Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Message "Device can perform faster" when using USB 2.0

• 08-02-2006 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

Hey i've been having a problem with USB 2.0 on my laptop. When i connect up my mp3 player to any of the four USB ports i get a message saying "this device can perform faster". I know the mp3 player works ok cause i have used it on other computers and it worked grand. I have attached an image of what comes up when i get this message.

I read in a thread that is i used the Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller instead of the SIS 7001 PCI to USB Open controller it would fix the problem but it didn't. I have also attached an image of the device manager. I have been looking at forums but noone an answer. Wondering has anyone else had the same problem or know how to fix it.

Oh ya using Windows XP home edition with sevice pack 2.

Hope ye can help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭daywalker

It basically means that the usb port that you are connecting the device into is USB1.1 and if you have a USB2.0 port that you should connect the device into that one instead, as you would get better performance, e.g. transfer speed on external HD, etc.

You can't upgrade USB 1.1 ports to USB 2.0 ports using software, as the necessary hardware would not be available, if you want to get usb 2.0 you need to buy a PCMCIA card with USB2 ports on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

I'm pretty sure the ports are USB 2.0. The fact that i have a Enhancement host controller (shown in attachment) implies USB 2.0. They just are not working right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I've been having this problem when I connect certain devices myself and I know for a fact that my USB ports are 2.0 compliant and that the enhnaced host controllers are installed. I tried switching the ports the device was connected to but still got the onscreen message telling me it was only apparently using 1.1.
    I've tried everything I can think of and can only put it down to a fault on the devices I'm connecting to the PC....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

That message is a bit annoying as it pops up every time we plug in a disgo or an mp3 player. Is there any way to get rid of it??

OP can you get any updated drivers for it? Either the mp3 player or the USB controller? And what kind of mp3 player do you have anyway?

thanks for the replys lads... can i ask ye wat kinda USB port ye have. mine is SIS 7001

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Is there any program you can download which tells you the speed of each USB port you have?

My device manager says enchanced but I am not sure that they are all enchanced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

Just plug in a USB key and time a transfer ?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I had this and its apparently a common feature with Lanparty mobos.

Remove everything to do with USB in Device Manager and reboot and allow windows to pick everything up automatically. Beware when using a USB mouse!! You'll need to be good at keyboard windows navigation if you have a USB mouse.

(Device manager is in hardware tab of the system properties - right click my computer and hit properties for this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Just plug in a USB key and time a transfer ?
    Indeed, that's the best way to find out. The difference between the USB 1.1 and USB 2.0 is enormous!
    USB 2.0 has a raw data rate at 480Mbps, and it is rated 40 times faster than its predecessor interface, USB 1.1, which tops at 12Mbps.

@ OP: Try right-clicking on one of the "SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controller" listed and select "Update Driver...". Worked for me on my new PC as Windows XP SP1/2 contains USB 2.0 Drivers.
    However, my old PC which also had "SiS 7001 PCI to USB Open Host Controllers" would not work at USB 2.0 speeds so I had to buy a USB PCI Card with 5 ports...

i tried uninstalling USB devices (all of them) and let windows pick it up again but it didn't work. could they actually be USB 1.1. got the laptop exactly 2 years ago but USB 2 was put into everything then too. I also got USB 2.0 drivers with laptop. I tried updating as Steffano2002 stated but it just said i had the most up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

'course your usb stick won't transfer data at 480mbps, as the flash memory just is not that fast. Your hard disk isn't even that fast :)

i never said i was looking for the max usb 2.0 speed. The problem is the port isn't configured right or something

I never managed to update these "SiS xxxx PCI to USB Open Host Controller" to USB 2.0 even though the manual for the MotherBoard said they were USB 2.0 compliant... Not looking good for you either... :o

Stephen wrote:
    'course your usb stick won't transfer data at 480mbps, as the flash memory just is not that fast. Your hard disk isn't even that fast :)
    Of course... But you can sure as hell beat 12Mbps! lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

Just had this & fixed it yesterday. My stuff had been working OK, and I moved USB things around to try to get a MIDI keyboard to connect. That managed to make everything think they were USB1.1.

The fix was to remove all the USB stuff from the Device Manager and reboot. Windows managed to fix it all up itself (oddly enough).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Dapos wrote:
    i tried uninstalling USB devices (all of them) and let windows pick it up again but it didn't work. could they actually be USB 1.1. got the laptop exactly 2 years ago but USB 2 was put into everything then too. I also got USB 2.0 drivers with laptop. I tried updating as Steffano2002 stated but it just said i had the most up to date.
    I think around that time there was a lot of companies calling USB 1.1, USB 2 so maybe that's actually what you have.

If you do have USB 2, then I'm assuming you would have installed plain WinXP without service packs, and then installed them later. IIRC Win XP didn't support true USB 2 untill SP1, so installing the drivers prior to that would not have worked, and even removing the devices now and letting windows detect them again might'nt do it. Try removing them from device manager as before, but instead of rebooting/refreshing, install the USB 2 drivers again straight away, either off the CD or prefferably download the newest ones and have them ready to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭bpmurray

Actually, often the USB ports on the back are USB 2, while those on the front are 1.1

bpmurray wrote:
    Actually, often the USB ports on the back are USB 2, while those on the front are 1.1
    OP has a laptop though...

when i uninstall and run the drivers i got with laptop it tells me they are already installed and just to rescan hardware

Any more suggestions?

Contact manufacturer of laptop/mobo/USB devise and ask if they are USB 2.0 compatible maybe? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Find out what chipset your motherboard uses (probably some SiS chipset since they made the USB controller), and get the latest drivers from the chipset manufacturer's website. Or failing that, go to the motherboard manufacturer's site or whoever made your PC. A program like Sandra can tell you stuff like the chipset and motherboard model among many other things.
    'course your usb stick won't transfer data at 480mbps, as the flash memory just is not that fast. Your hard disk isn't even that fast
    Not necessarily - a lot of newer hard disks can surpass transfer speeds of 480Mb/s (60Mbytes/s) - look here for example. Even the best usb flash thingys can only do about half that though.