Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Krav Maga in Cork

• 23-02-2006 5:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭

I've seen possters advertising Krav Maga classes in Cork recently, and I've arranged to attend a class on Wednesday in the Olympic Karate Club so that I can check it out. The instructor is called Steve.

Hanyone anyone down South been to one of these classes, or heard about the instructor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

I.m a KM instructor.

That chap is linked to www.kravmaga.ie linked to the IKMF www.ikmf.ie

Different Association that I became an instructor under (i was trained in Israel), not that assoiations matter!!!

Post a review of what you think, after the class???

KM is an real good system, though sometimes it is very technique based.

Flaws with KM is that the fighting side is ignored by some KM schools. as in very little or wimpy style " Lets glove up and spar"..

How you train the technique is very important.

All in All KM is excellent to learn basic and effective Self Defence.

One point you CANNOT learn KM over a weekend. a weekend is a good intro to basic KM but you will not develop the Unconscious Competence need to use KM to defend yourself in a weekend.

KM like anything takes time and practice to develop your skills.

The standard of KM in Ireland would be fairly weak, compared to KM people I have trained with from Europe (Polish KM people are serious highly skilled), USA and Israel.

I am not saying I am an expert in all of KM, though I am very competant in all unarmed techniques, and ok at the weapons defences. Though I have many many years MA And kickboxing experience before I got involve in KM.

So enjoy it mate and let us all know how you got on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

Whats Steves surname?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

Hey lads, I aint heard of KM before, I've moved up 2Dublin recently from Cork, I used to do Aikido a few years back before the club we were doin it in shut down "Samuri Judo Club", Do you instruct KM in Dublin, If so where abouts and what times, and how much ETC

Kellxor

I don't teach in Dublin anymore...because I live in Thailand to do Thai Boxing!!

I think KM in Ireland has turned into too much of a money racket. and this has gotten when real KM is about a bad name.

KM in other countries is taught like any other MA where you have to put in time effort and lots and lots of hard work. Thats what real KM is about.

As I said on here before I am more interested in RBSD and Combatives back up with Thai boxing, and I want to learn ground tuff like alot of the lads on here do, at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭CarolLorraine

I'm doing Krav Maga in Dublin at the moment with the www.kravmaga.ie crowd and it's just brilliant. You learn so much so quickly! Our instructor Aidan Carroll is genuinely enthusiastic about Krav Maga and is keen to teach as much as he can to the class. This enthusiasm catches on so even though the class is a bit of craic, the concentration from the class is kept and the standard of teaching is high.

I think the class is good value for money. It's 100 euro for a 10 week course in Drumcondra so I really don't know how Millionaire is making out that it's a money racket. To say that, is like saying that what we're being taught is of little value and Millionaire said himself that "KM is a real good system". I would certainly recommend the course!

Also for a number of reasons, I disagree with Millionaire saying that Krav Maga is sometimes "too technique based". I wouldn't mind getting further clarification from Millionaire as to what he meant by this.

However I do agree with Millionaire when he says that it takes time and practice to learn these skills and you can't just pick it up over a weekend. Our instructor has told us PLENTY of times though that we need to practice the skills that we're learning and that we can't just learn it over a weekend and expect to be able to do it instinctively 6 months later if needs be but they run a lot of refresher courses to keep their students' skills fresh and to teach more anyway.

One point though and I think Millionaire touched on this, Krav Maga is being taught to us as more of a self protection system than a straight Martial Art class so it depends on what you're looking to get out of the class if it's the class for you. Millionaire mentioned the dedication and hours being put in by foreigners into the system and perhaps it's the "short course" nature of Krav Maga in Ireland that is stunting our level of KM in Ireland as Millionaire mentioned he felt it was weak.

According to www.kravmaga.ie "Krav Maga training focuses on teaching simple self-defense techniques which are specifically catered to reality based attack situations and specifically designed to get quick results in a short training period". That about sums it up! I will enquire with Aidan though as to what courses are available to those who have done the intro course already. I do know that he offers personal training but I will post back as to what he says in regards to Krav Maga classes, not 1-2-1, for those who have done some before.

I would definitely like to hear from the original poster to see how he gets on at his class as well though I do feel he'll get on well and will be back for more.

When I say KM is too technique based, par example, there is a specific technique to escape from a headlock, attacker does x, you do y. now under a real attack situation, that is not always going to work, there is too many uncontrolled variables involved.

As I said weekend course and short courses, are great to be introduced to KM or indeed any other MA, however to become skilled its takes much much longer. And Indeed I told my own students the vary same.

The fighting apect of KM is very much ignored too. to be accomplished one must (in my view based on 20 years experience) be putting in hard practice and sparring (strikes, clinch, ground)to complete the SD techniques. You must get in an spar, and feel what its like to be hit, and also what its like to punch someone too.

For example, I thought in clinch work I was ok, now from training daily with Thai professional fighters, I realise my clinch is very weak (and I have been humbled...again!) and clinch fighting is an area I MUST master, and that might take 1 or 2 years of daily practice. (and I will master it).

From someone who has been around the block a few times in martial arts, self defence and fighting, there is no quick fix.

And Yes I have change my tune on this, as I too got caught up in think people can learn from the quick fix , (maybe some can) , now I realise with my own Muay Thai experience, this is not so true.

Who can throw an elbow better, there by being able to defend ones self better, the KM student after a weekend or 12 week course, or the Thai boxer who is throwing elbows, day in day out, and also facing up to fear and adreline and the chance of getting hit, each time the step into the ring.

KM is a great system, though it is does not come as easy as some say!
    Go to Isreal and train (like I did) and you will not see any short cuts over there...the israelis train day in day out. there is no weekend courses or short courses taught in KM in Israel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

If only more people understood the importance of clinch and trained it like you do Millionaire. It truly is the most neglected range of fighting

Good points Millionaire.

The idea of being able to punch a throat if you cant punch a pad or ballstrike from the clinch if you cant even stay safe and on the ground in the clinch is nuts.

Its all about having the delivery systems- then you can add in the techniques to suit the situation.

If you dont have the delivery system and only have the situational stuff then its not gonna do you any good tbh.

It took a little Thai boxer about 4 foot nothing, repeatedly throwing me on my head, to make this massive realisation!

From punching and kicking and elbows no problem, I have years of that delievery system...but get into clinch and I am essentially a dead man.

The clinch work I do here and the power and strenght of the clinches put on me, are
    miles and miles ahead of any clinch work I did in KM. Their amazing here. its some wake up call!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

It took a little Thai boxer about 4 foot nothing, repeatedly throwing me on my head, to make this massise realisation!

From punching and kicking and elbows no problem, I have years of that delievery system...but get into clinch and I am essentially a dead man.

The clinch work I do here and the power and strenght of the clinches put on me, are
    miles and miles ahead of any clinch work I did in KM. Their amazing here. its some wake up call!
    Those little Thai Devils eh???;)

Well i am interested in doin this 10 week w/end course, 100quid sounds reasonable, the reason i wanna do it is cause i need a self defence class, I dont like trouble but for some reason i'm always in the wrong place at the wrong time, I can handle myself pretty well in a brawl and i can get out of a few headlocks, But i've nver really taken a PUNCH to the head or anything, The fact that i'm goin for a part time job as a doorman i think it could be helpful doin it, i'm not very fit but i'm hoping the course will also help with that, Where is drumcondra aswell, I'm down by heuston station and still dont know the cith that well

Kellxor

I dont like trouble but for some reason i'm always in the wrong place at the wrong time

My advice, and this is coming from the most compassionate place I'm capable of, is to really look into the reason as to why it's happening.

Also, why are you looking for work as a doorman? There's some guys who post here who work/worked as doorman and might be able to give you tips on verbal de-escalation.

Check out http://www.kravmaga.ie/krav_maga_location.htm for a map of the location. I live in the North Strand (which is basically down the road from Connolly Station) and it takes me 10 mins to walk to class. Aidan's contact details are also on the site. You can tell him too that you heard about the classes from boards!

I dont like trouble but for some reason i'm always in the wrong place at the wrong time,

Kellxor

I went through a period of this, and now looking back logically, without letting my emotions getting involved, I can honestly say that 80% of it could be drink related, and related to places where there is excess booze consumed.

Maybe with a few drinks, you might not realise the situation is coming, maybe instead of walking away, you let ego get in the way, and tell someone sizing you up to "go and F themselves" instead of walking away, etc etc etc..the list can go on and on.
    and on top of this Dublin is endemic with Cocaine (which sends people egos to the moon and then results in parnoia when your coming down) abuse, on top of all the vodka and red bulls, that adds up to a bit pressure cooker ready to explode.

If your frequenting places like this, your chances of happening across trouble percentage wise really increases.

I am not trying to make your parnoid or scared , based on my experiences, and observations, it comes with the turf....sometimes.

I went through a period of this, and now looking back logically, without letting my emotions getting involved, I can honestly say that 80% of it could be drink related, and related to places where there is excess booze consumed.

Maybe with a few drinks, you might not realise the situation is coming, maybe instead of walking away, you let ego get in the way, and tell someone sizing you up to "go and F themselves" instead of walking away, etc etc etc..the list can go on and on.
    and on top of this Dublin is endemic with Cocaine (which sends people egos to the moon and then results in parnoia when your coming down) abuse, on top of all the vodka and red bulls, that adds up to a bit pressure cooker ready to explode.

If your frequenting places like this, your chances of happening across trouble percentage wise really increases.

I am not trying to make your parnoid or scared , based on my experiences, and observations, it comes with the turf....sometimes.

I dont drink, Well ya i've been out a few times but drink is never my problem, It's usually when i'm walkin somewhere, through an estate or in town even, I dont look for it, I keep to myself, But they just seem to look at me and think"Easy whooping" or something,

And i wanna work as a doorman just to get some extra cash, I work mon-fri 9-5 (9-4 on friday) so thur-sun nights are my best bet to make a little extra cash, i knew a few doormen in cork and they seemed to like the job, And i hear it pays well enough,

Kellxor

Just got an email today...if this is of interest to you as an introduction to see what Krav Maga is all about.

Self Defence For Men & Women

1 Day Introductory Course

Venue: Ierne Sports Club,Drumcondra

Date: 25th March

Time: 9am – 3pm, breakfast and lunch provided

www.kravmaga.ie

Cool, I'll defo turn up for that, is there a fee and what exactly will go on, Will we have to bring sweats and such?

Thanks for the help

Kellxor

Fee is 100 euro. You should check out the website www.kravmaga.ie and give Aidan a call for more info on what will be covered in that particular course.

Sweats seriously advisable as Aidan does some circuit training for the first few minutes of our class anyway to get you moving and your heart-rate up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

hey Kellxor, at present i work a door in town, just a few thoughts from me,

afaik krav maga focuses on strikes, throat eyes and such,(millionaire could you comment on this im not entirely sure) if your thinking of becoming a doorman this is imo, the last thing you should be focussing on, dealing with agressive behaviour is 99% talking and that other 1% is physical

some kind of stand up grappling /control restraint training would be alot more beneficial to you than something that will teach you how to maim someone, i.e guy starts a fight you strike his eyeball/throat garda turn up, this guys eyball is destroyed or his throat is crushed charges against you could be very serious, or grapple them and restrain them garda turn up u hand him over and go home nights work accomplished just a thought but i think u should try maybe freestyle wrestling or judo, ive worked the door for about a year now dealt with alot of physical situations and have never had to hit anyone, touch wood i wont!

but hey why not try a variety of arts and decide for yourself, id be interested in your experiences if you try one or more different systems

but id recommend a grappling system if its doorwork your interested in, also if you want to learn how to take a punch do some boxing, best punchers in the business

Yes Mick is right there.

what you will learn is strikes, and escapes should someone try to hold you.

While there is certainly restrain in KM, its not taught in Ireland. that would be in advanced police type training.

I am not an expert in restraint, so if that is your goal, go somewhere where you will learn restraint.

In fact there is some Kenpo place near Westland Row/Pearse St...back of Maheffys pub, that teach short restraint courses for security, based on some american system. might be more suitable for you...

the learn the strikes later.

Cool, Thanks for all the help lads, I'll say i'll look into the kenpo, I've spoken to a few ppl in the past who did it and they never had a bad word to say,

Kellxor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I headed along to the Olympic last night, to check it out.

I met Steve, a nice quiet guy, and there were 4 other guys in the class (me being the only female). I was told that it is usually busier.

After a warm up Steve asssessed my strikes, punches, kicks, elbows etc, all of which I was fairly comfortable with. The class proceeded as normal, with Steve working individually with me on the side, to help me come up to speed. We worked on variations of the chokehold, from front, side, rear, up close.

I found his instructions and explanations very clear. The biggest problem I have is breaking my own TKD conditioning. We don't normally strike to the groin, so I had to conciously lower my knee from the solar plexus to groin. Same for punches, I had to conciously switch to palm heel strikes. Eyes closed drilling was great fun and I enjoyed having to react to unknowns.

However, it was fun, and hopefully I can get up to speed with the rest of the class quickly.

thats sounds good.

escapes from choke hold variations. excellent. ya just go to drill these, then train them when you get a little better, with some one going for full on chokes full blast.

One of my students (the class smart ass) saw me on a bar stool one night in the local pub. I did not see him. he rush in (for a joke) and grabbed in in a choke from behind. I was able to pull off the escape in a flash, and lucky for him I recognised him out of corner oy my eye, otherwise he would have got an almight palm shot on the head (or 3). that takes lots of practice to get it that quick!

Palm strikes are excellent. I practice them daily,

Actually KM has all the punches too, jab, right cross, hooks, uppercut.

As long as it made clear it take lots and lots of practice and drills, and more
    practice. and plenty of training with resisting opponents, thats great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I realised very quickly the need for repetition and drilling. Hopefully, I'll get a chance to work on them over the weekend.

Time for a bad word about Kenpo. It is essentially useless. I'm a black belt in it and within three minutes of sparring anyone decent you soon realise how fruitless all those years training were.

ha ha I love the honesty Colm! It takes longer than most MA to get a black in kenpo too i think?

Actually I was refering to a Restraint Course for Security , that is run in there and not the kenpo classes. That might help Kellerox with the door work.

I will enquire with Aidan though as to what courses are available to those who have done the intro course already. I do know that he offers personal training but I will post back as to what he says in regards to Krav Maga classes, not 1-2-1, for those who have done some before.

I said I'd get back to ye on this. There will be another 10 week course in Drumcondra taking place after our introductory course has finished. So I'm glad to see that it is being carried on. I'm really looking forward to getting to a point where it isn't just one set attack being put on but multiple attacks thereby stepping up the defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kravist

Steve Folan!