Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to "Doctor" your cv !!...Ahem !

• 15-02-2006 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

Friend of mine was as about as "employable" as Jack The Ripper ! Great career up to about 2002, Then he messed up, white collar crime,stitch up, etc, Anyway his arse hit the ground hard and very suddenly no reference etc. What did he do...Went to central library in ILAC centre, Looked up stubbs gazette, found a company that hit the wall at a time that suited him,created a letterhead using photoshop or something, created a glowing reference that could not be checked...Company gone....AND he got away with it...4 yrs written off and he got a great new job with a company car..This is possible ! Comments welcome from people in the HR/Recruitment industry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I know a good doctor if you are looking for one.

Seriously though, that's a good idea.
    I must try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Nothing wrong with a bit of doctoring as long as you can back it up with ability. "That's the rub" as they say. Even so it's still fraud and that can mean jail time. Not a good way to go about things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Post more appro in Work
    Sure it's grand to lie, until you get caught. Hope your friend doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

MarinoMark wrote:
    Friend of mine was as about as "employable" as Jack The Ripper ! Great career up to about 2002, Then he messed up, white collar crime,stitch up, etc, Anyway his arse hit the ground hard and very suddenly no reference etc. What did he do...Went to central library in ILAC centre, Looked up stubbs gazette, found a company that hit the wall at a time that suited him,created a letterhead using photoshop or something, created a glowing reference that could not be checked...Company gone....AND he got away with it...4 yrs written off and he got a great new job with a company car..This is possible ! Comments welcome from people in the HR/Recruitment industry...

Your friend should be commended for this,we've all "doctored" our CV's a little (some more than others mind :D ) but this sounds like a plan ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

So did he add "Fraud" to the list of skills as well as what ever the previous crime was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭MarinoMark

I know a good doctor if you are looking for one.
    I think you are missing the point of this post, by "doctor" I mean...Oh It does not matter !! Night:) :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Doesnt it mention on your P45 who your last employer was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Job interview tomorrow. Thanks for the tip.

Doesnt it mention on your P45 who your last employer was?
    Yes and no...You go to the tax office tell them you are applying for a tax rebate cos you out of work, they ask for your p45, you give it, they check it,tell you yes or no,send you out a new form just showing your tax credits..You would have to sign on the dole for a week or 2...Not much of a sacrafice if you have really ****ed up...There are ways my friend...

So did he add "Fraud" to the list of skills as well as what ever the previous crime was?
    When your arse is up against the wall what can you lose ? As a previous poster said...Ability is everything...You get taken on...you do the job..You do it good...Your cv kinda becomes irrelevant then...as for morals fraud etc...A Guilt trip is not gonna put food on the table.............I rest my case..M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Hope your "friend" has learnt his lesson. No harm done I'd say !

Exactly !! Doin a good job, hittin his targets,gettin paid..employer happy..he happy, all happy ! I can see this thread exploding tomorrow when the "do gooders" get to their employer paid pc's... I will wait in earnest for the "moral" avalanche !!:D :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

MarinoMark wrote:
    Exactly !! Doin a good job, hittin his targets,gettin paid..employer happy..he happy, all happy ! I can see this thread exploding tomorrow when the "do gooders" get to their employer paid pc's... I will wait for the moral avalanche !!:D :D:D

yeah just wait until the do gooders (and there seems to be many on here:rolleyes: ) see this they'll be like "oh my god that's soo like bad and stuff" :rolleyes: :D

jonny68 wrote:
    yeah just wait until the do gooders (and there seems to be many on here:rolleyes: ) see this they'll be like "oh my god that's soo like bad and stuff" :rolleyes: :D
    Jonny my friend...watch..The civil servants arrive in about 7.40am, the real moaners should be in by 8,58am. I am serious....Watch !!!:)....This clearly shows that the carreer ladded can be breached by some construstive writing...Better than being a wimp in his brown farah slacks behind a desk Wishing....Oh so wishing That....some day for the keys to the executive toilet.....And they probably steal stationary too !! and send "witty" emails to like minded collegues..Let us just wait..as the new Heiniken ad says................We just wait !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

was thinkin about doing that myself, working for a place which closed down, never got a reference but have letters with their bill head on it, scan it in an type a gleaming refference that cant be checked. PLus it is the last place i worked so it will be on my p45. just havent got round to looking for another job as this was the only one i had and i never got a reference.Seems like a great idea, just have to get around to actually doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

He should head off to www.instantdegrees.com :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

MarinoMark wrote:
    Jonny my friend...watch..The civil servants arrive in about 7.40am,

I think this is a disgrace, should be condemned outright.... :D:D:D

BTW, I'm not a civil servant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

MarinoMark wrote:

Your friend definatly was thinking ahead of himself. Fir play to him. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Wolff

I have never come accross a company that would hire someone on the basis of a written reference alone they are usually only usefull for lower paid jobs
    Most companies would insist on talking to two referees at least.

The company that hired him are either incompetent or desperate.

I have found all these things catch up with you in the end - Ireland is a small place and peoples reps usually preceed them - especially in sales and if he is working in the same industry.

He can now add fraud,forgery and deceit as other skills to his CV

No doubt things are good for him now - but who knows when he may return his old ways again

Anyway the new company is more to blame for not checking him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

The problem I see with this is that this can very quickly come back to bite you in the ass.

For example what happens if said company hires someone from the same company that went out of business?

I recall a CEO of IBM/Lotus one time claiming he used to be a military air-force pilot. Had the jacket and all. Turned out he was full of crap and was made to resign over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

easily done. I know 2 lads working for a large company who dont know that they never passed their leaving! On a CV in Ireland noone checks your qualifications (well unless you go for a job over 30k or as a doctor or pharmascist etc). But if you feel the need to say you did a cert course in a college for 2 years they usually dont check!. Another thing done all the time is to give your mates number and say that thats the manager when you worked at company x in 200x. get your friend to say you were good. If you come in at entry level in a big company as I have, you will gfradually work your wasy up the company and your CV becomes irrelevant after a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

I say good on him, It's only illegal if ya get caught :)

And C'mon, we've all fibbed in one way or the other on a CV, I mean, On most ppl's CV's they like cookin and Reading and ETC, Now fair enough some people do like that but most of us are just trying to butter up the employers,

The only thing bad i can think of this is What if he runs into sum1 he knew from the company that gave him the boot,
    Could be a bit messy,

But fair play to him again, I'm gonna go lookin for companies that went *poof*

Kellxor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Joe Soap - 1
    The System - 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Wickla in Blaa

ferdi wrote:
    Joe Soap - 1
    The System - 0
    Couldn't agree more, fair play to the man ;)

ferdi wrote:
    Joe Soap - 1
    The System - 0
    Touche !! Joe soap..Gettin on with life....The system...none the wiser !!:D

Slunk wrote:
    was thinkin about doing that myself, working for a place which closed down, never got a reference but have letters with their bill head on it, scan it in an type a gleaming refference that cant be checked. PLus it is the last place i worked so it will be on my p45. just havent got round to looking for another job as this was the only one i had and i never got a reference.Seems like a great idea, just have to get around to actually doing it.
    This actually involves, how shall I put it, I know...."Getting off your arse" Is that clear enough for you. This person (slunk) has sent me abusive Pms for no reason and edited them in a most abusive fashion.. Mods Plse note