Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

okay its official I should be blonde

• 31-01-2006 1:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭

Well a couple of weeks ago there was a thread where people were saying that they have started using Poker lingo in normal conversation, I did a clanger this morning. On my way into work, being late as usual i flew through a set of Traffic lights which were Amber going onto Red. Needless to say there was a Motor Bike cop on hand to pull me over. He said that I broke the Lights, to which I replied (to my shame) "The light was amber and I was pot committed" instead of I was committed. He gave me the look of utter confusion, gave me a good telling off and stern warning and sent me on my way. I felt like a complete t*t and have decided that im going to have to take up another hobby!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

post of the year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

post of the year!!!
    agreed this had me laughing out in work .
    the bad thing is when they asked me what im laughing at i couldnt really explian.
    how do you explian how funny this is to people who dont play poker.
    feck im still laughing as im writing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Next time try a stop and go...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Since I started playing poker I cannot avoid stacking coins up and moving them in groups as I count them and pay for stuff like papers or sweets in garages etc. Theres that slight tingle of excitment when you move your "stack" towards the worker but the odds for winning are very, very poor. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

LOL. thats great.

You probably should have folded to avoid the chance of getting a bad beat.:D

Vertical%20Car%20Crash%20-%20KGTV.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

smurph wrote:
    Well a couple of weeks ago there was a thread where people were saying that they have started using Poker lingo in normal conversation, I did a clanger this morning. On my way into work, being late as usual i flew through a set of Traffic lights which were Amber going onto Red. Needless to say there was a Motor Bike cop on hand to pull me over. He said that I broke the Lights, to which I replied (to my shame) "The light was amber and I was pot committed" instead of I was committed. He gave me the look of utter confusion, gave me a good telling off and stern warning and sent me on my way. I felt like a complete t*t and have decided that im going to have to take up another hobby!!!!!

Brilliant. Pity he wasn't a poker player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Quality. :)
    careca wrote:
    Brilliant. Pity he wasn't a poker player.
    Yeah, stupid puggles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭marius

smurph wrote:

Very funny! You weren't perchance going down the quays were you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

No I was going down Violet Hill Road (i think) Where you go left for Royal Oak Pub and if you go right you are heading towards Tesco and Glasnevin Cemetry. Swung left then accross the finglas Road to go Right up Ballybogan Road. The lights were red and thats where he caught up to me. Tap tap on Window, followed by biggest Redner ever. Only thing that saved me is that he couldn't get the car off the main road easily. Got a severe giving out to though. I was still laughing when i got into work, but needless to say no-one plays cards so I couldn't tell the story. Fecking blessed not to get a ticket. Im going to have to get out of bed when alarm goes off instead of pressing the snooooooze button. I have even given up playing cards during week nights so i can make it into work on time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

pclancy wrote:
    Since I started playing poker I cannot avoid stacking coins up and moving them in groups as I count them

Haha, I've started doing that in work when i count up the till at the end of the shift.