Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30 Fo

• 12-02-2006 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭

What do people think of the shootout?
    Any other type of structure you would like to see on a Sunday afternoon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

What about having a heads up tourney?

Might not have enough demand for once a month but maybe every two months?
    Obviously time would be a factor etc, but i'm sure it would be possible to have two heads up games going per table iff neccessary.

Regards
    Luke

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

How about a 35 scalp game...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

bohsman wrote:
    Any other type of structure you would like to see on a Sunday afternoon?

Shootout sucks. If you want to keep shootout though, how about shorthanded shootout? It should mean that people have to spend less time hanging about waiting for games to finish.

See you in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

lads is there a dress code for the fitz....? would i be turned away with runners tracksuit bottoms etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

shoutman wrote:
    What about having a heads up tourney?

Might not have enough demand for once a month but maybe every two months?
    Obviously time would be a factor etc, but i'm sure it would be possible to have two heads up games going per table iff neccessary.

Regards
    Luke

I think the best way of organising this would be similar to what the Gutshot had going at one stage and is something Ive been thinking of trying.

A list of names and entry fees is taken at the poker desk up till the closing date, a draw is done and put up here and on the notice board in the Fitz. People have a week to organise their game and play it, maybe setting a Sunday evening up as a day for everyone to come in and play if not already played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

no dresscode as such...I've seen tracksuit bottoms there...

jobless wrote:
    lads is there a dress code for the fitz....? would i be turned away with runners tracksuit bottoms etc?

Youll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

bohsman wrote:
    I think the best way of organising this would be similar to what the Gutshot had going at one stage and is something Ive been thinking of trying.

A list of names and entry fees is taken at the poker desk up till the closing date, a draw is done and put up here and on the notice board in the Fitz. People have a week to organise their game and play it, maybe setting a Sunday evening up as a day for everyone to come in and play if not already played.

Good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

bohsman wrote:

Played it for the first time last sunday and enjoyed it (getting paid helped) - good banter, and a good atmosphere. Would have been there today aswell, but i may have the plague. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭captainkeg

If it aint broke dont fix it, thats what i say. Good tournie, nice structure and a good way to fet expeience without lightening the wallet too much. keep it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

TRIPLE DRAW!

realistically maybe full-handed double chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Rnger wrote:
    TRIPLE DRAW!

realistically maybe full-handed double chance?

Nooooo!! No full-handed!:p
    I definately think the shootout should be scrapped since it sucks.
    How about a short-handed HORSE tourney?:D
    I think a heads up league on sundays would be a good idea, maybe a weekly rake towards to the league prize?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Rnger

The shorthanded tournies is why i stopped going regularly. I'd be well up for HORSE though! Wouldn't mind playing a game that isnt holdem or omaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

HORSE would be awesome...but I have training on Sunday afternoons so wouldn't make it often anyway.

What is the shootout? top 1-2 stacks on each table progress to final table?

Rnger wrote:
    The shorthanded tournies is why i stopped going regularly. I'd be well up for HORSE though! Wouldn't mind playing a game that isnt holdem or omaha

Why? Shorthanded is more skillful, you can't just play like a rock and limp into the money. The shootouts are why I don't go so often, plus I'm in the fitz enough nights anyway.:)

On a side note, if the shorthanded tourney was actually 6-handed(from the start!) I'd go way more often.

Shootout has been dropped, impossible to have a full 6handed tourney with 8tables and 80players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

I lost interest in the shootout because of the long wait from the first finishing table till the last finishing table.
    I prefer to play holdem tournaments 9 handed much more than any other format.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

hear you there rounders, but I think the 6 handed is probably better for getting practice on. not that I've been into the Fitz any time recently!

bohsman wrote:
    Shootout has been dropped

Woo!
    bohsman wrote:
    impossible to have a full 6handed tourney with 8tables and 80players

Yeah I know, its just annoying, maybe using the tables downstairs aswell might help. It would make it a lot more awkward to organise I guess.

There are around 25 fullhanded holdem tournaments a week in Dublin surely theres room for 1 shorthanded.

Problem with downstairs is that tables lose players so quickly people would be up and down the stairs all day

Only until you lose 20 odd players, which is probably after the first 3 levels or so.

bohsman wrote:
    There are around 25 fullhanded holdem tournaments a week in Dublin surely theres room for 1 shorthanded.

For this reason shorthanded should stay alternated with 9 handed. Just me being quite the bore i still like shorthanded sometimes but prefer 9 handed. Also i reckon people who are new to live play and people who arent full of confidence playing live would prefer 9 handed as theres less of a spotlight on them 9 handed than there is shorthanded. Nobody would ever openly admit that to you in person but i'd say its a reason why more new/nervous players than you might think would stay away from shorthanded.

peeko wrote:
    hear you there rounders, but I think the 6 handed is probably better for getting practice on. not that I've been into the Fitz any time recently!

You should go more often, you done great on your debut in there.

For this reason shorthanded should stay alternated with 9 handed. Just me being quite the bore i still like shorthanded sometimes but prefer 9 handed. Also i reckon people who are new to live play and people who arent full of confidence playing live would prefer 9 handed as theres less of a spotlight on them 9 handed than there is shorthanded. Nobody would ever openly admit that to you in person but i'd say its a reason why more new/nervous players than you might think would stay away from shorthanded.

I can't agree with this. I would prefer to see more shorthanded tournaments. Surely shorthanded tournaments give the better players(not that I'm one of them!:() a greater edge?

Generally, players who prefer full-handed games are rocks who like to sit and wait as opposed to me who is too impatient for all that and likes to self-destruct by getting involved in dangerous situations with crap holdings!:p

I can't agree with this. I would prefer to see more shorthanded tournaments. Surely shorthanded tournaments give the better players(not that I'm one of them!:() a greater edge?

Generally, players who prefer full-handed games are rocks who like to sit and wait as opposed to me who is too impatient for all that and likes to self-destruct by getting involved in dangerous situations with crap holdings!:p

I'm a big fan of the short handed games (although my recent record woudn't give you any clues, see cardshark202's reasoning above).

Rounders has a point though, I'm sure beginners would prefer a full handed game.

The Sunday afternoon game serves two purposes at the moment I think... It's a cheap game with a good structure, which is great for beginners. Also, it's shorthanded and it's on a Sunday afternoon, which is great for those of us who like to play on a Sunday afternoon and for those of us who like shorthanded games.

Personally I think the compromise is good but it's a question of which market Oscar/The Fitz want to cater for.

Although... If Oscar wanted to experiment with HORSE, Omaha, short-handed, shootout, whatever... how about having a Saturday afternoon tourney and a Sunday afternoon one? One of them being the "beginner's game"... full-handed, small buy-in, nicely structured freezeout and the other one being the poker player's experimental tournament?

I think if the Fitz had a specific, "beginner's game" that they actually called "their beginner's game" (I don't mean restricted to beginners, just structure-wise) they could lure a lot of people in to give it a go.

Think of it as a "nursery tank" :) so that the little fish can become big fish...

I would see the freeroll as the beginners game and this as the next step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Seconding the 35 scalps idea. although it might be a bit awkward telling people who show up thinking it's just 30 to fork out another fiver.

Horse game would be really good if it worked.

how about a sunday tournament league for those who finish well regularly (not me!). Just a bit of fun. And the trophy could be a replica oscar!!!!

The reason i think this is a good idea is that it's a convenient time/structure/buyin setup for good players who might not have big enough tanks to profitably play the other good tourneys in the fitz. Get a bit of a buzz going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

Razz........the amount of times ive been getting 23 off 24 off etc lately i would do well at that

I dont think theres much wrong with the tourney the way it is at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

A well structured HU tourney please Oscar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

i really like the idea of a shorthanded tourney and i really like the idea of a 35 scalp shorthanded game

why not a shorthanded double/tripple chance pl "round of each" tourney.....with scalps!

mmmm...pot limit and self dealt

HORSE (of course) is great but with all those whingers whinging about bingo/bingo 8 etc I don't think it would be a runner

eventually my sundays will be free so i can play

SCALPS! SCALPS! SCALPS! SCALPS! SCALPS! SCALPS! SCALPS! SCALPS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

jtsuited wrote:
    ...and the trophy could be a replica oscar!!!!

as puns go that's just horrific:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

yes....it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 The Shoe

Anybody know whats on this Sunday. Was going to go to the Fitz for the first time this sunday for the €30 game but reading this thread it looks like it might not be going ahead. Need to know if it is worth my while making the trip

No changes, still going ahead. May change to a 35+5 shorthanded with a fiver scalp next month - 30 to the prizepool 5 scalp and 5reg.

bohsman wrote:
    No changes, still going ahead. May change to a 35+5 shorthanded with a fiver scalp next month - 30 to the prizepool 5 scalp and 5reg.

Yay! We're getting dealers!!!

aren't we?

brianmc wrote:
    Yay! We're getting dealers!!!

aren't we?

No.

May change to a 35+5 shorthanded with a fiver scalp next month - 30 to the prizepool 5 scalp and 5reg.

This will be great i'd say.

Edit: It might even entice ollyk1 out of bed a bit more often. His words.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Good stuff Oscar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

This will be great i'd say.

Edit: It might even entice ollyk1 out of bed a bit more often. His words.

:D Right you've goaded my dead money in rounders!! Mission accomplished!!