Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vcpoker.ie pub challenge info?

• 02-02-2006 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭

This pub tourney is coming to Limerick next Wed. Anyone got any info on how these qualifiers work or how many qualifiers you have to get through to get to the €25k grand final? :confused: What way did it work last year?
    The press ads and the website http://www.irishpubpoker.com/ have absolutely no info! :(
    cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

As far as I remember they're €10 freeze-outs, with players ranging from the bad to those who don't know the game. Still a good laugh if you're with mates though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Yeah 10 euro freeze outs, bit of a crapshot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

I gathered that. It will be the usual pub tourney sh*te!!
    Just appears that this is a satellite tourney to a 25k grand final.
    What I'm wondering is if its a direct satellite or if there are other rounds you have to get through 1st???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 thelifeofryan

its €15 with one rebuy as far as i know...places in the pubpoker semi finals up for grabs...not sure about how many qualify though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Saw a poster last night for one nearby. €15 entry no reg fee and 1 rebuy €15. Winner through to semi finals (no info on these) with a chance to qualify for €25K final. Posters claim all monies paid out so I think VC set up a few laptops etc in venues and encourage punters to sign up to their site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭dingle

Did anyone find out anymore info about this ? Is there prizes being given out on the night or is it just a satellite ?

dingle wrote:
    Did anyone find out anymore info about this ? Is there prizes being given out on the night or is it just a satellite ?

Going to one tonight so let you know the story tomorrow

That'd be great. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

they are absolute bollox, 1500 starting stacks, blinds start at 50/100 and are of 10 minutes length. Well the one i played in was (Rochestown Lodge hotel.)
    €10 freeze-out, qualify for the online semi-finals.

Healio wrote:
    they are absolute bollox, 1500 starting stacks, blinds start at 50/100 and are of 10 minutes length. Well the one i played in was (Rochestown Lodge hotel.)
    €10 freeze-out, qualify for the online semi-finals.

Hmmm, starting with 15 BBs to qualify for something online :eek: thnk I might give tomorrow night a skip :rolleyes:

Thanks for the feedback

I'm thinking the same!
    €25 FO in the poker lounge wed for me instead of that rubbish.

Played in one tonight and its an absolute joke. wont go into details now cos ahem slightly under the weather but will post tomorrow. Mind you had a good night (hic)

34 runners @ $15 each, everyone had a a rebuy = €1020. 20 add ons (and im being conservative) at €10 = €1220. prizemoney - 400,200,90,50. Lads runing the event said they got €120 each, despite their promo that all money goes to prize fund. Even if that's correct still leaves a shortfall of €160. Hallo? I'll be like a dog with a bone on this tomorrow when i am in better shape.

Remember VCPOKER are the only poker tournaments organizers who do not take one cent from your buy in and do not charge one cent in Administration costs

This is from their website. BOLLOCKS

I was going to get a few lads from work to head in but it sounds like it's to be avoided. Ah well, I'll head into the Poker Lounge next week instead.

Lex wrote:
    I'm thinking the same!
    €25 FO in the poker lounge wed for me instead of that rubbish.

Lex, is the Wed night $25 FO getting many runners ?

About 20 runners last week.
    Prob get more tomorrow night as I think last week was the 1st week of the new schedule.

Big turn out at the Poker Lounge tonight as it took in the overflow from the VC Pub Game. Apparently they could only take 112 players and had to turn away 50 ! One guy came to the Lounge to play the 25FO after busting out of the Pub Game. First hand he was dealt pocket 2s and raised it up 3/4BB and got one caller. Flop comes:
    2,4,Joker!!!!!! :eek:

Classic!!!! :D :v: