Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pokerstars Tlb Chase

• 09-02-2006 11:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭

Ok guys im new to this whole Boards thingy...anyhow i went thru torture, (possibly worse than torture) last weekend, played a massive 23 hour session on Pokerstars in a race against Riverloser and Bparis for the tlb for the week. Tlb week runs Sat Midnight to Sat Midnight ET, any mtt starting in that period. At 1 point i was playing 13 mtt simultaenously, Riverloser 15 and Bparis a modest 10. Coming down the stretch it was clear Riverloser was gonna miss out, so it left a str8 duel to the death between myself and Bparis. At 7am, tired, disshevelled and completely disinterested, i arrived on a Final Table (FT) of a $10 Deep Stacks, running time 11 hours 27 mins. Bparis himself in a $30 Deep Stacks , 70 left.

Placed 3rd in it, 3 way chop, 13 hours 12 mins final running time. Also struggled to a 12th place in $20 nl. much needed. Bparis himself needed top 2 in his $30 Deep to beat me. with 50 left his AA is cracked and he's crippled. but he doubles thru and fights back for hours, til i t gets 3 handed and his brilliant effort fails. Anyhow, morale of the story is nobody i know is impressed in the slightest by my achievement :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

How much poker did you play in the whole week for the challenge?
    What do you get if you are TLB winner for the week?

Give us more detail!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

So you get to play Tom McEvoy HU now?

Well done on this. I presume it showed a nice profit for you as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

FFS Thats some marathon poker session,, and I think it adds a new meaning to the term multi-tabling.
    I'm proud of you, :p

Now turn that frown upside down and go to bed cause you must be wrecked.

shoutman wrote:
    Now turn that frown upside down and go to bed cause you must be wrecked.

He has probably slept at some point since Sunday morning at 7am I am guessing.

5starpool wrote:
    He has probably slept at some point since Sunday morning at 7am I am guessing.

Ahh yes, reading the post properly would do some good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Multi-tablign on 13 tables. Thats an achievement on its own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭ROONEY_DIVES

I get to play Joe Hachem this Sunday for $1,000 hu freeroll. They gave me choice of game, sooooo tempted to play stud h/l its my best game but i thought id save poor Joe a couple hours of 'id rather watch paint dry' stud h/l hu. My biggest cash in the week was winning the $11 rebuy 25k guaranteed tourny, 1st prize was $11,600 but i chopped on chip count for slightly less. Throw in a couple wins in $20 180-man ($1,080 a piece) and a FT in stud h/l, $5 rebuy and a couple others, i did pretty well all-in-all :)

In fact ive had trouble sleeping since!! In the 3 days Thursday - Saturday i put in 14 hour/15 hour then 23 hour sessions, enough poker to make ya sick!!!

Fair play, sounds like you are more than paying the bills. Over 70% of the day playing online. Oh me eyes.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Well played Rooney, did you top the PS tlb weekly before? By that I mean are you a fan of Zidane and Rio Ferdinand if you know what I mean? ;)

I think i might pop along and have a look at that one rooney.

Presumably enough Poker is you sole source of income?

AHh Just went onto pokerstars lovely photo of ya, hehe

Do you play in town often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

13 mtt simultaenously

:eek: :eek: :eek:

OMG
    I have problems playing 3!
    What sort of screen(s) are you using?

okidoki987 wrote:
    :eek: :eek: :eek:
    13 mtt simultaneously
    OMG
    I have problems playing 3!
    What sort of screen(s) are you using?

Thinking about it thats a hell of a lot of mouse clicking, your index finger must of been in bits after all that, and I'm sure its not good for the eyes either hehe.

Congrats again by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭The C Kid

ZeeJustin was multi-tabling 18 STTs at one point last night. Scary.

I just have a 1 screen set-up and layer the tables, 4 in the corners and then 5th, 6th, 7th etc go in behind at slight angles. Not exactly scientific or ingenius!! Basically the tables pop up themselves when its turn to act so the mian danger is missclicking on a wrong screen..... all in all it is not enjoyable whatsoever but it certainly is challenging!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Well Done! What do they have to say on 2+2 about your achievement. I don't know who you are but I'm assuming you are already a known threat in the online MTT world or are have you been relatively unknown until now?

lol @ 'known threat'...ive made around 30+ FT's on pstars in the past year and im fairly well respected amongst the players. In mtt that is ... I ran Noah Boeken/Marcel Luske combination to the wire one week on their El Capitano a/c...Noah actually told me they had 4 guys rotating that a/c that week to get the tlb and even allowing for fact that El Capitano won the $215 mtt that week (ie. a 1400 pts head start), i still ran them to a close 2nd. Dont play a whole lot in town, exception rather than the rule. Favourite game is prob stud h/l, if they stick one of them tournies on in town ill be in ;)

Ps. Nicky i gotta confess ive never really heard of you, im not much into the domestic poker scene....<cant find the embarrassed smiley but if i could it'd be there) but your blog is keeping me awake....im down to the last 17 of 1338 runners in a $10 mtt on stars...have a relatively healthy chip lead (314k next stack 200k blinds 4k/8k) , boredom setting in though 4hrs 30 running time....i just read your entire blog. Good job :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Ps. Nicky i gotta confess ive never really heard of you, im not much into the domestic poker scene....<cant find the embarrassed smiley but if i could it'd be there) but your blog is keeping me awake....im down to the last 17 of 1338 runners in a $10 mtt on stars...have a relatively healthy chip lead (314k next stack 200k blinds 4k/8k) , boredom setting in though 4hrs 30 running time....i just read your entire blog. Good job :-)

I havne't played much in stars over the last 6 months. I generally play on party. I don't play many MTTs but I have had about 5 online cashes for 4 figures since December. Don't be embarrassed about not knowing who I am. I am better known domestically for my big mouth than my poker skillls. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Ps. Nicky i gotta confess ive never really heard of you,

You don't watch much tv/listen to much radio either?

LOL. I know all like Phil Ivey, Hellmuth, Devilfish and all them and Donacha o'Dea.....Parkinson....just have no interest in watching poker at all. WPT/EPT all that stuff on tv, couldnt be bothered...went thru a phase of it alrite, but id prefer to watch Neighbours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

id prefer to watch Neighbours

So that's what playing 13 MTT does to you then :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

ianmc38 wrote:
    You don't watch much tv/listen to much radio either?

lol, where'd he get the time to watch tv in between all the mtts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

congrats on this super achievement! looks like I'll be looking at YOUR mug all this week on stars :eek:

Best of luck against the champ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭peeko

And congrats on the win!!

Over in 5 hands? I didn't even get to see a hand! From the hand history it looked like joe started of modestly, but then in 2 hands you knocked him out!

lol nice earner... well done