Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Citys for Paddys Day?

• 04-02-2006 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭

Hi, me and a few mate or thinking of heading away this year for St. Patricks day and it works out well with it being on a Friday. Can anyone recommend a good city to go for the weekend???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

We went on the tear in New York for it one year and it was brilliant. We walked into one bar and there were the Frank and Walters playing in the corner. This was a few years back when that was a good thing.

I have heard from a few guys that Boston is a bit of a ripoff on Paddy's Day. A few years back, the bars downtown were charging $20 to get in and then $20 a pint. They were so packed you would pay $20 and only end up having one pint. I'd guess sticking to the neighbourhood bars would be better, if you went to Boston, though.

Philly is a bit quieter than either of those, but if you have a big group it's less of a pain fighting your way to the bar to get rounds. Also, they have these "Erin Express" buses that run a circuit around all the larger Irish bars so it is easier to bar hop. The Centre City Erin Express does the downtown bars, and there is, or at least used to be, a Delaware County Erin Express that does the Irish neighbourhoods.

We did London one year - went to "The Swan" in Stockwell, and that was a brilliant night out as well. Outside "The Swan" looked like a nuclear holocaust or something with all these Irish builders lying on the footpath either passed out or passing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Chicago. They even dye the Hudson River green! They call it Irish Day over there. Only thing, takes 8 hours to get there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

I was wondering the same thing actually. But it would have to be a European city, cos I don't have that much money at the moment.

Or even somewhere in Ireland, apart from Dublin - where would be best? Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Fridge wrote:
    I was wondering the same thing actually. But it would have to be a European city, cos I don't have that much money at the moment.

Or even somewhere in Ireland, apart from Dublin - where would be best? Galway?
    I was in Galway for Paddy's Day a few years back. Good craic. European cities don't do much of anything tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Definitely NYC was the best ever Paddys day i had in 2001 highly recommended but you will spend a fortune,also Dubai is the business for Paddys Day best places to go there are The Dubliners and The Irish Village,Amsterdam was pretty cool although that was a bit of a haze (for obvous reasons:o ) was in London last year and it was deadly as well,this year we are going to Barcelona and i hope there's a good session there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Gandhi wrote:
    We did London one year - went to "The Swan" in Stockwell, and that was a brilliant night out as well. Outside "The Swan" looked like a nuclear holocaust or something with all these Irish builders lying on the footpath either passed out or passing out.

Ah the Swan one of my old stomping grounds when i lived in London,the gargle is horrible(no decent lager on tap have to drink bottles) but it's some craic there,id recommend the Hoops Bar in Kennington that's were we were last year some craic:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

Did New York Last year for Paddy's Day actually can't think of a better place to spend it!
    To say it was mental would be an understatement, it was unreal the best Day and Night ever!! :D

Only thing I found bad.....no place would serve bottles of beer (coz of previous years experiences I was told!!!), only plastic pints and as everyone knows the draught beer in NY is a no go area!!!

Stay well uptown and you won't forget it, around 81st I think roughly where the parade finish's

But other than that i couldn't recommend it enough.

hmph wish i was heading back this year for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

Was in new york last year for paddys day and it was great craic, guess what i'm headin again this year. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

is_that_so wrote:
    I was in Galway for Paddy's Day a few years back. Good craic. European cities don't do much of anything tbh.

Geneva is not bad. (Alot of UN/Embassy/Red Cross/Hotel type workers there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

You could do multi-city if you had the dosh!

San Francisco have their parade the Sunday before Paddy's day. Think Chicago might do too?

So go there first and then onto NYC for the actual day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mjquinno

ME and 5 lads are doing a multi city 15 - 22nd march new york & boston. Anyone recommend good pubs in new york, what about after hours there is it hard to get? Any pointers or recommondations on anything really would be great.

Boston is ok cause a friend of ours is over there a few years and knows the crack.

Thanks,
    M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Grem

London. Was there last year with a group of mates and we had a brilliant Paddys Day. Its close enough (cheap Ryanair flights) and there's loads of Irish around.
    Do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Griffen

Go to Edinburgh, had a class time there last year for paddys.

Gang of us went Way better than over here and you can party to the early hours and the drink is defo cheaper