Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paddy Power Resolution

• 22-02-2006 3:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭

Everything has calmed down from my point of view regarding Paddy Power, after the weekends very contraversial events.

As we are all probably aware, I acccused Paddy Power of publicising themselves as a company that cares about Responsible Gambling and falling short when it came to the punch.

I set up an agreement with Paddy Power to restrict my account to 100 Euros a week but I was still allowed to deposit freely over the phone without any questions asked.

Even after ringing Paddy Power explaining to them that their restrictions wernt working and to put something in place, I rang back up an hour later as a test and I was still able to deposit freely.

This and the fact that Paddy Power had been presenting their policies on Responsible Gambling on RTE 1 only 24 hours previous, then sent me over the edge anger wise and I posted a very blunt and honest thread about how dishonest Paddy Power were in their views towards Responsible Gambling.

I was contacted by Paddy Power on Saturday morning and they couldnt have been more apologetic. They admitted that I souldnt have been allowed to exceed my deposit limit and they offered me a full refund of any funds that I had over deposited.

The assured me that they do care about their customers and do strictly encourage resposible gambling. Their reason for the slip up was an administrive bug/clerical error.

I mailed Paddy Power after going through my Internet Banking and told them that the total amount of funds that I had over deposited through telephone calls came to a total of 1050.00 Euros. They rang me back and were once again very apologetic about the whole matter and informed me that they were refunding me 2300.00 Euros. I think this is probably everything I have deposited with Paddy Power over the last three or four months.

It was never my intention to get a refund nor was it even my intention to debate with Paddy Power at all. My intention at the start was just to let fellow Irish Players about this situation, and to rant my anger against Paddy Power.

As it turns out I think Paddy Power have proved themselves to be very approachable and willing to change, or fix problems that have slipped by their attention. They have assured me that they do take full resposiblility for what happened and that they are deeply sorry.

In hindsight I am a little embarrassed in the way I went about displaying my grievances, as Paddy Power have showed that they are willing to listen it might have been best to have a chat with them first. And I also did myself no favours in the way I had a go at Tom, that was way out of line but Tom has accepted my apology on the matter so I think thats been put to bed.

But the most important thing to come out of this is that people, or problematic gamblers, can no longer set limits for themselves on Paddy Power and then ring up and gamble away more than they can afford and I think this is an excellent result and I am delighted with this outcome.

Paddy Power have closed my account for good which is probably for the best. I was worried that this might affect me entering the upcoming Paddy Power Irish Open but they have assured me that it hasnt.

Happy Days.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Very honest post, fair play to you. Buy a stressball, it is cheaper than tilting :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 mmuf200

stupid dumb troll removed. -- DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,750 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

In my humble opinion....
    Because A) you would not have complained if you had won with this money
    B) PaddyPower had no obligation to return money to you....

I honestly think that you should give a large, very large (50% minimum) of this refund to a charity of your choice (possibly the boardsters 1percent fund).
    Sincerely,
    AJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

mmuf200 wrote:
    I assume that the above BS apology was a result of PP buying you off? I suppose we all have our price?
    Sweet J*sus i go sking for a week and all hell breaks loose. Its like going into a B&M Card club with a set amount that you have. If you lose that amount go home. Even better don't bring Visa Card etc., just cash to change into chips. Its about self discipline. If you really really wanted to gamble more at online poker all you would have to do is just set up another account on a different poker site on the web and gamble there. Paddy power let you set your limits, stick with them. In the Fitzwilliam Club they have a policy that you can only use your card for one transaction a night at the club, which i think is good. Gambling is addictive, so is smoking, drinking, and generally having a good time. Know you limitations, set them and remember at the end of the day, its your hard earned money, so you decide how best to enjoy it.

smurph wrote:
    In the Fitzwilliam Club they have a policy that you can only use your card for one transaction a night at the club, which i think is good.

I believe that restriction is now removed. On Laser cards it certainly is, and think it is for Credit Cards too.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I also saw red a bit and while I rarely tilt in poker, I certainly reacted angrily to the comments made, more angrily then I probably should have. I'm glad Paddy's did the right thing in the end.
    I'm also glad you got a resolution you are happy with and the return of monies is a nice touch.

DeV.

I only questioned the motives for the apology? And you should be removed for calling me a dumb troll?

I believe you should apologise for calling me a stupid dumb troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

mmuf200 wrote:
    I only questioned the motives for the apology? And you should be removed for calling me a dumb troll?

Devore isn't easily removed from this place... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

mmuf200 wrote:

To be honest it was nothing but a troll type comment. It was not going to do anything but to try and cause trouble. PP I assume have a bug in their system and it is in a vital area and to see themselves clear and that they do support problem gamblers, something which ppp-pitboss has said on this site on numerous different occasions, refunded all his money.

A very big decision on their part and should be commended on it IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

I wonder if I can get them to refund any money I lost while on tilt due to a bad beat when I was say 90% ahead...worth a shot anyway :D

I think this has been handled well by PPP but the cynic in me thinks that the €2300 payoff may well be small peanuts compared to the amount of accounts that have "taken advantage" of this bug/process problem. If RMG used €1050 himself, and then you multiply that amount by real problem gamblers (unlike RMG who was simply using it as a tilt account) I wonder what the amount is.

The problem is that you'll never hear about the majority of it, because real problem gamblers hide their gambling and their losses and would not risk it coming out into the open by publicising it.

Still a nice gesture by PPP in this case, and more than they had to do in this individual case.

brianmc wrote:
    Devore isn't easily removed from this place... :)

Like a tourist trying to get the queen removed from Buckingham Palace. Two chances.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

mmuf200 wrote:

It was very badly put. How about we ask RMcG to confirm he posted this of his own inclination and wasn't asked to. At least I hope thats the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭RMcG

Yes I posted this of my own accord......

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

musician wrote:
    It was very badly put. How about we ask RMcG to confirm he posted this of his own inclination and wasn't asked to. At least I hope thats the case.
    dont bother Muso. mmuf200 is cooling his heels outside the door of the poker forum atm.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

DeVore wrote:
    dont bother Muso. mmuf200 is cooling his heels outside the door of the poker forum atm.

DeV.

How do you like that for a check raise!!

As Teddy says "In my club, I will splash the pot whenever the **** I please. " nuff said Dev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mmuf300

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

Dev is it beneath you to apologise or do you believe in censorship. It can be taken on face value that he did not get asked to put the apology up there so be it.

Your form of ignorance is beyond belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mmuf300

ollyk1 wrote:
    How do you like that for a check raise!!

As Teddy says "In my club, I will splash the pot whenever the **** I please. " nuff said Dev.

How like this for an all you focker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Relax mmuf300 Ollyk was talking about mmuf200, nothing to do with you :)
    Hmmm self-replicating trolls, the end is nigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

mmuf300 wrote:
    How like this for an all you focker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CAll. This is where you go when you bluff into the nuts. Enjoy.
    :p
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=335

Mmuf2/300 all now permo site banned. His "base" account is week banned and can return after that.
    Any repeat appearance is... inadvisable.

"call"

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

awww... he seemed like a nice bloke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

ollyk1 wrote:
    As Teddy says "In my club, I will splash the pot whenever the **** I please. "

Mr Hickson certainly does like to splash the pot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mmurf40

Are you not able to apologise or explain your reasons for barring me?

"Now ye're talking" is boards logo not "Now we are censoring"

Please explain yourself?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

lol ... I'm going to sign up as mmurf50 ... I'll sell you the user name for $100

Culiche,

Put them all on ebay quick.

Does everybody feel I am out of order asking for reasons for censorship and barring apart from The King Troll Himself. Or are ye are all scared that ye will be barred for voicing an opinion???????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

mmurf40 wrote:
    Does everybody feel I am out of order asking for reasons for censorship and barring apart from The King Troll Himself. Or are ye are all scared that ye will be barred for voicing an opinion???????????????????
    You're dead right. Is this what the heros of 1916 died for?

Fight the machine!

That is a bit extreme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

mmurf40 wrote:
    Culiche,

I really think you need to get out a bit more, in fact alot more. Its getting quite embarrassing, just let it go. If I was Tom hell would freeze over before i'd apologise to you.

smurph wrote:
    I really think you need to get out a bit more, in fact alot more. Its getting quite embarrassing, just let it go. If I was Tom hell would freeze over before i'd apologise to you.

More insults...

DapperGent wrote:
    You're dead right.
    Note the lack of the comma between dead and right in the above. Just in case anyone reaches the same conclusions as mmurf, or Voltaire as I like to refer to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

mmurf40 wrote:
    Culiche,

Maybe if you drop the censorship angle, stop the insults and show some respect to the moderators/owners of the site, you might get somewhere.

The ironic thing is your original point had some food for thought (regarding OP post) .. but you've gone and completely frigged it all up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭sendic

to get back on topic here for a minute...

congrats to RMcG, I'm glad you got the resolution you wanted. You highlighted a problem and made the company recognise it. I have no doubts you posted this thread of your own accord.

what i'm wondering is will PPP be actively seeking out other clients who used this glitch and will they be offering them their money back and a 120% "we're sorry" bonus?

Im not trying to go PPP bashing here, I dont play on their site, I'd just like to know.

ps

re mmurf40000, whats the record for most iterations of a userid?

sendic wrote:
    re mmurf40000, whats the record for most iterations of a userid?
    I'm convinced there was a point where Bubbles comprised the majority of the site.

My personal favourites have always been the DevoreisgayXX series. A classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

DapperGent wrote:
    I'm convinced there was a point where Bubbles comprised the majority of the site.

My personal favourites have always been the DevoreisgayXX series. A classic.

linky?

Don't think they're still in existence.

bubbles: http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/index.php/Bubbles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

DapperGent wrote:
    Don't think they're still in existence.

Ah shame that. I always like a good forum war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

mmurf40 wrote:

Well, yes. And, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

kincsem wrote:
    Well, yes. And, no.
    What you mean is: As with everything in poker, it depends.

God bless our gathering cards. They're like little conversations that are prewrapped.

12clicked.jpg

newnicksamecrap.jpg

devoreintervention.jpg

setmypeoplefree.jpg

from here: http://www.boards.ie/gathering/
    DeV.