Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go into town tonight?

• 25-02-2006 4:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

Anyone planning on it? Anyone brave enough? Do you think there'll be trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

It'll be as safe as ever. (So, yeah - there'll be trouble.)

(FYI, there's more than one town in Ireland...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

My mates went in just there, its already simmered down, just a lot of glass but yeah basically safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Not that I can, obviously. If I was living in Dublin, I wouldn't go anywhere near the city centre tonight. There will be isolated trouble tonight, I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 milkytigerrr

Appy polly loggies. I did mean to write Dublin town centre. Sorry if I offended the dispersed population of boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

i guess you're talking about the orange and sinn fein w*nkers?
    i hadnt even thought about it and im planning on going in later, think there's gonna be trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

im not staying in, il be out.
    dorans all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Was going to, but I'll probably stay away tonight.

It might well be fine, but better safe than sorry. Might have all sorts in the pubs tonight boasting about what they vandalised and stole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

im going to kanye west with the woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Placebo wrote:
    dorans all the way.

hate that place ;)

Sarge you ll have a savage night, i was at that last night and it was soooo good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 milkytigerrr

Dorans has the mankiest pints in town. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

have to go into reds tonight for me mates bday. nitelink back to tallaght should be fun.

are buses and nightlinks still on?

Placebo wrote:
    are buses and nightlinks still on?

Everything is as normal :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

Heyes wrote:
    Everything is as normal :)

I dont mean to sound stupid . But whats on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Sarge wrote:
    im going to kanye west with the woman

i know who "the woman" is sarge :D

enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

I wasn't planning to go in, but I'm advising my sister not to. Even if things have 'simmered down', town will be heaving with scumbags high on adrenaline after today.

Eminem - there were big riots in Dublin today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

LookingFor wrote:
    I wasn't planning to go in, but I'm advising my sister not to. Even if things have 'simmered down', town will be heaving with scumbags high on adrenaline after today.

Eminem - there were big riots in Dublin today.

Why what happend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Have plans to go to a 21st.......gonna go in anyway. I'd say there will be Gardaí everywhere! I wouldnt go wandering around temple bar or anything though. I'll be in the one place for the night and a taxi home.

On a related note, the people who rioted make me sick. That's all I'll say because I have too much to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I'll be going in. I have a friend over from Germany for the weekend. Unfortunately she happened to be staying in a hotel on Parnell Square and witnessed the events today. She was out on the streets at the time and close to some of the events. Fortunately nothing happened to her. Herself and myself had arranged to meet and did so and then headed out to Dún Laoghaire for the afternoon, as planned, where we had a very nice afternoon. We shall be meeting later again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Yeah I'm heading into town for the night in about an hour, I think it'll probably be safer than normal, alot of rowdies would have been drinking from early on and will probably be wrecked from the riot earlier and be spending the night at home.

I haven't been in there yet but it must have calmed down alot already because the garda helicopter is back in its normal Saturday night spot circling my estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I won't be going in.

But that's cos I was hammered last night :) I wouldn't have any qualms about going in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Buzz as normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I was in templebar about an hour ago and the place was crawling with gardai, don't think anyone would be stupid enough to start anything tonight especially!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

FFS this has already put me in a sh1t mood it better not spoil my saturday night. Im going to the palace later with the lads, do you think there'll be much of a crew socialisers around tonight... have some friends down from Belfast (fencing comp, not marching!) and wanted to showe them Dublin... just in case they get the wrong idea:rolleyes:

Would never have known anything kicked off in dublin last night, everything was as normal :)

yup, too normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Was in town last night and have to say I've never felt safer on the streets of Dublin at night, the city was heaving with cops. If only they could be out in those numbers every Saturday night!

Town was definitely a bit quieter than normal but not hugely so...

Sleepy wrote:
    Town was definitely a bit quieter than normal but not hugely so...

Eh it was packed |?!.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Dunno where you were Heyes but Whelan's was quieter than normal.

Plus I managed to get a taxi inside 5 minutes of looking for one...

Sleepy wrote:
    Dunno where you were Heyes but Whelan's was quieter than normal.

Plus I managed to get a taxi inside 5 minutes of looking for one...

Was in temple bar and around dame street, and the old streets were covered with people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I was in Barcode last night where you'd expect there to be trouble and there was none.. it did seem a bit quieter than usual for a Saturday night tho.. was a good night anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I was in the odeon last night and it was packed. No trouble around when i was going home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Not that I can, obviously. If I was living in Dublin, I wouldn't go anywhere near the city centre tonight. There will be isolated trouble tonight, I'm sure.

There wasn't actually :rolleyes: id a great nite in town last nite even scoring with some English mot ;)