Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions

• 07-02-2006 12:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭

0.25/0.50 on Full Tilt.

I've $175. Villain has $50. I've taken his stack twice now. 2 hands ago he raised prelop to 6xBB. I called with TcJc. Flop was QKA and he jammed for the rest of his stack. I called and he showed AK. My flopped straight held up. I don't have any read on him as he's only played about 3 orbits.

I'm in the cutoff with QhKh. 2 limpers and villain raises to 5xBB. I smooth call his raise.

Blinds fold and other limpers call.

Flop is TTA rainbow, no hearts.

Checked to me and i also check.

Turn is the Jack of hearts.

UTG bets half the pot. Villain reraises all-in.

What's my move?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Can you fold given his current state? He is clearly tilting like a one legged man on the titanic. How much does UTG have with his feeler bet? You have flopped the nut straight against mr tilty who has just watched check / check and piddley bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I'd agree with my paddy power poker friend.
    However, although I love my suited connectors and all, I probably wouldnt of called the preflop raise the previous hand, you got very lucky and more often then not this would not have been a profitably play.

But what do I know I amn't after taking his stack twice :rolleyes:

cheers
    Luke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭fuzzbox

I would fold here most often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Western_sean

I think I call here it looks like UTG is betting to find out where he is and villan is trying to scare you both off.

If villan has J10 well he's the kind of player you want to have chips isn't he?

I think I call here it looks like UTG is betting to find out where he is and villan is trying to scare you both off.

If villan has J10 well he's the kind of player you want to have chips isn't he?

And if he has JJ or AA?

Then you give him back some of the insane amount of money you have taken off him. You have KQ you flop the nut straight! Granted there are scary cards on board but UTG looks weak and your opponent is tilting......

There is nothing to show that your opponent is tilting.
    You have a straight on a paired board, where the pfr checked the flop, but now has pushed all his chips in after UTG bet the turn.

Do you think he is bluffing very often?
    I dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Western_sean

fuzzbox wrote:
    And if he has JJ or AA?

This is why I don't get wealthy playing poker -

He has massively over bet the pot, I would have thought that if he has the nuts he should want action - this bet is designed to put and end to any action which makes me suspicious of it.

Maybe it gets called more frequently than I expect?

This is why I don't get wealthy playing poker -

He has massively over bet the pot, I would have thought that if he has the nuts he should want action - this bet is designed to put and end to any action which makes me suspicious of it.

Maybe it gets called more frequently than I expect?

Well you want to call with the straight ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

fuzzbox wrote:
    Do you think he is bluffing very often?
    I dont.

he could be value betting a worse hand (ie any ten).

There is a J and an A on the board (both of which go very well with a T).

If we are ahead, then any A/J/T/pair-his card will win it for him
    If we are behind then we are stone dead.

He has previous for going strong with a strong hand (AK on an AKQ board is pretty strong).
    He raised preflop, then checked the flop, and now pushes real hard on a seemingly innocuous turn.

I dont like the spot, and I dont think we have the best hand very often.

However, I didnt see how villain lost the rest of his stacks. If you believe that he can have AK here, then by all means call with the straight.

I dont disagree with you fuzz. On the face of it, it is a very dangerous board. However one thing I would like to point out is that the stakes were 25c / 50c the guy seems to have a onemoveallin attitude and looks a little to me like scrabbling to recoup losses on previously tragic overbets.
    no doubt Ian will let us know the outcome. I still would have called given the circumstances but obiiously if I was right all the time I would be charging for my posts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

fuzzbox wrote:
    you want to call with the straight ........

I sure did want to call.

And i did call. I put UTG on a weak Ace and thought his was a feeler bet. I had the villain on Something like KK, QQ or xT. I thought he was on major tilt.

UTG folded immediately.

Villain turned over TcJc for a full-house.

Not sure if i made the right move calling, especially after seeing him jam the last hand with a biggy.

The best part was i opened up the chat window after that hand and saw his speech play. On the turn he was giving out about me fishing and calling a large raise with TcJc. He then turns it over. Deserved a LOL.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ianmc38 wrote:
    The best part was i opened up the chat window after that hand and saw his speech play. On the turn he was giving out about me fishing and calling a large raise with TcJc. He then turns it over. Deserved a LOL.

Main difference is that he led the betting the second hand also when he had 10Js.

5starpool wrote:
    Main difference is that he led the betting the second hand also when he had 10Js.

No i didnt mean he was contradicting himself. He told me after that he was trying to reel me in by saying it. I wasn't paying attention to the chat though.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ianmc38 wrote:
    No i didnt mean he was contradicting himself. He told me after that he was trying to reel me in by saying it. I wasn't paying attention to the chat though.

In a subliminal way it worked then!!! Clever lad he is.