Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbaggery...

• 13-02-2006 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭

Just got this email:
    Dear customer. Please read this message and follow it's instructions.

Unauthorized Account Access
    We recently reviewed your account, and we suspect an unauthorized ATM based transaction on your account. Therefore as a preventive measure we have temporary limited your access to sensitive features.

To get started, please click the link below:

Click Here

Important information from Chase.
    This e-mail contains information directly related to your account with us, other services to witch you have subscribed, and/or any application you may have submitted.
    and its service providers are committed to protecting your privacy and ask you not to send sensitive account information through e-mail.

For help, call us at 1-800-539-1539-JPMorgan Chase and Co.® (1-800-285-2546).

Member FDIC

low and behold when I "clicked there" and put in username and password made up on the spot. I was immediately asked for my CC details. I'd never even heard of chase before but for thos of you who have, beaker full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Bin it, its prolly 99% phishing scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

It is. Cormie's mail address was probably taken from a guestbook he signed, a usenet account or some such. Awareness of this sh1te is the key to eradicating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

type in a fake number see what happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I typed in a few random numbers and it says please type in a valid number so I tried mine and it worked! Scumbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

I frequently get this spam-a -rama.

It's not that we've not heard of Chase - but it's an american bank - why would we have an account with them. Ditto Lloyds in London.

They drive me demented - but due to the ongoing/presistent nature of this kind of spam, i wonder do some people fall for this?

If you were american and legitamately had an account with them and you were american....

cormie wrote:
    I typed in a few random numbers and it says please type in a valid number so I tried mine and it worked! Scumbags!

Please tell me you didn't.

Feu wrote:
    I frequently get this spam-a -rama.

It's not that we've not heard of Chase - but it's an american bank - why would we have an account with them. Ditto Lloyds in London.

They drive me demented - but due to the ongoing/presistent nature of this kind of spam, i wonder do some people fall for this?

If you were american and legitamately had an account with them and you were american....

Yes people do. Similiarly with the Paypal, ebay scams etc. etc. Most phishing scams are Romanian, or increasingly Russian in origin, and are orchestrated with organised criminality backing. The Nigerians were traditionally advanced fee fraud only, but increasingly are operating phishing scams too. Internet fraud, sadly, is big business...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

I laugh at these and the ones that say "you can earn €10,000,000 if you just pay us €250. Its true you can trust me I'm a complete stranger!" What worries me is people who fall for it. Everyone knows banks work through the post. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

This is the bit I love:

"All screens are secure"

Mine looked a bit wobbly, but if they say it's secure then that's good enough for me.

Funny thing. 419 (aka Advance fee fraud) started via snail mail, until the lads from Lagos worked out that fax was cheaper. Then email came along and the whole thing mushroomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭BaldiePablo

You didn't really enter your own CC number did you??? :eek:

Please tell me you didn't.

Don't worry, it was a joke;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShayHT

EDIT: Good!
    cormie wrote:
    Don't worry, it was a joke

You didn't?
    cormie wrote:
    I tried mine and it worked! Scumbags!

cormie wrote:
    Don't worry, it was a joke;)

I thought as much, but with some people on here, you never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

I did hear with that nigerian one, that the accountant of a big american firm sent them $2million or something of company money, expecting to get $10mill back. I mean WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Your bank never emails you with stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Cosine wrote:
    I laugh at these and the ones that say "you can earn €10,000,000 if you just pay us €250. Its true you can trust me I'm a complete stranger!" What worries me is people who fall for it. Everyone knows banks work through the post. :D

Just tell them to send you €9,999,750. Authorise them to keep the €250. Whats the chances of being abused by them on their next message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I got this eBay one today:
    We are contacting you about the following item: Toshiba rd-xs54 dvd Recorder w 250 gig hard drive (#5856334211)

The seller, lkaroll tells us you have mutually agreed not to complete the transaction (e.g. because you returned or are returning the item for a refund or because there was a misunderstanding) and has requested a credit for their eBay fees.

Please respond by 28-Feb-2006 so eBay knows whether you have agreed.

Best Regards.

I only copied out the main text there... but the whole email looked exactly like a proper eBay notification. Very well done.

I remember seeing something like a Watchdog Special on the BBC once and they said there are about 800 reported cases of people being ripped off on these things in the UK each year.

smashey wrote:
    Just tell them to send you €9,999,750. Authorise them to keep the €250. Whats the chances of being abused by them on their next message.

Unlikely. If you're a good mark in their eyes , they will simply try again. If not you're dropped in favour of the next guy.

Visit www.thescambaiter.com and www.419eater.com for scam based hilarity.

(I have no affiliation with either, although am a member of both.)

Nil since most often then not its a computer program that just emailed you.

Good idea though I might employ it when I am finished with my college email account :D

Cosine wrote:
    Nil since most often then not its a computer program that just emailed you.

Good idea though I might employ it when I am finished with my college email account :D

Negative in many cases. More often than not it's old fashioned low level monkeys in front of internet cafe pcs cranking out the mails. The responses are then filtered by the low level guys and passed up the line when they get interesting.

Why not start now, if you have time to spare. Anonymous email accounts are ten a penny. Bait safe though. Do not use details that can be traced to you. 419ers and phishers are relatively organised, and many have a presence in this country so you never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Ooh that reminds me, aa419.org are doing another flash-mob, sweet.

Nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,474 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I've actually started seeing some of these come into my email account "from" Irish banks so spread the word as much as you can about this. You may consider them laughable but your elderly aunt or granny might not be as web-smart.

that's the thing, like in terms of internet knowledge, I'd say anyone who is on a forum posting is relatively informed of antics, but think of all those who wouldn't have a clue. There are plenty and there is no reason for them not to believe these very authentic looking emails.:mad:

Hell look at the barkly (sp) card story. The guys set up a site and robbed a load of the images and infor and styles from the legit site. I think the final tally of money lost beyond the banks ability to get was almost €100,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Microsoft are including anti-phishing with Internet Explorer 7. The Beta i've used not only worked very well, it also gave very good explanations for anybody who may not be aware of the practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,967 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Just got an email from Chase myself :v:

Such helpful people

Dear Valuable Customer,

This is your official notification from Chase Bank that the service(s) listed below will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately. Previous notifications have been sent to the Chase OnlineSM Contact assigned to this account. As the Primary Contact, you must renew (overview) the service(s) listed below or it will be deactivated and deleted.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

aye Chase is an American bank, dealing with credit cards mostly afaik.
    Heres one i got from Halifax, even though i dont have accounts and dont think they have branches in America anyway. The whole email is like an image map but had a load of rubbish text on it after the image map like. I got this one a few times over the last 3 months

" Miss Wilkes said that, in her effort to render aid, she almost fell herself. be careful in 1941 I won't even wait to give you your pills.

Blanked for nearly three minutes, holding the rat in the air, a perfect case of waxy catatonia. He turned the wheelchair roughly, hurting himself, not caring. There was a little smile on his pale and fading face. Lose a foot, almost die, go on working. "she screamed. Mostly he just sat, smelling sweet cool air instead of the bedroom's stale indoor smell, sly with sickroom undertones, listened to the drip of the icicles, and watched the cloud-shadows roll slowly and steadily across the melting field. Rainage knew her slightly — had observed something white lying on the ground of the Congregational church's cemetery as she entered it to put flowers on the grave of her husband, who had died the previous winter. Mac "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

jerryadams wrote:
    This is the bit I love:
    "All screens are secure"
    Mine looked a bit wobbly, but if they say it's secure then that's good enough for me.
    Class, but it lacks the little friendly padlock in the browser (not that it matters much in this case). I like how they have linked to the actual chase.com for Chase.com, Privacy Policy, Security and Terms of Use links on page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Ruu wrote:
    aye Chase is an American bank, dealing with credit cards mostly afaik.
    Heres one i got from Halifax, even though i dont have accounts and dont think they have branches in America anyway. The whole email is like an image map but had a load of rubbish text on it after the image map like. I got this one a few times over the last 3 months

" Miss Wilkes said that, in her effort to render aid, she almost fell herself. be careful in 1941 I won't even wait to give you your pills.

Blanked for nearly three minutes, holding the rat in the air, a perfect case of waxy catatonia. He turned the wheelchair roughly, hurting himself, not caring. There was a little smile on his pale and fading face. Lose a foot, almost die, go on working. "she screamed. Mostly he just sat, smelling sweet cool air instead of the bedroom's stale indoor smell, sly with sickroom undertones, listened to the drip of the icicles, and watched the cloud-shadows roll slowly and steadily across the melting field. Rainage knew her slightly — had observed something white lying on the ground of the Congregational church's cemetery as she entered it to put flowers on the grave of her husband, who had died the previous winter. Mac "

That's to confuse spam filters. It's working less and less though. You gotta love Bayesian filtering, so efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

This seems appropriate :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Got a few emails about this, and in my gmail account too, very strange because gmail usually filters all the crap out first :o

julep wrote:

Brilliant:D