Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clear your mind!!

• 21-02-2006 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭

The uniqueness of poker consists of its being a game of chance where the element of chance is itself subordinated to psychological factors and where it is not so much fate as human beings who decide.
    In this respect poker is the game closest to the Western conception of life, where life and thought are recognized as intimately combined, where free will prevails over philosophies of fate or chance, where men are considered free moral agents - at least in the short run - the important thing is not what happens, but what people think happens.

I came across this and it sort of struck a chord with me regarding some recent threads re tilt, etiquette, mindsets, meditation etc.
    Although it's hardly news, I'm beginning to see how perception in all it's guises is paramount to successful poker. How you are perceived, how you perceive players and your perception driving your decision-making are fundamental to having the best of it.

The cards you are dealt are the only definitive, every other element requires some level of approximation which relies heavily, although not exclusively, on your perceptive abilities. To allow your perception to be muddied in any way, you cease to become a "free agent", becoming reactive as opposed to proactive, thus relinquishing your critical and hard earned advantage(experience, time, money).

The talk of meditation, exercise, yoga and other methods of relaxation might have the potential to be more beneficial than originally thought. Adopting a more "Zen" approach to your game might indeed eliminate losses incurred through bad or impulsive decision-making.
    A technique professional golfers use to put a bad hole behind them is by twenty paces or so away from the previous green, their only thoughts are on the next tee shot, similiarly, place-kickers in rugby use identical routines every time they take a kick regardless of whether or not they were successful previously. These methods are developed and used specifically to achieve optimum performance, how?, by clearing the mind of everything to concentrate on the skills required to make the next action a successful one.

I guess what I'm getting at is that clarity is key, anything that affects it is your own fault, no-one elses. If something negative happens whether by design or default, through the actions of players or the turn of a card, it is your perception of the event and your reaction to it that defines all that follows.
    While I am fully aware (especially with my own play) that there is a blatant disconnect between what I have written and reality! I suggest a simple, easy to remember mantra to help us on our path...

Our mantra could be . . . . . . . "That's Poker!" :)
    Repeat after me . . . . . . . . . . "That's Poker!" :)
    Someone's slow-rolling you . . . "That's Poker!" :)
    A gimp river's you . . . . . . . . . "That's Poker!" :)
    The baddest of bad beats . . . . "That's Poker!" :)
    In fact any source of tilt whatsoever. . "That's Poker!" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭RotalicaV

orly.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭ullu

"That's poker" is one of the most inane things anyone who plays the game can say. I find it's only ever used by people who have an aversion to playing hands with more than three outs.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ullu wrote:
    "That's poker" is one of the most inane things anyone who plays the game can say. I find it's only ever used by people who have an aversion to playing hands with more than three outs.

So you would rather steam at a bad opponent who outdraws you? It's easier to say 'Thats Poker' and wait your chance if you can to get your chips back and then some.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

At this point I'm thinking of using the "Thats the Poker Forum" mantra. Its the only sane move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Youngza

That's my point exactly 5Starpool, Ullu if some random word selection on my behalf gets your goat . . . ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Fair play to you Youngza
    Nice post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

"If it doesn't kill you, it will make you stronger "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

ullu wrote:
    In my limited experience 'I'll keep ya honest' is the most headwrecking thing people say.

DeadParrot wrote:
    In my limited experience 'I'll keep ya honest' is the most headwrecking thing people say.

Good to hear when you have a monster, not too good when you are trying to buy the pot.

There are a couple of people it is my ambition to say 'I'll put you all in' to. I know it is an idiotic phrase, and I never use it, but I like stirring :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

"Fold now, and live to fry another fish"

This is an awful thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

Does anybody know if Steve Collins hypnotherapist plays poker?

So you would rather steam at a bad opponent who outdraws you? It's easier to say 'Thats Poker' and wait your chance if you can to get your chips back and then some.

I wouldn't have to steam in the first place. Anyway, there's plenty of other cliches I could use. "Que sera, sera", "There's always tomorrow", "Too many cooks spoil the broth" etc. In my opinon, "that's poker" is generally (not always) used by people as an excuse for ignorant, head in the sand poker.

Player A turns over AA after raising on the button and reraising all-in preflop. Player B is the player who decided A7 was good enough to limp utg and raise the button's big bet, then call off all his chips. The flop is 74K. The turn is Q. The river is 7. Player B says "That's poker". That is not poker, that is blind ignorance combined with phenomenal luck.

I've never heard someone with KK beating AA saying this, "ul" is the only term I've heard in this and similar situations. Obviously, it's just my opinion, but "that's poker" is the mantra of a poor player making excuses. The OP's idea is fine, it's just the use of this particular phrase that would bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

brianmc wrote:
    Does anybody know if Steve Collins hypnotherapist plays poker?

lmao!

ullu wrote:
    it's just my opinion, but "that's poker" is the mantra of a poor player making excuses. The OP's idea is fine, it's just the use of this particular phrase that would bother me.

I don't use the phrase, or any other I congratulate the player bid everyone else good luck and walk away regardless of the beat

In my exprieince when the term "that's poker" is used it's when the player got it all in when he was ahead and was outdrawn, THAT IS POKER.

Exactly, so using a phrase that is so inherently associated with bad beats cannot be a good thing to use as your relaxation mantra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

ntlbell wrote:
    I don't use the phrase, or any other I congratulate the player bid everyone else good luck and walk away regardless of the beat

That is exactly how I use it...all the chips go in, I turn over AA, he turns over 99, catches a nine and busts me...THAT'S POKER. Online, where most people are socially retarded low-lifes (it does your faith in humanity good to think like this...assuming the rest of the world are like those you meet online would break the heart of the strongest lover of humanity), that's poker is usually the preserve of those with a little class and lacking the drive to scream 'OMG!!!111 U ARE A F. A. G. FISH!!!111' when outdrawn!

ullu wrote:
    Exactly, so using a phrase that is so inherently associated with bad beats cannot be a good thing to use as your relaxation mantra.

You were associting it with bad players who make excuses.

If they got their chips in with the best of it and were outdrawn hw are they bad?

make up your mind.

ullu wrote:

but you are stating that you only hear it from people who doe the outdrawing. In this instance it is deing advocated for the outdrawn player to say it to chill out, and the outdrawing player has no reason to want to relax.

You were associting it with bad players who make excuses.

If they got their chips in with the best of it and were outdrawn hw are they bad?

make up your mind.

That's not what I said. The OP is talking about using it as a mantra to repeat to himself to calm himself when things are going badly. I don't think this is the best choice of phrase as it is only ever stated in the aftermath of an outdraw, therefore you are reminding yourself of this sort of situation every time you hear it.

I never said people say it when they get in with the best of it and lose. If you read my example using Players A and B in an earlier post in this thread, you'd see that what I was saying the exact opposite.
    but you are stating that you only hear it from people who doe the outdrawing. In this instance it is deing advocated for the outdrawn player to say it to chill out, and the outdrawing player has no reason to want to relax.

As above, why would the outdrawn player want to repeat a phrase to himself when he wants to calm down that reminds him of being outdrawn

Edit : Post was messy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭pokypoky

anyone else think this is becoming a pointless argument? The exact phrasing of the mantra doesnt matter u can say whatever u want...

pokypoky wrote:
    anyone else think this is becoming a pointless argument? The exact phrasing of the mantra doesnt matter u can say whatever u want...

Yes it is, simply because everyone knows that "fizzle sticks" is the perfect mantra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Back to the Original Post - Very nice and well written, it's exactly the way I think, if something goes wrong, don't blame the fish, blame yourself and try to fix any leaks, if you played the hand well, then just move on......