Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda 250 Game reports (lots of boardsies in this one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I dealt in this for a couple of hours yesterday and it was a very well run, professional tournament. Well done Mike. I didn't hear one complaint all day, well except about the cards :)

It was interesting to see if from the other side of the table, so to speak. Very first hand two players had about 4500 of their 6000 in the pot on a very dangerous board. The player who lost, Colin, eventually came second, so that was an amazing comeback. He did play very well though and seemed a decent bloke, so fair play to him. Actually they were all fairly sound.

Very next hand we lose a player (bob), when his straight to the K was beaten by Leslies A high straight.

And it carried on like this, with huge pots and the blinds still only 25/50.

I will definetly play the April one (away in March).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

Mike just like to say it was a fantastic tourny and well done.
    i enjoyed it alot even though i feel i could have done better.
    i tried to move a fecken calling station of his hand with my KQ and he called me down with a pair of 7s on a baord of A J 9 7 5.:eek:
    that left me short stacked for the rest of it.
    deffo play the next one.
    fair play Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Yeh fair play Mike, excellent tourney, run very professionally. Just finished writing the full report on my blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

roryc wrote:
    Yeh fair play Mike, excellent tourney, run very professionally. Just finished writing the full report on my blog.

From Roryc's Blog.....

Our table broke and I was moved onto Eoin Olin's table (Mr Pillowtalk from Boards). I had only sat down a few minutes when I noticed it was a pretty quiet and tight table. I decided to start playing LAG and liven things up a bit! I limped in with J10h, and the flop came down a delicious 789. I was aiming to double up off one of the big stacks so I threw in a big bet to make it look like I was stealing. A big stack to my left took the bait and started staring me down. I threw back a few false tells making it look like I really didn't want a call. He announced "why are ya betting? You have Nothing! Just being a mouth.. Actually I KNOW you have nothing! I'm all In" Emmmm. Ok I think I'll call with the nuts... Double up to 10K

He wasn't happy at alland was pretty embarrassed by the looks of it. I knew I had put him on major tilt and was dying for a chance to take advantage. And for once, Pokah agreed and two hands later threw me down a pair of aces. I raised it up to 1K (blinds 200/400), and he min-raised it up to 2K. Lovely, please have kings!! I acted as if I'd been caught on the steal, and looked as if I was going to fold etc (oscar winning performance...). I gave it a few minutes of trash talking etc, and finally came out with "hmmm... only way I'm getting you off this is by going all in right?". I pushed all in, and now I could tell he was dying to call. I was thinking he had a medium pair, but I might be able to get him to push if I could tilt him a little more! To be honest I was acting the arsehole and really getting on his nerves. He finally said "you probably have the kings or queens, but I'm gonna ****ing call you anyway". He flipped over pocket tens, and the board was no help and he was down to the felt. And I was up to 20K!

He was cursing and moaning at me but I just kept my head down and counted (his) chips! He was knocked out a few hands later and stormed out of the place. It was only after he left that I was told he was known as 'the hangman'. Apparently he plays all the big events and is a well known pro?

C'mon y'all and sing along with me.... I'm so happy, so happy with gleee......:D ;):p

RORY IS THE MAN

Fair play to you sir. I shall never dog you again my good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

roryc wrote:

ul Roryc. good report and well done to come back from 400. Was it K10 that Ivan had ??? He couldnt have A10 if he showed a K.

ps. Well done to Karl and Nikki.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

careca wrote:
    ul Roryc. good report and well done to come back from 400. Was it K10 that Ivan had ??? He couldnt have A10 if he showed a K.

ps. Well done to Karl and Nikki.

Definitely K10 clubs seen it with my beady eyes.

Yeh I reckon he definitely would have shown if he had AK

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I asked him afterwards (Ivan travels a lot on the bigger tournie scene so we end up in the bar a good bit together). He grinned at me and said "ach it was Kying Tyen lad!". I think he was trying to impress Nikki :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Yep fantastic tourney very well run congrats mike.

I didn't have the greatest of days, for the first 3 levels the only hands I saw were 33 and 88 but managed to get up to about 20k

With Leslie on my left and eddie the eagle on my right I found it hard to get moving, things got slightly worse as KPnuts and Mark McMahon came into my right and Leslie still on my left tough table :mad:

I was then moved to a table full of lads fairly tanked with gargle very loose but just couldn't find any decent hands to get involved I don't think I seen a group 1 hand for the whole day, I eventually made my move with 10 10 in the SB called by A8 in the BB an A on the flop sent me packing.

With the amount of boardsters there I can't belive more of us didn't make the money

well done to those who did tho and again well done mike hope there's many more to come!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

\o\
    /o/
    \o/
    Great craic. Fantastic job Mike! FYI. Ivan had K10s he told me later. He showed the K. It will still go down in history as my scariest moment ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Congrats Nikki/Karl

Ed

Basically 3 hands some up my tourney

First, what a great tournament, layout, dealers .. the atmospehere was great, very amicable and alot of familiar faces, I play Drogheda alot so I probably knew about 3 faces on every table at the very least.

I was on my first table only about 10 mins, KarlH (who made the money, Congrat!), Scotty and one of the Poker Lounge lads, so it was a tough table, but I didn't even get to play a hand, as I was moved to a newly formed table within 10 mins.

The newly formed table included The Snapper, on my immediate left a very good tourney player and no-one else that I knew although Shane Devlin who made the money as well was on it, I didn't know him at the time. I had the feeling he was nicking alot of pots, but had nothing to test him with, he was to my right, and had quite a good position on the table, in that he was (I think) taking full advantage of some very passive players on his right.

I felt quite comfortable at the table, and felt happy enough I had a read on most players, so was settling in for a long day.
    Nothing for until the 100/200 level, won a small pot post flop with JQ on a J high board to keep my starting stack of 6000, lost a couple of minor pots and was at about 5000, when the first of my 3 defining hands happened.

UTG got JJ which I limped with, the table was reasonably active with a couple of Ace Rag merchants who were calling raises so I expected there to be a raise later on in the orbit which there was to 600, so there was 3 players, one of them the small blind was was playing his first hand, so alarm bells were going off.
    I figured a raise wouldn't take the pot preflop, (hence the limp), and was obviously hoping for a low flop, but both an Ace and a King flopped so I knew JJ was no good at this point, SB checked, I checked, the preflop raiser put in a pot size bet, which the SB called, so that was enough info for me to get out then. So stack now 4400

About 20 mins later, I get AQs in CO, one limper so far, I raise to 600 and the BB pushes all-in. He lost quite a big pot just before, could be tilty, and didn't think he was a great player, so my first inclination was he had a mid pair, so that means a race. AK would have been even worse and was also a very probable hand, and the more I thought about it, I couldn't really call this. I folded my AQ face up hoping he would show, and he did, he had QQ, so I suppose it was a justified fold.
    However Stack is now only 3800.

To make things even more interesting Dathio joins the table, first time I played on his table, but I didn't get too long to witness the legend at work really.
    3rd and final defining hand ....Last hand before the levels were to go up. I'm dealt QQ on the button.

Daithio raises to 650 from UTG, he has a caller from an Ace Rag merchant, so 1600 in pot already with blinds, and I've 3600 left.
    Purely based on Daithios reputation, I briefly considered folding the QQ, but I couldn't make another laydown, I needed to win this pot really, so I pushed.
    Daithio folded (10 10 I believe), and I knew Ace Rag merchant would call, but what would the rag be, anything from 2-K would be in this guys range.
    He has AK as it turns out, so I can't berate his call, and the flop brought an Ace, and that was the end of my tourney.

Short and Sweet.

Played some STT's to finish in a small profit, and watched alot of the bubble time action on the tournament, last 5 tables, and had a perfect view of Ivan's hole cards when Nikki moved all in for a potential huge pot. He Had K10 despite trying to say it was AK.
    I must have been bringing KarlH some good karma as I seen him all in quite early in tourney and he caught a straight on the river, K5 double up against 22 when he had to call, and then his A7 against A9 doubled him up again and virtually guaranteed a cashout...wp KarlH, balls of steel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

By Roryc He was knocked out a few hands later and stormed out of the place. It was only after he left that I was told he was known as 'the hangman'. Apparently he plays all the big events and is a well known pro?

This is the funniest sentence I have ever seen in print. What Paul is does start with Pr but doesn't end with O. [Nice bloke that he is... But a complete loon] The Hangman - may well have earnt his nickname from commiting pre-flop suicide as much as anything else. All your acting was for nothing Rory... You could have told him you had the nut str8 and he'd still have called hoping to hit a boat. And aces? He laughes at aces... You could have shown them to him and he'd have called.

Mr Roper is one of the nicest men on the planet... But he's like those delusional people who think they can sing on X Factor.... Shame of it is... If he actually learnt how to control his aggression he'd be a good player as he often gets a large stack early in a tournament only to blow the lot when it matters.

Such a shame I missed the tourney though.... Well done Mike and all at GJP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

congrats Mike on a well run game. brutal for me and unlucky for roryc, but well done Nikki and Karl.

i hope there will be 2 satellites every week on PPP. that would be great.

one point of criticism, while its still in my head. For the last hour while i was trying to steal a few blinds to stay in the game I had my patience tested by railbirds leaning against my chair.
    Now i know there were pals of players there, and i know there was booze but it should be pointed out to everyone to stay at least a foot away from the the table. And this includes dealers, two of whom ended up standing so close to me I could tell what hour they had showered. And i'm not kidding, i had to ask them to move back so i could hold onto a gap in the oxygen alotment.

This is a seriously annoying diversion when ur shortstacked and can be remedied easily. I just got my jacket cleaned and now i have to get it deboozed again. And it wasnt even my booze!

Met a good player there who won 15 grand on PPP in the 100,000 game. I think his name is Paul Terney? can anyone confirm that? If he hadnt have been drinking he would have been a threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Tom Murphy dont go changing my private details and that includes my avatar. U now owe 50 euro to Daves charity. I'm not kidding, that is right out of order, an abuse of power. Dave when is ur charity starting coz otherwise these jokers can pay the 110 euro to another one.

edit:

i love tom and want to give him cuddles, please ignore above statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

In fairness Mike did warn on several occasions that the audience would be moved out of the room if they did not step back. I of course was too busy castigating myself for not pushing allin pre-flop with my pocket 3's to notice :0( musn't grumble though.
    Des if I had known you felt so strongly about my rear I would have taken more time in comparison ;P

Fatboydim wrote:
    By Roryc He was knocked out a few hands later and stormed out of the place. It was only after he left that I was told he was known as 'the hangman'. Apparently he plays all the big events and is a well known pro?

This is the funniest sentence I have ever seen in print. What Paul is does start with Pr but doesn't end with O. [Nice bloke that he is... But a complete loon] The Hangman - may well have earnt his nickname from commiting pre-flop suicide as much as anything else. All your acting was for nothing Rory... You could have told him you had the nut str8 and he'd still have called hoping to hit a boat. And aces? He laughes at aces... You could have shown them to him and he'd have called.

Mr Roper is one of the nicest men on the planet... But he's like those delusional people who think they can sing on X Factor.... Shame of it is... If he actually learnt how to control his aggression he'd be a good player as he often gets a large stack early in a tournament only to blow the lot when it matters.

Such a shame I missed the tourney though.... Well done Mike and all at GJP.

Im only going on what another lad at the table said to me. He told me that this lad plays most of the big events, Monte Carlo, Vegas etc. so I presumed he was well known.

I don't know how he normally plays but I'm pretty sure he wouldn't have called if I hadn't put him on tilt from the previous hand. By the looks of it he just wanted me off the table :D

Yeh, I noticed you had your 'What me?/whiter than snow/butter wouldn't melt in my mouth/pokerbrat/rubbing the right people up the wrong way' look about you yesterday Rory.. hadn't seen it for a little while.

You're obviously back on form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

BigDragon wrote:
    C'mon y'all and sing along with me.... I'm so happy, so happy with gleee......:D ;):p

RORY IS THE MAN

Fair play to you sir. I shall never dog you again my good man.

Roper has to be the biggest ****in' fish in Irish tournament poker. Nice one Rory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

roryc wrote:
    Im only going on what another lad at the table said to me. He told me that this lad plays most of the big events, Monte Carlo, Vegas etc. so I presumed he was well known.

I don't know how he normally plays but I'm pretty sure he wouldn't have called if I hadn't put him on tilt from the previous hand. By the looks of it he just wanted me off the table :D

lol... Rory I am telling you he would have called... :D

Get dave BigDragon Kingston to tell you his story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

edit: i love tom and want to give him cuddles, please ignore above statement.

LOL!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Fatboydim wrote:
    lol... Rory I am telling you he would have called... :D

Get dave BigDragon Kingston to tell you his story...

Dave played that all wrong. He realises the error of his ways now. That right Dave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

5starpool wrote:
    Dave played that all wrong. He realises the error of his ways now. That right Dave?

spill the beans?