Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would anyone here fight Brazilian Vale Tudo?

• 01-02-2006 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭

If I had a DeLorian that could do 88 mph (what is that in Km?) would anybody here fight in some of the early 90s Vale Tudo comps a la Mark Kerr?

I presume Clive will say yes. Anybody else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

columok wrote:
    I a la Mark Kerr?

"Kerr would lose again at Pride 15 and Pride 27, where he knocked himself out while trying to take down his opponent"

how did that happen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

columok wrote:

Jez- how embarrassing !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Mark went for a double leg and hit his head on the way down. He looked in terrible shape anyways.

And to answer your question. Certainly not ;D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

columok wrote:
    If I had a DeLorian that could do 88 mph (what is that in Km?) would anybody here fight in some of the early 90s Vale Tudo comps a la Mark Kerr?

Dude, you can just hope on a plan and go take part in Finn Fight in..... you guessed it! Finland.

You don't get the cool car though. :eek:

Ah but come on dlofnep surely the lower amount of rules means that you could shred or gouge your opponent. You could use pressure points...

columok wrote:
    you could shred or gouge your opponent. You could use pressure points...

No need for all that when you have RoundHouse kicks.....

columok wrote:
    Ah but come on dlofnep surely the lower amount of rules means that you could shred or gouge your opponent. You could use pressure points...

Good point. I could pressure point my way to victory!!

Indeed. And its bareknuckle you so you could use pentjak silat shock and shatter methods and you could fight in a real environment using the concrete surrounding the ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭fianna.5u.com

In a heart beat (well a heart beat and 5 weeks training). If I was matched well (as in not against Pele [anyone else is fine though haha]) that is.

I might be inclined to wear MMA gloves anyway, a la Tank Abott in the earlier UFCs.

JK fought UFC 1 rules in south africa if Im not mistaken and was out wieghed a good bit, perhaps he could fill us in on the expereince?

Peace

JK fought UFC 1 rules in south africa if Im not mistaken and was out wieghed a good bit, perhaps he could fill us in on the expereince?

:eek: Fill us in JK!!!
    In a heart beat (well a heart beat and 5 weeks training). If I was matched well (as in not against Pele [anyone else is fine though haha]) that is.

What would make you want to Pearse? The intensity? Would you headbutt, balls kick etc? or would you stick your normal "trainable" bread and butter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MaxBax

I'd assume the valetudo guys stuck a cup down their pants. Be rather foolish not to. And I'm ashamed to say, I've kicked a few guys in the balls ON THE STREET and it's not had the "knock down holding groin" effect I expected. I'd be more inclined to use the headbutt and elbow strikes and not bother will silly groin or eye shots. Having said that, I'd have to see some of these fights and spar a bit under the rules to make any concrete stradegy judgements.
    na.fianna have you any fights planned for the near future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

If I was fighting some of those chumps in the Gracie challenge I'd do it, probably could win on cardio alone.

loz, that thread was closed and some bans handed out for that, let it be.

It was in SA that JK met Matt Thornton and the seeds os SBG Ireland (the sexiest of the SBG's worldwide) was born.

Appologies ! - couldn't resist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MaxBax

They don't call him the people's mod for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Ye sure, if there was money $$$

what were the rules (or lack of) anyway?
    was it no eye gouging, no fish hooking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

lol yeah colm's right - went out and fought some boxing/wrestling champ with old skool rulez who was about 81kgs (i was 68 haha) and got bashed:D but i met matt which led to sbg ireland so every cloud...

what was actually much scarier than the mma fights they had some k1 rules fights (called extreme boxing!) on the card where they wore only mma gloves:eek: they also had matched up the local 'karate' guys v thai and western boxers in these 'extreme boxing' matches....wasn't pretty

lol yeah colm's right - went out and fought some boxing/wrestling champ with old skool rulez who was about 81kgs (i was 68 haha) and got bashed but i met matt which led to sbg ireland so every cloud...
    Fair play, that took some balls. Had heard of that before but never realised that it was old skool rules.

Was there much of the harshness? As in headbutts, four point knees, soccer kicking or was it a relatively civilised fight. (relatively;) )
    what was actually much scarier than the mma fights they had some k1 rules fights (called extreme boxing!) on the card where they wore only mma gloves they also had matched up the local 'karate' guys v thai and western boxers in these 'extreme boxing' matches....wasn't pretty
    I remember Clive talking about his ideal version of mma which sounds similar.
    I take it the karate guys all won by kiai R2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

well he took to silva-stomping my head while i was trying to footlock him...which i thought was very unsportsmanlike lol:D ah broke my nose and missed 2 days due to concussion.....but got a 2 week holiday in Jo-burg, got to see a lion up close and personal, ran naked through a nature reserve at midnight chasing a herd of zebra and some other fun stuff i wont put here;) so wouldn't change anything :D

well he took to silva-stomping my head while i was trying to footlock him...
    Harsh!!!.... but fair.

Fair balls Kavanagh. Fighting a monster in the first place takes a lot of cajones but under nastier than Pride rules? LEGEND!