Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Eurovision Song

• 18-02-2006 10:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I endured the 3 songs that Brian Kennedy "sang" on the LLS last night. To say they're dire is an understatement. Surprise surprise his own song won. He mumbled his way through the first song and you couldn't hear the words of the song except when he sang the title of it. You could be mistaken for thinking he was giving a BJ to the microphone. If I was the song writer of that song I'd be livid.

Brian Kennedy's song that won is very similar to the scotish song, go lassie go, especially the chorus. If you do hear the song you'll see exactly what I mean.

For all 3 songs he was about as animated as a wet lettuce leaf. His suit was dreadful. Who chooses the clothes?

I'd be amazed if he qualified let alone win.

Anyone else see the LLS and what are you opinions if you did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

deisemum wrote:
    For all 3 songs he was about as animated as a wet lettuce leaf.

Roffle.

Brian Kennedy = warm puke pie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

As far as eurovision is concerned, we're screwed.

I dont think he should have been allowed to enter a song himself if he was going to sing it.

Who picked this gimp to sing the song anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

deisemum wrote:
    You could be mistaken for thinking he was giving a BJ to the microphone.

Let's face it...he's had plenty of practice...:v:

I said it before and I'll say it again; someone in RTÉ or someone pulling strings doesn't WANT Ireland to win (or even do well in) the ESC ever again.
    This country is full of musical talent (and I'm not talking about the wannabe fluff we can see on You're a star) but it's stifled and ignored in favour of contempoary pop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

The two main factors he has going against him are, he isn't camp enough and he's completely sh!te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

I remember watching and enjoying it when I was little. Over the last few years it became a showcase for nutcases and completely lost its appeal. I actually do feel sorry for all the artists who "have to" participate.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Who the hell picked Brian Kennedy? I mean what exactly has he contributed to the music universe? Not a thing! He's a dreadful one-trick mic-BJ-man, there's melancholic-sad-upset kennedy and there's melancholic-sad-upset kennedy. Even ronan keating would have been a better option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Wertz wrote:
    I said it before and I'll say it again; someone in RTÉ or someone pulling strings doesn't WANT Ireland to win (or even do well in) the ESC ever again.
    This country is full of musical talent (and I'm not talking about the wannabe fluff we can see on You're a star) but it's stifled and ignored in favour of contempoary pop...

D*** right. There is some serious musical talent in this country, any and all of which would be capable of mounting at least some challenge to the Eastern Bloc vote cartel we've seen in recent years. (I'm not talking about Fr. Louis Walsh ex teamaker to Johnny Logan, or any "band" that don't know one end of a guitar from another.) I'm slightly surprised that Brian Kennedy didn't put in a better effort by the way, he is a well respected songwriter after all...

Speaking of UrA(working in)Spar, if I see another Mickey Harte clone with jeans, blazer, and oversized guitar shaped medallion, I shall shove a poker through my nice plasma TV...:mad:

What's wrong with a decent rock-band-type song. Guitar/Vocal, Keyboard, Bass, Drums and get someone to write a cracker of a song. I'm fed up of watching these eejits with bad fashion sense and even worse musical sense getting up and singing these boring songs that wouldn't even adorn a corrs album. RTE need to get real.

Yup. What is it with the ballad thing?

Red Alert wrote:
    Even ronan keating would have been a better option.

Now let's not be too hasty here :D

Without straying OT, look at the success that sprang from the interlude at one of the last ESCs Ireland hosted...a little number called riverdance. That went on to become a worldwide recognised brand and all-round success....and it's based solely on our own indigenous culture....so can someone tell me why we have to run so wide of that mark when entering a song for the contest? Yes, I know it's supposed to be slightly camp and fun and all that, but producers and songwriters seem to be hellbent onchurning out the samey crap that the UK comes up with.

All that aside, I really couldn't care less about the ESC...the only semi-fun part of it is the voting and since that got switched to public/txt systems it all comes down to geographical location and the so-called voting blocs.
    But if we're gonna go to the boher of entering, why not make a decent effort?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I think RTE don't want Ireland to win because it would cost them a fortune to host the Eurovision if Ireland won. This way they can pick a song that's pure sh*te and hasn't a chance and they still make money from all the text and phone voting.

Linda Martin as much as she pains me would be a better option and that's saying a lot :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    Or failing that Johnny I'm so full of myself Logan.

Father Ted's donkey or Pat Shortt's Jumbo breakfast roll are far better songs.

^

I'd normally agree with you but when I pointed that out in a thread in the TV forums a while back, I was castigated for not knowing what I was talking about...seemingly the cost of hosting it has changed in some way, so that RTÉ wouldn't be out of pocket to the same extent they were years ago.
    I'll edit in a link to the thread...

The financial constraint argument is an urban myth tbh...

we could have just really ripped the piss if we wanted to enter a crap song to avoid winning. kennedy's song is just boring crap.

Those three songs were absolutely appalling, I have to agree. What the hell is with all this "love" crap? And his moaning when he's trying to sing it? He sounds almost like a plane going overhead.

I saw Donna and Jo on the LLS show too, Jo is the most annoying little git

Oh man. He reminds me of that show G. Ryan had a few years ago, "School Around The Corner" ISTR, where he would interview primary schoolkids... Poor Plank was dragging the words out of him! (Speaking of Pat, did you see the clip of him presenting the contest itself? I had forgotten how much he looked like Joe 90 back then!)

God he was dreadful. Was he rat arsed or on something. It was painful to watch. He couldn't even answer yes/no :o:o

Just out of curiosity how is the ESC funded, I didn't live here for 12+ years so wouldn't know what the situation is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I've said it before, and I'll say it again....

If RTE entered Dustin in this, they'd have far better chance than anyone we've entered in the past 5 years or so.

Just give him a troupe of hot female dancers and we're on a sure thing...

whiskeyman wrote:
    I've said it before, and I'll say it again....

If RTE entered Dustin in this, they'd have far better chance than anyone we've entered in the past 5 years or so.

Just give him a troupe of hot female dancers and we're on a sure thing...

LOL you're right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I heard it on 2FM this morning, it's useless. You'd think for a gay (or bi or whatever he is these days) man he'd be a little more creative when it comes to the Eurovision. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

Who cares, it's the Eurovision. I'd rather see a poncey ballad representing us than a stupid rock power ballad played by Bon Jovi lookalikes or some indie goth teenagers jumping about pretending to be Greenday.

There's loads of good musicians out there, but 99% of them wouldn't go near Eurovision, it's like signing away any hopes for credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

whiskeyman wrote:
    Actually Podge and Rodge would be better... they could do a bit of sean nós singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

deisemum wrote:
    Brian Kennedy's song that won is very similar to the scotish song, go lassie go, especially the chorus. If you do hear the song you'll see exactly what I mean.

Here's Brian Kennedy himself singing "Go Lassie Go". Judge for yourself - fortunately my speakers aren't working!

http://rapidshare.de/files/13561264/Brian_Kennedy_-_Will_Ye_Go_Lassie_Go.wma.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

As far as eurovision is concerned, we're screwed.

I dont think he should have been allowed to enter a song himself if he was going to sing it.

Who picked this gimp to sing the song anyway?

:rolleyes: i am not a big fan of brian in anyway but who else is there?

This was discussed on the radio this morning and only 30 songs that were submitted were actually listened to by those choosing the final 4 songs. Guess who was asked to submit his own song after the closing date for entries. Not only that he was part of the panel listening to the songs. He wouldn't give Marianne Finnucane a straight answer when she asked him if he'd listened to 10, 20, 30, 50, 100's, he just kept on about it being lots, lots lots.

Typical montrose BS...closed minds in an old boy's club...look after their own etc.
    It pains me to pay these bastards 150 quid every year.
    That other b*llocks should have been left on the streets of Belfast where they found him too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

found it for those of you, like me, did not watch the LLS last night:
    http://rapidshare.de/files/13509433/Ireland_2006_-_Brian_Kennedy_-_Every_Song_Is_A_Cry_For_Love.mp3.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Why cant we enter Ted and doogles song?

Itd be better than that verbal diorhea Ireland insist on entering every year.

The only consolation this year is that we didnt have that twat Louis walsh picking some loser out of a whole bunch of losers and getting them to represent Ireland in a singing contest :rolleyes: Load a bol*x the lot of it.

My Lovely Horse ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

My Lovely Horse ftw
    http://www.blowupthemoon.com/samples/data/504/4myhorseraw.wav
    ha ha ha! brilliant! I think it could almost win n' all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

could almost win....................go away outa that , itd run away with it!

That song is pure class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Why can't enter U2 in to the competition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Little Miss...

Don't think U2 would even want to do it......who would?! would u??
    Hate the eurovision....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Bonos cred is open to question already and even he could'nt pass off U2 entering as some sort of post-modern ironic commentary on the place of popular music in the multi media age...or somesuch nonsense!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Damn it anyway..
    Look at the cut of them ffs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭RefulgentGnomon

I think it's a Eurovision rule that the song must be used only for the Eurovision and cannot have been used beforehand or something...
    I don't think U2 would want to enter it and they definitely wouldn't wast time writing an actual song for it.