Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Poker Tour......

• 25-02-2006 11:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭

The CPT is rolling into my hometown ( Wicklow ) next Sunday 5th, any boarders play in this league or have any opinions on it? Should be good live game practice for PPP Open, 2 minute walk from my frontdoor isn't bad either!

Ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

The CPT is rolling into my hometown ( Wicklow ) next Sunday 5th, any boarders play in this league or have any opinions on it? Should be good live game practice for PPP Open, 2 minute walk from my frontdoor isn't bad either!

Ray

Tap in Celtic Poker Tour into the search facility.

Not the flavour of the month round these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Should be good live game practice for PPP Open,

Ray

If the PPP Open is going to be a tournament were PPP take a high percentage of the prizepool for themselves, change the blind strucutre willy nilly and is an out right crapshoot, then yes, it will be great practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭The Ace Face

Culchie wrote:
    Tap in Celtic Poker Tour into the search facility.

Not the flavour of the month round these parts.

Read links, jeeezzz bit of hostility here, CPT seem to be a v. profitable organisation. I will still walk the 2mins, pay my fee and my add-on and use the live experience, rather play online personally. To be fair to CPT its about supply and demand and if people want to pay at 50-60% levels thats their call.

Cheers Culchie

ntlbell wrote:
    If the PPP Open is going to be a tournament were PPP take a high percentage of the prizepool for themselves, change the blind strucutre willy nilly and is an out right crapshoot, then yes, it will be great practice.

Hear your point NTL, not quiet a deep stack tournie, I will let you know how it goes. I don't live in Dublin so this tournie does help, but will starting playing scalps soon on Fridays. CPT are preying on outside Dublin market - and I would imagine doing v. well!

Ray

Read links, jeeezzz bit of hostility here, CPT seem to be a v. profitable organisation. I will still walk the 2mins, pay my fee and my add-on and use the live experience, rather play online personally. To be fair to CPT its about supply and demand and if people want to pay at 50-60% levels thats their call.

Cheers Culchie

Yup, you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink.

People ask questions, they get their answers, they then go right ahead and do what they were going to do anyway.

I think a big 'lol' is in order ...enjoy our game.

Culchie wrote:
    Yup, you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink.

People ask questions, they get their answers, they then go right ahead and do what they were going to do anyway.

I think a big 'lol' is in order ...enjoy our game.

I posted question for a reason and I got loads of feedback that I had not expected, for that thks. As I said tournies ( even badly run ones managed by profiteers ) come by my doorstep v. rarely. I'll give it a go as a once off and see if the bad press is fair. There are 2 boarders who speak positivley about CPT ( 95% do not! ). I am going into comp with my eyes wide open thanks to boarders advice. I posted last week about gaining live experience so any is better than none, until I hit the Fitz in a few weeks and Drogheda I'll have to stay online and try the CPT. :)

Ray - big "lol"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I posted question for a reason and I got loads of feedback that I had not expected, for that thks. As I said tournies ( even badly run ones managed by profiteers ) come by my doorstep v. rarely. I'll give it a go as a once off and see if the bad press is fair. There are 2 boarders who speak positivley about CPT ( 95% do not! ). I am going into comp with my eyes wide open thanks to boarders advice. I posted last week about gaining live experience so any is better than none, until I hit the Fitz in a few weeks and Drogheda I'll have to stay online and try the CPT. :)

Ray - big "lol"

so instead of going with 95% of boards you go with the 5%?

LAWL /o/

NTL - I'm going to gain my own opinion and for a bit of fun, not every tournie is going to be run like a casino.:D Poker and a few pints with mates, who I could never get to play with in Dublin with.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You're an experienced enough player to know a good tournie from a rip off.... let us know how it goes eh?

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    You're an experienced enough player to know a good tournie from a rip off.... let us know how it goes eh?

DeV.

Yep,no probs:) - trying to remain positive after busting out of WSOP GF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 hoolamoppa

Hey Ace, Let us know how u go tomorrow night !!!:rolleyes:

hoolamoppa wrote:
    Hey Ace, Let us know how u go tomorrow night !!!:rolleyes:

Spurs beat Blackburn as I watched in the bar, in good mood heading into CPT event in Grand Hotel in Wicklow....this is my view...

Met "main floor guy" asked him about the payout structure, %s, was it worked out after rebuys etc....didn't go down too well - "12k pool thats it" was response. I went back into bar where I could see local gamblers starting to gather. Got my extra 1k in chips for being an early bird....off to a good start......so I thought

Anyway, due to bad press on baords I said I would do a bit of research...talked to a few guys I knew who played before, they advised they play with them around east coast area.

I stood near 2 "CP Dealers" ( don't actually deal! )...they were bitchin about bad press that CPT get and that they barely broke even in last 2 tournies in Carlow ...they feel that they are being hard done by all negative publicity.

My dad played with a guy who advised they only got 65 in recent tournie in Galway...would have lost 6k in my opinion...

Anyway - I counted 170 punters, 7 empty tables, around 60% locals.

55 buy in, 3 rebuys of 25 each & 1 add on for 10k chips for 25 quid.

Average spend would be 100 not everyone rebought, some not all but everyone added on.
    Asked the Hotel Manager what room cost - 1k for nite
    Staff of c. 8 guys, working 4 till 2 plus travelling cost c. 1.6k

So 17k minus
    12k equates to 2.4k profit

THis to cover other o/heads plus they gave away a few free tickets to some big comp in Green Isle.

Not their most profitable night, need 200 plus to make easy cash.

Anyway the cards....my table had 2 guys who could play a bit, 3 average pub type players, 2 fish and a woman as thick as a ditch..she knew the rules but chased for Ireland and was generally v. stupid. Guy beside me was a local, nice guy but hadn't a clue ( e.g A35s on flop....says out loud.."chance of Royal Flush here ". Anyway his a nice guy, just inexperienced at cards.

Calls were mad, J5 was a good raising hand with A4 offsuit, Russian guy won 20k in chips in 5 mins not having a clue and chasing a 5 for inside straight to river ( and getting it, to this he shouts "yes" and then thick foreign woman raises into him with a pair of Js to a K high board with straight filled with 3k in chips)..v. funny at time.

Overall standard in my opinion was v. mixed, my dad said 1 guy at his table played every single hand, no matter what. Won a big pot with 2-3 after hitting 2 on flop.... I'm sure there were a few good players there but >50% were v. bad. I havent classified myself.

I couldn't get going, in first 2.5 hours I had 44 and 66 ( card dead ). Got QQ first hand after break and had 1 caller. 248 2s on flop so I go in heavy...set of 8s so I'm gone. Home at 9.30. I found the lads would chase most cards then if they lost they would simply rebuy and off we go again. Loads of multi pots, dangerous to get involved in due to chances of 93o filling a house.

Found game v. slow with self deal, loads of dealing mistakes, blinds were every 25 mins starting at 50/100

I think most people enjoyed it, I personally didn't..maybe biased before I went or it was the ****e standard of cards, I have never played in Fitz/Merrion so I cannot compare, I'm sure they are much more professional.

Food was bare minimum, chips and chicken goujons....took care of beer hunger...

Anyway, standard of cards I would call as average ( maybe below average ) but until I go to Dublin next weekend to start my practice for PPP Open I cannot give true comparison.

Do CPT rip off people......most locals I know who were there are no mugs, some even told me that another crew run comps in Beehive pub with 15 min levels! People know what they get with this crowd & chance of paying out cash and not winning any thing is a strong long term possibility as final table is all that gets paid. Would I go again......95% no..but after all the abuse I had to sample it for myself. I spent 100 euro. Waste of time, didn't get any cards and more than likely wouldn't have won if I had.

Ray:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

I stood near 2 "CP Dealers" ( don't actually deal! )...they were bitchin about bad press that CPT get and that they barely broke even in last 2 tournies in Carlow ...they feel that they are being hard done by all negative publicity.

My dad played with a guy who advised they only got 65 in recent tournie in Galway...would have lost 6k in my opinion...

Anyway - I counted 170 punters, 7 empty tables, around 60% locals.

55 buy in, 3 rebuys of 25 each & 1 add on for 10k chips for 25 quid.

Average spend would be 100 not everyone rebought, some not all but everyone added on.
    Asked the Hotel Manager what room cost - 1k for nite
    Staff of c. 8 guys, working 4 till 2 plus travelling cost c. 1.6k

So 17k minus
    12k equates to 2.4k profit

THis to cover other o/heads plus they gave away a few free tickets to some big comp in Green Isle.

Not their most profitable night, need 200 plus to make easy cash.

Ray:D
    Now ray take a % off the 2.4k "profit from above to cover the 6k loss in galway, the simular loss in Roscrea before christmas etc.
    Warehousing for tables etc, vehicle repayments, advertising costs, cost of tables etc employers insurance, accountancy fees, corporation tax etc etc.

They do make massive money some nights however not as much overall as many here would think. the big problem with this type of tourney is teh guaranteed prize fund. this means that you cant give as high a % into prize pool as you have put money away for the night that you dont reach the guaranteed prize fund. It is exactly the same with any investment that you do- guarantees cost money.
    For this reason I am very very wary of tourneys with guaranteed prize funds.

I would again point out that I have no involvemnet with cpt and have only gone to one of their nights once. It will be a long time before i go again as much to do with the blind/ ante structure as anything. also I personally don't like the way that they take a rake from the side games. To me this is adding insult to injury.

I would point out that most players that i talked to could do the maths very easly and in fact did but wanted to play anyway and enjoyed their night. when push comes to shove thats what counts for the vast majority of players.

The best thing about this post is the 7 empty tables, and the negative press they are receiving has reached their dealers and probably some of their players.

The end is nigh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

Culchie wrote:
    The best thing about this post is the 7 empty tables, and the negative press they are receiving has reached their dealers and probably some of their players.

The end is nigh :D
    Thats what we all do talking to players and I did it verymuch on the night.