Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pearse St Area most Discrimnated against

• 05-02-2006 4:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12 40miles

I Live in pearse st and it seems the twony type of of dress makes you get refused from every nightclub for exsample i went to get in to spirt and was dressed casual the bouncer refused me but let 5 black men with Tracksuits in
    And looking for a Job you cant put down where you live either and if you het stoped by the Police and u say your from pearse st they tell you to get home
    I know theres a lot of dogy people in the area but there is dogy people in every area what do you think on it?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

40miles wrote:
    I Live in pearse st and it seems the twony type of of dress makes you get refused from every nightclub for exsample i went to get in to spirt and was dressed casual the bouncer refused me but let 5 black men with Tracksuits in
    And looking for a Job you cant put down where you live either and if you het stoped by the Police and u say your from pearse st they tell you to get home
    I know theres a lot of dogy people in the area but there is dogy people in every area what do you think on it?

Did you tell the bouncers in SPIRIT you were from Pearse Street?? Cause if not then you cant really blame that for you not getting in tbh... Maybe they just didn't like the look of you?

And what does 5 black men getting in have to do with the price of tomatoes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

No, but he may have been wearing a sandwhich board stating such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

40miles wrote:

OMG :eek: YOU SAID BLACK!!>>! WHY DID YOU FEEL THE NEED TO MENTIoN THEY WERE BLACK!! IM NOT A RACIST!!!11

btw LoL stfu tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭PTL

I totaly see the reason he stated they were black ... just as he woulda stated if they were black rock rich heads in tracksuits .. but that wouldnt happen because they wouldnt let an irish person in unless they were dressed pritty for the bouncers haha even guys have to dress to impress a bouncer ... but other nationalitys can walk around dressed like mtv base :)

ITS RACIST! but since its racist against irish people its ok :) were the wrong colour so it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

tbh if you were dressed "casually" the guards wouldn't even bother with you. you must be wearing/doing something to attract the guards which puts you in a situation where you have to say you live in pearse st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Well had they refused the black lads they'd have had a much worse situation on their hands.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

40miles wrote:
    I know theres a lot of dogy people in the area

Really? I had no idea. Well thats the last time I have sex in the back seat of a parked car on Pearce St. I'm not a bloody peepshow ya know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

40miles wrote:
    Pearse St Area most Discrimnated against

Please, don't make me laugh :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

And, um, you TELL bouncers where you live?

???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 hotasfunk

Pearse Street deserves its rep, its a terrible area, full of un-educated going-no-where's such as yourself.

hotasfunk wrote:
    Pearse Street deserves its rep, its a terrible area, full of un-educated going-no-where's such as yourself.
    Ah don't be mean. Just because he gives his address to bouncers (why... the mind still boggles) doesn't mean he's not worthy.

As a matter of interest, is there anywhere nice on Pearse street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

40miles wrote:

you're right to be pissed off. pearse st isn't exactly sesame st, but it's not such a bad area. it's mostly smart arsed snobs who give the place a bad name. people often talk about racism, but discrimination against working class people is a far bigger problem in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Pearse St itself aint the problem, its all the council flats off every left and right turn, anyway thats beside the point the OP commets are ridiculous not to mention almost unreadable. It dosnt matter what part of Dublin you are from if you're a scumbag you're a scumbag, theres no escapeing it. Sure you might not be a trouble maker (which would put you in the minority) but if your idea of 'dressing up' is a shirt with you silky tracksuit bottoms I would'nt blame the bouncers. People who look like that make us law abiding folk uneasy in nightclubs.

P.S If I was the only bouncer on the door and 5 black blokes wanted in, i'd step aside fairly lively (but I think that part was bull)

Pearse St itself aint the problem, its all the council flats off every left and right turn, anyway thats beside the point the OP commets are ridiculous not to mention almost unreadable. It dosnt matter what part of Dublin you are from if you're a scumbag you're a scumbag, theres no escapeing it. Sure you might not be a trouble maker (which would put you in the minority) but if your idea of 'dressing up' is a shirt with you silky tracksuit bottoms I would'nt blame the bouncers. People who look like that make us law abiding folk uneasy in nightclubs.

P.S If I was the only bouncer on the door and 5 black blokes wanted in, i'd step aside fairly lively (but I think that part was bull)

wow. type-casting black people, discriminating against people who live in council flats, casting judgments about people on what they wear, and blaming others for your feelings of unease in nightclubs...

who's the one causing the trouble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

What a terrible thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

sturgo wrote:
    wow. type-casting black people, discriminating against people who live in council flats, casting judgments about people on what they wear, and blaming others for your feelings of unease in nightclubs...

Hmm yes I did go for gold there...Sad how the truth hurts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

sturgo wrote:

Ummm George bush ? :p

Megatron wrote:
    Ummm George bush ? :p
    :):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 cakehole

Its not just pearce street, its a lot of areas....as regards spirit this happens all the time if they don't want you there they will use any excuse...they stopped my friend for ID...he's 29 and looks it..i had to talk to the bouncer for ages before he let um in....its a poxy sh!thole any way so i wouldnt worry...no one has a clue about music in the place...the sound is terrible...half the girls are just looking to get drinks bought for them..the other half are 15...over priced water down drink...iof you want to go dancing theres plenty of better places within walking distance of spirit..Traffic for example..not great but nicer girls, better music and better people in general...I come from a place on the northside not gonna say where but when i was younger and stopped by the police as soon as i said ******* they always searched us..thats the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

40miles wrote:

How did someone from Pearse Street get to start a thread in "After Hours" I thought they were all barred ? This place has gone to the dumps !!!!
    :D;):p

ciaran76 wrote:
    How did someone from Pearse Street get to start a thread in "After Hours" I thought they were all barred ? This place has gone to the dumps !!!!
    :D;):p
    Yeah it's an option in the vBulletin control panel. "Ban By Location". Pearse Street has it's own option :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I have a beard and long hair am I surprised when somebody calls me a hippy? No, but it does annoy me. I expect not to be allowed into certain places because of my clothes. If I wore a tracksuit worn by the usual people called scumbags I would still not look like them.
    OP
    If you want to dress in the typical towny way except that you will be seen as a danger and likely to start trouble. IF you change your clothes you will probably still look the same due to rings, hair cut, talk and demeaner.
    AS most people see people whom look a certain way as scum why would you want to look like that? The image and violence are linked. I like to look my way but it casues me little trouble but if it caused me more trouble I would probably change my image and have done for different jobs.

True story from friday. Some skanger girl decideds to call me "hippy" as I put rubbish in the bin. Being a little drunk I decided to return the name calling 10 fold. I pointed out that her track suit was fake and bet onto her fat arse, that her taste in jewlery illustrates that she has a fine carrear in walking the streets late at night. I asked when she had her first child 13 or 14? How many she had at present? How many fathers? Did she like the reputation single mothers have about being spongers are that it didn't bother her becasue her whole family were spongers et...
    It went on a bit and not something very fair but every single bias and stereotypical thing about people in track suits was probably said. Now bear in mind she threw the first stone as it were but she was unable to handle the abuse and preceeded to want to be violent. Her 3 (2 male 1 female) friends noticing I was bigger than them all dragged her away. Now if you look, walk and talk like scum expect to be considered that way. If you insist on it than at least have some witty come backs. ;)

I have a beard and long hair am I surprised when somebody calls me a hippy? No, but it does annoy me. I expect not to be allowed into certain places because of my clothes. If I wore a tracksuit worn by the usual people called scumbags I would still not look like them.
    OP
    If you want to dress in the typical towny way except that you will be seen as a danger and likely to start trouble. IF you change your clothes you will probably still look the same due to rings, hair cut, talk and demeaner.
    AS most people see people whom look a certain way as scum why would you want to look like that? The image and violence are linked. I like to look my way but it casues me little trouble but if it caused me more trouble I would probably change my image and have done for different jobs.

True story from friday. Some skanger girl decideds to call me "hippy" as I put rubbish in the bin. Being a little drunk I decided to return the name calling 10 fold. I pointed out that her track suit was fake and bet onto her fat arse, that her taste in jewlery illustrates that she has a fine carrear in walking the streets late at night. I asked when she had her first child 13 or 14? How many she had at present? How many fathers? Did she like the reputation single mothers have about being spongers are that it didn't bother her becasue her whole family were spongers et...
    It went on a bit and not something very fair but every single bias and stereotypical thing about people in track suits was probably said. Now bear in mind she threw the first stone as it were but she was unable to handle the abuse and preceeded to want to be violent. Her 3 (2 male 1 female) friends noticing I was bigger than them all dragged her away. Now if you look, walk and talk like scum expect to be considered that way. If you insist on it than at least have some witty come backs. ;)

bloody hell! for a crusty hippy you're not very liberal. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

OP

Well said that man! You are my new hero. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dilly1

Why would you want to get into Spirit anyway ? its a kip. The last wateringhole of the Pillhead, everyone in there is completely out of it ! and every two minutes some guy chewing his face off asks you if you are "sorted for pills??". The last time I was in there, one guy was so off his face he was lying on the floor wriggling like a worm, no bouncers around either, they dont go onto the dance floor, I reckon they are under orders to not disturb the revellers for fear of losing valuable customers.

Dilly1 wrote:
    Why would you want to get into Spirit anyway ? its a kip. The last wateringhole of the Pillhead, everyone in there is completely out of it ! and every two minutes some guy chewing his face off asks you if you are "sorted for pills??". The last time I was in there, one guy was so off his face he was lying on the floor wriggling like a worm, no bouncers around either, they dont go onto the dance floor, I reckon they are under orders to not disturb the revellers for fear of losing valuable customers.
    Not the only place like that in Dublin, but a sh**hole nonetheless.

If you want to dress in the typical towny way except that you will be seen as a danger and likely to start trouble.
    It took me a minute to figure out what you were trying to say here. Then I realised you meant "accept", not "except". The words are very different! Learn them.
    It went on a bit and not something very fair but every single bias and stereotypical thing about people in track suits was probably said.
    Biased. He/she/it is biased.

As for pearse st, *shrug* I just get the buses...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Pearse Street, home of Widow Scallans. How could it have a bad rep? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Isn't Pearse Street one of the two streets in Dublin with the most muggings and thefts? Can't remember the other one.

But of course you shouldn't be discriminated against because of your dress - unless someone's dirty, they should be able to dress as they like.

(I was in the doctor's the other day and there were two tall girls wearing pyjamas and hoodies. Everyone in the waiting room was staring out, and the receptionist was talking to them, all with mouths hanging open with surprise.)

luckat wrote:
    Isn't Pearse Street one of the two streets in Dublin with the most muggings and thefts? Can't remember the other one.

But of course you shouldn't be discriminated against because of your dress - unless someone's dirty, they should be able to dress as they like.

(I was in the doctor's the other day and there were two tall girls wearing pyjamas and hoodies. Everyone in the waiting room was staring out, and the receptionist was talking to them, all with mouths hanging open with surprise.)
    The college end just looks so... abandoned. Dark and gloomy, even depressing. Not surprised it's a mugging hotspot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

luckat wrote:

Why should you not judge people on their apperance? It is a valid way to asses the person respect for themseleves and others. It may have political indications (badges, t-shirt print etc...). If somebody has a scowl on their face they are judged on the apperance of a bad mood. Walk like pidgeon while chewing gum and people will judge you. Is it fair? I think it is the choices you make about your apperance that are fair for you to be judged on.

Wearing PJs on the street is really low self respect and respect for others. If you think it is socially acceptable that is your problem as it is not everywhere. If you live in an environmnet where it is it says a lot about you. You should look outside your social cirlcle/environment to understand what your apperance actually indicates.

right on hippy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

xzanti wrote:
    And what does 5 black men getting in have to do with the price of tomatoes??

What the f*ck does the price of tomatoes (or eggs or some other inane and irrelevant commodity) have to do with a thread about discrimination / Pearse Street?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

luckat wrote:

Pearse Street is fine living there a year and a half no problems. There's a drug clinic on it so there a few Adam and Paul types around but their harmless. Widow Scallons closed, the crew have moved to the Pearse Tavern which is not very nice. Scallons is going to be appartments.

The pyjamas thing is pretty weird though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,982 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Pigman II wrote:
    Really? I had no idea. Well thats the last time I have sex in the back seat of a parked car on Pearce St. I'm not a bloody peepshow ya know!
    Actually I believe the Pigeon House is where many choose to walk the dog, you might want to avoid the public intercourse down there :cool: