Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Growing Older

• 09-02-2006 8:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭

Why is it when you start to get older, people dont nessessarily want to go out as much , ive noticed it a lot with some of my friend, granted a good few of them are attached so thats probable why, but to be fair scoring is not the only reason to go out, so why does it have to stop ?!!....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Most of my friends have had babies so thats the main reason they dont go out any more... Me.. I still love going out, not to score cause I have a bf.. I just love getting dolled up and the excitement of it.. Im lucky that my bf is also my best friend and we have a ball when we hit the tiles together but if I fancy a girls night its always a huge hassle cause they all have to get baby sitters... :rolleyes: I know exactly what you mean though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭jimbono1

How old are you?, Im 23, and am as mad for going out as I was when I was 17, Id go out every night If I could, so are my mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

jimbono1 wrote:
    How old are you?, Im 23, and am as mad for going out as I was when I was 17, Id go out every night If I could, so are my mates

your hardly old :rolleyes: ;) im talking over 25 ( im 26) ...... people just seem to stop going out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Heyes wrote:
    Why is it when you start to get older, people dont nessessarily want to go out as much , ive noticed it a lot with some of my friend, granted a good few of them are attached so thats probable why, but to be fair scoring is not the only reason to go out, so why does it have to stop ?!!....

I started going out to pubs and clubs at 16, by 20-22 the novelty had sort of worn off. Going to the cinema or going out to dinner is more favourable to me atm, the odd night out is fine. I'll be 27 in July and for what I have to do on a day to day basis I need to have my wits about me tbh.

Not like a mutual friend of ours :rolleyes:

:v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Heyes wrote:
    your hardly old :rolleyes: ;) im talking over 25 ( im 26) ...... people just seem to stop going out..

I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

I started going out to pubs and clubs at 16, by 20-22 the novelty had sort of worn off. Going to the cinema or going out to dinner is more favourable to me atm, the odd night out is fine. I'll be 27 in July and for what I have to do on a day to day basis I need to have my wits about me tbh.

Not like a mutual friend of ours :rolleyes:

:v:

Ye suppose maybe its the fact that i love meeting people so thats why i enjoy going out so much. Just relax and have a laugh...:)

mutual friend ?? remind me ? :confused:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's kinda getting the same way with my crowd (I'm 27). Friends are getting paired off and more often than not prefer to 'have a quite weekend in' than to go out on the tear. It's a rare occurance when all off the group is out at the same time these days. I guess it's inevitable really.

Heyes wrote:
    Ye suppose maybe its the fact that i love meeting people
    mutual friend ?? remind me ? :confused:;)

The wink at the end says it all... :D

:v: :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Heyes wrote:
    ...because it gets boring trying to hold a conversation by roaring in someone's ear and making some little publican richer by drinking his highly-marked up pish-water.

The novelty wears off.

It's kinda getting the same way with my crowd (I'm 27). Friends are getting paired off

Well this is it. they get settled and do their own thing really.
    Don't get me wrong, when I do go out I really get into it :D
    Its just a bit sh*t really if you are doing it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭crazymonkey

At 27 i have noticed in myself that i go out less, i tend to work more normally doing 60 hr weeks, 5 yrs ago that would never happen, i guess my priorities have changed,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Heyes wrote:

Basically because been there done that,going out all the time gets boring after years doing it,sure i still socialise but nothing on the scale i used to in my teens and 20's;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Rover 06

I've noticed the same myself over the last couple of years. i'm in my late 20s and poeple do get paired off and don't go out socialising as much. they prefer to stay in and watch a dvd with their other half. i've done that myself and i'm single now again so its hard to get other people out when you are in that boat. its just part of life. i always look back at my 21st and remember that was probably the easiest night to get all my mates together in one place cause they were all around the same age. it will be alot harder for my 30th!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

I used to go out a lot up till a couple of years ago.. These days I only really go out at the weekend. For me it's because I care more about my job and I know if I go out drinking during the week, I won't be able to get up in the morning. I also can't really afford to go out more than twice a week!

I go to the cinema midweek, and then a pint after, but that's about it. I don't however like staying in at the weekend one little bit. I like to go out and (cue Morrissey) see people who are young and alive.. or at the least, the same age as me.. and alive! I'd much rather go out for some pints on a saturday night with my mates, than go round to a mates place for dinner on a saturday night.. if you know what I mean.

I'm 28 and in a relationship btw..

K.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I'm only 18, attached for well over a year, and still love nothing more then going out getting plastered beyond belief with the lads.

It's almost sad to think of it all ending some day.....I'll enjoy it while I can! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Rover 06 wrote:
    i'm single now again so its hard to get other people out when you are in that boat.

Tell me about it. The hardest thing about becoming single as you get older is reclaiming a decent social life as nearly all your friends of the same age are married/have kids/in long term relationships and have zero interest in going out on the tear. Its a pain in the arse but i suppose thats part of getting older.

One thing ive learned is that all that "oh im getting old so i just cant do 2 nights out in a row" is guff, you just tell yourself that as you get into a comfort zone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Heyes wrote:

Jeezus, 25 is old?!?!?! only four months of life left in me! Noooooo!!!!! We got a runner!!!!! :v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Have to say that at 25 I'm sick of the club scene. I still love going to late bars if there's a decent band playing (Roisin Dubh's in Galway in particular) but I can take or leave niteclubs at this stage. I'd honestly rather be at a decent house party where I can have a smoke in peace, roll a joint if I want to, have a conversation rather than shouting small talk etc.

I used to love hitting the dance floor when we went clubbing and tbh I think I'd still enjoy it but any club I've been in lately has been far from impressive!

Jeezus, 25 is old?!?!?! only four months of life left in me! Noooooo!!!!! We got a runner!!!!! :v:

ah get over it... :p

Yer auld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

My hips give me trouble when I have to leave the armchair. And all those young hooligans hanging around wearing their hoody tops... no, give me a sherry and the Late Late anyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭pepper

Heyes wrote:

OH MY GOD THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!! i am 21 in October(i am the oldest of my mates who are all 19/20) and they are like OLD WOMEN! they go out once every 5 months and im NOT joking- and when they have kids they will be giving out they cant go out. Im not planning any kids till im 25 and my 19 year old m8s on about cumn off the pill

Im makn sure that i embrace my youth and have fun b4 i have kids

i wish my m8s were the same..

my stepmum was 40 when she had my sister and my real mum was 16 when she had her 1st........seriously!!!

whats the rush?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

pepper wrote:
    OH MY GOD THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!! i am 21 in October(i am the oldest of my mates who are all 19/20) and they are like OLD WOMEN! they go out once every 5 months and im NOT joking- and when they have kids they will be giving out they cant go out. Im not planning any kids till im 25 and my 19 year old m8s on about cumn off the pill

Im makn sure that i embrace my youth and have fun b4 i have kids

i wish my m8s were the same..

my stepmum was 40 when she had my sister and my real mum was 16 when she had her 1st........seriously!!!

whats the rush?:confused:

OMG NO WAY!!!!!11 My m8s are TOTALLY the same, its just SO annoying isn't it?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Why go out when I can stay at home with a few quality beers, some friends, and the entire collection of Invader Zim on DVD?

If you do anything too much it gets boring. Best to spread the activities out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Heyes wrote:

30 is the new 21, and 40 is the new 30.

At least thats what I keep telling myself anyway!

rb_ie wrote:
    OMG NO WAY!!!!!11 My m8s are TOTALLY the same, its just SO annoying isn't it?????
    GROW UP OK!!! i didnt say anything in that ratio ok and dont act like im an american teenager cos im not- americans live with their parents until their 30, i got out the second i hit 18

anyway i didnt mean it like that! I ment when they have kids ill be the one listening to them going on about " night feeds" and" oh my god the baby wont stop crying"

ALL A PART OF MOTHER HOOD!!!!! WHICH IS WHY IM WAITING TILL IM OLD ENOUGH TO DEAL WITH IT BEFORE I HAVE KIDS- AT LEAST ILL HAVE SOME DRUNKN TEEN MEMORIES TO LOOK BACK ON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Drunken memories = oxymoron.

Pet wrote:
    Drunken memories = oxymoron.
    WAT? EXCUSE MY FRENCH BUT............ WHAT?:(

see the younger really are thick- its not just a myth:confused:

pepper wrote:
    GROW UP OK!!! i didnt say anything in that ratio ok and dont act like im an american teenager cos im not- americans live with their parents until their 30, i got out the second i hit 18

anyway i didnt mean it like that! I ment when they have kids ill be the one listening to them going on about " night feeds" and" oh my god the baby wont stop crying"

ALL A PART OF MOTHER HOOD!!!!! WHICH IS WHY IM WAITING TILL IM OLD ENOUGH TO DEAL WITH IT BEFORE I HAVE KIDS- AT LEAST ILL HAVE SOME DRUNKN TEEN MEMORIES TO LOOK BACK ON

REALLY!!!?????

pepper wrote:

OH TEH IRONY!!!111eleven

rb_ie wrote:
    OH TEH IRONY!!!111eleven
    thats ur excuse is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

pepper wrote:
    - americans live with their parents until their 30, i got out the second i hit 18

Your kidding right??? You must know nothing about the US because they do not live at home. Most Americans go to College and mostly this is out of state. I do not know too many that stay at home. My wife (American) lived all over the US from the time she was old enough to leave home. She moved back home for a while and then left the country.

We Irish on the other hand, especially the guys tend to stay at home. We are momys boys and also the price of moving out is so high its hard to leave the comfort of home.

Had i not got married i would probably be still at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

cos people are boring, they try to tell themselves that the quiet night in watching tv is the height of living it up, instead of doing stuff....

they too tired trying to pay their mortgages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

cos people are boring, they try to tell themselves that the quiet night in watching tv is the height of living it up, instead of doing stuff....

they too tired trying to pay their mortgages?
    Doing stuff like what? Drinking?

Listen mate, I spent the greater part of my 20's in places like Buskers, Club-(scu)M, Slapper Faced and numerous other dens down Leeson St. before the Late Licenceing laws came in.

I don't regret anything, but at the time there was a large amount of 'convincing' yourself that you were having fun. I probably enjoyed about 25% of it, but to be honest, most of it was a pain.

As you get older you get a bit of sense about you and realise that the auld-Saturday night thing is just a lot of hype.

When I was young I lived for the weekend, these days I live for the whole week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Doing stuff like what? Drinking?

Listen mate, I spent the greater part of my 20's in places like Buskers, Club-(scu)M, Slapper Faced and numerous other dens down Leeson St. before the Late Licenceing laws came in.

no not drinking, i don't drink,i mean i dont try to go to bad pubs, just doing something, any interest at all. I don't think most 25+ couples with mortgages live for the week either though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

sweet jesus man i just realised if i was in that film id have been offed near two years ago:D

funny thing is when i first started drinking at 16 i used to drink three nights a week. now its just once a week

as someone else posted the maturity thing kicks in,the whole club thing is pretty lame when youve been at it for 16yrs:) personally i only go clubbing the odd time because i actually LIKE chatting girls up and cant hear a damn thing they say in a club so id rather stay in a pub, particularly since the new liscencing laws mean they stay open till 1.30. i mean why pay the extra money for essentially 1 extra hour and MUCH dearer drink:confused:

also the old body starts to fall apart, i dont drink half as much as i used to (thank god with modern prices:) ) so ill just have about six or seven pints and a feed on the way home.

to be brutally honest its probably because i got all this "PARTY!!!" crap out of my system. been there , done that . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Gryzor

jonny68 wrote:
    Basically because been there done that,going out all the time gets boring after years doing it,sure i still socialise but nothing on the scale i used to in my teens and 20's;)
    ...because it gets boring trying to hold a conversation by roaring in someone's ear and making some little publican richer by drinking his highly-marked up pish-water.

The novelty wears off.

combination of the above....anyway if people didn't quieten down and stop going out all the time u could end up meeting your ma in supermacs at half three in the mornin tearing into a snackbox meal :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

pepper wrote:

Please don't have children as you're an idiot.

Eventually we all cop on to ourselves and the idea of going out and getting bolloxed every few days doesn't make sense. It's great to go out on the lash with your mates, but with more responsibility comes less sesions. I'd much rather sit in and have a few beers and smokes with friends then go to some shítty over priced pub with cráp beer.

I also think once you hit a certain age you learn how to use exclamation marks and capitilisation. If not, you're lost. I take great pleasure in "young" people acting the fool these days. To think I was once one of them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭riptide

pepper wrote:

I think he means.... when your drunk... not many memories..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭riptide

I used to be a major booze hound especially the old mid week session, but the job responsibilities and my own brain won't let me do that anymore. I hate feeling ****ty when the brain is only in second gear. Also the taxis in this country are ****.. and the good clubs are hard to come by for rapid music...
    But when I do go out the intent is to go crazy at any cost... and sometimes that cost can be quite high;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

You just get tired of pubs the older you get, I find. If you've been drinking since 16 and your 32, thats half your life.

Its just the same old, same old.