Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stt

• 04-02-2006 1:05pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

playing on VBP now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Anyone up for an private STT on vegas baby or all-in?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

How did that happen....?

how about a $7 6 handed game on VBP...?

Dub13 wrote:
    How did that happen....?

It happened me yesterday in the broadband forum, not sure how it happens

dev?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Lads,

In fairness 'All-In' is officially the boards site if arranging games through boards, it's only right.

If you want to play a game on vbp, I think PM or google talk, or text is better medium to arrange. I don't want to step on toes.

Culchie wrote:
    Lads,

In fairness 'All-In' is officially the boards site if arranging games through boards, it's only right.

If you want to play a game on vbp, I think PM or google talk, or text is better medium to arrange. I don't want to step on toes.

no worries...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Culchie wrote:
    Lads, In fairness 'All-In' is officially the boards site if arranging games through boards

Emmm, says who?

I don't mean to cause any rows, but I don't remember the concept of "official site" being agreed or accepted at any point since All-In was launched. I'd be concerned if this was case, simply on a choice point of view.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Its not "official", obviously you can play anywhere you like. Culchie is being sensitive and thats appreciated.

Boards doesnt exist on fresh air so its nice when the community supports its own existance. Boards has an AIP downline that helped to pay for the Mod-beers last night for example. This is sustainable growth. The servers we run Boards on cost upwards of 4.5k each and we have 3 of them. You do the maths. Thats a lot of subscriptions and STT's :):)

While I'm certainly not going to ban anyone or flip out if people want to play anywhere they choose, thats cool.. their money their choice, but given the choice to support the site or not, seems a bit rude to say "**** you we'll use your site but you can whistle for support in return". I mean, its not like it costs you anything more to play on Prima....

Would it kill you to support us?

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

DeVore wrote:
    Boards doesnt exist on fresh air so its nice when the community supports its own existance. Boards has an AIP downline that helped to pay for the Mod-beers last night for example. This is sustainable growth. The servers we run Boards on cost upwards of 4.5k each and we have 3 of them. You do the maths. Thats a lot of subscriptions and STT's :):).

Boards also get quite a lot of that money from Paddy Power and Party Poker, maybe you should spread the love around a bit.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

We get advertising from PPP its true. I don't recall a Party Poker ad nor an affiliate. If you wish to spread your love around, I'm not stopping you. I'm not even stopping people organising STT's on other sites here. Any other site. I'm entitled to give my opinion, right?

I'm just not sure when I became the bad guy around here.

DeV.

DeVore wrote:

Your not...we appreciate you...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

DeVore wrote:
    We get advertising from PPP its true. I don't recall a Party Poker ad nor an affiliate. If you wish to spread your love around, I'm not stopping you. I'm not even stopping people organising STT's on other sites here. Any other site. I'm entitled to give my opinion, right?

DeV.

Am I imagining things or was there a Party Poker banner ad in the top right of forums other than the poker forum? Not too long ago. I might be mistaken or it might have been for a different site. I wasn't calling you the bad guy at all, I was just gently reminding people of all the other sites they have to support to feed Boards' bandwidth habit.

Sorry I just bubbled in the most horrible manner and I'm cranky.
    To be fair, I havent said anyone CAN'T blast ahead and do what they like. I'm just stating my opinion and thats all it is. I would have an issue if I thought someone was sly advertising but we all know the players and the sites here.

Its possible our ad company sold an ad for Party. I don't look after the finances, Regi does so he signs that stuff off. I would hardly notice as I spend a lot of time here, where PPP have 100% of the ads.

ok, here's a fun thing to do.
    Bottom left of the thread-list is a filter. Set it to All Posts from Beginning and order it by Most Views.

Now, we get about 3 euro per 1000 views of a thread. Check out that list and you'll get a rough idea how much we made from the Poker forum (argueably our biggest forum with a permanent ad on it, in fact it quite definitely is as the rest are house ads).
    We spent 800 notes last night buying the Mods a few drinks...
    And this is one of our busiest forums as Doc's arse will tell you....

Eye opener innit...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

:eek: how many mods are there? and what's a few drinks? can i be one??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

DeVore wrote:

Sipping on da Crystal again lads

There are 215 regular mods, 78 H-Mods, 9 cat mods, 8 super mods and 5 admins. A total of 315

Do the maths.

Now I'm signing off for the night before I say or do something I'll really fúcking regret in the morning.

Tom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Mountains and mole hills.....it was only an stt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

There are 215 regular mods, 78 H-Mods, 9 cat mods, 8 super mods and 5 admins. A total of 315

Do the maths.

Now I'm signing off for the night before I say or do something I'll really fúcking regret in the morning.

Jesus would ya ever relax. I was only slagging. Or is that not allowed now? Genuinely i have no idea how many mods there are

Sorry, I am pretty cranky about a few things right now, thats why I went to bed. None of them are to do with STT's or VBP, read the thread, it never was. I wasnt directing my comments to you or at you Coillte, sorry, genuinely just providing you with info.

Whatever. This thread is utterly derailed. It has about 24 hours to live.

DeV.

Addendum: I've had a shower and feel a little better. Sorry, I'm just really pissed off about a few things today and none of them are on this thread. I DO get very touchy when people suggest that Boards admins are somehow sitting here snorting coke off of hookers baps from all the money we make from advertising etc. The reality is soooo different that it really just gets to me. We spent 7 years building this place and we work our doodads off on it so if we DID get something from it we'd deserve every bit of it. To date we havent but the Irish Begrudgery comes along and starts looking to see how we're trying to screw people (because you know, we HAVE to be ... right?).
    7 years of this can make you pretty hostile and paranoid so sorry if I went off the deep end. I'm not looking for pats on the back, not looking for reward but ffs NOT having the attitude of "whistle for the steam off our p*ss/rake yis are making a killing as it is" stuffed in my face would help.

I dont think I've ever derailed a thread as completely as this in my entire life.
    Sorry, it must be my time of the month. Now I've offended the lady players too. Sorry.

DeV.

Group hug time.

*huggles*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

absolutly big group hug:D

also how do I sign up for AIP on the boards downline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Clan Bio are back..... From quakers to poker :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Looks like it was me that kicked off the issues. I didn't mean to cause a row, for that I apologise.

What concerned me (and concerns me no longer, after Dev's explanation) was that there had become a requirement to play boards stuff on All-In, or not to use this board to organise stuff on other sites.

Dev has pointed out that a good way of supporting boards as a community is to play on All-In. I support this, and am signed up. He's also pointed out that this is not compulsory. Fair point.

This forurm has seriously increased my enjoyment of poker, and introduced me to a lot of new concepts & things to think about. It deserves our support.

Again, apologies to anyone I offended with my question - it was meant genuinely, it wasn't a dig at anyone. I think I'll refrain from posting when I arrive in after a bellyful of Bulmers...:o

RasTa wrote:
    Clan Bio are back..... From quakers to poker :D
    Jesus Rasta, thats going back a bit. First smile I've had all day :)

God, the old Quakeworld days, The irish team, Rapture 99, Celtic Warriors, Koopa vs Reaper... makes me wanna play a bit of CA again. Rocket therapy :)

I guess there are a lot of parallels between the emergence of the Poker subculture and the Quakers in their day.

Just when you thought this thread couldnt get more derailed.... lol. :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

david-k wrote:
    absolutly big group hug:D

also how do I sign up for AIP on the boards downline?
    Click on the link in my sig! It's on the boards downline so it helps everyone :);)

TrueDub wrote:
    Dev has pointed out that a good way of supporting boards as a community is to play on All-In. I support this, and am signed up. He's also pointed out that this is not compulsory. Fair point.

Ah its not you its me. (God where have we heard that one before).

This forum is basically home for me, I guess a lot of my mates hang out here so, like all things, sometimes its just easier to flip the lid at home over something small when it breaks the camels back then deal with the issues.
    I have people bitching at me on Feedback because I "don't do enough for boards". Universal Studios and their pimp monkeys on the Music forum. An argument between two moderators who have both thrown the toys out of the pram, a failed web server, a tournament to deal tonight, I'm going to France on Tuesday to cover the EPT but I have to move house by then and I havent packed a ****ing thing.

Could it be stress? :)

I think I'll refrain from posting when I arrive in after a bellyful of Bulmers...:o

Don't see why you should, noone else here does! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

DeVore wrote:
    Could it be stress? :)
    Life Tilt.

I will tell you what you need Tom....a Swedish massage from a hot chick with big knockers.;)