Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids kicking ball off the window

• 21-02-2006 5:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭

(rant)I m going absolutly nuts with this group of little ****ers who decide to play soccer right infront of the house I rent. I only moved in in Jan but since then without fail they'll be out there kicking the ball right in front of our house.

Now whats wrong with that you say, kids having fun you say. Well next comes kicking the ball of the fron window, bins, front door. Accidently is not even entertained as my house mate was just walked around the corner to see one eye up the shot and power huse it at the window. In retalation for me telling them to get of the wall earlier me thinks. The week before, one of the pillars at the gateway had its top knocked by them but of course they hadnt a clue about it.

Now why my house, what would make them think they can do this with no repocussions. Maybe the fact that my other three house mates are not Irish!!
    One French guy and girl and one Spanish girl. In fact I m the first Irish house mate they ve had.
    So what can I do,the parents have been spoken too, with no change, If I was to call the Gaurds would they laugh at it and say talked to the parents. I saw the ball in front of one of there houses this morning, that will be disappearring real soon. Little ****ers.(/rant)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Maybe I am an old grouch but the same thing was happening to me about 2 years ago. The young fellas were kicking a ball at the front of the house and hit the windows/doors a few times. Also, as I was living near to a junction the ball would occassionally go out in front of oncoming traffic forcing the drivers to brake hard. They eventually got careless and left 2 balls out on the road one night. I got the 2 of them after midnight and with the help of a good sharp knife cut them to pieces and put them in the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

call the cops

failing that, The A-Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Betty Swollocks

Go around and see their aul man....tell him you'll take it out on his face if they break anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i have the same problem every summer.
    the kids from the houses nearby are fine. i just tell them that i don't mind them being on the wall or outside the house, just don't play football anywhere near it.
    it's the kids from down the road that are the problem. the usual cheeky little ****s. came around the corner from work one day and saw two of them in the garden. to say i scared the crap out of them would be an understatement. one of them ran off crying and the other just went pale. i didn't lay a finger on them or even pretend i was going to. the boss was dropping me off and i jumped out of the van and we pretended we were gonna take them up the mountains and beat the crap out of them and then leave them there.
    it did the job. that was almost a year ago and they haven't been back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

If these are all young fellas, my approach would be to get an attractive female friend to ask them to stop their behaviour.

I can't guarantee it'll work but it might.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I had a similar problem when I lived in Finglas. There were kids taking shots at the house using golf clubs and large stones. They were hitting them off the windows at the front. One of the guys I lived with ran out after them, and they disappeared. 20 mins later they came back and egged the house. The front windows were totally destroyed. Our landlord was a bit of a dodgy fella himself (on the run!) so we told him about it and he said that he'd sort it out and whatever he did, it didnt happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Get a big ****ing dog and give it a taste for footballs in the house. When theyre kicking ball one night and it goes into the garden be ready to head out with the dog on a lead and when it gets out let it sink its teeth into a few balls and problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

get spikes the likes of which police use to puncture tyres of cars and put them on your wall. problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

If their parents arent doing a thing about it, then burst the football and any replacements that enter the garden. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

go out and confront them act as crazy/tough as you possibly can while holding a hammer this should scare them away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Pay protection money to the kids, or move to the city center. A lot of the knacker brats/scummy parents infesting the estates/suburbs have freed up the city center so its prime location for peace and quiet.

Seriously, the Gardai wont do anything about it. As you said theyll laugh. And all the advice about beating the kids up, threatening their parents will see you sued to your fricking eyeballs and portrayed as a child hating monster on the front page of the evening herald. The advice to burst their footballs? Yeah maybe it wont provoke them into retaliation like stoning your windows instead. As for a female friend asking them nicely to stop, whod expose a friend to the abuse shed get off the sort of knackers the OP is talking about?

Nah, move or give in to the racketeering...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Buy a BB gun :D, or if you feel like splashing out a Paint Ball gun will add to the fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Buy a football and play outside their house. When their asshole father come out to bitch tell him you can't play outside your own as there are already kids playing there.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Invest in a lawn sprinkler. You can never irrigate enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Brother To God

Go by their house in the middle of the night and bounch your footballl against every window in their homes when their parents come out tell em you work nights!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Sand wrote:
    Pay protection money to the kids, or move to the city center. A lot of the knacker brats/scummy parents infesting the estates/suburbs have freed up the city center so its prime location for peace and quiet.

Seriously, the Gardai wont do anything about it. As you said theyll laugh. And all the advice about beating the kids up, threatening their parents will see you sued to your fricking eyeballs and portrayed as a child hating monster on the front page of the evening herald. The advice to burst their footballs? Yeah maybe it wont provoke them into retaliation like stoning your windows instead. As for a female friend asking them nicely to stop, whod expose a friend to the abuse shed get off the sort of knackers the OP is talking about?

I know i know but i can dream. Little ****ers tho. I know the type, use t work in a shop, it s like they want to see how far they can go before it goes bad.
    There ball is vanishing and thats that. Parents live right next door and dont give a **** as long as there out of the house id say. :confused:

Ah the future of this country is in safe hands:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

If the ball is on your property then it's yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Had the same thing happening to the neighbours house while it was empty. Little bastids were using the window as a goal, scrawling graffiti all over the outside etc. I took the ball off them whenever they did it and told them if they wanted it back that they could get their parents to come for it. Dont be nice about it, be a p*** and put the fear of god in em, I forcibly ejected one of the little buggers when they kept banging the ball of my back door and told em i'd kick em the length of the garden if he climbed over the wall again.

Usually kids like this have parents who couldnt care less what theyre up to once it doesnt create any hassle for them, so if they dont stop put it up to their parents.

Nice latin sig btw :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 G-Knome

I have a more abstract psychological solution for you. Here's what to do..

Some evening when the kids are out there playing go and tell them that you really enjoy watching them play and give each of them a small bit of money to stay there making lots of noise and having fun. I'd suggest one euro maximum, but less if they are fairly young. Stay out there for a while, pretend to smile and like what they're doing. Do this on the following few days also. However after a few days of this 'conditioning' go out to them again and say you don't have much money on you now and only give them half of what you gave them on the previous days. Then on the following day go out to them again and smile along pretending to enjoy what they are doing but when they ask for money tell them you're skint and don't give them any. More than likely they'll think that they are getting the better of you by leaving you and your house alone as their wages have just been cut!

Give it a try, you'd be amazed with the results. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

burst the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

G-Knome wrote:
    I have a more abstract psychological solution for you. Here's what to do..

Some evening when the kids are out there playing go and tell them that you really enjoy watching them play and give each of them a small bit of money to stay there making lots of noise and having fun. I'd suggest one euro maximum, but less if they are fairly young. Stay out there for a while, pretend to smile and like what they're doing. Do this on the following few days also. However after a few days of this 'conditioning' go out to them again and say you don't have much money on you now and only give them half of what you gave them on the previous days. Then on the following day go out to them again and smile along pretending to enjoy what they are doing but when they ask for money tell them you're skint and don't give them any. More than likely they'll think that they are getting the better of you by leaving you and your house alone as their wages have just been cut!

Give it a try, you'd be amazed with the results. ;)

And be done for being a Paedo..... Or have everyone thinking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 G-Knome

Oh how i wish we lived in simpler times... you could be right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

wes wrote:
    ok, maybe you went a bit far there, but i often give the local kids money. it's not for the sick joy that paeder asses would get. i pay them to mow the lawn of wash the windows. i'd rather see the local kids out there earning their sweet money than pay some stranger to mow my lawn. besides, i did the same thing myself when i was their age and i know how much i appreciated that bit of money back then.
    hey, there is always a paedophile out there somewhere. it's just a matter of finding out who it is. the sex offenders list needs to be made public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 tylrpower

Just take the ball off them and burst it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭squrm

wes wrote:

Yeah unfortunatly with that solution you could easily end up with a burning stick waving mob outside your house and a strange looking child playing banjo music in the background :D

go out & play football with them the next time they are there, and when the oppurtunity arises cream the biggest one of them with a tackle. Send him home crying and the others will follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

get spikes the likes of which police use to puncture tyres of cars and put them on your wall. problem solved
    It's illegal. All they have to do is sit on them or fall against them and you find yourself in legal trouble up to your eyeballs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

Land mines...I no a good land mine guy. How old are they? Send a hot girl out to talk to them, they'll feel intimidated and dont give them the satisfaction of knowing their annoying you.