Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A cricket score in Paris?

• 04-02-2006 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭

After today's performance, things are looking pretty grim...

Neither tries were tries.
    Tackling was poor especially when Bergamasco sailed though.
    O'Driscoll should've been binned.
    Easterby should've been binned.
    Backs were flatfooted.
    Backs looked disorganised.

Jaysus we're doomed lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

if these guys cant get motivated playing for ireland they are surely doomed against the french.On todays preformance a 30 point victory for france looks likely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

the defensive style we're using is what is worrying me, they seem to be standing off and waiting for players running at them instead of going at them agressivley. we will get destroyed if we let france run at us like that

i dont think we'll get whipped in Paris but I have a bad feeling that we will just get dominated and we will resort to the old tactics of trying to keep the score down by constant kicking to the corners and we will keep the score down but we will never look like winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Don't be so defeatist lads. One full week to tighten up the screws and learn from that poor game against Italy. France aren't that good... And we (France) always start the VI Nations very poorly (the first 2 games anyway)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Scotland all over Franch....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

We're screwed in Paris. And it's all the fault of those bloody Scots.

Murrayfield has often been a bogey ground for France. They never won there all through the 1980s. They seemed to save the visit to Edinburgh to produce their most inept, unmotivated lethargic performance of each season.

So in the fortnight that followed they would be castigated by their fans, their coaches, their colleagues, their team mates.
    Their wives wouldn't cook for them.
    Their girlfriends wouldn't shag them.
    The press would slay them.

So for the next match, which was always Ireland at home, they would go out and redeem themselves. ie we would get absolutely thrashed.

All through the 1980s and 90s we never won a match in Paris, we never scored a try in Paris. In fact, we never played a match in Paris. A match implies a contest of equals. Any time we visited Paris from 1980, when we lost by a point, to 1998 when with the rest of the world expecting a cricket score we lost by only two points we were filleted by the French in full pomp.

The only way we can keep it down next week is to go there with **** running down our trouser legs at the prospect of an abject humiliation and a determination to die in the attempt of preventing that from happening.

But this shower of up their own backside prima donnas won't think like that. They reckon they're too good. Even without O'Driscoll, who will almost certainly be banned and rightly so.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

JFI, France have recalled 6 players into the squad for this weekend who weren't in Scotland.

Raphaël Ibanez (WASP)
    Olivier Magne (London Irish)
    Serge Betsen (Biarritz)
    Pascal Papé (Bourgoin)
    Damien Traille ((Biarritz)
    Aurélien Rougerie (Clermont)

This means that the team won't be announced until Thursday morning.

Première conséquence de cet élargissement, l'annonce de la composition de l'équipe qui débutera la rencontre face à l'Irlande sera exceptionnellement repoussée à jeudi matin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

Call ups to each squad for next week's clash...

France:

Raphaël Ibanez (WASP)
    Olivier Magne (London Irish)
    Serge Betsen (Biarritz)
    Pascal Papé (Bourgoin)
    Damien Traille ((Biarritz)
    Aurélien Rougerie (Clermont)

Ireland:
    Reggie Corrigan,
    Mick O'Driscoll,
    Anthony Foley
    Neil Best,
    Denis Hickie,
    Girvan Dempsey,
    John Kelly
    Barry Murphy

We're screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Few things are scarier than a a pissed-off Toulouseian charging in your general direction. Either France will fold under expectation or they will flaten
    Ireland.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

My only hope is that a sound thrashing will see the end of the Eddie "Odius" O'Sullivan Era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Olbas

Yep....it doesn't look good!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Fitzblado

Time for Ireland to prove us wrong again,pack needs to dominate against a shambolic french pack as proved last week.If ireland keep it tight for 60mins and then cut loose we will win.