tin-foil, its a amurgency', the chap behind the glass was mind boggled, but couldnt sell him the tinfoil coz it wouldnt fit under the hatch. There was some giggles in the que as it was blatent the chap was strung out. He went nuts, screamed 'ill fuckin kill ye' in the direction of the poeple who giggled, then ran into the car and ramped into the road without looking - lucky for him no cars were coming..

The next story is in no way crazy or anything, but it was funny at the time, i guess a 'you had to be there' type thing.

I was at the back of the garage que and there was 4/5 blokes infront of me, all with their hands in their pockets (as you do). The chap at the top goes 'hey, um, can i have, 1 litre of milk, 10 marlboro lights, a box of tampax and a snickers please?'. The guy behind the glass repeated everything but the tampax, and said 'what was that last thing?', the chap replied 'er a box of tampax'. At that point everyone in the que burst into tears and one of the lads goes 'that time again eh?'. The chap at the top just took it on the chin and walked off.

Also, what is it with teenagers hangin around garages smoking? Shouldnt there be a law against that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Brother To God

I worked in a petrol station the only 24hr one in Limerick city,The stuff I had seen there will forever remain with me!
    1-a fella once tried to buy condoms on finding we where out of them he asked for a few plastic bags!
    2-all the prostitutes used to come in buying their condoms so by 11 oclock we would have none-they offered special deals to staff of our shop as we used to make them coffees-no one excepted (I Hope!)
    3-its against the law to sell wine after the hours of 11 but my boss used to force us to sell it all hours of the night and just "jkeep an eye out for the gardai"
    4-someone got bottled outside the shop and lay bleeding for three hours,we where not allowed to phone for an ambulance as we had sold the scum who did this to the fella the actual wine bottles.
    5-the power went off once and the doors as an emergency responce fully open all I had keeping the doors shut was a little lock which could be flicked open with a credit card,i was there for hours knocking scums cards out of the lock as they tried to break in and I heard the best line I have ever heard in my life

"let me in and I,ll kill ya"

Ok time to open the door so you can finish me!! The amount of fights and people attacked outside the shop was insane.thank god I no longer work there and thank god its demolished!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

daveirl wrote:

Baddum Pishh - ho ho, look at what time i wrote that post :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

red_ice wrote:
    Baddum Pishh - ho ho, look at what time i wrote that post :v:

That doesn't make it right. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i think he was referring to palmerston ohio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

I worked in a petrol station the only 24hr one in Limerick city,The stuff I had seen there will forever remain with me!

The amount of fights and people attacked outside the shop was insane.thank god I no longer work there and thank god its demolished!

That the one out by Roxboro?